• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ESD (Static) Protection

For static protection, I should buy:

  • a static wrist wrap only

    Votes: 4 30.8%
  • a static mat only

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • both a static wrist wrap and a mat

    Votes: 1 7.7%
  • nothing

    Votes: 8 61.5%

  • Total voters
    13

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#1
The final steps of building my PC are coming up. I have ordered the parts and am ready to build. Now I am worried about static protection. What is it I need to do? I understand about static wrist wraps, but what about the mats? Are they worth the cash.
 

gerrynicol

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
758 (0.16/day)
Likes
18
Location
Scotland, Falkirk
System Name Home built
Processor Core i7-920 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6t OC
Cooling Akasa Nero
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDR3 PC3-1348Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 SLi
Storage 160GB, 250GB, 320GB
Display(s) 24" dell(1920X1200)
Case Coolermaster HAF
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Prelude, logitech Z5500
Power Supply Corsair HX 1K
Software 7 ultimate 64
#2
I use them to lay the hardware on instead of keeping them in bags, if you don't do much building then I wouldn't bother, if it's something your gonna use alot then go for it.

Gerry.
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.80/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
I don't own any mats or wrist bands. I just lay parts on the anti-static bags, and usually work on a wooden surface. I also just take some common sense percautions like grounding myself and any tools on the side of my case before touching any components. Haven't shocked anything yet. If I were working on other peoples computers or was inside my computer everyday I might invest in one. I guess I'll be sorry though if I ever fry a component because of static discharge :( .
 

peta01

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2005
Messages
387 (0.09/day)
Likes
0
Location
Prague
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice (OC 2500 MHz)
Motherboard Abit AN8 Ultra - passive northbridge cooling via heatpipe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 48 (almost 1 kg of copper :) )
Memory 1GB RAM (2x512 DDR, CL2, running at 137 MHz)
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800GTO2 (510/585, 16p) AC ATI Silencer
Storage 320 GB Seagate, 200 GB Western Digital, 120 GB Seagate
Display(s) LG 22" LCD Panel
Case Chieftec blue bigtower with additional cooling
Audio Device(s) AC97 raiser card on mainboard
Power Supply Chieftec 360W
Software WinXP SP2, sometimes Vista Ultimate x64
#4
Do not underestimate ESD. I worked at engineering at some factory producing thousands computers per day and I saw some interesting things about ESD there. If you damage your component by static electricity it does not mean that it stops working immediately. It just damages one or more circuits and then it is matter of time when your component dies. Many people dont know that their parts died by ESD because they have not touch them for half since it was assembled.
You have to be very skilful to destroy component by one static bolt (it is easy if you dont follow basic rules). To be really sure, that you will not damage your parts with static el., you have to use static wrist wraps and special surface on your table. Also be aware of dust.
Think about these things only if you want to have computer service or if you have more than three computers. In your case it is enough to ground yourself by touching something grounded (computer case is enough). Also socks are important. Use only socks (yes the things on your legs) made of pure cotton. Anti-static bags should be good for you as working area. If you follow my advice there is 90% chance that you will not damage your components by static electricity.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.59/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#5
I use a static strip, cheapest insurance if you ask me. Some people say chassis ground is good enough, but I use a water pipe... I've seen to many people blow hardware from not wearing a strip or just using chassis ground. Better safe than sorry. ;)

-Dan
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#6
djbbenn said:
I use a static strip, cheapest insurance if you ask me. Some people say chassis ground is good enough, but I use a water pipe... I've seen to many people blow hardware from not wearing a strip or just using chassis ground. Better safe than sorry. ;)

-Dan
You are saying to use the Chassis as the grounding?
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.59/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#7
No, I use a water pipe. Like our heating system is water, and all those pipes connect to the main pipe in the ground. Chassis ground is only good when it's plugged in, but if you're working on the pc any amount, it's usually not pulgged in, therefore it's not grounded good. I know people that used just chassis ground, and still fried a part.

-Dan
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#8
djbbenn said:
No, I use a water pipe. Like our heating system is water, and all those pipes connect to the main pipe in the ground. Chassis ground is only good when it's plugged in, but if you're working on the pc any amount, it's usually not pulgged in, therefore it's not grounded good. I know people that used just chassis ground, and still fried a part.

