• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EVGA X58 SLI3 & Xeon W3680 build & OC

Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
10,001 (3.87/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Ok so I got my EVGA X58 SLI3 and W3680 all put together finally. I started playing with the OC'ing through BIOS and so far I am stable at 4.1ghz. My settings are at 25x166mhz at 1.35v. I haven't gone Any higher yet as I got busy today but would like to get to a stable 4.3 or 4.5ghz. I didn't mess with any other settings in the bios as I am not familiar enough to adjust them. Any suggestions would be appreciated
That's a solid start. Take some pictures of the BIOS screens and we'll walk you through fine tuning the setup for best results.
 
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
37 (0.44/day)
System Name Dell T3500 Terminator
Processor Intel Xeon W3680 3.3ghz OC'd to 4.3ghz
Motherboard EVGA X58 SLI3
Cooling Cooler Master CPU Cooler + 4 Case Fans
Memory Micron 24gb Non-ECC (4gbX6)
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1070 8gb
Storage 128gb SSD Boot, 256 SSD (Game), 1TB HDD (video), 1TB External HDD (Whatever)
Display(s) 22" LG IPS, 22" Asus TN
Case Cooler Master Haf X
Audio Device(s) Default
Power Supply ThermalTake 700W Smart
Mouse Razor Deathadder
Keyboard Corsair K55 RGB Mechanical
Software Throttle Stop, MSI Afterburner
Ok awesome! It will have to be Tuesday to get those pictures as I won't be available tomorrow to do it. Also, I tried running cinebench but the app just exits on its own after about 10-15 seconds of the render test. Not sure what that had to do with yet.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
10,001 (3.87/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Underclock the CPU and start with the memory and uncore.
Why memory? AFAIK he's not OCing the memory. OCing memory has marginal benefits at best. Better to focus on the CPU itself.
 
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
37 (0.44/day)
System Name Dell T3500 Terminator
Processor Intel Xeon W3680 3.3ghz OC'd to 4.3ghz
Motherboard EVGA X58 SLI3
Cooling Cooler Master CPU Cooler + 4 Case Fans
Memory Micron 24gb Non-ECC (4gbX6)
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1070 8gb
Storage 128gb SSD Boot, 256 SSD (Game), 1TB HDD (video), 1TB External HDD (Whatever)
Display(s) 22" LG IPS, 22" Asus TN
Case Cooler Master Haf X
Audio Device(s) Default
Power Supply ThermalTake 700W Smart
Mouse Razor Deathadder
Keyboard Corsair K55 RGB Mechanical
Software Throttle Stop, MSI Afterburner
Yeah, I haven't touched the memory because for one I don't know what the numbers should be and two IDK if it is even overclockable (real word). I am using ECC 1333 10600E memory in a 4gbX6 configuration. From my readings it seems like it would more beneficial to have a 8gbX3 configuration, is this true? Also, before I went to bed last night I was brave and up'd the Multiplier from 25 to 26 and seems ok, except for the weird part of Cinebanch closing after the render starts.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
10,001 (3.87/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
From my readings it seems like it would more beneficial to have a 8gbX3 configuration, is this true?
It can be, but generally only if you're OCing the RAM. If not, it really doesn't matter much.
Also, before I went to bed last night I was brave and up'd the Multiplier from 25 to 26 and seems ok, except for the weird part of Cinebanch closing after the render starts.
That is likely a lack of voltage somewhere. Again screenshots of BIOS settings screen would help a lot. My guess is that the VTT or uncore voltage might need a slight bump, but without seeing where everything is at, it's only a guess.
 
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
37 (0.44/day)
System Name Dell T3500 Terminator
Processor Intel Xeon W3680 3.3ghz OC'd to 4.3ghz
Motherboard EVGA X58 SLI3
Cooling Cooler Master CPU Cooler + 4 Case Fans
Memory Micron 24gb Non-ECC (4gbX6)
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1070 8gb
Storage 128gb SSD Boot, 256 SSD (Game), 1TB HDD (video), 1TB External HDD (Whatever)
Display(s) 22" LG IPS, 22" Asus TN
Case Cooler Master Haf X
Audio Device(s) Default
Power Supply ThermalTake 700W Smart
Mouse Razor Deathadder
Keyboard Corsair K55 RGB Mechanical
Software Throttle Stop, MSI Afterburner
It can be, but generally only if you're OCing the RAM. If not, it really doesn't matter much.

