• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Enlarged Cursor with new AMD 7790

Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
1,066 (0.24/day)
Likes
193
Location
Look behind you!!
System Name NEW
Processor Intel 4770 non-K
Motherboard Gigabyte H81M-DS2V
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16gb Muskin
Video Card(s) XFX 380X 4gb
Storage Sandisk 120gb plus WD blue 1tb
Display(s) AOC 23.5 LED bl
Case XIGMATEK
Audio Device(s) motherboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 500
#26
Had a friend a few years back with a 5770 that did the same thing.I fixed it with a motherboard BIOS update at the time but I think AMD released a driver to fix the issue also.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
1,066 (0.24/day)
Likes
193
Location
Look behind you!!
System Name NEW
Processor Intel 4770 non-K
Motherboard Gigabyte H81M-DS2V
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16gb Muskin
Video Card(s) XFX 380X 4gb
Storage Sandisk 120gb plus WD blue 1tb
Display(s) AOC 23.5 LED bl
Case XIGMATEK
Audio Device(s) motherboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 500
#27
Just for the hell of it did you try your other PCI-E slot?
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#28
What are you guys smoking?????Bios would not have anything to do with curser. You probably have software taking over your mouse. Look at your control panel and see if you have software installed that may be taking control
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
1,066 (0.24/day)
Likes
193
Location
Look behind you!!
System Name NEW
Processor Intel 4770 non-K
Motherboard Gigabyte H81M-DS2V
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16gb Muskin
Video Card(s) XFX 380X 4gb
Storage Sandisk 120gb plus WD blue 1tb
Display(s) AOC 23.5 LED bl
Case XIGMATEK
Audio Device(s) motherboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 500
#29
Did you read their first post?No you didnt..so whats the point of being rude?

FRESH INSTALL OF OS!


And obviously you dont know what BIOS mean :rolleyes:
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#30
Did you read their first post?No you didnt..so whats the point of being rude?

FRESH INSTALL OF OS!


And obviously you dont know what BIOS mean :rolleyes:
no..no..

There is no magical "make my mouse bigger" option in the bios sir.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
1,066 (0.24/day)
Likes
193
Location
Look behind you!!
System Name NEW
Processor Intel 4770 non-K
Motherboard Gigabyte H81M-DS2V
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16gb Muskin
Video Card(s) XFX 380X 4gb
Storage Sandisk 120gb plus WD blue 1tb
Display(s) AOC 23.5 LED bl
Case XIGMATEK
Audio Device(s) motherboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 500
#31
I know that.
Some how the vga bios conflicts with the IRQs in the main board bios and causes it.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#32
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
86 (0.05/day)
Likes
104
Location
Houston, TX
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard EVGA z87 Classified
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory HyperX 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 980 KPE
Storage 1 SSD + 1TB HD
Case Corsair 450D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3Di
Power Supply Corsair AX760i
Mouse G502 PROTEUS CORE
Keyboard Vortex POKER II
#33
I tried reinstalling the old drives from the CD...nothing.
removed card, checked connection....nothing
windows update...nothing.
ran virus checks, spyware...nothing.

I am almost 100% positive this is a driver issue at least specific to this model. When removing the drivers, the mouse went back to normal when the catalyst dialog pops up asking for a reboot.

I am taking it back because I am out of ideas
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,457 (1.06/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#34
Do you have LCD overdrive enabled in the Catalyst control panel?
 
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
86 (0.05/day)
Likes
104
Location
Houston, TX
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard EVGA z87 Classified
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory HyperX 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 980 KPE
Storage 1 SSD + 1TB HD
Case Corsair 450D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3Di
Power Supply Corsair AX760i
Mouse G502 PROTEUS CORE
Keyboard Vortex POKER II
#35
Do you have LCD overdrive enabled in the Catalyst control panel?
checked that as well. Nothing.

There is another 7790 from MSI planning to get. I really hope there are no issues with that.
There is also a GTX 650Ti..
What do you guys think of the GTX650ti? the only game I play is Battlefield 3.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.42/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#36
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
1,066 (0.24/day)
Likes
193
Location
Look behind you!!
System Name NEW
Processor Intel 4770 non-K
Motherboard Gigabyte H81M-DS2V
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16gb Muskin
Video Card(s) XFX 380X 4gb
Storage Sandisk 120gb plus WD blue 1tb
Display(s) AOC 23.5 LED bl
Case XIGMATEK
Audio Device(s) motherboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 500
#37
I am taking it back because I am out of ideas
yep.thats what i would do.


There was only 4 things that would help back when it first started.

