• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Exceleram Unveils 32 GB Quad-Channel DDR3 Memory Kit for Sandy Bridge-E

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
German memory maker Exceleram is among the first to release quad-channel DDR3 memory kits, in time for Intel's Core i7 "Sandy Bridge-E" processor platform. Sandy Bridge-E processors pack a massive four-channel DDR3 integrated memory controller, and require at least four DDR3 modules to perform optimally. The kit released by Exceleram features in its "Grand" series, and totals 32 GB in size, spread across four 8 GB modules. These modules run at DDR3-1333 MHz speed, with timings of 9-9-9-24, and DRAM voltage of 1.5V. Exceleram did not give out pricing details, but you should be able to buy one of these in time for your big fat Sandy Bridge-E build.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#2
The article title made me very happy but then 1333mhz made me sad :laugh:

I know with quad channel there is already a bunch of bandwidth but surly for such a high end platform 1600mhz and higher would be more suitable?
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,193 (0.83/day)
Likes
633
Location
Marlow, ENGLAND
System Name Chachamaru-III | Retro Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K | Intel Pentium II 450MHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 (Intel Z77 Chipset) | MSI MS-6116 (Intel 440BX chipset)
Cooling Thermaltake CLW0217 Water 2.0 Extreme, case fully populated
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz (2x8GB) [30 10-10-10] | 512MB PC133 SDRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z, Intel HD 4000 (for secondary monitors) | MSI nVIDIA Vanta 16MB
Storage 250GB SK hynix SSD (OS), Seagate 3TB (Storage), Toshiba 3TB (Steam), Samsung 1TB (Personal Files)
Display(s) Samsung 2443BWT-1 24" @1920x1200, Dell 1708fp 17" @1280x1024 & Eizo FlexScan L887 20" @1600x1200
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 | Beige box
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z (Speakers), Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (Headphones) | Yamaha Audician 32 Plus
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2 | 250W ASETEC
Mouse Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 6000 v2.0 | Microsoft Serial Mouse v2.0A
Keyboard UNICOMP Classic | Dell AT102W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Microsoft Windows 98SE
#3
9-9-9-24 on 1333MHz? Laaaaaame.
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#4
I'd like to have 32GB of DDR3.

Ymmmmmm!
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
2,302 (0.67/day)
Likes
959
Location
EDM, AB, CAN
Processor AMD FX-4350
Motherboard Gigabye GA-970A-D3P
Cooling Enermax ETD-T60-VD - 7 x 120mm case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX 2x4GB@1600mhz
Video Card(s) Asus R9 380
Storage Kingston V300 240GB SSD + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) ACER K212HL 27" + Haier 55"
Case Enermax Ostrog (Red)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA B2 750W
Software Win10 64bit
#5
Joined
Oct 19, 2006
Messages
178 (0.04/day)
Likes
85
Location
Nashville, Tennessee
System Name DeathAdder
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K @4.6 Ghz 1.31v
Motherboard Gigabyte Gaming 7 Z170X
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 280mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI NVidia GeForce 980 Ti 6GB
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB + 10 TB in HDDs
Display(s) LG UC87C 34" Ultrawide 3440x1440
Case NZXT H440 White
Power Supply EVGA P2 Platinum 1000 W
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro
#6
What programs use 32GB of memory?
None. Unless one's goal is to fill up memory. Seriously.

32 GB is overkill. Quad channel too sounds overkill before 2013. SandyBridge Dual channel platform performs better than 1st gen Core i7's Triple channel.

Memory companies should be focusing on lowering the latency a little. 9-9-9-24 is too high
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#7
Positive than negative


Negative


Positive

What programs use 32GB of memory?
:laugh: well that is because i have mixed feelings about it.

But my want of silly amounts of RAM are geared more towards RAM drives and VM's than any normal program use as 32gb just for normal use would be a total waste.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#8
I'd like to have 32GB of DDR3.

Ymmmmmm!

Snap! Don't even care about the 1333 mhz, sure It could run @1600 with some voltage increase :D

Will be able to switch off virtual memory for sure with 32gb :D
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#9
None. Unless one's goal is to fill up memory. Seriously.

32 GB is overkill. Quad channel too sounds overkill before 2013. SandyBridge Dual channel platform performs better than 1st gen Core i7's Triple channel.

Memory companies should be focusing on lowering the latency a little. 9-9-9-24 is too high
And the lower latency/higher speeds are not overkill? How much of a difference do those things actually make?
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#10
And the lower latency/higher speeds are not overkill? How much of a difference do those things actually make?
Not enough to warrant the price increase. Saying that, with RAM so cheap atm, this kit should hopefully be easily accessible... to a degree.

