• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA Makes GPU Voltage Tuner Software Official

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,496 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,519
Location
Hyderabad, India
#1
EVGA today made its GPU Voltage Tuner (GVT) software utility official. The utility allows end-users to control the voltage of the graphics processor, a significant factor when it comes to overclocking. Within safe limits, increasing the GPU voltage facilitates higher maximum GPU core and shader clock speeds. The utility keeps in mind the majority of users that doesn't understand the specifics of voltage control, and its impact on overclocking.

Using a simple slider, the user can set the vGPU voltage from 0.82V to 1.18V and beyond, depending on the accelerator. The resolution of the scale is in milli-Volts, although the resolution of the slider may differ. Initial tests have shown even simple increases in voltages to send the maximum overclock for the core speed up by as much as 100 MHz. The initial graphics card support-base includes the GeForce GTX 260, GTX 280 and GTX 295 series accelerators by EVGA. Future releases may expand the support base. The application is available exclusively to registered users of EVGA graphics accelerators, and can be downloaded from here.



Extended graphics card support list follows.

EVGA GeForce GTX 260 series:
  • 896-P3-1260-XX
  • 896-P3-1262-XX
  • 896-P3-1263-XX
  • 896-P3-1264-XX
  • 896-P3-1265-XX
  • 896-P3-1266-XX
  • 896-P3-1267-XX
  • 896-P3-1268-XX
  • 896-P3-1269-XX
  • 896-P3-1270-XX
EVGA GeForce GTX 280 series:
  • 01G-P3-1280-XX
  • 01G-P3-1282-XX
  • 01G-P3-1284-XX
  • 01G-P3-1286-XX
  • 01G-P3-1289-XX
EVGA GeForce GTX 295 series:
  • 017-P3-1291-XX
  • 017-P3-1292-XX
  • 017-P3-1293-XX
 
Last edited:

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,718 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,475
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
Is there plans down the road to attatch this to their Overclocking tool. just seems a waste to add another running process to your list when benching!
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.05/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#3
Hmm it wont let me download it even though my card is compatible :(
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
11,053 (2.69/day)
Likes
5,148
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#4
There are limitations, my range on my 65nm 216 GTX260 is 825mv to 1288mv. So .8v to 1.13v. Fine, but in bios I can go up to 1.15v though in much larger steps...this is much more fine tuned so it may actually be more useful to maintaining a higher OC while running lower volts than going through bios.

:toast:

 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.88/day)
Likes
720
#5
im a try it out see if i can get a higher clock, temps are fine plenty headroom just seems to have hit oc wall

its a gtx 260

using bios voids warranty also so does frying it lol
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
11,053 (2.69/day)
Likes
5,148
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#6
I haven't hit the wall at my current clocks on the stock 1.06v my card uses, but those clocks are a great mix of temps and performance. Really I can't complain, but now using a program to change voltage instead of flashing the bios, I might just have to see how much beyond the 720-ish range my 1.06v did max out at I can go!

:toast:
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
11,053 (2.69/day)
Likes
5,148
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#10
KeiranD, Shouldn't matter, just make a sign-in at EVGA's site and you can download it...you just need an account, works for the site and forum. You don't need to have a product of theirs for an account there iirc.

:toast:

Edit will I might be wrong, I just downloaded it, didn't care much for the compatability list 'cause I knew mine would be ok.

Edit Part Deux: I'm sure TPU's servers will be providing link to this soon for those having issues too...I can't imagine it won't be distributed across the web shortly.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
1,477 (0.36/day)
Likes
95
Location
Orange County, CA
System Name Battle Station
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700x
Motherboard ASRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Thermaltake Water 2.0 Pro
Memory GSkill Tridentz DDR4-3200 16 GB
Video Card(s) 1 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti black edition
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 240 GB + 12TB storage
Display(s) LG 34UM94 3440x1440
Case Lian Li PC-80NB
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX + Ultrasone Pro 900 + JBL SLR 308 speakers and SLR 310 subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G510
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Window 10 Ultimate x64
#11
Is this the kind of mod that can void your warranty?
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.88/day)
Likes
720
#12
i got an account and i tried the DL link and it just went refreshed back to the same page red the log in fine print and it says requires 1 product registration

EIT: dont think it can void your warranty but just make sure you dont overdo it coz if it gets even slightly messed up its voided
can TPU not host the program or is it against some legal stuff
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
539 (0.13/day)
Likes
65
Location
Round Rock, TX
System Name Teh Beast
Processor 8700k @ 4.8
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB G.Skill Flare X @ 3466
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 TI
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Display(s) Asus Swift
Case Corsair Air 740
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Software WIndows 10 Pro
#13
so im guessing it wont work on my 285?
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.62/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#14
great tool but they are being kinda cheap when it comes to supported cards, why not extend it to 9000 series as well, these are the current mainstream cards afterall and they should benefit as well.
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.04/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#15
Is there plans down the road to attatch this to their Overclocking tool. just seems a waste to add another running process to your list when benching!
You don't need to have it open. It changes voltages until you restart your PC.
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.04/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#16
Is this the kind of mod that can void your warranty?
Yes it states when the program starts up that they are not responsible for damages done to the card if this utility is used.

great tool but they are being kinda cheap when it comes to supported cards, why not extend it to 9000 series as well, these are the current mainstream cards afterall and they should benefit as well.
Lack of digital voltage control on the 9000 and prior cards.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#17
So far so good, I dropped down from the default 1125mv to 1075mv, and my max 729/1458 oc still works. Wonder if the reduced heat will let me clock even higher.
 

Pixelated

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
45 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#19
This is what I like to see.
If you do not see your card on this list, please stay tuned for future releases as we are working on further compatibility.
Hopefully they will release one for the G80's. I would love to push my 8800GTX up to 700Mhz (without a warranty voiding volt mod), since it can already hit 647Mhz.
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.04/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#20
Lack of digital voltage control on the 9000 and prior cards.
This is what I like to see.

Hopefully they will release one for the G80's. I would love to push my 8800GTX up to 700Mhz (without a warranty voiding volt mod), since it can already hit 647Mhz.
impossible for the 8000 series cards... plz read :p, it will also void your warranty.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,718 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,475
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#21
You don't need to have it open. It changes voltages until you restart your PC.
But there is a tick box for start with windows, as well does the Overclocking tool. I mean will it come as one package like ATItool when it carried the voltage features for the X1900series cards. Even if it doesnt need to be seen, to OC and Voltmod you need two processes as it is.

Maybe Im just splitting hairs here, but for uber benchers another process is not what we/they want when trying to achieve our best results possible!
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.04/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#22
The overclocking tool and voltage tool do not come up in the services after startup is complete. They stop and close themselves. I have no extra processes/services running since I installed EVGA precision or voltage tuner.

The voltage tuner simply does what Rivatuner can do. It will address and edit the hex value of your GPUvoltage in the digital VRM itself. That value resets with a system restart.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,718 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,475
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#23
The overclocking tool and voltage tool do not come up in the services after startup is complete. They stop and close themselves. I have no extra processes/services running since I installed EVGA precision or voltage tuner.
Sweetness, I guess that solves that then doesnt it, still think it would be nice to have all together. Thanks for that bit of info Binge!
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#24
Can't overclock any further, but I have been able to drop my temps by 8 degrees... so I can lower my fan speed and reduce noise at the least.
 

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.00/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
#25
so im guessing it wont work on my 285?
I'm wondering the same, since it isn't listed. That would be kind of odd though. Anyone know the answer to this?