Driver Fix
Motherboard BIOS update
VGA BIOS update

and some people that was using a USB mouse could put on a mouse port adapter and connect it too a mouse port that would solve it also


Only driver for Win8 pro http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/RadeonHD7790CatalystPerformanceDriver.aspx

The 7790 still has its own drop down box in Video card hardware selection?Hasnt this card been out a couple of months now? 13.4 and Beta 13.6 also support it
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
86 (0.05/day)
Likes
104
Location
Houston, TX
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard EVGA z87 Classified
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory HyperX 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 980 KPE
Storage 1 SSD + 1TB HD
Case Corsair 450D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3Di
Power Supply Corsair AX760i
Mouse G502 PROTEUS CORE
Keyboard Vortex POKER II
#38
yep.thats what i would do.


There was only 4 things that would help back when it first started.

Driver Fix
Motherboard BIOS update
VGA BIOS update

and some people that was using a USB mouse could put on a mouse port adapter and connect it too a mouse port that would solve it also


Only driver for Win8 pro http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/RadeonHD7790CatalystPerformanceDriver.aspx

The 7790 still has its own drop down box in Video card hardware selection?Hasnt this card been out a couple of months now? 13.4 and Beta 13.6 also support it
After a 40m trip to Microcenter and $25 more, I bought a MSI 7790 and to my surprise, it has the same issue. I am now 100% sure this is a driver bug like the one AMD had before except this one is specially for the 7790 as my previous 7770 didnt do this.
Now, the only way to actually test this is if those who have a 7790
go to your mouse settings and uncheck the mouse shadow setting. If the mouse is enlarged, then we know it is a driver issue.
I am beginning to suspect most people have their mouse shadow setting enabled. When enabled, the regular pointer doesnt blow up. When viewing documents and typing somewhere, the "text select" pointer is bigger than usual. Also the little magnifier on imgur is bigger as well. Mouse cursor is bigger in games too.

I had my mouse shadow disabled so it blew up right away...:banghead:

Shame.. I really like the 7790 because overall it is faster than the GTX 650ti.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#39
just checking, but whats this set to?

 
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
86 (0.05/day)
Likes
104
Location
Houston, TX
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard EVGA z87 Classified
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory HyperX 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 980 KPE
Storage 1 SSD + 1TB HD
Case Corsair 450D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3Di
Power Supply Corsair AX760i
Mouse G502 PROTEUS CORE
Keyboard Vortex POKER II
#40
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,435 (1.22/day)
Likes
733
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor Core i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus VII Hero
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800MHz 11-14-14-35
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 970 SSC
Storage SSD Main, 7TB backups
Display(s) Samsung 40" 4k UHD
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster thingy
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Steel Series Sensi
Keyboard Thermaltake eSports Posiden Z Cherry Blues
Software Windows 10 x64
#41
Might take a while, but would try opening a support ticket with both MSI and AMD. Share the link to this thread, and that you've opened a ticket with each company (tell AMD you opened one with MSI and vice versa with MSI). Hate to see you have to constantly drive a long distance and spend more money just to get this sorted.
 
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
86 (0.05/day)
Likes
104
Location
Houston, TX
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard EVGA z87 Classified
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory HyperX 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 980 KPE
Storage 1 SSD + 1TB HD
Case Corsair 450D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3Di
Power Supply Corsair AX760i
Mouse G502 PROTEUS CORE
Keyboard Vortex POKER II
#42
Might take a while, but would try opening a support ticket with both MSI and AMD. Share the link to this thread, and that you've opened a ticket with each company (tell AMD you opened one with MSI and vice versa with MSI). Hate to see you have to constantly drive a long distance and spend more money just to get this sorted.
Thanks for the suggestion. I submitted a ticket to AMD and MSI.
AMD Tech Support emailed back with a list of suggestions such as re installing drivers and such. Pretty much things I already tried. I emailed back and I just got an email with a link to submit feedback to their driver development team.
We'll see how it goes.
I am looking into a GTX 650ti Boost now. So my hopes for a quick resolution arent high as the previous similar took took a while to fix.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#43
gigabyte 7790 big size mouse

Hello,
Yesterday I bought a graphic Gigabyte 7790, install drivers and my mouse cursor larger. I changed the settings in the Control Panel and cursor resize to normall size, but in Word 2013 and games make larger cursor. :banghead:

I do not know what to do, someone already knows the solution?

Thanx :respect:
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2009
Messages
248 (0.08/day)
Likes
46
Location
Netherlands
Processor i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900-A LED
Memory Corsair Dominator GT CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 (4x4 Gb)
Video Card(s) 2 x (Sapphire) AMD Radeon HD7970 [Ref] -(crossfire) [out via DVI-D]
Storage 4 x WDC WD1002FAEX
Display(s) Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600 [in via DVI-D]
Case Coolermaster Stacker STC T01
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro [PCI-E]
Power Supply Corsair AX 1200W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#44
For anyone to give an at least relevant reply, you should post your system specs (which of course include OS, driver version, CCC settings, monitor model and resolution, mouse/keyboard)...
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
#45
Fixed it for me...

