• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Error: ucrtbase.terminate not located in the dynamic link library api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 17, 2010
Messages
137 (0.03/day)
Location
Vermont, North America
System Name Soo-Fancy
Processor Intel Core i-5-4690K @ 3.5GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X Ultra Durable Black Edition
Memory 16GB 1600MHz Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) XFX AMD RX 480 8GB 1338Mhz Black Edition
Storage Samsung 840 Pro
Display(s) 2 x ASUS MS238H 23" Widescreen HD Slim Backlit LED
Case CoolerMaster Mastercase Pro
Power Supply EVGA Superova 850 watt Platinum
Mouse Logitech M570 Trackball
Keyboard Cooler Master CK530
Software Windows Home 10, 64 bit
History:
I purchased a refurbished laptop last week that came with windows 7 pro 64 preinstalled. It had a problem getting updates which I have fixed, but the machine has another error I don't know how to fix that says "The procedure entry point ucrtbase.terminate could not be located in the dynamic link library api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll."
This error manifests when I go to System, click to open System Protection, which opens, but then a pop up error says "The procedure entry point ucrtbase.terminate could not be located in the dynamic link library api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll." I then have to click "ok" three times to dismiss it before I can create a restore point (which is created fine as far as I can tell, I have not tried to use any of the restore points created this way).

System:
HP EliteBook 8460p A0001D02
2.50 ghz Intel Core i5-2520M
AMD Radeon HD 6470M
Windows 7 Professional (x64)

Question:
What are the options for solving the error: "The procedure entry point ucrtbase.terminate could not be located in the dynamic link library api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll."

I could ignore the error, but I need to know if it will be effecting the restore points in any significant negative manner if I choose to do so. That is the only error on the system that has popped up so far other than the update service problem which I solved last night. Advice appreciated.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
17,410 (3.25/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z (144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Sounds like a corrupted install and not worth the hassle of endless troubleshooting, not to say it could have an infection, or had one in the past which has damaged it like this. Get the key off the installation with the free ProduKey and reinstall it clean with the disc. If you don't have one, download a clean copy from somewhere. Note that it will most likely be an OEM key, so you'll need that version of the disc, or get it off the label stuck to the laptop. ProduKey should tell which type it is.

Download all the latest drivers from HP's website and then install those. The laptop should then run smoothly.

www.nirsoft.net/utils/product_cd_key_viewer.html
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2010
Messages
137 (0.03/day)
Location
Vermont, North America
System Name Soo-Fancy
Processor Intel Core i-5-4690K @ 3.5GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X Ultra Durable Black Edition
Memory 16GB 1600MHz Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) XFX AMD RX 480 8GB 1338Mhz Black Edition
Storage Samsung 840 Pro
Display(s) 2 x ASUS MS238H 23" Widescreen HD Slim Backlit LED
Case CoolerMaster Mastercase Pro
Power Supply EVGA Superova 850 watt Platinum
Mouse Logitech M570 Trackball
Keyboard Cooler Master CK530
Software Windows Home 10, 64 bit
Thanks.
I found a fix online right after I posted this and was coming back here to delete the question. It's fixed now. Thanks for the response.

Sounds like a corrupted install and not worth the hassle of endless troubleshooting, not to say it could have an infection, or had one in the past which has damaged it like this. Get the key off the installation with the free ProduKey and reinstall it clean with the disc. If you don't have one, download a clean copy from somewhere. Note that it will most likely be an OEM key, so you'll need that version of the disc, or get it off the label stuck to the laptop. ProduKey should tell which type it is.

Download all the latest drivers from HP's website and then install those. The laptop should then run smoothly.

www.nirsoft.net/utils/product_cd_key_viewer.html
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
17,410 (3.25/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z (144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
That's great, but care to tell us how you fixed it?

There might be someone else in this predicament at some point that it might benefit. Also, how did you fix the update problem? That's been a thorny one for ages, with suspicion falling on Microsoft for deliberately crippling it to nudge people towards Windows 10.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
23,086 (3.72/day)
Location
Washington
System Name Stardust
Processor I9 12900
Motherboard NUC12EDBi9
Cooling Proprietary
Memory 64GB Mushkin Redline DDR4 3200mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 1x 250GB 960 EVO | 1x 500gb Intel 720p | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) 3x Gigabyte M28U (4k IPS)
Case Little bitty itty NUC 12 Extreme case
Audio Device(s) Schiit Hel 2 on ATH-R70x's
Power Supply FSP 650w
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO (White)
Keyboard Ducky One 3 Pure White
VR HMD HTC VIVE
Software Windows 11 x64 Pro
That's great, but care to tell us how you fixed it?

There might be someone else in this predicament at some point that it might benefit. Also, how did you fix the update problem? That's been a thorny one for ages, with suspicion falling on Microsoft for deliberately crippling it to nudge people towards Windows 10.

That ^ telling us is the biggest gift, was it an SFC?
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2010
Messages
137 (0.03/day)
Location
Vermont, North America
System Name Soo-Fancy
Processor Intel Core i-5-4690K @ 3.5GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X Ultra Durable Black Edition
Memory 16GB 1600MHz Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) XFX AMD RX 480 8GB 1338Mhz Black Edition
Storage Samsung 840 Pro
Display(s) 2 x ASUS MS238H 23" Widescreen HD Slim Backlit LED
Case CoolerMaster Mastercase Pro
Power Supply EVGA Superova 850 watt Platinum
Mouse Logitech M570 Trackball
Keyboard Cooler Master CK530
Software Windows Home 10, 64 bit
Open elevated cmd.
Type the following command: regsvr32 /u api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll.
Type the following command: regsvr32 /i api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll.
Close cmd. Shut down. Restart.
Here's the page that lists the commands: http://ss64.com/nt/regsvr32.html

That being said, I also did a registry cleaning, and it also had a pending update that went through that was apparently awaiting a full shut down. It might very well have just been that.

Microsoft can nudge all they want, I'm keeping this older model laptop on 7, it's not powerful enough for the bloat of 10. I was very near to running a sfc scan (I was going to make that my last thing to set it to do before retiring to bed for the night) and then putting the windows disc in and repairing the install like you suggested tomorrow if the sfc repair didn't work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top