That is likely a lack of voltage somewhere. Again screenshots of BIOS settings screen would help a lot. My guess is that the VTT or uncore voltage might need a slight bump, but without seeing where everything is at, it's only a guess.
I will get some pictures tonight when I get home and we can run through my BIOS. Appreciate all the help.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2011
Messages
416 (0.12/day)
System Name AMD
Processor Phenom 2 x6 1075T @ 4.1Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair 4 Extreme
Cooling Custom Water Cooling Loop
Memory 4Gb Kingston Hyper X 2000Mhz
Video Card(s) Power Color 4870x2
Storage 2x WD Carviar Blacks 64mb Cache - RAID 0
Case Cooler Master Cosmos S
Power Supply Jeantech Absolute 1000w Modular
4.4-4.5Ghz will be around ~1.4v on the vcore depending on the vdrop when under load.

Leave the RAM clock as low as possible and tune it afterwards, 1600Mhz CL7 is a nice sweet spot to aim for.

And I hope you have a good PSU, my Xeon x5650 (Also a 6 core CPU on x58) sucks so much power at 4.4Ghz it's scary!
 
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
37 (0.44/day)
System Name Dell T3500 Terminator
Processor Intel Xeon W3680 3.3ghz OC'd to 4.3ghz
Motherboard EVGA X58 SLI3
Cooling Cooler Master CPU Cooler + 4 Case Fans
Memory Micron 24gb Non-ECC (4gbX6)
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1070 8gb
Storage 128gb SSD Boot, 256 SSD (Game), 1TB HDD (video), 1TB External HDD (Whatever)
Display(s) 22" LG IPS, 22" Asus TN
Case Cooler Master Haf X
Audio Device(s) Default
Power Supply ThermalTake 700W Smart
Mouse Razor Deathadder
Keyboard Corsair K55 RGB Mechanical
Software Throttle Stop, MSI Afterburner
4.4-4.5Ghz will be around ~1.4v on the vcore depending on the vdrop when under load.

Leave the RAM clock as low as possible and tune it afterwards, 1600Mhz CL7 is a nice sweet spot to aim for.

And I hope you have a good PSU, my Xeon x5650 (Also a 6 core CPU on x58) sucks so much power at 4.4Ghz it's scary!
I'm sitting at 1.35v right now but will be doing some adjustments tonight to improve the CPU. I have a 700w PSU so I'm hoping that should be enough lol
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2011
Messages
416 (0.12/day)
System Name AMD
Processor Phenom 2 x6 1075T @ 4.1Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair 4 Extreme
Cooling Custom Water Cooling Loop
Memory 4Gb Kingston Hyper X 2000Mhz
Video Card(s) Power Color 4870x2
Storage 2x WD Carviar Blacks 64mb Cache - RAID 0
Case Cooler Master Cosmos S
Power Supply Jeantech Absolute 1000w Modular
I'm sitting at 1.35v right now but will be doing some adjustments tonight to improve the CPU. I have a 700w PSU so I'm hoping that should be enough lol
I have a 700w PSU and when stress testing the coils wine :laugh:

To get a quick and dirty overclock that I can work on and tune I do this

- Download Intel Burn Test
- Set Vcore to what I'm comfortable with running 24/7 and what my cooling can handle (In my case 1.4v)
- Increase clock speed by 100Mhz
- Go in to Windows and do 5 runs of Intel Burn Test with 'standard' ram tested
- If it passes the 5 runs with good temps increase clock speed by 100Mhz and try again with another 5 runs

Do that until you either hit the limit of your cooling or Intel Burn Test fails.

Then you can tweak and fine tune the overclock from there.
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2011
Messages
84 (0.02/day)
You're probably not going to hit 1600 memory with 1333 ECC unless you're just really lucky with the memory IC's

If you're running 166BCK then make sure to check what memory divider/mult you are running. If I remember x58 is like x6 x8 x10 etc.

