• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

EyeFinity on Asus 6950 2GB

Joined
May 8, 2010
Messages
41 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
System Name EagleX
Processor I7 5820K
Motherboard Asus X99a
Memory Kingston FuryX 32GB 2400MHz (8x4GB) Quad Channel
Video Card(s) R9 390 Nitro Backplate 8GB
Storage 2x2TB Hitachi. 1x250GB MP500 NVME. 2x120GB SSDs
Display(s) Benq 27" 144Hz
Case Level 10 GT
Power Supply Seasonic 1250W GOLD
Mouse RAT 5
Keyboard CM QuickFire TK
Software Win10x64
#1
Hey guys,
tried a search before posting but found no strict answers.:ohwell:

I currently have an ASUS EAH6950 DCII/2DI4S/2GD5 Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 card, and i would like to know if there is a chance to run Battlefield 3 (Medium-High settings) with Eyefinity using this card.

And if not, what should i do? (Crossfire or buy a newer card)

Thanks :toast:
 
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
1,038 (0.29/day)
Likes
564
Location
Frankfurt/Main - Germany
System Name Shaman of Sexy
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE@4Ghz EK Supreme Block
Motherboard M3A79-T Deluxe Anfi-Tech Waterblocks
Cooling Magicool 360 + 120 + 120 Slim scythe slipped Laing DDC-1/T
Memory 4GB Corsair Dominator CM2X2048-8500C5D
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 EK 4870 X2 Block
Storage RAID 0 Seagate
Display(s) Samsung 226BW 22"
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos RC-1000 in mod progress
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Coba Nitrox 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=1056967
#2
Hey guys,
tried a search before posting but found no strict answers.:ohwell:

I currently have an ASUS EAH6950 DCII/2DI4S/2GD5 Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 card, and i would like to know if there is a chance to run Battlefield 3 (Medium-High settings) with Eyefinity using this card.

And if not, what should i do? (Crossfire or buy a newer card)

Thanks :toast:
Card should run sweet , @BF3 u should get atleast 8GB ram for your machine.....
Eyefinity is a displayport , depends on your monitors if u can connect em to it
(they have adapters mini HDMI like (eyefinity) -> DVI
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 8, 2010
Messages
41 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
System Name EagleX
Processor I7 5820K
Motherboard Asus X99a
Memory Kingston FuryX 32GB 2400MHz (8x4GB) Quad Channel
Video Card(s) R9 390 Nitro Backplate 8GB
Storage 2x2TB Hitachi. 1x250GB MP500 NVME. 2x120GB SSDs
Display(s) Benq 27" 144Hz
Case Level 10 GT
Power Supply Seasonic 1250W GOLD
Mouse RAT 5
Keyboard CM QuickFire TK
Software Win10x64
#3
Cool, i have enough RAM for that.
Using HDMI to DP adapters would be ok ?

Thanks again.
 
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
1,038 (0.29/day)
Likes
564
Location
Frankfurt/Main - Germany
System Name Shaman of Sexy
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE@4Ghz EK Supreme Block
Motherboard M3A79-T Deluxe Anfi-Tech Waterblocks
Cooling Magicool 360 + 120 + 120 Slim scythe slipped Laing DDC-1/T
Memory 4GB Corsair Dominator CM2X2048-8500C5D
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 EK 4870 X2 Block
Storage RAID 0 Seagate
Display(s) Samsung 226BW 22"
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos RC-1000 in mod progress
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Coba Nitrox 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=1056967
#4
Joined
May 8, 2010
Messages
41 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
System Name EagleX
Processor I7 5820K
Motherboard Asus X99a
Memory Kingston FuryX 32GB 2400MHz (8x4GB) Quad Channel
Video Card(s) R9 390 Nitro Backplate 8GB
Storage 2x2TB Hitachi. 1x250GB MP500 NVME. 2x120GB SSDs
Display(s) Benq 27" 144Hz
Case Level 10 GT
Power Supply Seasonic 1250W GOLD
Mouse RAT 5
Keyboard CM QuickFire TK
Software Win10x64
#5
Sorry, i wrote DVI instead of HDMI by mistake.

My monitors have only HDMI/VGA ports.
 
