• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EP45-UD3P + Q9650 + 4.xGhz = Weird Stuff.

Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,473 (0.73/day)
Likes
614
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#1
Hi guys,

I am running into an annoying issue with my Q9650 system. I can get the system stable at say, 4.1Ghz. By stable I mean it can pass 20 minutes worth of Linpack stress with all but 200MB of RAM utilized and then a couple of hours of Prime95 with massive RAM utilization. It can pass any number of MemTest rounds you can throw at it, as well.

The problem is that Mass Effect 2 just keeps CTDing on me. Since on lower clocks/stock it doesn't happen, the issue has something to do with the OC.

I am currently running 1.24vcore (But I've tried up to 1.3v and I get the same effect), 1.25 vtt, 2.2v on the DDR2 (Damned A-DATA RAM). The NB is getting 1.28v (And I've tried 1.3v as well), currently. Current FSB is 450, running a x9 multiplier for 4050Mhz. RAM is set at a rather horrible 5-6-6-21-2T at 900Mhz.

What am I doing wrong ? I have the nagging suspicion that the issue is caused by the FSB failing under serious load (For example when there are plenty of memory accesses and also CPU-GPU communications going on, and it glitches), hence the failure in a game, but not in synthetics (3DMark has no issues also, but it doesn't eat up as nearly as much memory as a game).

I'm gonna go and get a new set of RAM later today, because I am sick of those A-DATA sticks, and hope a good 1066Mhz set will help - If not, what should I do ? Crank up the NB voltage to 1.35v ? Throw in more VTT ? Is my chip at its FSB limit (Which would suck) ? Is the board running out of breath (I hope not, just bought it to improve my OCin' on this Q9650) ?
 
Last edited:

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.54/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
#2
Yeah if it's PC6400/800MHz memory it might just not be good overclocking RAM. My sticks thankfully make 890MHz with 5-6-6-21 with 2.0 Volts which I am surprised because previous attempts on lesser hardware had failed big on more than ~833MHz. You may have better luck with RAM that can really get the job done at high speeds.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,473 (0.73/day)
Likes
614
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#3
Yeah if it's PC6400/800MHz memory it might just not be good overclocking RAM. My sticks thankfully make 890MHz with 5-6-6-21 with 2.0 Volts which I am surprised because previous attempts on lesser hardware had failed big on more than ~833MHz. You may have better luck with RAM that can really get the job done at high speeds.
Buying the RAM is more of a desperation move. The RAM seems stable. I stressed it to hell and back. Unless the game has a distinct access pattern that causes it to go splat and which is nothing like memtest/Prime95/Linpack, can it really be RAM at this point ?
 

TheShad0W

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
148 (0.05/day)
Likes
17
#4
Have you tried linpack with a much higher stress level? Take it up to 2GB or more if you really want to test stability.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,473 (0.73/day)
Likes
614
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#5
Have you tried linpack with a much higher stress level? Take it up to 2GB or more if you really want to test stability.
Like I said. I was testing with only 200MB left free. The linpack load was something like 3GB of RAM.

Well, my new Patriot Vipers are here now, lets see how that goes.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
1,200 (0.28/day)
Likes
131
Location
FL
System Name Iam-a-computah
Processor 7700k @5 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Auros z270x
Cooling Custom water loop, x2 280 radiators
Memory 16gb Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 TI FE 11gb WC
Storage SSD: 256gb Samsung 840pro & HHD: WD black 2T
Display(s) Dell 34" UW screen
Case Full tower NZXT
Audio Device(s) Creative x-FI
Power Supply EVGA super NOVA 1300wtt
Keyboard G710
Software W 10
#6
I'm in the same dilemma too; same board, similar CPU, and similar RAM [pc6400]. So I think the RAM is holding us back a bit. Although I almost bought a new set of ram, I just thought to myself "meh 80$+ expense for just 200ish Mhz of more performance?" [which i dont think i will noticed the difference]. So im holding back until my next system re-haul.

