1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Experience with the HP Smart Array E200 in non-Proliant setup.

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Vincy Boy, Aug 26, 2009.

  1. Vincy Boy

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    191 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    St. Vincent and the Grenadines
    I am planning to get a cable to use 2 15000 rpm drives with a HP Smart Array E200 but I have been wondering if these would be compatible with my MSI Eclipse SLI. I have plugged in the E200 and it is recognized and the driver loads. I connected a WD SATA drive to it and was unable to get it to see the drive (I think). Now I am hesitant to get the cable for the SAS drives as I am afraid that the E200 may only be fully compatible with a Proliant server. Has anyone used the E200 with other motherboards besides the Proliants they come with?

    Thanks as always
    Vincy Boy
     
  2. Vincy Boy

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    191 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    St. Vincent and the Grenadines
    Ok, I just tried two 320Gig WD's on the E200 and it is not recognizing the drives. I aslo cannot get to any raid config utility at startup. I was thinking that the E200 is only compatible with the Proliants but I connected it to the ML310 with the same drives and it did not see the drives either. I am now wondering if the 2 SAS drives which are HP branded would work with any other SAS controller I may buy. Sigh. I guess my dream of 15000 rpm RAID 0 will stay that way for now:shadedshu
     
  3. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,972 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    995
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Do you have the SATA mode on the Eclipse set to RAID? This can sometimes keep an external controller from loading it's BIOS.
     
    Vincy Boy says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Vincy Boy

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    191 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    St. Vincent and the Grenadines
    No had it set to AHCI... Hmm I wonder if that may also cause a problem. The thing is the E200 did not even recognize the drives while in the proliant server. Will try IDE mode though.

    I have even disabled the onboard controllers now. All i get is "Smart Array initializing" after which it says no logical drives detected. So I' say this is a no go.
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)