-Dan
So what method do you use to connect yourself to the pipe, a wrist wrap?
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.59/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#9
Yes, a static strip...

-Dan
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#10
I own a static wrist strap... never use it... but yeah...

ive actually shocked my an7 with a nice cm long bolt of static and its still working just fine...

lol :D

Infact, that thing has given me less troubles than any other component I have ever purchased...
 

peta01

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2005
Messages
387 (0.09/day)
Likes
0
Location
Prague
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice (OC 2500 MHz)
Motherboard Abit AN8 Ultra - passive northbridge cooling via heatpipe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 48 (almost 1 kg of copper :) )
Memory 1GB RAM (2x512 DDR, CL2, running at 137 MHz)
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800GTO2 (510/585, 16p) AC ATI Silencer
Storage 320 GB Seagate, 200 GB Western Digital, 120 GB Seagate
Display(s) LG 22" LCD Panel
Case Chieftec blue bigtower with additional cooling
Audio Device(s) AC97 raiser card on mainboard
Power Supply Chieftec 360W
Software WinXP SP2, sometimes Vista Ultimate x64
#11
Dippyskoodlez said:
I own a static wrist strap... never use it... but yeah...

ive actually shocked my an7 with a nice cm long bolt of static and its still working just fine...

lol :D

Infact, that thing has given me less troubles than any other component I have ever purchased...
Sorry, but you will not be laughting for a long time. I give your mobo max half year of life.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2005
Messages
1,760 (0.40/day)
Likes
91
Location
Calverton, New York
System Name Current rig
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard Asus Z710-Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U9S
Memory 32GB Ripjaws V 3200
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 980 Ti Strix OC 6GB
Case rosewill L4412
Power Supply seasonic 1kw
#12
Thermopylae_480 said:
I don't own any mats or wrist bands. I just lay parts on the anti-static bags, and usually work on a wooden surface. I also just take some common sense percautions like grounding myself and any tools on the side of my case before touching any components. Haven't shocked anything yet. If I were working on other peoples computers or was inside my computer everyday I might invest in one. I guess I'll be sorry though if I ever fry a component because of static discharge :( .
It only needs 12 volts to damage computer equipment, and it needs to be 30,000volts for human to feel, and esd doesnt hurt it right away, it just decreases the performance overtrime gradually.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,100 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,255
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#13
i've never shocked anything in my builds, then again, I'm not stupid and make sure everything is unhooked when working in the comp as well as keeping things on the antistatic bags until I'm ready to install them.
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#14
um actually most static eletricity is between 30,000 and 50,000 volts. thing is its only about .00001amps. also 1v @50amp will stop a heart so its not all about volt.

Volt - "The International System unit of electric potential and electromotive force, equal to the difference of electric potential between two points on a conducting wire carrying a constant current of one ampere when the power dissipated between the points is one watt."

Amp - "(AMPere) A measurement of electrical current in a circuit. Contrast with "volts," which is a measure of force, or pressure, behind the current. Multiplying amps times volts derives "watts," the total measurement of power. In electrical equations such as Ohm's Law, the symbol for amp is "I" (see Ohm's Law).

One amp is 6,280,000,000,000,000,000 (6.28 x 1018) electrons passing by the point of measurement in one second. See volt and watt. "

Source--> Answers.com
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
2,722 (0.59/day)
Likes
44
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Q6600
Motherboard DFI LanParty P35-TR2
Memory 4x1024MB Crucial OC-6400
Video Card(s) ATI HD 3870X2 Crossfire
Storage WD Black 640GB / Seagate 7200.10 320GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung SyncMaster
Case Lian Li PC-A16b
Power Supply SilverStone Decathlon DA750
Software Windows 7 HP
#15
To sum this all up, spend the $5 or what ever it costs and get a static strip. It's the cheapest insurace you can get. ;)

-Dan
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#16
peta01 said:
Sorry, but you will not be laughting for a long time. I give your mobo max half year of life.

even funnier, because that was well over a year ago. :laugh:

Actually, going on almost 2 now..
 

