• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Evga gtx 670 ftw 4gb

Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
31 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#1
The 4gb ftw version just came out. Anyone know any reviews or benchmarks of this card? Or heard anything good about it?
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,591 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,825
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#2
No specifics but the 4GB does nothing for the card. :ohwell:
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,591 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,825
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#4
I'm sure one of the main sites did a review of a 4GB 670. Time to google up :D

W1zz's review of the GTX 680 with 4GB. Last line is very relevant.

Even in this test, the performance relative to a stock 2 GB GTX 680 is within the typical range we see from the overclock out of the box - which has nothing to do with memory. I further investigated and checked memory usage with three 30" monitors, for a combined resolution of 4800x2560. Here we see three benchmarks exceed 2.5 GB: Stalker COP, Crysis 2 and Battlefield 3. Not anywhere close to 4 GB! Running a single card at such a resolution makes no sense since framerates would be too low for any serious gaming. Given this evidence, I am convinced that there is no need to have more than 2 GB of graphics memory on a GTX 680 (or any other recent NVIDIA card).
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,513 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,271
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,591 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,825
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#6
Got something in my edit too :)

And FTR it's the same with the Sapphire 7970 Toxic 6GB. No need for so much on one card, unless you triple monitor with sli or crossfire.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,513 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,271
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#7
I am convinced that there is no need to have more than 2 GB of graphics memory on a GTX 680 (or any other recent NVIDIA card).
I bit confused at that last line... One card cant power triple monitors well, we know that, But two of course does a solid job. We all (should) know that the ram isnt 'pooled' but mirrored in SLI/CrossfireX. So if its using more than 2.5GB, wouldnt the 4GB help out at multi monitor resos since its using more than the 2GB buffer?

Im getting the impression from that quote that in SLI it wouldnt make it a difference... but it would as it wouldnt have to 'page out' the 500MB of vram... :confused:

EDIT: Forget it... disregard. :p
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
31 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#8
I have read reviews fir the SC 4gb but since the FTW 4gb is brand new i cant find any....

Thanks for the help
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,513 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,271
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#9
There isnt much difference at all. a FPS or two since the clocks arent much different.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,740 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#11
only game i have seen the v ram make a difference is SKyrim, with mods where with AA on and still 60 fps mind you at 2560x1440 i think BP was getting 2900mb of vram usage. Skyrim tends to have a nasty habit of if their isnt enough vram when using mods stuff turns purple on occasion as it fails to load textures rare occurance tho.