I'd love to have a fat wad of RAM in my rig, especially now that I'm re-educating myself in Photoshop and Première.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
413 (0.13/day)
Likes
95
Location
You are here.
System Name Prometheus
Processor Intel i7 4930K
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory Crucial Ballistix Quad Channel 64GB DDR3 1.35V
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 4GB
Storage 2 x Intel 330 240GB RAID0 + 2 x Intel X-25M G2 160GB MIRROR + 4 x 2TB WD Green
Display(s) AMH A409U 4K
Case Intertech AP1
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PCIe
Power Supply Seasonic X660
Mouse Razer Death Adder 2013
Keyboard FILCO Majestouch 2 Ninja
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
#11
I would like a 64GB kit. Thank you.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,193 (0.83/day)
Likes
633
Location
Marlow, ENGLAND
System Name Chachamaru-III | Retro Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K | Intel Pentium II 450MHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 (Intel Z77 Chipset) | MSI MS-6116 (Intel 440BX chipset)
Cooling Thermaltake CLW0217 Water 2.0 Extreme, case fully populated
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz (2x8GB) [30 10-10-10] | 512MB PC133 SDRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z, Intel HD 4000 (for secondary monitors) | MSI nVIDIA Vanta 16MB
Storage 250GB SK hynix SSD (OS), Seagate 3TB (Storage), Toshiba 3TB (Steam), Samsung 1TB (Personal Files)
Display(s) Samsung 2443BWT-1 24" @1920x1200, Dell 1708fp 17" @1280x1024 & Eizo FlexScan L887 20" @1600x1200
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 | Beige box
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z (Speakers), Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (Headphones) | Yamaha Audician 32 Plus
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2 | 250W ASETEC
Mouse Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 6000 v2.0 | Microsoft Serial Mouse v2.0A
Keyboard UNICOMP Classic | Dell AT102W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Microsoft Windows 98SE
#12
64GB? Pfft. Vista Ultimate supports 128GB.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
1,160 (0.34/day)
Likes
236
Location
Australia
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120
Memory Corsair Dominator 1866Mhz 4X4GB
Video Card(s) Asus R290X
Storage Samsung 850 Pro SSD 256GB/Samsung 840 Evo SSD 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S23A950D
Case Corsair 850D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 x64
#13
Yep this is just too much ram for the average person. I'm planning on a 4x2Gb kit or maybe a 4x4Gb kit at most.

With 32Gb of ram, some people will be surprised to see a default Windows installation taking up 70Gb+ of hard drive space, when usually it takes up around 20Gb. If you have a 120Gb SSD thats bad news.

32Gb of ram means a 32Gb hibernation file in windows, and a humungous page file. Sure , you can turn these off or move them but if you need hibernation its a problem.

Unless you're running a virtual machine or are running something that needs that much ram its better to stick with a sensible amount like 8Gb-16Gb, or get a large hard drive to match.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2010
Messages
56 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
Processor i7 950
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
Memory Kingston HyperX 3x 2GiB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 570
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120GB + 8TB
Power Supply Chieftec 750W
#14
Who puts page file on SSD anyway? thats definitely not wise.
Yea, 32gib is little to much ram, but just a little : ].
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2011
Messages
1,155 (0.47/day)
Likes
466
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel i7-3930k
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth X79
Cooling Intel AIO
Memory 8x4GB 1866MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Adaptec 2405 SAS controller> Hitachi SAS 15k 450GB|2xSeagate 2TB|WD Black 4 TB|HP Ultrium 1760 LTO4
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Fractal Define XL Black
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi Uber>Schiit Asgard 2>Sennheiser HD600
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Logitech G613
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#15
Yep this is just too much ram for the average person.
SB-E isn't for the average person so you are in the wrong thread.

Seriously, just because a few of you can't even fill 4GB doesn't mean that nobody needs it.
And from my experience (going from 4GB to 8GB) Windows itself benefits from it. Win 7 automatically takes more RAM and runs faster than running on 4GB.
And once you have 8GB it doesn't seem much and you fill it up quite quickly, and so you start looking at 16GB or more.

Same could be said about SSD's, once you have it you only want a faster one and you never want a HDD again. Overkill or not!


Also I much rather have more RAM and see that OS uses more than having everything on HDD/SDD.
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
188 (0.06/day)
Likes
69
Location
Taipei
System Name selfmade caseless :D
Processor Intel ES
Motherboard EVGA X99 :)
Cooling LN2
Memory G.SKILL DDR4 @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX Kingpin's
Storage 3x1TB WD1002FAEX RAID5, Intel 320 300GB, OCZ 960GB PCIe
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case none
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply EVGA NEX 1500W's
Mouse Logitech M570 trackball
Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW and Corsair K-something
Software W2k8 R2 64bit SP1, FreeBSD 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.hwbot.org/community/user/tin?oldstyle=true
#16
Why most guys with negative comments are not smart enough to realize, that in today environment no need to have crazy memory-intensive applications to benefit from big amount of RAM in system? Normal people never run just single application at time, even simples office computers or gaming station have more than 10 applications sharing same memory space. Windows, torrent downloader, some background tasks, browser (Opera or Firefox can easy eat few GBs when you have lots of tabs, as I do :D), some IM crap, image viewer, photoshop maybe. 1GB here, 1GB there, and viola, hello my swap to harddrive and slowmo.
People worry about their 100MHz more overclocking on CPU but don't mind to wait for swapping while running some stupid 2200mhz 2x2GB 7-7-7 memory set :nutkick:

That's not real, you say? :D

Well, that's what i run today evening on home PC :D



I know, i'm kind of power user, most people don't have VMWare WS for freebsd and Solidworks CAD on their daily rigs, but rest software is just normal, photoshop with some photos from DSLR, Lightroom for RAW processing, Opera with 20-25 tabs, IM, some network crap.