At the stock 100Bck 133Bck what is the divider for 1333? (edit: duh it's x10 - thanks for the correction lexluther) I can't remember but cinebench crashing might just be your memory speed is too high for your 1333 sticks to handle.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
10,001 (3.87/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
I have a 700w PSU and when stress testing the coils wine :laugh:

To get a quick and dirty overclock that I can work on and tune I do this

- Download Intel Burn Test
- Set Vcore to what I'm comfortable with running 24/7 and what my cooling can handle (In my case 1.4v)
- Increase clock speed by 133Mhz or 1 multiplier
- Go in to Windows and do 5 runs of Intel Burn Test with 'standard' ram tested
- If it passes the 5 runs with good temps increase clock speed by 133Mhz/one multiplier and try again with another 5 runs

Do that until you either hit the limit of your cooling or Intel Burn Test fails.

Then you can tweak and fine tune the overclock from there.
Had to correct you there as the 1366 platform runs on a 133mhz based bclk by default.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2011
Messages
416 (0.12/day)
System Name AMD
Processor Phenom 2 x6 1075T @ 4.1Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair 4 Extreme
Cooling Custom Water Cooling Loop
Memory 4Gb Kingston Hyper X 2000Mhz
Video Card(s) Power Color 4870x2
Storage 2x WD Carviar Blacks 64mb Cache - RAID 0
Case Cooler Master Cosmos S
Power Supply Jeantech Absolute 1000w Modular
Had to correct you there as the 1366 platform runs on a 133mhz based bclk by default.
You've not corrected anything..... at a 20x multiplier I increase my CPU clock by 100Mhz with just an extra 5Mhz on the BCLK.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
10,001 (3.87/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
You've not corrected anything..... at a 20x multiplier I increase my CPU clock by 100Mhz with just an extra 5Mhz on the BCLK.
You literally can't do that unless you have some seriously squirrelly mobo. ALL socket 1366 CPU's run on a 133mhz bclk. So unless you drop the bclk to 100mhz and raise your multi one step at a time, there is no way for you to do that.
 
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
37 (0.44/day)
System Name Dell T3500 Terminator
Processor Intel Xeon W3680 3.3ghz OC'd to 4.3ghz
Motherboard EVGA X58 SLI3
Cooling Cooler Master CPU Cooler + 4 Case Fans
Memory Micron 24gb Non-ECC (4gbX6)
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1070 8gb
Storage 128gb SSD Boot, 256 SSD (Game), 1TB HDD (video), 1TB External HDD (Whatever)
Display(s) 22" LG IPS, 22" Asus TN
Case Cooler Master Haf X
Audio Device(s) Default
Power Supply ThermalTake 700W Smart
Mouse Razor Deathadder
Keyboard Corsair K55 RGB Mechanical
Software Throttle Stop, MSI Afterburner
Ok so I finally got some pics of the BIOS settings on my PC. Let me know if you need me to take any more pics. I don't want to get to crazy with this overclock but just enough to get me running at around 4.5ghz stable
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
10,001 (3.87/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Ok, the first screen is where most of the action is at.
CPU VTT Voltage needs to come up one step, +2mv
CPU PLL VCore needs to come up two steps to 1.825v
QPI PLL VCore needs to come up one step to 1.1125v

Then retest your Cinebench and see if 4.1ghz stays stable.
Also, download and run Intel Burn Test. Set the "Stress Level" to High and the "Time to run" to 2.

If both of these finish properly, you can leave the voltages alone and call it good at 4.3ghz. If you want 4.4ghz (166x27), give it a try and let us know how it goes. If continues to be stable, you're golden. If not, we can tweak the voltages a bit.
VTT up to +3mv
CPU PLL to 1.85v
QPI PLL to 1.125v

Pushing the voltages much higher can be risky and I rarely have done so even with excellent cooling. If this is going to be a daily driver system, I'd call it good at 4.3ghz if stable as that is a solid OC.