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
1,038 (0.29/day)
Likes
564
Location
Frankfurt/Main - Germany
System Name Shaman of Sexy
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE@4Ghz EK Supreme Block
Motherboard M3A79-T Deluxe Anfi-Tech Waterblocks
Cooling Magicool 360 + 120 + 120 Slim scythe slipped Laing DDC-1/T
Memory 4GB Corsair Dominator CM2X2048-8500C5D
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 EK 4870 X2 Block
Storage RAID 0 Seagate
Display(s) Samsung 226BW 22"
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos RC-1000 in mod progress
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Coba Nitrox 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=1056967
#6
Sorry, i wrote DVI instead of HDMI by mistake.

My monitors have only HDMI/VGA ports.
then check

Adapts: Mini DisplayPort™ To: HDMI (Passive Adapter) area
 
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
1,038 (0.29/day)
Likes
564
Location
Frankfurt/Main - Germany
System Name Shaman of Sexy
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE@4Ghz EK Supreme Block
Motherboard M3A79-T Deluxe Anfi-Tech Waterblocks
Cooling Magicool 360 + 120 + 120 Slim scythe slipped Laing DDC-1/T
Memory 4GB Corsair Dominator CM2X2048-8500C5D
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 EK 4870 X2 Block
Storage RAID 0 Seagate
Display(s) Samsung 226BW 22"
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos RC-1000 in mod progress
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Coba Nitrox 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=1056967
#7
then check

Adapts: Mini DisplayPort™ To: HDMI (Passive Adapter) area
my HD6990 had these adapters included, i dunno if u have them in you pkg still
 
Joined
May 8, 2010
Messages
41 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
System Name EagleX
Processor I7 5820K
Motherboard Asus X99a
Memory Kingston FuryX 32GB 2400MHz (8x4GB) Quad Channel
Video Card(s) R9 390 Nitro Backplate 8GB
Storage 2x2TB Hitachi. 1x250GB MP500 NVME. 2x120GB SSDs
Display(s) Benq 27" 144Hz
Case Level 10 GT
Power Supply Seasonic 1250W GOLD
Mouse RAT 5
Keyboard CM QuickFire TK
Software Win10x64
#8
Will check, thank you very much!
 
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
1,038 (0.29/day)
Likes
564
Location
Frankfurt/Main - Germany
System Name Shaman of Sexy
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE@4Ghz EK Supreme Block
Motherboard M3A79-T Deluxe Anfi-Tech Waterblocks
Cooling Magicool 360 + 120 + 120 Slim scythe slipped Laing DDC-1/T
Memory 4GB Corsair Dominator CM2X2048-8500C5D
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 EK 4870 X2 Block
Storage RAID 0 Seagate
Display(s) Samsung 226BW 22"
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos RC-1000 in mod progress
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Coba Nitrox 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=1056967
#9

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,587 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,975
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#10
Hey guys,
tried a search before posting but found no strict answers.:ohwell:

I currently have an ASUS EAH6950 DCII/2DI4S/2GD5 Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 card, and i would like to know if there is a chance to run Battlefield 3 (Medium-High settings) with Eyefinity using this card.

And if not, what should i do? (Crossfire or buy a newer card)

Thanks :toast:
on medium, a single 6950 might give 30-40 FPS.


same settings, 7950 will give 60 FPS.


I do not recommend 6-series crossfire with Eyefinity. I went one, two, three, then four 6950's, ended up with dual 7950's, which play on 5670x1200 @ high settings only.
 
Joined
May 8, 2010
Messages
41 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
System Name EagleX
Processor I7 5820K
Motherboard Asus X99a
Memory Kingston FuryX 32GB 2400MHz (8x4GB) Quad Channel
Video Card(s) R9 390 Nitro Backplate 8GB
Storage 2x2TB Hitachi. 1x250GB MP500 NVME. 2x120GB SSDs
Display(s) Benq 27" 144Hz
Case Level 10 GT
Power Supply Seasonic 1250W GOLD
Mouse RAT 5
Keyboard CM QuickFire TK
Software Win10x64
#11
@cadaveca
Thanks for the info mate :) will consider upgrading.