• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Errr..about the same temps idle and load on e8400 ?

Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
2,454 (0.81/day)
Likes
593
Location
Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
System Name Current gamer
Processor Intel 980X
Motherboard Evga Classified
Cooling Phanteks
Memory 12 GB
Video Card(s) VisionTek 7970
Storage Samsung 256GB ssd - WD 1TB
Display(s) ASUS 144Hz
Case NZXT Phantom Enthusiast
Power Supply Antec 1200
Software Win 7 64
#2
Take a screen during peak load.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#3
Sorry, can't help on that one. Look's like sensors are working, but they are not being read when tested...

Welcome to TPU. You should have probably posted this in the Realtemp forum, here:http://forums.techpowerup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=65

Edit: Like rickss69 said.

Run Prime95 and take a screen shoot of real temp at load.
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
The sensor movement test is reporting 0 movement. Stuck sensors.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#5
^ Agreed. Get yourself a fan and temperature controller and put a probe on the CPU's IHS to get an idea of what the temps are at. You won't get the temperature of the cores themselves, so add a few degrees (maybe 5C or more?) to get a temperature close to the CPU cores.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#6
Really you could just go by the CPU socket temp. This temp is reported in your bios. I believe SpeedFan reports this temp as well.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#7
^ Better solution :)
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,363
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
If they are stuck at 33/34°C I wouldn't worry about it. They will go up if your temps ever get above that, and 33/34°C is nothing to worry about.
 

zalmanor

New Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2009
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
re: e8400 idle, load

Hi,
Many thanks for reply,first i must say i'm trying a new rig wich looks like this :
Asus Maximus formula 2
core 2 duo e8400 step E0@3.6 Ghz (9*400)
WD Velociraptor 150 GB
OCZ Reaper 8500 2*2 GB
Zalman cnps 10 extreme
Zalman Gs1000 high tower(added two fans bottom and above)
Sapphire HD4850 a bit OCed Zalman cooled
Room temp about 20 degrees
core temps were the same @ stock, idle and under load,varying only for 1 or 2 degrees..@3.6 Ghz 33/34 idle and about 37/37 under load.
socket sensor shows 19 degrees idle and 30 degrees full under speedfan

Pls take a look at the pic,any explanation is welcome,thank you !
e8400 temps.jpg
 
Last edited:

WSP

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
101 (0.03/day)
Likes
6
Location
Indonesia
Processor AMD PII X4 950BE | E5300
Motherboard MSI 770-G45 | Asus P5N32-E SLI bios 1903
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme (mod) | stock
Memory 2x1Gb V-GEN PC10600 | 2gb kit Mushkin EM silverline
Video Card(s) 9800GT+9600GT | GTX260+GTS250
Storage Hitachi 160GB+Seagate 320GB | WD 160GB+Hitachi 160GB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer X193HQ | LG 710S
Case Enlight | caseless
Audio Device(s) Audigy SB0090 w/ ATP3 | no sound
Power Supply Toughpower 650W | VenomRX Boomslang modular 700W
Software Win7 x64
Benchmark Scores 14001 3DMark06 score with Manli 9600GT OCed 775-1175
#10
just like erocker said...stuck sensor

but you can try another temp software like speedfan, everest, core temp etc