-Thats just me though, if you want sell your current ram now, since they are worth more at the moment and get a decent set of sticks that will help you reach such speed.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,473 (0.73/day)
Likes
614
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#7
I'm in the same dilemma too; same board, similar CPU, and similar RAM [pc6400]. So I think the RAM is holding us back a bit. Although I almost bought a new set of ram, I just thought to myself "meh 80$+ expense for just 200ish Mhz of more performance?" [which i dont think i will noticed the difference]. So im holding back until my next system re-haul.

-Thats just me though, if you want sell your current ram now, since they are worth more at the moment and get a decent set of sticks that will help you reach such speed.
My main problem is the fact that I was using an ad-hoc set of sticks (2x2GB of A-DATA and 2x1GB of PQI). I need more than 4GB on this rig here, which is limiting my OC, apparently. I got two sets of Patriot Vipers today. Sure, they do DDR2-1150 with no problems on their own. But either the CPU or the NB choke when I try to stress them with 6-7GB of memory utilization at high FSB clocks.

This is a problem. So far, highest I was able to get was something like 3.77Ghz, which is just plain sad. Either I am really SOL on the motherboard/cpu and this is felt even more once I use a ton of RAM, or I am missing something obvious.

I know not every chip is the same, but does anyone have OC settings for a C2Q with over 450 FSB on the EP45-UD3P with more than two sticks of ram used ?
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
1,200 (0.28/day)
Likes
131
Location
FL
System Name Iam-a-computah
Processor 7700k @5 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Auros z270x
Cooling Custom water loop, x2 280 radiators
Memory 16gb Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 TI FE 11gb WC
Storage SSD: 256gb Samsung 840pro & HHD: WD black 2T
Display(s) Dell 34" UW screen
Case Full tower NZXT
Audio Device(s) Creative x-FI
Power Supply EVGA super NOVA 1300wtt
Keyboard G710
Software W 10
#8
My main problem is the fact that I was using an ad-hoc set of sticks (2x2GB of A-DATA and 2x1GB of PQI). I need more than 4GB on this rig here, which is limiting my OC, apparently. I got two sets of Patriot Vipers today. Sure, they do DDR2-1150 with no problems on their own. But either the CPU or the NB choke when I try to stress them with 6-7GB of memory utilization at high FSB clocks.

This is a problem. So far, highest I was able to get was something like 3.77Ghz, which is just plain sad. Either I am really SOL on the motherboard/cpu and this is felt even more once I use a ton of RAM, or I am missing something obvious.

I know not every chip is the same, but does anyone have OC settings for a C2Q with over 450 FSB on the EP45-UD3P with more than two sticks of ram used ?
The NB is to blame for what it seems [x4 stick of ram + diff ram], So if you want a good stable OC i would suggest staying with the same brand/model/specifications for any combination of ram. I currently have x4 stick of ram running and the farthest i can get is 472mhz [ im not 100% sure...at work right now] and even though i can boot and run prime for a while at 480mhz+ my games would crash, just like yours. If you can, sell of of those sticks and get a pair of good rated/known ram.

-Also, i used to reference from here to get the best OC settings for my cpu/mb.
http://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/415077-gigabyte-ep45-ud3-series-owners-guide.html
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,473 (0.73/day)
Likes
614
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#9
The NB is to blame for what it seems [x4 stick of ram + diff ram], So if you want a good stable OC i would suggest staying with the same brand/model/specifications for any combination of ram. I currently have x4 stick of ram running and the farthest i can get is 472mhz [ im not 100% sure...at work right now] and even though i can boot and run prime for a while at 480mhz+ my games would crash, just like yours. If you can, sell of of those sticks and get a pair of good rated/known ram.

