• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

EVGA GTS250 (regular) flash with 9800GTX+ SSC bios possible?

awdrifter

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#1
Hi, is it possible to flash the GTS250 with the 9800GTX+ SSC bios? I can't find the GTS250 SC bios anywhere. I know the reverse can be done (9800GTX+ with GTS250 bios), I just want to make sure this is ok. Thanks.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,627 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,352
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
in theory it should work, but why the need to want to flash to a downgrade, or flash at all for that matter?
 

awdrifter

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#3
Just for the clocks. I'm building this for a friend, I want the card to automatically oc itself when a 3D app loads. I couldn't get RivaTuner to do that. Why would this be a downgrade other than in the name? Is there any new features implemented in the GTS250? I thought it's a pure rebrand. Thanks for the quick reply.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,627 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,352
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#4
Just for the clocks. I'm building this for a friend, I want the card to automatically oc itself when a 3D app loads. I couldn't get RivaTuner to do that. Why would this be a downgrade other than in the name? Is there any new features implemented in the GTS250? I thought it's a pure rebrand. Thanks for the quick reply.
Not really no, but you could simply open your bios with Nibitor, and edit the clocks there then flash the adjusted 250 bios to it.
 

awdrifter

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#5
I'm not touching the bios editor, the last time I edited another friend's 9800GT made it artifact on 3D, so I flash it back to the stock bios, it still didn't oc as well as before. I don't want to risk it.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,627 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,352
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#6
Asuming the clocks are already well tested in gaming as well as furmark of OCCT GPU testing to assure stability. Then have at the flash.
 

awdrifter

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#7
Well, as long as it won't physically damage the card, I'll give it a shot. No boot is not a problem, my board has two PCI-E slots.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,627 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,352
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#8
as I say though, be damn sure the clocks are stable first. if not the card could deteriorate at any time.
 

aCid888*

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
2,754 (0.79/day)
Likes
630
Location
In a state of flux...
#9
Are you sure you cant make it OC at startup using RivaTuner?



Make sure you select that and it should OC the card when you start the PC....also, don't forget to have it auto set the fan speed to about 50% when the PC boots...it will aid cooling. :)
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,627 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,352
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#10
nice catch aCid, that could save a ton of hassles. Still though, for some reason I think he still wants the stepping feature of the 250 to downclock in 2D maybe?
 

awdrifter

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#13
Are you sure you cant make it OC at startup using RivaTuner?

http://img.techpowerup.org/090428/GTXplus.jpg

Make sure you select that and it should OC the card when you start the PC....also, don't forget to have it auto set the fan speed to about 50% when the PC boots...it will aid cooling. :)
Thanks. But I found the EVGA GTS250 SC bios on another site, and since there's no SSC version yet, I think I'll just go with the SC bios.

nice catch aCid, that could save a ton of hassles. Still though, for some reason I think he still wants the stepping feature of the 250 to downclock in 2D maybe?
Yes, I want it to automatically downclock when it exits 3D mode.

This is my downclocked settings.
http://img.techpowerup.org/090428/GTXplus2...jpg

I use ATITool to downclock below what RivaTuner allows me too, saves power nicely and keeps the GPU cool. :)
Can ATI Tool automatically clock it back up when a 3D app loads? Thanks.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2009
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#14
I try update my BFG and Galaxy 9800GTX+ bios to GTS250, does not work. Artifacts all over the place.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2009
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#15
If you overclock with Riva like post 9 pictures, 2d mode work, and when you load 3d app 3d mode work as well. What's the problem then?
 

aCid888*

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
2,754 (0.79/day)
Likes
630
Location
In a state of flux...
#16
When you OC with RivaTuner the clocks you set at the clocks you get when you go into 3D apps/games too, you have to manually clock it back up to what you want to game at.

I don't see that as an issue and if anyone else does, your just being lazy...it takes 15 seconds to do this and is not hard, you can even set up "OC Profiles" in RivaTuner so all you need to do is set it to the low clocks you want, click apply and then "Save" and all you do next time is select the Profile and click apply; job done.

And no, ATITool wont clock your card back up either...its an old and outdated tool and I only find it useful for down clocking further than RivaTuner allows. :)

Hope you found this helpful. :toast:
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2009
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#17
No aCid888*, you go wrong.
I overclock with Riva, still my card downclock ok.
Evga Tool mantain the clocks in 3d forever, but i think the latest version manage to switch betwen 2d/3d.
 

aCid888*

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
2,754 (0.79/day)
Likes
630
Location
In a state of flux...
#18
eVGA Precision?

I don't have the most up to date version but I will download it and check this out but to my knowledge it doesn't clock the card up and down in 2D/3D environments.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2009
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#19
But riva do that. Enable Driver overclock 3D, only that, apply your clocks, after restart your card is in 2d, up to 3d in games or app only.
 

awdrifter

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#22
I don't want the card to run at full speed all the time though, I tried RivaTuner on another build with a 9800GT, the oc will not stick if you don't check the "apply at startup" box, but if that box is checked, the card will run at full speed all the time. I know the ideal thing to do is editing the 3D clocks in Nibitor, but I don't want to risk it. Flashing to the GTS250 SC bios is probably the safest best.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
732 (0.16/day)
Likes
87
Location
NY
System Name Ummmm...Mine
Processor I7 920 @ 4.2ghz @ 1.29v's load
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Custom 1/2 inch H20
Memory 3x2gb Patriot Sector 7 @2008Mhz 27-9-11-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 580 SC 900/1800/1090
Storage 1-Mushkin 60gb SSD 1-500GB WD Black and 2-1TB 32mb WD Black
Display(s) 25 inch Hanns-G 2ms
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) Turtle Beach Catalina
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Pro Series-Modular
Software All Kinds...and then some.
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 11 P7066 Compare Link- http://3dmark.com/3dm11/251153
#23
Flashing to the GTS250 SC bios is probably the safest best.
I don't get it.....Software control will always be safer than flashing the bios.......If your cards not down clocking....then try another driver....my gtx285 down clocks fine.....all the time and jumps up nice to my OC speeds when I game....and drops like a rock after I exit......try a newer driver.....or newest version of EVGA Precision.

Flashing bios will always be the more risky venture.

Hope it helps. :)
 

awdrifter

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#24
I found the EVGA GTS250 SC bios from another site, so it's the bios for the exact same card except for higher clocks, so the chance of it damaging the card is really low. I would even guess it'll be safer running the card at overclocked speed all the time (in the long run).
 

awdrifter

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#25
Well, I just flashed the card with teh GTS250 SC bios, it works great, now the card is running at SC speeds.