peta01

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2005
Messages
387 (0.09/day)
Likes
0
Location
Prague
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice (OC 2500 MHz)
Motherboard Abit AN8 Ultra - passive northbridge cooling via heatpipe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 48 (almost 1 kg of copper :) )
Memory 1GB RAM (2x512 DDR, CL2, running at 137 MHz)
Video Card(s) Sapphire X800GTO2 (510/585, 16p) AC ATI Silencer
Storage 320 GB Seagate, 200 GB Western Digital, 120 GB Seagate
Display(s) LG 22" LCD Panel
Case Chieftec blue bigtower with additional cooling
Audio Device(s) AC97 raiser card on mainboard
Power Supply Chieftec 360W
Software WinXP SP2, sometimes Vista Ultimate x64
#17
bikr692002 said:
It only needs 12 volts to damage computer equipment, and it needs to be 30,000volts for human to feel, and esd doesnt hurt it right away, it just decreases the performance overtrime gradually.
I have touched 60,000V and I didnt feel anything. Just my hairs gone wild :roll:
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#18
peta01 said:
I have touched 60,000V and I didnt feel anything. Just my hairs gone wild :roll:
not enough current then.... the :average" static shock is ~30kv :)
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2005
Messages
1,760 (0.40/day)
Likes
91
Location
Calverton, New York
System Name Current rig
Processor i7-6700k
Motherboard Asus Z710-Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-U9S
Memory 32GB Ripjaws V 3200
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 980 Ti Strix OC 6GB
Case rosewill L4412
Power Supply seasonic 1kw
#19
KennyT772 said:
um actually most static eletricity is between 30,000 and 50,000 volts. thing is its only about .00001amps. also 1v @50amp will stop a heart so its not all about volt.

Volt - "The International System unit of electric potential and electromotive force, equal to the difference of electric potential between two points on a conducting wire carrying a constant current of one ampere when the power dissipated between the points is one watt."

Amp - "(AMPere) A measurement of electrical current in a circuit. Contrast with "volts," which is a measure of force, or pressure, behind the current. Multiplying amps times volts derives "watts," the total measurement of power. In electrical equations such as Ohm's Law, the symbol for amp is "I" (see Ohm's Law).

One amp is 6,280,000,000,000,000,000 (6.28 x 1018) electrons passing by the point of measurement in one second. See volt and watt. "

Source--> Answers.com
Yeah mos static electricity is >30,000 volts... which means if u feel the shock, ur fucked and it doesnt matter the wattage, just the shock to the board, I've done it before, thats why I use rubber gloves,grounding strap and anti-static matting, overboard yes but I don't want to shock it one bit anymore
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#20
djbbenn said:
To sum this all up, spend the $5 or what ever it costs and get a static strip. It's the cheapest insurace you can get. ;)

-Dan
Work with boarsd all day long wear a wrist strap use the bags boards came in and a little bit of rubber sole { running shoes}
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#21
yogurt_21 said:
i've never shocked anything in my builds, then again, I'm not stupid and make sure everything is unhooked when working in the comp as well as keeping things on the antistatic bags until I'm ready to install them.

Actually, you should not stick things ON the antistatic bag, as that is more likely to kill it, because the bag outside is conductive.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#22
don't worry about ESD too much man...worry about screwing your motherboard into your case wrong and short circuiting everything :p . As a preventive measure, ALWAYS touch something metal before touching your components. Do not wear fuzzy clothes, do not touch computer parts after touching something fuzzy, and dont put your stuff on fuzzy things. If you have to put your parts in anything except the case, stick it on your ESD proof bags/the floor. And remember...DO NOT SCREW MOTHERBOARD DIRECTLY INTO CASE. Case-spacers-motherboard. after thats all set, dont worry about a thing. Except for installing the OS :laugh:
Happy Gaming!
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#23
Dippyskoodlez said:
Actually, you should not stick things ON the antistatic bag, as that is more likely to kill it, because the bag outside is conductive.
...I stand corrected! lol thanks for that tip, I'll probably need it :D . Um in that case, if you have to put your components down, stick it in the antistatic bag, on the hard floor, or just on top of the case (after touching it to make sure it doesnt have a charge lol)