1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA X58 and an i7 920 @3.7Ghz ...for now.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Sasqui, Jan 23, 2017.

  1. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,498 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Woo Hoo! Read it and weep...

    upload_2017-2-15_20-27-48.png
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,498 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Moar...

    upload_2017-2-15_21-18-3.png
     
    CAPSLOCKSTUCK and stinger608 say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,498 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I tried this a few times... and failed. Overall, I'm happy. Back to WCG!!!

    upload_2017-2-15_21-45-4.png
     

    Attached Files:

    stinger608 and CAPSLOCKSTUCK say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. CAPSLOCKSTUCK

    CAPSLOCKSTUCK Spaced Out Lunar Tick

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    7,889 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,570
    Location:
    llaregguB...WALES
    Still no 24 x multi ?
     
  5. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,498 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    No the BIOS just won't let me go any more than 22. I type 23 or 24 and it just reverts to 22. Grrr...

    I must say that I'm happy with the Bclk number, it booted and ran fine up to 210, just couldn't get Prime95 to run. Interestingly, Prime95 would crash gracefully, just a dialog saying it terminated unxepectely and the system kept humming away. Previously, I would either get a reboot or BSOD.
     
    CAPSLOCKSTUCK says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. CAPSLOCKSTUCK

    CAPSLOCKSTUCK Spaced Out Lunar Tick

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    7,889 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,570
    Location:
    llaregguB...WALES
    there is no 23 multi on X5670 ...........use the + or - keys.
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,498 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    ...interesting, I'll try that.

    I wouldn't have gotten there if it werent' for this guide; http://forums.evga.com/m/tm.aspx?m=20028
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. CAPSLOCKSTUCK

    CAPSLOCKSTUCK Spaced Out Lunar Tick

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    7,889 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,570
    Location:
    llaregguB...WALES
    i just set my clocks the same as yours..........check the difference in volts.


    Me
    4.4.PNG

    You
    [​IMG]
     
    Jetster and Sasqui say thanks.
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,498 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Yea, I tried lowering the Vcore and definitely needs more juice than yours. I've got two top case fans blowing into the case, one directly towards the Scythe Ashura fan, so the temps are manageable. The chipset & VRM coolers are only warm to the touch.
     
    CAPSLOCKSTUCK says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,498 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Didn't work, BUT... I enabled the CPU Turbo function and BAM, it's doing 24x under load!

    I'm currently running Prime95 at a cool 4.500 Ghz 24x188. Ok so far. Can't do screenies as I forgot to bring the Wifi adaptor with me.
     
    CAPSLOCKSTUCK says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,498 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Eh, buggers. Came in this morning to the BIOS boot screen and then the system (BIOS) reverted to safe mode and I lost all my settings. Guess I'll be dialing it back to 4.4 Ghz. What a PITA, but I'm not complaining, went from a 4c/4t CPU @4ghz to 6c/12t @4.4Ghz CPU.
     
    stinger608 and dorsetknob say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,373 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    I've been watching your posts and I am glad for your success. I may have to attempt the hard mod, as yet undecided.

    Did you by chance re-TIM the Northbridge and Southbridge? (If I do the mod, I will remove the heat sink for better access.)

    Are you back to the 22 multi or the 24?
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  13. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,498 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I haven't had the time to re-set and get back to 4.4, hope to today or tomorrow, busy day at work. I will turn turbo back on for the 24 multi.

    I totally re-did the TIM on the NB ans SB heastinsk... you really have to take it off for room around the resistor. They did a decent factory job but it the paste was a little excessive and dried up. Used AS5. Unfortunately, I never measured the temps before I did that, so have no baseline.
     
    jsfitz54 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. CAPSLOCKSTUCK

    CAPSLOCKSTUCK Spaced Out Lunar Tick

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    7,889 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,570
    Location:
    llaregguB...WALES
    I use 22 x and up the buspeed for faster memory.
     
    jsfitz54 says thanks.
  15. jsfitz54

    jsfitz54

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,373 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    I asked the question because the board runs hot and my TIM was dried up as well. I agree they did a good factory job, initially.

    Thanks for the heads up.
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  16. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,498 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    From what I can tell, there are three things on the EVGA board that control memory speed:

    The Bus
    The Memory / Bus ratio
    The mystical "CPU Uncore Frequency", which AFAIK overrides the Memory / Bus raito. I set it to 16x, the mem multi to 2:8 and got memory at 1600 (I think) with a bus of 200. How that math works, I don't have clue!

    Edit 200x16 = 3200 | 3200/8 = 400 | 400*2 = 800. At DDR, 800 = 1600 mem speed. Does that sound right?
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2017
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)