• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA 680i hates my DVD drive

Joined
Jun 16, 2006
Messages
894 (0.21/day)
Likes
6
Processor E6600 @ 3.5GHz
Motherboard EVGA 680i
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon with high CFM LED fan + 25cm case fan
Memory 2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 C5 @ 1130 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTS 655/909
Storage 400GB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 20.1" SCEPTRE X20WC-Gamer
Case Thermaltake Armor with 25cm fan
Audio Device(s) On board for now
Power Supply FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX700-GLN
Software Windows XP Professional
#1
Ok, I just got my computer together and it hangs instead of allowing me into the bios. I remove my IDE DVD drive and presto! I can get into the bios setup screen. The board is an EVGA 680i, the DVD drive is a LITE-ON Model SHD-16P1S. The drive has power and will open and try to read CDs, but when I connect it to the motherboard, it hangs on boot. I have tried all three jumper settings with the same result. Anyone have any ideas?

Everything else seems to be working fine but here's the list.
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3400620AS 400GB
PowerTek 750W F5-Series ATX12V 750W Power Supply
SAPPHIRE Radeon X1950XT
Logitech G11
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
Thermaltake big typhoon
Thermaltake Armor VA8003BWS
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,162 (3.86/day)
Likes
1,419
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#2
DOA???? Try it in another machine
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2006
Messages
894 (0.21/day)
Likes
6
Processor E6600 @ 3.5GHz
Motherboard EVGA 680i
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon with high CFM LED fan + 25cm case fan
Memory 2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 C5 @ 1130 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTS 655/909
Storage 400GB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 20.1" SCEPTRE X20WC-Gamer
Case Thermaltake Armor with 25cm fan
Audio Device(s) On board for now
Power Supply FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX700-GLN
Software Windows XP Professional
#3
DOA???? Try it in another machine
I would if I could. My other computer is 150 miles away. I'm at college, so all I have is my laptop.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,162 (3.86/day)
Likes
1,419
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#4
Try another cable and put it on its own chain. Also try it with no jumper at all if master slave or cable select isn't working.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2006
Messages
894 (0.21/day)
Likes
6
Processor E6600 @ 3.5GHz
Motherboard EVGA 680i
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon with high CFM LED fan + 25cm case fan
Memory 2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 C5 @ 1130 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTS 655/909
Storage 400GB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 20.1" SCEPTRE X20WC-Gamer
Case Thermaltake Armor with 25cm fan
Audio Device(s) On board for now
Power Supply FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX700-GLN
Software Windows XP Professional
#5
Try another cable and put it on its own chain. Also try it with no jumper at all if master slave or cable select isn't working.
I don't have any of my parts with me, so I only have the cable the motherboard came with. It is on its own cable. I'll try that jumperless idea.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2006
Messages
894 (0.21/day)
Likes
6
Processor E6600 @ 3.5GHz
Motherboard EVGA 680i
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon with high CFM LED fan + 25cm case fan
Memory 2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 C5 @ 1130 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTS 655/909
Storage 400GB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 20.1" SCEPTRE X20WC-Gamer
Case Thermaltake Armor with 25cm fan
Audio Device(s) On board for now
Power Supply FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX700-GLN
Software Windows XP Professional
#6
Same result with no jumper.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2006
Messages
894 (0.21/day)
Likes
6
Processor E6600 @ 3.5GHz
Motherboard EVGA 680i
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon with high CFM LED fan + 25cm case fan
Memory 2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 C5 @ 1130 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTS 655/909
Storage 400GB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 20.1" SCEPTRE X20WC-Gamer
Case Thermaltake Armor with 25cm fan
Audio Device(s) On board for now
Power Supply FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX700-GLN
Software Windows XP Professional
#7
It hangs on code 75, which is the IDE device detection code. That makes sense, but doesn't help.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,162 (3.86/day)
Likes
1,419
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#8
If you just let it hang for 5 mins will it pass?
Have you tried IDE2?

Still I think its a dead DVD or a bad cable.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2006
Messages
894 (0.21/day)
Likes
6
Processor E6600 @ 3.5GHz
Motherboard EVGA 680i
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon with high CFM LED fan + 25cm case fan
Memory 2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 C5 @ 1130 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTS 655/909
Storage 400GB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 20.1" SCEPTRE X20WC-Gamer
Case Thermaltake Armor with 25cm fan
Audio Device(s) On board for now
Power Supply FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX700-GLN
Software Windows XP Professional
#9
If you just let it hang for 5 mins will it pass?
Have you tried IDE2?

