• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Error Code 43 on GTX 980ti Kingpin

d1sc0d4nc3r

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2019
Messages
12 (0.18/day)
Hello peeps,

Struggling with my water cooled Kingpin card for few weeks now.
I bought a low profile nvidia card to fire up the system as it doesnt boot up on its own.
Now it works with the budget card but my Kingpin gives error code 43 in device manager. System recognize the card but cant upgrade driver. Already rolled back to 353.38 and 436.30 nvidia drivers. Nothing changed. Also used DDU in safe mode. Flashed to standard bios with nvflash etc.
These are the infos from nvflash:
EEPROM ID (C8,4012) : GD GD25Q20 2.7-3.6V 2048Kx1S, page
Legacy BIOS ................ Pass
UEFI ..............................Pass
Firmware certificate ...... Pass
InfoROM ........................ Mismatch
Unallocated Space ........ Mismatch
Mismatch error : Command Compare Error
Is there any way to reflash infoROM somehow?
Any other ideas I can try with?
Thanks in advance
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,280 (6.23/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Did you buy the card new or used recently?

Take pics of white stickers on back of card/side of heatsink.

Get a gpu-z screenshot if possible too
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,407 (2.03/day)
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name Newer Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2080ti MSI Duke @2Ghz ish
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
From your description, it sounds like you're missing something out? The Kingpin has a dual BIOS switch. If it's not working at all, it sounds like a bad flash on both BIOS's? But that would be highly unusual. Have you tried the other BIOS switch?
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
710 (2.46/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 2x8GB @ 3733 15-15-15-34-52-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
Error 43 means it isn’t functioning correctly. If it did this before a BIOS flash, the card may be dead or close to it.

If flashing the original BIOS doesn’t bring it back, I fear you have bigger problems on your hands.
 

d1sc0d4nc3r

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2019
Messages
12 (0.18/day)
Did you buy the card new or used recently?

Take pics of white stickers on back of card/side of heatsink.

Get a gpu-z screenshot if possible too
Hi,

I bought the card used on eBay. Took some time to get all the parts to complete the build so return policy on eBay already expired. I couldnt even reach the seller there. Only sticker I have is the one on the backplate. Gpuz screenshot only see my main card what is a low profile budget nvidia card atm. Just to run the system and troubleshoot Kingpin card.
Thanks for your input!

From your description, it sounds like you're missing something out? The Kingpin has a dual BIOS switch. If it's not working at all, it sounds like a bad flash on both BIOS's? But that would be highly unusual. Have you tried the other BIOS switch?
Hi,

Kingpin cards have 3 different bios.
Tried the switch on normal, OC and LN2 mode as well.
No success.
Thanks for your input

Error 43 means it isn’t functioning correctly. If it did this before a BIOS flash, the card may be dead or close to it.

If flashing the original BIOS doesn’t bring it back, I fear you have bigger problems on your hands.
Hi,

I have flashed the bios indeed. With the standard one came from EVGA.
Im thinking about that Mismatch InfoROM message.
Is it possible to reflash that file somehow with nvflash?
I still have hope as card shows up on device manager and all the leds are lit.
Thanks for your input.

I have these few lines here as well.
Maybe it says more to an nvidia expert than to me :)
 

Attachments

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,280 (6.23/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
You got inforom mismatch because you put wrong bios on.

I need you to pull the card apart and verify what ram chips are on there
 

d1sc0d4nc3r

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2019
Messages
12 (0.18/day)
You got inforom mismatch because you put wrong bios on.

I need you to pull the card apart and verify what ram chips are on there
Ram chips are Samsung HC28 ones.
Which one is the correct bios? Im really confused.
I downloaded the stock vbios from evga website what is 203kbyte and that must be the standard vbios for KPE cards
Am I missing something?
There are 3 vbios on their official website. Standard, OC and LN2
I went with the first one.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,280 (6.23/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Ram chips are Samsung HC28 ones.
Which one is the correct bios? Im really confused.
I downloaded the stock vbios from evga website what is 203kbyte and that must be the standard vbios for KPE cards
Am I missing something?
There are 3 vbios on their official website. Standard, OC and LN2
I went with the first one.
I will find out
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,280 (6.23/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Here are 3 files, they are specifically for kingpin.




