1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA X58 and an i7 920 @3.7Ghz ...for now.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Sasqui, Jan 23, 2017.

  1. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,191 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,281
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    New build for crunching. The plan is to put an X5670 ot X5660 in it.. For now this is what's going on using a stock intel air cooler:

    [​IMG]

    With Prime95, temps top out at 93c (core 2), using RealTemp. Running BOINC, no more than 80c.

    All I've done so far is update the MB BIOS to 83, and mess with the Bus Speed. The MULTIPLIER in BIOS won't go any higher than 20, though it shows 21 on CPUz. If I go higher than 180 MHz with the bus speed, it's unstable. Any advice?

    :toast:
     
    Norton says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  2. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    So is that an EVGA motherboard and which one? oh... in the title..EVGA but which one and what revision # ?

    Drop memory speed to 1333 or 1600 and see how it goes with the multiplier. 19 x 210?
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2017
    Sasqui says thanks.
  3. davidm71

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    132 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    This is crazy. I just dusted off the cob webs off of my Classified 759 920-D0. I use to be able to get it to 4.0ghz but it took a lot of voltage. Right now at 3.6ghz where its always been. Will share notes in next couple days. Brings back memories..
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  4. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,191 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,281
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    X58 132-BL-E758-A1... not very popular but it works. First time for me with that platform. Jumped from Core2 to Ivy Bridge 3570k. And beyond with a 4790k.

    This will eventually have an X5670 or X5660 in it for Crunching 6c/12t. They are notorious for 4.5 Ghz.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  5. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Does it have the GREEN Ram slots? If so I need to give you additional info.
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  6. dorsetknob

    dorsetknob "YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,635 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,359
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
    :( Stock cooler ain't going to cut the mustard
    seriously Recomend Changing that for a better cooler
     
    eidairaman1 and EarthDog say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,191 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,281
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I think so, will check tonight.


    I have a Scythe Asura to replace the OEM. For now... impatient to fire it up and see what she's got. Wasn't disappointed.
     
    Jetster and dorsetknob say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  8. davidm71

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    132 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    So you got to 3.78 on the stock cooler? That's pretty impressive. The 920 was one of the best overclocking chips ever. I wouldn't be surprised you could get yours to 4.0 ghz on the scythe. Maybe try a corsair closed loop water cooler.
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,191 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,281
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Yea, surprised me too, close to a 30% overclock! ;) I plan to stick with air only, as this is going to be a 24/7 crunching rig. Not to mention I already have the Scythe waiting to go on. Also, the i7-920 will be replaced with an X5670 or X5660 in the next week.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  10. peche

    peche Thermaltake fanboy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    5,769 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,451
    Location:
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    well stock cooler on those chips is meant just to cool stock settings on that CPU and sometimes isn't enough, you might have a golden chip there sir, so replace stock one and apply quality TIM and call it done, also here might be a place for you, to share with others like you ! intel core i7 Owners Club, feel free to take a watch!

    Regards,
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,191 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,281
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Thanks @peche ...already own an i7-4790k (at 4.7 Ghz under air), so I really should bob over there and show off the goods.
     
    peche says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9,347 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,720
    Location:
    Oregon
    I'm glad that's working out for you
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  13. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,191 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,281
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Hey, do you still have a pic of that board? I looked on your BST thread and you took it down. If not, no worries.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  14. peche

    peche Thermaltake fanboy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    5,769 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,451
    Location:
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    so you are ultra welcome ! great chip 4790K ! interesting !
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. davidm71

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    132 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    What numbers are you crunching? Sounds very costly considering cost of electricity. I use mine to encode video and finding the CPU isn't all that great at it contrasted against CUDA gpu power.
     
  16. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9,347 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,720
    Location:
    Oregon
    yea I keep everything

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Tsukiyomi91 and Sasqui say thanks.
  17. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,191 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,281
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Thanks! Thats my new baby! lol

    @jsfitz54 ...yep green RAM slots. What wisdom do you have?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,191 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,281
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Sorry for the double post, my phone is acting flaky... World Community Grid WCG: https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/forums/world-community-grid-wcg.68/
    Doesn't use GPU power. It does use a lot of power though...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9,347 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,720
    Location:
    Oregon
    It broke my heart a little to see it in that case like that. Some people just don't appreciate good parts. I'm glade its found a good home
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  20. peche

    peche Thermaltake fanboy

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Messages:
    5,769 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,451
    Location:
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    just replace that "Jet Turbine" cooler that makes a lot of noise and be happy!

    Regards,
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,191 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,281
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I did a double take at the cable mismanagement lol. I'll share a pic when its off the diningroom table and into a nice Rosewill case. Seasonic x650 should be on its way from @rtwjunkie today.
     
    rtwjunkie says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  22. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    I don't think you can do a WESTMERE chip without this: http://forums.evga.com/132BLE758A1-Rev-10-Westmere-Mod-m2153248.aspx

    http://forums.evga.com/E758-3x-SLi-Westmere-Mod-m2068568.aspx

    Also,
    the board has a known factory issue with the sleep function. It was fixed in the next revision board that has a dark grey ram slot theme which also does Westmere natively.

    I'm running a 950 chip in mine, I have a 930 if you think it would help.

    It would also be helpful to repaste heatsinks; fan (middle of board) and lower evga one. The power phases, left of cpu, near I/O panel has a thermal pad.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2017
    rtwjunkie and Sasqui say thanks.
  23. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,191 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,281
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Fuck, I guess I'm stuck with 4 cores. I don't have the skill to move micro resistors.:banghead:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  24. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie PC Gaming Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    8,744 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,168
    Location:
    Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
    Indeed it is! :D Check your PM.
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  25. jjnissanpatfan

    jjnissanpatfan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    222 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    vt
    I think i was reading somewhere that if you ship them the board they will mod it for free.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)