-Also, i used to reference from here to get the best OC settings for my cpu/mb.
http://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/415077-gigabyte-ep45-ud3-series-owners-guide.html
As I said, I got two sets of Patriot Vipers today. Identical kits of 2x2GB 1066Mhz CL5-5-5-15T DDR2 (at 2.1v) each. I am currently stressing at 4Ghz with 890Mhz RAM after bumping the CPU PLL voltage up a bit, and so far it looks like it is stable. I'll try gaming later before I try to lower some of the voltages used (Temps are high right now, not unbearably so and still within spec, but higher than what I am used to).

Many thanks for the link. It looks to be an incredible source of information !
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
1,200 (0.28/day)
Likes
131
Location
FL
System Name Iam-a-computah
Processor 7700k @5 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Auros z270x
Cooling Custom water loop, x2 280 radiators
Memory 16gb Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 TI FE 11gb WC
Storage SSD: 256gb Samsung 840pro & HHD: WD black 2T
Display(s) Dell 34" UW screen
Case Full tower NZXT
Audio Device(s) Creative x-FI
Power Supply EVGA super NOVA 1300wtt
Keyboard G710
Software W 10
#10
awesome, well let us know how it turns out later and your welcome :), there are a couple of good threads like that floating around the internet since that MB its really popular.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,473 (0.73/day)
Likes
614
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#11
awesome, well let us know how it turns out later and your welcome :), there are a couple of good threads like that floating around the internet since that MB its really popular.
Well. It passed the Mass Effect 2 test as well. Looks like it was a combination of my old PQI sticks and not enough PLL voltage. I got it at 1.57v now, with 1.575v being the highest recommended by Intel for those chips. vcore is at 1.28v, which is probably overkill right now since extra RAM doesn't affect vcore requirements and it was stable at 1.24v with two sticks at 4Ghz, but frankly, I am just happy to see it stable with all four memory sticks for now. I spent the whole day tweaking it to heck and I am tiiiiired from it. Tomorrow the itch will be back and I'll see if I can push that FSB a bit higher. I'd like to settle at 467Mhz FSB for 4.2Ghz, with 933Mhz RAM. Then I'll see if I can make those sticks go under 5-5-5-15 at those clocks (Doubt it, though).
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
1,200 (0.28/day)
Likes
131
Location
FL
System Name Iam-a-computah
Processor 7700k @5 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Auros z270x
Cooling Custom water loop, x2 280 radiators
Memory 16gb Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 TI FE 11gb WC
Storage SSD: 256gb Samsung 840pro & HHD: WD black 2T
Display(s) Dell 34" UW screen
Case Full tower NZXT
Audio Device(s) Creative x-FI
Power Supply EVGA super NOVA 1300wtt
Keyboard G710
Software W 10
#12
Well. It passed the Mass Effect 2 test as well. Looks like it was a combination of my old PQI sticks and not enough PLL voltage. I got it at 1.57v now, with 1.575v being the highest recommended by Intel for those chips. vcore is at 1.28v, which is probably overkill right now since extra RAM doesn't affect vcore requirements and it was stable at 1.24v with two sticks at 4Ghz, but frankly, I am just happy to see it stable with all four memory sticks for now. I spent the whole day tweaking it to heck and I am tiiiiired from it. Tomorrow the itch will be back and I'll see if I can push that FSB a bit higher. I'd like to settle at 467Mhz FSB for 4.2Ghz, with 933Mhz RAM. Then I'll see if I can make those sticks go under 5-5-5-15 at those clocks (Doubt it, though).
Sounds good, Im going to try and see if i can take my own clocks higher since i barely messed with the PLL. Believe me i just stayed at 3.98 because i was also tired from all the numbers and tests :p, im going to give it another go though. :)
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,473 (0.73/day)
Likes
614
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#13
Sounds good, Im going to try and see if i can take my own clocks higher since i barely messed with the PLL. Believe me i just stayed at 3.98 because i was also tired from all the numbers and tests :p, im going to give it another go though. :)
I just noticed how similar your system is to my 2nd rig, lol. Thanks :toast:
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,457 (1.06/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#14
memtest
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,473 (0.73/day)
Likes
614
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#15
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
405 (0.11/day)
Likes
47
Location
Bulgaria
System Name HAF
Processor i5 3570k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 EXTREME 4
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-SD964
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengance 1600MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX670 FTW
Storage Seagate 250GB
Display(s) LG 24' + Samsung 22'
Case HAF 922
Power Supply CoolerMaster GX750W
Software Windows 7 x64
#16
My sticks currently run at 900Mhz but i was trying to get it to 1000 with no luck. If you get yours beyond 900Mhz please share your settings. Lol i am to lazy to buy a 1066Mhz sticks :laugh:
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,975 (2.25/day)
Likes
3,928
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Power Color RD Vega 64 Reference
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G710 Blue / G610 Orion Red
Software Win 7 Pro
#17
Are you sure the PCI bus is locked at 100mhz? Sounds strangely like a video card or peripheral issue... something Linpack or Prime prob wouldn't catch.

