• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ePSXe and modern hardware?

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,526 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,159
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#1
I've been playing some games on my PS1 emulator, ePSXe, lately... specifically MGS. It seems to run rather slow on my machine for some reason. Usually it's fine, although there does seem to be a general slugishness with it. At times, it gets really bad. When I ride elevators, it drops to about 30FPS. At other times, the game will bog down really bad (running around in the communication towers is a good spot for this) and it will be showing 60FPS. It seems all the latest plugins (Pete's OGL2 2.9 is what I'm using) were released around the time the GeForce 7k series/Radeon x1k series were popular. When I watch my GPU usage with GPU-Z, I watch my core clock speed fluctuate between 400 and 850MHz, and the GPU usage doesn't seem to go over 10%.

Is my hardware too new to be used by ePSXe effectively, or is it that my hardware is well over what ePSXe could even ask for, and the emulator is just crappy in the sense it slows down like that for seemingly no reason?
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
1,895 (0.48/day)
Likes
162
Location
ontario canada
System Name home brew
Processor Intel Corei7 3770K OC @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 GSKILL
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon 7970, MSI Radeon 7970
Storage Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240gb. 2 TB Hdd.
Display(s) 3x24inch Dell Ultra IPS
Case CM storm trooper
Power Supply Antec Quattro OC ed. 1200w
Software Windows 7 Business x64
Benchmark Scores vantage: P43089
#2
I've been playing some games on my PS1 emulator, ePSXe, lately... specifically MGS. It seems to run rather slow on my machine for some reason. Usually it's fine, although there does seem to be a general slugishness with it. At times, it gets really bad. When I ride elevators, it drops to about 30FPS. At other times, the game will bog down really bad (running around in the communication towers is a good spot for this) and it will be showing 60FPS. It seems all the latest plugins (Pete's OGL2 2.9 is what I'm using) were released around the time the GeForce 7k series/Radeon x1k series were popular. When I watch my GPU usage with GPU-Z, I watch my core clock speed fluctuate between 400 and 850MHz, and the GPU usage doesn't seem to go over 10%.

Is my hardware too new to be used by ePSXe effectively, or is it that my hardware is well over what ePSXe could even ask for, and the emulator is just crappy in the sense it slows down like that for seemingly no reason?
It could be a few different things. Maybe do some googling on a setup guide to see if theres different settings that might improve it.

Ive run pcsx2 on some ps2 games on my desktop. I got slow moments on my games from time to time. I recently tried a game on my laptop which has newer hardware. core i7, gtx560. It was smooth, but I hadnt tried the game i was playing on my desktop. So hard to say if the hardware is causing the problem. Is there another emulator u can try?
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#3
try PCSX it was running full speed on a pentium D
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2008
Messages
1,302 (0.40/day)
Likes
261
System Name Hakase
Processor Core i5 6600k @ 4.5GHz 1.23V
Motherboard ASUS Z170-A
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 @ 2666MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX670 Power Edition
Storage 120GB 850EVO - 2x600GB Cheetah 15k7 - 2x2TB Constellation ES - 2+3TB Green - 500GB Deskstar
Display(s) LG 19" TV
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Fostex PC100USB
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Mionix Naos 5000
Keyboard daskeyboard Ultimate S Clicky
Software Win 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores not benching anymore...
#4
my laptop, (see specs)
played most PS1 games on ePSXe just fine,
no lag, no whatsoever,
 

ctrain

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
393 (0.14/day)
Likes
72
#5
Try a different GPU plugin or playing with the plugin settings. It's almost always the GPU plugin with a problem like this.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
#6
I'll try ePSXe with MGS. I've only played my RPGs (FF VII-IX, Suikoden I-II, Legend of Legaia, Breath of Fire IV) thus far.

Now all I have to do now is find the disks. :laugh:
 

naoan

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
303 (0.10/day)
Likes
62
System Name AMD?
Audio Device(s) onboard
Software 7 X64
#7
Since you're using an ati card try to set the limit of your gfx ram on the option, specifically this : http://i.imgur.com/1X67Y.png you could type the amount of your gpu ram yourself on the box.

iirc, this was a known problem of pete's ogl.
 
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
374 (0.16/day)
Likes
131
Location
Netherlands
Processor Core i5 4690K @ 3.5 GHz \\ C2Q Q6600 @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3 SLI \\ Asus P5K Deluxe
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Performer \\ Xigmatek Dark Knight
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 2x 4GB \\ Corsair XMS2 2x 2 GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 970 G1 Gaming v1.1 (Hynix) \\ Sapphire HD 6850
Storage Kingston SV200, 3 TB Seagate 7200.14 \\ 2x 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) LG 24MP56HQ
Case Corsair Carbide 200R Windowed \\ CM 690
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 \\ Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Adata HM850 \\ Corsair HX520
Mouse Logitech G602, SteelSeries Sensei Raw Frostblue, Corsair M65
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard Elite
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 \\ Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#8
Perhaps google for "PSXFin", which is a PlayStation emulator that is easy to use and to configure. I used it a several years ago to play my old PlayStation games on the PC. I believe the latest version was 1.13.

