• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ethernet cable

Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,911 (3.21/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 32GB (4 x 8GB) @ DDR4-3600 (Samsung B-Die)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3 (non-LHR)
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB PCIe 3.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 Titanium 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 w/ Cherry Green Keyswitches & aftermarket PBT keycaps
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
I have sigs turned off. This is not specific to TPU. I turn off forum sigs everywhere. I'm not going to follow every hyperlink after hyperlink to see if Participant X actually isn't an idiot. They need to demonstrate a reasonable amount of acumen in the discussion itself.

Forum participants must put an indication of their wisdom in their commentary, not some alleged hyperlink.

I will point out that there were unmanaged hubs and managed switches in the Nineties (the latter were FAR more expensive than the former). Today's consumer hubs are still unmanaged by the Ethernet protocol does better data handling. That doesn't really change the electrical capability of these devices. Nor should it change the way the manufacturers describe these units.

This isn't specific to PC knowledge.

If you want to go on camera espousing some super awesome way of emulsifying egg-based sauces, you should give some sort of backing during your description of the process. Note that there are quacks in every industry. The US Congress has several even if they point to their "credentials."
Where is the wisdom and acumen in this post? I

It seems like a rant about sigs and one misguided comment about "consumer hubs" (which are no longer sold, they are all switches now).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
846 (5.49/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Msi b550m Mortar +WiFi
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Hyperx c16 3200 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 10 Pro
Any cat cable can be shielded I believe the category number has very little to do with it, the letters after denote it FTP,STP,UTP and F/UTP also unless the cable has that stamped on the side it's quite hard to tell the difference if your unfamiliar with the cables.
Personally as others have said I tend to make my own I'm not that particular about length after all the cables should be good up to 100m so having the odd few meters spare on a short run I don't think it that much of a Biggie.
Anyway back to Op spend as little as possible no cables being sold these days would handle any less than 1gbs and yes a little dumb switch is perfect but if it starts to climb in price I think it would be better to look at why your WiFi range is junk and can you make that better.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2021
Messages
436 (1.99/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X (PBO enabled, no other OC) + Alphacool waterblock
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B550-I Gaming
Cooling custom loop: 360mm XSPC & 360mm Alphacool radiators & Noctua NF-F12 fans; NF-S12 chassis fans
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3600 (no aRGB)
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF Gaming GeForce RTX 3080 Ti OC 12GB + Alphacool waterblock
Storage two m.2 SSDs, 2GB SATA SSD, 8GB SATA SSD
Display(s) LG OLED55C1PUB 4K@120Hz TV
Case Lian-Li O11D Mini
Audio Device(s) onboard Realtek chip + Sony A/V receiver
Power Supply SilverStone SX800 SFX-L
Mouse Glorious D Minus
Keyboard Keychron C1 tenkeyless (Gateron Reds)
VR HMD Menlo Park, CA dogchow (Oculus Rift S)
Software Redmond, WA dogchow (Windows 10 Pro, $7 from Keysoff)
Benchmark Scores My system matches standard results. I use benchmarks to set fan curves; I don't care about scores.
Where is the wisdom and acumen in this post?
It's understandable if you don't see it now. It will be evident in ten years.

Hindsight is 20-20.

:p

Going back to the original post, it should be pointed out that Ethernet cabling is not particularly new and throws over 10m in length have been around for over 20 years. Higher bandwidth Ethernet standards have shortened many prescribed lengths but it's not like high-speed Ethernet connectivity isn't attainable with cable lengths over 10 meters.

The biggest omission here is the OP's budget.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,911 (3.21/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 32GB (4 x 8GB) @ DDR4-3600 (Samsung B-Die)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3 (non-LHR)
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB PCIe 3.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 Titanium 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 w/ Cherry Green Keyswitches & aftermarket PBT keycaps
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
It's understandable if you don't see it now. It will be evident in ten years.

Hindsight is 20-20.

:p
... cool story bro, I guess? I hope in 20 years I can be as smart as you think you are.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,349 (4.80/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Note it claims to be a 5-port switch but that is really a marketing gimmick to make it sound more capable. Yes, it has 5 ports or RJ-45 connections, but one must be used to connect the switch to your network. So technically, IMO, it should be called a 4-port switch because you can only connect 4 devices (4 computers or a combination of computers, networked printers, NAS, smart TV, etc.) to it.
You are connect it to 5 devices.

So yes, again, you are correct. But IMO, it is like advertising a refrigerator has 25 cubic feet of storage space. Yes it does have 25 cu feet - but only after you remove all the shelves, drawers and ice maker.
That's a bad example. The better example would be selling a car that has seats for 5 people, then complaining that it should only be advertised 4 people, because one of them is the driver and shouldn't be counted.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2021
Messages
436 (1.99/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X (PBO enabled, no other OC) + Alphacool waterblock
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B550-I Gaming
Cooling custom loop: 360mm XSPC & 360mm Alphacool radiators & Noctua NF-F12 fans; NF-S12 chassis fans
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3600 (no aRGB)
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF Gaming GeForce RTX 3080 Ti OC 12GB + Alphacool waterblock
Storage two m.2 SSDs, 2GB SATA SSD, 8GB SATA SSD
Display(s) LG OLED55C1PUB 4K@120Hz TV
Case Lian-Li O11D Mini
Audio Device(s) onboard Realtek chip + Sony A/V receiver
Power Supply SilverStone SX800 SFX-L
Mouse Glorious D Minus
Keyboard Keychron C1 tenkeyless (Gateron Reds)
VR HMD Menlo Park, CA dogchow (Oculus Rift S)
Software Redmond, WA dogchow (Windows 10 Pro, $7 from Keysoff)
Benchmark Scores My system matches standard results. I use benchmarks to set fan curves; I don't care about scores.
... cool story bro, I guess? I hope in 20 years I can be as smart as you think you are.
I hope so too. Good luck with that.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
9,340 (1.65/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
That's a bad example. The better example would be selling a car that has seats for 5 people, then complaining that it should only be advertised 4 people, because one of them is the driver and shouldn't be counted.
LOL - I suppose. Some folks like or need examples and/or analogies. The fridge's advertised capacity compared to its usable capacity was the best I could think of that most users would get.

Not sure yours is ideal either. Perhaps if we tweak it a bit and complain that car should be advertised for 4 "passengers", since the driver's seat should not be counted? ;) But then, who wants to sit in the middle of the back seat?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,349 (4.80/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Not sure yours is ideal either. Perhaps if we tweak it a bit and complain that car should be advertised for 4 "passengers", since the driver's seat should not be counted? ;) But then, who wants to sit in the middle of the back seat?
But then what would you change the marketing on a 5 port switch to, since it has 5 ports just like the car has 5 seats? 4 device switch doesn't work because you are connecting it to 5 devices.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
9,340 (1.65/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Okay. I concede.

5-port Ethernet switch is the correct term.
 
Top