• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

evga 7900 gtx using a 400W psu?

Joined
Nov 21, 2006
Messages
40 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hey! This is NinjaGaiden. I was wondering if this setup is possible and if i could damage the motherboard and other components.

The power supply i am going to use is an Antec 400W SmartPower 2.0. Here is more info:

-> Antec 400W SmartPower Link

And here's a link for the eVGA 7900 GTX
-> eVGA 7900 GTX Link

Just so you know, the eVGA has stock clocks. Any advices would be appreciated =)
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.17/day)
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#2
check the specifications again. The PSU is rated at 15amps on the 12v rail and the card needs 22 amps.
 

xman2007

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
633 (0.15/day)
Likes
4
Processor E4300@ 3.0ghz
Motherboard Asus P5B
Cooling Arctic freezer
Memory 2gb supertalent ddrII 1000 5.5.5.15
Video Card(s) Inno 3d 8800gts 320mb
Storage Seagate 320gb
Display(s) 19" widescreen tft 5ms
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) X-fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Hiper 430w 30a dual rails
Software Vista Ultimate
#3
umm it has dual 12v rails so it should be fine
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2006
Messages
40 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#4
The PSU used 15A but the card uses 22A on the 12v rail. Will i damage the components in anyway if i tried? Or do you think it's better to get a new PSU then try it out...
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#5
does that psu have to rails at 15a each?
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2006
Messages
40 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#6
12v1 has 10A. 12v2 has 15A. Would it work? The card requires a min. of 450W but this PSU only has 400. I dont know if i should try it out or not =( I dont want to risk doing any damage. Please be sure of what you're typing. Thanks for helping =)
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
318 (0.08/day)
Likes
3
Processor x2 4000+@2.96gz, thermalright ultra90 with 90mm panaflow ultra speed
Motherboard biostar tforce 550
Cooling Thermalright ultra90,90mm panaflow ultra speed fan
Memory Transend AxeRam ddr2 800@986mhz 5-5-5-15 2t TrFc 75ns
Video Card(s) x1900xtx+zalman vf900cu cooler
Storage 80+160+200+250gb
Display(s) 20.1in gaming lcd 1600x1200@120hz(dvi-d)
Case cg-briza (thx again to ashen)
Audio Device(s) realtek 8ch hd audio latist drivers
Power Supply 400watt fsp 12cm fan psu
Software windows 2003 sp2(custom build),nod32,opera9,tcmp,vlc,udrfrag,perfect disk,utorrent
#7
antech has a bad rep at the moment for putting out unreliable psu's

go fortron 41bucks you can get the 400watt unit i use, its got 18+`6amps on the 12v rails and is more then enought to power 5 hdds, x1900xtx(at toxic bios) 3500+at 3.03 gz, 2 optical drives and a crap load of usb devices that are usb powered.

fortron is a top maker if your wondering.
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.60/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#8
the card [7900GTX] needs 22 amps.
You mean 7900GTX consumes 264W?!?
Pass me some of that what you've been smoking.

Seriously,
the 22A is a recommendation for total amperage of the 12V rail of the PSU powering the whole computer using the quoted VGA.

NinjaGaiden55,
The 400W Antec you linked will do just fine.