1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA Releases X58 SLI LE Motherboard

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 4, 2009.

  1. Ronin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I believe their rated @
    x16
    x8
    x4
    x8
     
    Tyr.1358 says thanks.
  2. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Nice! Black FTW!!:rockout:
     
  3. Lumpy

    Lumpy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    41 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Any reviews out there?
    I looked a little...no luck.
     
  4. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,320 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,325
    Location:
    Houston
    highend boards are still only 6 phase they just have 2 chokes and 4 mosfets for each phase
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Kovoet

    Kovoet

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    867 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    179
    Imagine that board in the new Corsair case. Damn I'm drooling already
     
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    24,085 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,257
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    AFAIK, all the eVGA x58 boards have supported Crossfire, they just don't advertise it.

    I was just going to say exactly that, the only way would be to tuck it between the MOSFET heatsink and the I/O ports. Judging by the newegg pictures, the heatsink is narrower on the bottom than on the top. Almost looks like they designed it so people could do that with the cable, and the heatsink would help hide the cable.

    And if I was putting copper heatsinks on it, I think I would have to paint them black. :D

    In SLi it doesn't really affect performance, that is what the bridge is for. If you don't like it, pay more for one of the boards with the nf200. The x58 chipset can only provide 36 total lanes to the PCI-E slots, so x16/x16/x16 is impossible with just the x58.

    Actually, I believe when two cards are inserted it is x16/x16. When 3 are inserted, it is x16/x8/x8 and when 4 are inserted it is x8/x8/x8/x8.
     
    Tyr.1358 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  7. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,241 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,166
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    Yeah, I may not get the Micro after all. It wouldn't go well with my full copper Xigmatek Achilles. The Micro has red highlights, though, but I like the LANPARTY DK UV Orange scheme so much better, though. Too bad their mATX X58 board went UV Green/Yellow. Maybe they'll have an i5 board out with UV Orange.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Ronin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    If you go on their site and look to the descriptions on the board it says
    x16_1
    x8_2
    x4_3
    x8_4

    http://www.evga.com/articles/00481/

    But if it were to operate with 32 lanes I'd buy it on the spot.
     
    Tyr.1358 says thanks.
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    24,085 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,257
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Yeah, I saw that, but then in the specs it lists 4xPCI-E x8/x16, which to me says the slots run at either x16 or x8, no x4.

    I don't see why they would make that slot an x4, that is the logical slot to use if you are doing dual-SLi, or Triple SLi. If they were going to make any slot an x4, why not the one at the bottom of the board, the least likely to be used? It is all rather confusing. But I'm going to guess it is x8/x8/x8/x8 and they just mis-printed the board, at least I hope that is the case, otherwise this board is kind of gimp having an x4 slot, especially in that location...

    Edit: I just downloaded the manual, it is x16/x8/x4/x8. That has got to be the stupidest configuration possible. And the dual-SLi bridge they send with the board, forces you to use the x4 slot in dual-card configurations.:banghead: Well that just killed this board, what was eVGA thinking...

    Edit2: The more I think about it, the more I hope those are just the numbers when all 4 slots are populated. I'm hoping the board automaticlally switches to x16/x16 when 2 graphics cards are inserted, and x16/x8/x8 when 3 are inserted, and x16/x8/x4/x8 when 4 are inserted, this way the PhysX card gets the x4 slot, which shouldn't be too bad. I just can't see eVGA making the board in such a gimp way that the most likely slot to be used would be stuck at x4... Though this still kind of screws over the quad-crossfire people, but I don't think crossfire is really the primary concern on eVGA's mind.
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Ronin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Had it been x16/x16, this would be one of the most sought after budget boards.
     
  11. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,229 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    x58 with 4 pci-e slots one of them x4 = eah
     
  12. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,247 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    I just noticed one thing.. when it comes to X58 boards, they hype and place "SLI" or "SLI power" all over the board.. Its like xfire is on the backdrop waving.. "umm hallo.. am here.." hehe
     
  13. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,241 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,166
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    Well you can't really blame them. EVGA doesn't make ATi cards...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Clearly you didn't follow any news on the X58 chipset -_- :shadedshu
     
  15. nascasho

    nascasho New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    81 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Goldsboro, NC
    I just picked this board up so I'll post soon if theres no review and my board/RAM isn't DOA.
     
  16. Biker

    Biker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    London UK
    Easy voltage test points just above the ram slots = WIN

    Exactly the same setup as the Classified :toast:
     
  17. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    Wow, that's a very competitive price. I figured this would be one of the $300 boards. I can hear the sounds of Asus and Foxconn pooping all over themselves right now.

    Hell, I hate EVGA for creating the crappiest board I've ever used (750i FTL) and I'd give it a shot.
     
  18. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Thats a board all boards should desire to be, Mint fair play.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,910 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    889
    Location:
    West Chester, OH
    Sometimes I really want an i7 setup... they make such beautiful boards for Intel's. Companies need to stop making ugly ass boards for AMD's.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2009
  20. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    I bet that's a clause in the Intel reseller agreement somewhere; 'To make Intel boards, if you wish to make AMD boards, they must be uglier and less appealing than Intel boards'. I wouldn't doubt it.
     
  21. nascasho

    nascasho New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    81 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Goldsboro, NC
    I saw nothing but improvements for my first i7 system. Hit 3.6Ghz Rock-Solid by accident on first try... like 1hr after installing Windows, lol.

    Only drawback I've ran into (Not the boards fault) is that my chip seems sensitive to VTT changes and shuts down my system under stress testing, could never get it stable at 4.0ghz... then again my chip is a C0.

    I don't see the gain in going to 4.0Ghz+ yet anyways because 8 threads @ 3.8Ghz... flipping overkill, lol. Real world game performance won't change at all from the benches I've seen... unless you're into decoding videos 24/7.

    I'll buy a D0 when I get hardcore into benching.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)