Still I think its a dead DVD or a bad cable.
There's only one IDE port on the 680i...unless I am missing it. I think it's probably the cable...this is something I'd have tested in 2 seconds if I were home with all of my stuff instead of in this apartment with nothing. It's been sitting in there for about 15 minutes and it is still hanging.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.52/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#10
too bad the all-nite store is out-of -stock on IDE cables LOL
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2006
Messages
894 (0.21/day)
Likes
6
Processor E6600 @ 3.5GHz
Motherboard EVGA 680i
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon with high CFM LED fan + 25cm case fan
Memory 2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 C5 @ 1130 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTS 655/909
Storage 400GB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 20.1" SCEPTRE X20WC-Gamer
Case Thermaltake Armor with 25cm fan
Audio Device(s) On board for now
Power Supply FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX700-GLN
Software Windows XP Professional
#11
too bad the all-nite store is out-of -stock on IDE cables LOL
Here in Athens...where I'd get an IDE cable I have no idea. Unless wal-mart stocks them. I pay no attention to the wal-mart computing area. I'm going home on Friday and the computer is coming with me. I should have it figured out very quickly then.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.52/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#12
seee you friday then
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2006
Messages
894 (0.21/day)
Likes
6
Processor E6600 @ 3.5GHz
Motherboard EVGA 680i
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon with high CFM LED fan + 25cm case fan
Memory 2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 C5 @ 1130 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTS 655/909
Storage 400GB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 20.1" SCEPTRE X20WC-Gamer
Case Thermaltake Armor with 25cm fan
Audio Device(s) On board for now
Power Supply FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX700-GLN
Software Windows XP Professional
#13
I went and picked up a different drive from Wal-Mart (figured I'd take it back afterwards) and I have the same problem. Now I'm starting to think it is the motherboard, which is just great. I wonder if a bios flash would help anything...
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2006
Messages
894 (0.21/day)
Likes
6
Processor E6600 @ 3.5GHz
Motherboard EVGA 680i
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon with high CFM LED fan + 25cm case fan
Memory 2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 C5 @ 1130 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTS 655/909
Storage 400GB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 20.1" SCEPTRE X20WC-Gamer
Case Thermaltake Armor with 25cm fan
Audio Device(s) On board for now
Power Supply FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX700-GLN
Software Windows XP Professional
#14
Has anyone else had any problems with this board and an IDE DVD drive?
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.52/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#15
??is the bios set to 'halt on all errors?
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2006
Messages
894 (0.21/day)
Likes
6
Processor E6600 @ 3.5GHz
Motherboard EVGA 680i
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon with high CFM LED fan + 25cm case fan
Memory 2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 C5 @ 1130 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTS 655/909
Storage 400GB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 20.1" SCEPTRE X20WC-Gamer
Case Thermaltake Armor with 25cm fan
Audio Device(s) On board for now
Power Supply FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX700-GLN
Software Windows XP Professional
#16
??is the bios set to 'halt on all errors?
It's not in the bios, so unless it is set from the factory to do so, no. Well, I went out and bought another cable. Guess what? Same problem. So no to the ribbon and no to the drive. I'm left with the motherboard. YAY!
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2006
Messages
894 (0.21/day)
Likes
6
Processor E6600 @ 3.5GHz
Motherboard EVGA 680i
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon with high CFM LED fan + 25cm case fan
Memory 2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 C5 @ 1130 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTS 655/909
Storage 400GB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 20.1" SCEPTRE X20WC-Gamer
Case Thermaltake Armor with 25cm fan
Audio Device(s) On board for now
Power Supply FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX700-GLN
Software Windows XP Professional
#17
Called evga. Guess what? IDE controller is malfunctioning! So, after spending hours putting it together....I get to take it apart again! YAY! I want to break something...like the neck of the person who is responsible for quality control at EVGA.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.52/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#18
Called evga. Guess what? IDE controller is malfunctioning! So, after spending hours putting it together....I get to take it apart again! YAY! I want to break something...like the neck of the person who is responsible for quality control at EVGA.
that's why i asked "??is the bios set to 'halt on all errors? " not the first time seeing bad controller

"So, after spending hours putting it together....I get to take it apart again! " SH*T Happens:ohwell::banghead: :banghead:

hope you get a quick turn around on the board ....if i'm not wrong EVGA has a program where they will send out new mb EVEN before they recieve your old one ....might be worth looking into ;)
and at least on the next mb your ready to do the Raid :twitch:
will watch for your next postings..... good luck F
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2006
Messages
894 (0.21/day)
Likes
6
Processor E6600 @ 3.5GHz
Motherboard EVGA 680i
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon with high CFM LED fan + 25cm case fan
Memory 2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 C5 @ 1130 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTS 655/909
Storage 400GB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 20.1" SCEPTRE X20WC-Gamer
Case Thermaltake Armor with 25cm fan
Audio Device(s) On board for now
Power Supply FSP Group (Fortron Source) FX700-GLN
Software Windows XP Professional
#19
that's why i asked "??is the bios set to 'halt on all errors? " not the first time seeing bad controller

"So, after spending hours putting it together....I get to take it apart again! " SH*T Happens:ohwell::banghead: :banghead:

hope you get a quick turn around on the board ....if i'm not wrong EVGA has a program where they will send out new mb EVEN before they recieve your old one ....might be worth looking into ;)
and at least on the next mb your ready to do the Raid :twitch:
will watch for your next postings..... good luck F
Yep, they usually make you pay for the whole send back the motherboard when you get the new one deal, but not with the 680i. I hate it when I'm ready to get started with a computer and I end up staring at a useless tower sitting in the middle of the floor for several days.