Hope it works for you.

Good luck!
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#9
PS1 emulators should run fine on anything. I ran one on an old c2d laptop with intel graphics in ubuntu and it worked great. PS2 is a bit more demanding..
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
1,694 (0.68/day)
Likes
542
System Name TeraUltima 7
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Cooling DeepCool Ice Berg Pro "Black Edition"
Memory Kingston Hyper X 16GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 Super JetStream
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD + 1TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P IPS 75HZ 23" MONITOR
Case Aerocool Dead Silence Black Edition Cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ Stealth X Stream II 600W
Mouse Logitech G400S | Wacom Intuos CTH-480
Keyboard A4Tech G800V Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/9470441
#10
If i remember correctly, there was an issue with MGS1 and OpenGL2 plugin, i think i remember posting it in emuforums before, i just then defaulted to the older D3D or OGL plugin. Shame since OGL2 had better graphical output and shader based framebuffer effects which is faster.
Even made a guide for custom shaders in OGL2 for ePSXe.
http://forums.ngemu.com/showthread.php?t=76098

Also, the 60FPS thing displayed is not real framerate, rather, its the emulation framerate. ~60FPS being NTSC/J and ~55FPS for PAL.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
1,694 (0.68/day)
Likes
542
System Name TeraUltima 7
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Cooling DeepCool Ice Berg Pro "Black Edition"
Memory Kingston Hyper X 16GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 Super JetStream
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD + 1TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P IPS 75HZ 23" MONITOR
Case Aerocool Dead Silence Black Edition Cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ Stealth X Stream II 600W
Mouse Logitech G400S | Wacom Intuos CTH-480
Keyboard A4Tech G800V Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/9470441
#12
usually depends if you are using the original PSX resolution (internal and screen, software rendering) or enhanced with vertex and fragment shader post process effects, (tho today even an IGP could do it easily, Pete's OGL and D3D plugins are mostly optimized for ATi and nVidia graphics)
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.41/day)
Likes
173
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
#13
the hardest thing to emulate quickly is the frame buffer so all frame buffer effects are really slow unless you use a software renderer, :love: pSX 1.13... dunno if thats whats going on but it definately could be, no matter how fast your hardware is framebuffer effects are gonna suck on n64 and psx with 3d acceleration on

note: my info is like 12 years old so i could be just be uneducated on modern emulation
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
1,694 (0.68/day)
Likes
542
System Name TeraUltima 7
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Cooling DeepCool Ice Berg Pro "Black Edition"
Memory Kingston Hyper X 16GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 Super JetStream
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD + 1TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P IPS 75HZ 23" MONITOR
Case Aerocool Dead Silence Black Edition Cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ Stealth X Stream II 600W
Mouse Logitech G400S | Wacom Intuos CTH-480
Keyboard A4Tech G800V Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/9470441
#14
One of the good things about Pete's OpenGL 2 plugin is making the shaders do the framebuffer effects. It was quite problematic in OGL and D3D plugin (but not an issue on software mode)
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,897 (2.22/day)
Likes
6,557
#15
It also depends on the games you're trying to emulate. Sometimes you even need to change settings for each level, I remember I did so in Syphon Filter. But generally epsxe runs well for all the games (at least all those games I played worked great).


p.s.
pcsx2 is a different story, lol all ps2 games had at least minor glitches, some not playable at all. Unfortunately all these projects are unofficial or discontinued. I wish there was some official emulator with proper hardware acceleration. But it's history now. Because of idiotic console exclusivity we have to jump through hoops just to get decent games up and running. :rolleyes: /rant
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.41/day)
Likes
173
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
#16
thats what i always liked about pSX, it was pure software so it didnt look all fancy, but it looked very authentic, and ran almost everything really well
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
1,694 (0.68/day)
Likes
542
System Name TeraUltima 7
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Cooling DeepCool Ice Berg Pro "Black Edition"
Memory Kingston Hyper X 16GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 Super JetStream
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD + 1TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P IPS 75HZ 23" MONITOR
Case Aerocool Dead Silence Black Edition Cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ Stealth X Stream II 600W
Mouse Logitech G400S | Wacom Intuos CTH-480
Keyboard A4Tech G800V Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/9470441
#17
Yeah, thats why i mentioned earlier that MGS1 issue.