Nvflash

Nvflash mod



Thanks for your time ✌

 

d1sc0d4nc3r

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2019
Messages
12 (0.18/day)
Thank you very much for your help sir!
So now I have 3 different Bios and 3 different Nvflash to play with :)
Does it matter which ones I try first or should I just keep trying until it get fixed?
Are these files all compatible with each other? So I can use all combinations I guess.
Thank you again for your time and help :clap:
I let you know how it goes.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,280 (6.23/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Use the first one, then the 2nd then 3rd if one of the 3 fails.
 

cornholio666

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
4 (0.06/day)
Since I have pretty much the same issue I'll hook up your thread.
https://ibb.co/9gQ9fjb
Same picture as above if I flash the vga bios and then compare to the file that I used for flashing.
The bios is from the net, but has the same version number as my original bios. The original bios is lost, because the card went black after trying to connect another PWM fan to the radiator, which wasn't plug and play (and I produced a short).
All coils have voltage and nothing looks burnt. The card is recognized as 980ti (error 43) but does not produce an image.
Exact card model:
https://ibb.co/gFVkRNB
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,280 (6.23/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Since I have pretty much the same issue I'll hook up your thread.
https://ibb.co/9gQ9fjb
Same picture as above if I flash the vga bios and then compare to the file that I used for flashing.
The bios is from the net, but has the same version number as my original bios. The original bios is lost, because the card went black after trying to connect another PWM fan to the radiator, which wasn't plug and play (and I produced a short).
All coils have voltage and nothing looks burnt. The card is recognized as 980ti (error 43) but does not produce an image.
Exact card model:
https://ibb.co/gFVkRNB
You need this person to repair it then.


Since I have pretty much the same issue I'll hook up your thread.
https://ibb.co/9gQ9fjb
Same picture as above if I flash the vga bios and then compare to the file that I used for flashing.
The bios is from the net, but has the same version number as my original bios. The original bios is lost, because the card went black after trying to connect another PWM fan to the radiator, which wasn't plug and play (and I produced a short).
All coils have voltage and nothing looks burnt. The card is recognized as 980ti (error 43) but does not produce an image.
Exact card model:
https://ibb.co/gFVkRNB
And not all cards are the same, different click speeds, memory and voltages, device and subsystem IDs too.

I can help you but i need the white sticker info from back of your card too.

Thank you very much for your help sir!
So now I have 3 different Bios and 3 different Nvflash to play with :)
Does it matter which ones I try first or should I just keep trying until it get fixed?
Are these files all compatible with each other? So I can use all combinations I guess.
Thank you again for your time and help :clap:
I let you know how it goes.
Did you fix your card?
 

cornholio666

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
4 (0.06/day)
is it the wrong sticker in my first post?
here again a better picture:
https://ibb.co/98vM74V
and the back of card without backplate:
https://ibb.co/GQ1ZyDy

hope not to need Eli :)
actually the card did not got black with the short, it was still running for a couple of minuits. It went black when I was trying different wire combinations with the new pwm fan, because it was running always at full speed.
But might also have been the short with some time delay due to capacity effects or so...
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,280 (6.23/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
is it the wrong sticker in my first post?
here again a better picture:
https://ibb.co/98vM74V
and the back of card without backplate:
https://ibb.co/GQ1ZyDy

hope not to need Eli :)
actually the card did not got black with the short, it was still running for a couple of minuits. It went black when I was trying different wire combinations with the new pwm fan, because it was running always at full speed.
But might also have been the short with some time delay due to capacity effects or so...
Give me time to research

What specific model is this card?

Nvmd I found it

Your model number is C98TP-1SDN-N5HNX
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,280 (6.23/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Almost: model number C98TP-1SDN-N5HNX
Eh the link is right lol, anyways gonna do some locating

These are the only 2 files that may work. You might need to contact inno3D and give your model and serial number for needed bios files


This link have a few modded ones 1 says gor airbox x4 herculez and the other just says dark so beware.

 

cornholio666

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
4 (0.06/day)
Eh the link is right lol, anyways gonna do some locating

These are the only 2 files that may work. You might need to contact inno3D and give your model and serial number for needed bios files


This link have a few modded ones 1 says gor airbox x4 herculez and the other just says dark so beware.

No change with both bios. Looks like I really need Eli :(
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,280 (6.23/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

d1sc0d4nc3r

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2019
Messages
12 (0.18/day)
Im back again,
Tried every official vbios has been sent to me here.
Managed to update all 3 on the card but error code 43 still remains in device manager.
Nvflash says update was successful so I dont know what else I can try.
I will do a force vga driver reset in safe mode with DDU.
After that I ran out of ideas.
I was wondering if a TT riser cable could be the source of error?
Thanks
 

Attachments

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,280 (6.23/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Contact EVGA for correct bios.

Once you have it installed, attempt to upload it to the tpu vga bios database by using the arrow button by the uefi check box in gpu-z. You may receive a prompt that the file is already in the database with a link, copy that link and post it here, if you dont get that prompt at some point you will receive a link to the file you uploaded, post it here too.

Otherwise you may need eli tech for that common code 43 for nvidia cards
 

d1sc0d4nc3r

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2019
Messages
12 (0.18/day)
Thanks very much I do as you say and I contact EVGA right now.
Is Eli tech on this forum or should I reach out for him somewhere else on the internet?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,280 (6.23/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
This guy.

He may have a website with his info
 

d1sc0d4nc3r

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2019
Messages
12 (0.18/day)
This guy.

He may have a website with his info
It looks like he advertised his equipment on youtube a week ago so maybe he is quitting from this whole vga repair business.
I found an email address so I send a question anyway.
Thanks again.
 
Top