P.S. that's P67 with 2600K, and yes, 4x4GB of most cheap memory I could get, working at DDR3-1333. Still LIGHTYEARS faster than 2000mhz 2x4GB kit with such loading.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.77/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#17
If you are looking for faster than 1333 on an 8GB module, you'd be looking at stupidly higher prices!

Now if this kit could bring the 8GB modules to a more reasonable price, 64GB here I come! xD
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,059 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,123
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#18
Nice.

8GB is my bare minimum, and won't go less than 16GB next time. 32GB isn't such a large number any more.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
1,160 (0.34/day)
Likes
236
Location
Australia
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120
Memory Corsair Dominator 1866Mhz 4X4GB
Video Card(s) Asus R290X
Storage Samsung 850 Pro SSD 256GB/Samsung 840 Evo SSD 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S23A950D
Case Corsair 850D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 x64
#19
Why most guys with negative comments are not smart enough to realize, that in today environment no need to have crazy memory-intensive applications to benefit from big amount of RAM in system?

That's not real, you say? :D

Well, that's what i run today evening on home PC :D

.

Thanks you proved my point.:laugh: You are a power user with Virtual machine and you have open just about all your programs and you only used 10Gbs lol.

90% of socket 2011 owners will be gamers, Virtual machine users is like 3% and people who need lots of ram maybe 5%, so I stand by the comments that for most users 8-16Gbs is plenty.


Seriously, just because a few of you can't even fill 4GB doesn't mean that nobody needs it.
.
Thats silly comment considering I made exceptions for users who NEED that much memory.

I never said no-one needs that much memory.

Unless you're running a virtual machine or are running something that needs that much ram its better to stick with a sensible amount like 8Gb-16Gb, or get a large hard drive to match.
Maybe read the whole post before commenting.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.77/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#20
Thanks you proved my point. You are a power user with Virtual machine and you have open just about all your programs and you only used 10Gbs lol.

90% of socket 2011 owners will be gamers, Virtual machine users is like 3% and people who need lots of ram maybe 5%, so I stand by the comments that for most users 8-16Gbs is plenty.
Most gamers will go 1155 and most VM users and other stuff will go 2011... I'm a gamer that likes to have options to VM etc, so I'll be going SB-E
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
1,160 (0.34/day)
Likes
236
Location
Australia
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120
Memory Corsair Dominator 1866Mhz 4X4GB
Video Card(s) Asus R290X
Storage Samsung 850 Pro SSD 256GB/Samsung 840 Evo SSD 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S23A950D
Case Corsair 850D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 x64
#21
Most gamers will go 1155 and most VM users and other stuff will go 2011... I'm a gamer that likes to have options to VM etc, so I'll be going SB-E
LOL, if you think there are more VM users than Gamers on socket 2011(or socket 1366) you are way off the mark. Even if you include ALL platforms VM users is like 3% gamers is like 90%.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.77/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#22
I didn't say there weren't going to be more gamers, I said most gamers are going to 1155 and most heavy users or VM users are going to go LGA 2011

and yes, I think that if you include servers, LGA 2011 will not have 50+% gamers (ie majority)

By gamers, I mean people who use their computers for gaming (heavy or medium) and basic tasks (browsing, office, minor photoshop etc) that an average user might do
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
1,160 (0.34/day)
Likes
236
Location
Australia
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120
Memory Corsair Dominator 1866Mhz 4X4GB
Video Card(s) Asus R290X
Storage Samsung 850 Pro SSD 256GB/Samsung 840 Evo SSD 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S23A950D
Case Corsair 850D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 x64
#23
That may be true if you count all gamers, but there is still way more gamers than VM users on socket 2011.

And most of the users who use VM on socket 2011 are just hobbyists and home enthusiasts playing around for fun.

Actually, most users of VM, people who are professionals and commercial users, or critical system users , will use xeon systems because they need other enterprise features like ECC memory. They wouldnt mess with home consumer socket 2011.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#24
I could see an effective setup with 32GB, 8GB for a Ramdrive, 2GB or 4GB for Supercache.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,314 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#25
I could see an effective setup with 32GB, 8GB for a Ramdrive, 2GB or 4GB for Supercache.
Shiii you could run GTA 4 from ram lol. Just see to see how it works out :p.. I have a ramdrive program here that will allow you to boot a ISO image to a ramdrive.

I'd try it just for kicks lol.. even more so how they prices are getting lately.