Hi,

Had exactly the same issue with an enlarged mouse cursor as others have described. Have a Samsung Syncmaster 2494HS connected over HDMI, and an old Dell monitor connected over DVI to the same Asus HD7790 Direct CU II OC. Running Win7 x64.

Updated to the latest 13.11 Beta from here: http://www2.ati.com/drivers/beta/amd_catalyst_13.11_betav1.exe

Still had exactly the same large mouse pointer issue. I then went into Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Personalization and into Change Mouse Pointers, and then changed my Scheme to '(None)' and clicked apply. I then selected 'Windows Aero (system scheme)' and clicked Apply. I then clicked on the 'Use Default' button next to 'Enable Pointer Shadow', then turned off the 'Enable Pointer Shadow' and clicked apply. Then I turned on the 'Enable Pointer Shadow' and clicked apply.

At that point my mouse cursor went back to normal size! It's extremely weird that those steps described above fixed it, but they did. I haven't rebooted yet, but will try that next and see if it has permanently fixed the problem. Hopefully it has.

Posting the exact steps I took just in case it helps someone else out.

Cheers

T
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,691
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#46
Hi,

Had exactly the same issue with an enlarged mouse cursor as others have described. Have a Samsung Syncmaster 2494HS connected over HDMI, and an old Dell monitor connected over DVI to the same Asus HD7790 Direct CU II OC. Running Win7 x64.

Updated to the latest 13.11 Beta from here: http://www2.ati.com/drivers/beta/amd_catalyst_13.11_betav1.exe

Still had exactly the same large mouse pointer issue. I then went into Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Personalization and into Change Mouse Pointers, and then changed my Scheme to '(None)' and clicked apply. I then selected 'Windows Aero (system scheme)' and clicked Apply. I then clicked on the 'Use Default' button next to 'Enable Pointer Shadow', then turned off the 'Enable Pointer Shadow' and clicked apply. Then I turned on the 'Enable Pointer Shadow' and clicked apply.

At that point my mouse cursor went back to normal size! It's extremely weird that those steps described above fixed it, but they did. I haven't rebooted yet, but will try that next and see if it has permanently fixed the problem. Hopefully it has.

Posting the exact steps I took just in case it helps someone else out.

Cheers

T
thanks for that. this problem seems to haunt some people.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
#47
Update....

[Update] - I rebooted and it kept the fixed settings. I still had a large 'finger' cursor though. I went back into Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Personalization and into Change Mouse Pointers, and then I clicked on the 'Link Select' cursor and clicked the 'Use Default' button. When I did that the 'finger' cursor went back to normal size.

I also had the same problem with still having a large text select mouse cursor. But weirdly clicking on the 'Link Select' cursor and then the 'Use Default' button doesn't fix the Text select cursor at all! But, I'm a lot happier with all but one of the mouse cursors being normal sized :).

The scenarios as tested are:
- The problem only affects my HDMI connected flat-screen when connected to the AMD HD7790
- I have my desktop extended across both screens (using the same AMD7790) and only the HDMI screen has the large mouse cursor issue
- The built in motherboard graphics (Intel HD4000) run in the same fashion doesn't have a problem at all. The cursors are all fine.
- I can reliably make the problem happen by changing the Samsung 2494HS to the HDMI connector on the AMD HD7790, with no other changes.

From all of this I can only conclude that:
- The problem is something to do with either the AMD HD7790 video card drive, or
- The problem is with the firmware (or hardware) of the HDMI part of HD7790 chipsets (as shown in post #38 above - http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2928798&postcount=38)

Hope that AMD find out what the issue is as its quite annoying....

Cheers

T
 

asha

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#48
I just have the exacly same problem.
Yestarday i bought the SAPPHIRE 7790 1GB and my mouse cursor just gone HUGE.This happens when i installed drivers.When it was w/o drivers it was fine but now the damn cursor is so damn huge. Did you find any solution?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2009
Messages
248 (0.08/day)
Likes
46
Location
Netherlands
Processor i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900-A LED
Memory Corsair Dominator GT CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 (4x4 Gb)
Video Card(s) 2 x (Sapphire) AMD Radeon HD7970 [Ref] -(crossfire) [out via DVI-D]
Storage 4 x WDC WD1002FAEX
Display(s) Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600 [in via DVI-D]
Case Coolermaster Stacker STC T01
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro [PCI-E]
Power Supply Corsair AX 1200W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#49