WTF is "CTDing"? :laugh:
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,473 (0.73/day)
Likes
614
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#18
Are you sure the PCI bus is locked at 100mhz? Sounds strangely like a video card or peripheral issue... something Linpack or Prime prob wouldn't catch.

WTF is "CTDing"? :laugh:
CTD == Crash To Desktop.

Yeah, PCI bus is locked at 100Mhz...
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,206 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,694
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#19
syntetic tests only test one part of a system at a time - not all of it.

Testing your ram at 100% with memtest may give different results to having your ram at 100%, your GPU at 100% and your CPU at 100% all at the same time (in-game)

as another odd example, what if the onboard soundcard jumping into the mix going LOOKATMEIWANTATTENTION is enough to push it over the edge?


Treat it like a new OC - dont just test it, tweak it! (voltages, timings, subtimings, make sure nothings overheating)
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
1,087 (0.35/day)
Likes
161
Location
Upstate NewYork
System Name no remorse
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.7 ht on
Motherboard gigabyte z68x-ud3p-b3
Cooling xspc rasa cpu block, bitspower restop, mcp355
Memory 4 x 4gb corsair vengance 1600 8-8-8-24
Video Card(s) 570 gtx
Storage 2x32 gb patriot ssd's in raid 0 (os & games) / 2 x 500gb barracuda (storage)
Display(s) 25 inch 1080p widescreen i-inc
Case cooler master haf x
Audio Device(s) turtle beach earforce px21 headset (usb)
Power Supply corsair HX850
Benchmark Scores super pi 1m : 7.160 sec. 34,837 3dmark06
#20
yes pll voltage and gtl's are pretty critical when it comes to overclocking quads. i had my 9650 up to 4.6 for bench runs, and ran 24/7 4.4 was prime stable. i couldnt get full stability untilli found the right combination of gtl.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,975 (2.25/day)
Likes
3,928
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Power Color RD Vega 64 Reference
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G710 Blue / G610 Orion Red
Software Win 7 Pro
#21
CTD == Crash To Desktop.

Yeah, PCI bus is locked at 100Mhz...
I'd call that a clean exit, LOL! Still inclined it's a peripheral problem, have you tried topping that speed and running? Thinking a multiplier hole in there with the NB.

Linpack is about the most tortuous test known to x86 computing... from what I've read, it was devised by an intel developer to stress silicon. Using Linpack, my temps are highest compared to anything else.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,206 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,694
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#22
I'd call that a clean exit, LOL! Still inclined it's a peripheral problem, have you tried topping that speed and running? Thinking a multiplier hole in there with the NB.

Linpack is about the most tortuous test known to x86 computing... from what I've read, it was devised by an intel developer to stress silicon. Using Linpack, my temps are highest compared to anything else.
linpack also has an x64 mode, much more awesome
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,473 (0.73/day)
Likes
614
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#23
linpack also has an x64 mode, much more awesome
Yep. I was stressing in x64 mode. Only way to stress nearly 8GB of RAM.

Well, it is now stable at 4050Mhz, which makes me happy enough.....for now.