• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

External Seagate M3 portable dead

Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
298 (0.12/day)
Location
Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
System Name Thermaltake
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5600X @ 4.7 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite V2
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2 x 8 GB Crucial Ballistix @ 3400 MHz
Video Card(s) STRIX Vega 64
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB | Kingston 240GB NVMe | Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) 34" ultrawide LG 34GL750B
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition (modded)
Audio Device(s) ALC 1220 120dB SNR HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Hamburg 530 W - 80 Plus
Mouse Logitech G502 HERO
Keyboard Genius Scorpion K9 (RGB)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I just bought a Seagate M3 Portable in "Maxtor" clothing. The Drive Manager thing downloaded some sort of firmware update on my HP 250 G4 and it rebooted my PC. Next thing I know, the computer takes a lot of time to boot (it has an SSD), and I can't see the Seagate anywhere except in Diskpart (where it shows a capacity of 0 GB) and in Device Manager under "Computer → Manage".

I used the "clean" command for the drive in Diskpart and now I am unable to run "create partition primary". Diskpart gives an error about a fatal hardware fault.

In the Device Manager application tho, the drive reports to be working fine, I can see everything under the "details" tab.

What do i do? :(
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
21,905 (4.13/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.VI
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Search the seagate website and see if they have proper firmware for the m3. Failing that, contact seagate directly and see if they can help. If they cant then just return it to the olace you bought it for another one
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
298 (0.12/day)
Location
Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
System Name Thermaltake
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5600X @ 4.7 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite V2
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2 x 8 GB Crucial Ballistix @ 3400 MHz
Video Card(s) STRIX Vega 64
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB | Kingston 240GB NVMe | Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) 34" ultrawide LG 34GL750B
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition (modded)
Audio Device(s) ALC 1220 120dB SNR HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Hamburg 530 W - 80 Plus
Mouse Logitech G502 HERO
Keyboard Genius Scorpion K9 (RGB)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I can't find any firmware on their website. Samsung Drive Manager doesn't find the drive.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
21,905 (4.13/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.VI
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Test the drive by hooking it up to another pc if problem still persists then send it back to the retailer for a replacement. You said you just bought it after all. You should be able to return it under warranty
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
298 (0.12/day)
Location
Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
System Name Thermaltake
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5600X @ 4.7 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite V2
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2 x 8 GB Crucial Ballistix @ 3400 MHz
Video Card(s) STRIX Vega 64
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB | Kingston 240GB NVMe | Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) 34" ultrawide LG 34GL750B
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition (modded)
Audio Device(s) ALC 1220 120dB SNR HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Hamburg 530 W - 80 Plus
Mouse Logitech G502 HERO
Keyboard Genius Scorpion K9 (RGB)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I hooked it up in 5 PCs, nothing. I filled out the RMA form and I'm sending it back tomorrow. Thanks for the help.
 

SuperSoph_WD

WD Rep
Joined
Aug 22, 2014
Messages
128 (0.05/day)
Location
Wherever help is needed!
Hey, @Thimblewad!

This issue sounds pretty concerning! :( I hope you didn't have any important files on the external drive that were not backed up. Fatal hardware fault/failure usually indicates that the issue is physical and there's almost nothing you can do to fix the drive itself.
When dealing with external drive issue, always try connecting it with different USB cables and to multiple computers. This could easily help you determine where the source of the problem is. I'd also strongly recommend to keep backup of your files on at least two different locations. Moving data from your system drive to an external HDD is not a backup, unless there is already a duplicate of the file on a different storage. I'd also suggest you keep un eye on your storage devices every once in awhile, using their brand-specific diagnostic tools. This way you will be able to monitor their health and SMART status and, hopefully, not lose any important data.

Best of luck! :)
SuperSoph_WD
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
298 (0.12/day)
Location
Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
System Name Thermaltake
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5600X @ 4.7 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite V2
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2 x 8 GB Crucial Ballistix @ 3400 MHz
Video Card(s) STRIX Vega 64
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB | Kingston 240GB NVMe | Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) 34" ultrawide LG 34GL750B
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition (modded)
Audio Device(s) ALC 1220 120dB SNR HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Hamburg 530 W - 80 Plus
Mouse Logitech G502 HERO
Keyboard Genius Scorpion K9 (RGB)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I actually bought the drive to make backups. My dad has a laptop with a 120 GB SSD and he needs storage to back things up. I have already split the drive into two partitons to separate the OS from the files he's using, if sometime a Windows reinstallation is required, but if the drive dies, he loses everything. The most sensitive of data in stored od DVDs and placed in a box, not to be touched until the backup has to be used, just to keep the DVDs intact.

As for the backing up with the external drive: I was planning on putting about 50 GBs of backup data on it, just so that it's easier to get to it. He would then be able to use the rest of the disk for movies, music etc.

Off-topic but still:
Let's say I have my way around storage, even though I haven't got much money, I made myself a nice little setup for my PC (not RAID-ing because no money :D ). I'm using a 120 GB SSD for the OS and other things, 500 GB disk for torrenting and web downloads (whoops) and everything else (music, games etc.) on a 1 TB drive, which also holds a week old system backup. All drives have a single partition which takes up the whole disk (except the system one, which has an extra boot partition (500 MB))) For example: I installed Mafia 3 yesterday, which took 10 minutes (average data rate was 75/72 of read/write speeds from the 500 GB disk to the 1 TB disk, so I guess that's pretty good).

d.png e.png
 
Top