EDIT:
On screen 4, enable "OC Recovery" as that will make your efforts easier.
 
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
37 (0.44/day)
System Name Dell T3500 Terminator
Processor Intel Xeon W3680 3.3ghz OC'd to 4.3ghz
Motherboard EVGA X58 SLI3
Cooling Cooler Master CPU Cooler + 4 Case Fans
Memory Micron 24gb Non-ECC (4gbX6)
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1070 8gb
Storage 128gb SSD Boot, 256 SSD (Game), 1TB HDD (video), 1TB External HDD (Whatever)
Display(s) 22" LG IPS, 22" Asus TN
Case Cooler Master Haf X
Audio Device(s) Default
Power Supply ThermalTake 700W Smart
Mouse Razor Deathadder
Keyboard Corsair K55 RGB Mechanical
Software Throttle Stop, MSI Afterburner
So the VVT voltage goes up in ranges of 25, when you say +2mv are you referring to 200 or 2? Should I leave the vcore the same as well as the BCLK and multiplier?
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
10,001 (3.87/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
37 (0.44/day)
System Name Dell T3500 Terminator
Processor Intel Xeon W3680 3.3ghz OC'd to 4.3ghz
Motherboard EVGA X58 SLI3
Cooling Cooler Master CPU Cooler + 4 Case Fans
Memory Micron 24gb Non-ECC (4gbX6)
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1070 8gb
Storage 128gb SSD Boot, 256 SSD (Game), 1TB HDD (video), 1TB External HDD (Whatever)
Display(s) 22" LG IPS, 22" Asus TN
Case Cooler Master Haf X
Audio Device(s) Default
Power Supply ThermalTake 700W Smart
Mouse Razor Deathadder
Keyboard Corsair K55 RGB Mechanical
Software Throttle Stop, MSI Afterburner
Ok so I set the VVT one step up to +25mv and the PC would freeze after windows logo. Dropped the multiplier down to 25 from 26 and it started plus passed both test.


Edit: also I selected without vdroop, should I have vdroop on?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 23, 2011
Messages
416 (0.12/day)
System Name AMD
Processor Phenom 2 x6 1075T @ 4.1Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair 4 Extreme
Cooling Custom Water Cooling Loop
Memory 4Gb Kingston Hyper X 2000Mhz
Video Card(s) Power Color 4870x2
Storage 2x WD Carviar Blacks 64mb Cache - RAID 0
Case Cooler Master Cosmos S
Power Supply Jeantech Absolute 1000w Modular
You literally can't do that unless you have some seriously squirrelly mobo. ALL socket 1366 CPU's run on a 133mhz bclk. So unless you drop the bclk to 100mhz and raise your multi one step at a time, there is no way for you to do that.
I'm currently at 200Mhz BCLK with a x22 multiplier which gives me 4.4Ghz

And I got there by increasing CPU by 100Mhz each time.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
10,001 (3.87/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Ok so I set the VVT one step up to +25mv and the PC would freeze after windows logo. Dropped the multiplier down to 25 from 26 and it started plus passed both test.
Interesting, try dropping the VTT down one step below the starting point and bump the multi back up to 26, then try again.
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,078 (0.70/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
As for Vdroop setting : It's up to you.
Without Vdroop = LLC Enabled,
With Vdroop = LLC Disabled.
I'd say you can have without Vdroop set if you are under 1,4V Vcore (since any spikes that overvolt above should be fine long term). If you plan to use this CPU 24/7 with Vcore above that value, depending on cooling, temp stability and actual Vcore required, you might be better off to have Vdroop disabled.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
683 (0.99/day)
Processor X5690 ES
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula
Cooling Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT, TY143
Memory 10Gb G.Skill mix
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Classified 3988 @ 1495/2001
Storage Intel 545S
Display(s) Hisense 55"
Case Fractal Design Meshify C TG, White
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence ST
Power Supply CM Silent Pro M2 850
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Yes
At 200x21 1.35v my x58 would pull 400w at the wall running Linpack Xtreme. I have a 650 which is enough to run it at stock, and the rails tank when you try to oc :D
 
Top