Discontinued? PCSX2 is going strong(er). Almost every week/day a new build is comin out and a major one if the fixes and optimization are high enough. Devs even added FXAA (nVidia's fast approximate AA), AVX support (advanced vector extensions) and one of the noticeable addition is MTVU (multi threaded VU emualtion) which can take advantage of 3 or more threads for emulation (still wip so there are still issues).

btw, some sample i recorded last time for ePSXe (old):

also recorded some PCSX2 samples:
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,897 (2.22/day)
Likes
6,557
#18
Tomb raider games on pcsx2 don't run at all or with worst fps ever even tho they use less effects than gow
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
1,694 (0.68/day)
Likes
542
System Name TeraUltima 7
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Cooling DeepCool Ice Berg Pro "Black Edition"
Memory Kingston Hyper X 16GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 Super JetStream
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD + 1TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P IPS 75HZ 23" MONITOR
Case Aerocool Dead Silence Black Edition Cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ Stealth X Stream II 600W
Mouse Logitech G400S | Wacom Intuos CTH-480
Keyboard A4Tech G800V Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/9470441
#19
Some Gundam games also run slow and Tekken 5/Valkyrie Profile 2 has several glitches (playable tho), the devs somehow focuses on more popular games and FFX was one of he better optimized ones. But at least there was an improvement from last time where some of the games won't even boot, PS2 has a large library and lot of work is needed to make em all playable (ePSXe has a very high compatibility but there are still issues and glitches)

Dolphin Wii emulator is also coming along well
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,897 (2.22/day)
Likes
6,557
#20
(ePSXe has a very high compatibility but there are still issues and glitches)
Yes Duke Nukem Time To Kill hangs if you just watch the demo screen and don't press start.
Duke Nukem Land of the Babes has game stopping bugs, even tho this game runs perfectly on sssxs or something (forgot its name). Nightmare Creatures 2 has game stopping bugs as well. It's all the games I tried, my actual ps collection.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
1,694 (0.68/day)
Likes
542
System Name TeraUltima 7
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Cooling DeepCool Ice Berg Pro "Black Edition"
Memory Kingston Hyper X 16GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 Super JetStream
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD + 1TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P IPS 75HZ 23" MONITOR
Case Aerocool Dead Silence Black Edition Cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ Stealth X Stream II 600W
Mouse Logitech G400S | Wacom Intuos CTH-480
Keyboard A4Tech G800V Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/9470441
#21
Regina (Dino Crisis 2) having her red hair pierce the heavens lol (when you equip a pistol).
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2008
Messages
2,955 (0.90/day)
Likes
491
Location
Northampton,UK
System Name Ruy-Love
Processor i7-6700k 4.0Mhz
Motherboard Asus Gamer Pro
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory G.Skill DDR4 3000mhz 16GB
Video Card(s) Zotac GeForce GTX 980Ti AMP Extreme Edition
Storage vertex 2 ssd 120GB, samsung evo850 SSD 250GB
Display(s) AOC 27''
Case HAF-X FULL TOWER
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA SUPERNOVA 750 G2
Mouse NYTH ROCCAT
Keyboard -
Software Windows 10
#22
I played parasite eve, parasite eve 2, cold blood, dino crysis 1,2 and some RE games on emulators
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
1,694 (0.68/day)
Likes
542
System Name TeraUltima 7
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Cooling DeepCool Ice Berg Pro "Black Edition"
Memory Kingston Hyper X 16GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 Super JetStream
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD + 1TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P IPS 75HZ 23" MONITOR
Case Aerocool Dead Silence Black Edition Cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ Stealth X Stream II 600W
Mouse Logitech G400S | Wacom Intuos CTH-480
Keyboard A4Tech G800V Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/9470441
#23
ePSXe has been stalled now afaik, latest was 1.7.0 which was released years after 1.6.0, most folks are lookin at PCSX2 and Dolphin now, Dolphin in particular has been progressing faster vs PCSX2 probably because of the architecture (PS2 has a much more complex hardware to emulate vs the Wii/GameCube)
 

ctrain

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
393 (0.14/day)
Likes
72
#24
If you ever want to play when not at your computer and have a reasonably fast Android phone, you can buy fpsece. It started off a little slow at launch but my Droid X pretty much runs everything at more than full speed now. I've beaten FFT and FF9 on it so far. It's even multi-threaded for dual core phones / tablets and you can use a wireless controller.

There was a brief moment when I wondered if we had truly hit the technology zenith when FF7 became playable on the shitter. Also you can sync the memory card with dropbox, just have to change the file extension and it'll load fine on a PC emulator.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#25
If you ever want to play when not at your computer and have a reasonably fast Android phone, you can buy fpsece. It started off a little slow at launch but my Droid X pretty much runs everything at more than full speed now. I've beaten FFT and FF9 on it so far. It's even multi-threaded for dual core phones / tablets and you can use a wireless controller.

There was a brief moment when I wondered if we had truly hit the technology zenith when FF7 became playable on the shitter. Also you can sync the memory card with dropbox, just have to change the file extension and it'll load fine on a PC emulator.
How are the controls for FF7? I'd love to go back and play that again (heck I even have the PC version). Wonder if I could just flat out install it on an android phone lol