• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

F@H members, what else can I do?

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,973 (1.30/day)
Likes
4,639
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#1
OK, I have dedicated the i7-860 to folding -bigadv work only. No GPU's except for the little ATI X300:)D) used to monitor the rig. I cannot raise clocks any higher due to heat and instability. Please give me your suggestions for optimizing the client. See settings below:

Clocks: 4.0Ghz
Temps: 68-73c
Ram: 8gb DDR3 1600
Work Unit Setting: SMP-8
Ram allocated to VM: 5.2GB
TBF: 30m 45s
PPD: 27.8K


  • I am considering running a Ramdisk

  • Would I gain much TBF if I ran native Linux

Let me know your thoughts.

 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,383 (1.83/day)
Likes
8,478
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
1,232 (0.34/day)
Likes
905
Location
Oakland, CA
System Name Rover
Processor Intel i7 4790S
Motherboard GigaByte Z97MX-Gaming 5
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo
Memory 8 GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 mini
Storage Samsung 840 SSD, WD Black 1 TB
Display(s) ASUS VG248
Case Corsair mATX cube. (Alas they don't make it anymore)
Power Supply SilverStone SST-ST45SF-G 450 Watt
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 ibit
#3
Not the best cooling solution for an I7. I have that same unit on my E6750 Conroe (rig 2 in my sig) and it works great. But we know that i7's make more heat when we overclock than 775 CPU's do.

Get a swiftech XT CPU block, a Laing DCC/swiftech 350/355 pump, and this replacement top. (It lets you run 1/2 inch tubing and increases flow as well). This should drop your temps about 5 degrees and give you a bit more overclocking room.

You could also look at the heatkiller or koolance 360 CPU blocks. Several people on TPU use the same pump/top combo I mentioned. It works quite well.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,721 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,485
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#4
Does it need the 8GB of ram? I bet going to 4GB would drop the CPU temps a bit. Considering it may take less CPU and VTT to keep it all running;)
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,973 (1.30/day)
Likes
4,639
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#5
Does it need the 8GB of ram? I bet going to 4GB would drop the CPU temps a bit. Considering it may take less CPU and VTT to keep it all running;)
Yes, minimum 6GB to run the VM. I plan on running a ramdisk on the extra ram.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,721 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,485
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#6
Ok then, carry on! :roll:
 

kevinksu

New Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#7
looking at your Temp, i'm sure you can add another 200mhz + running linux
can improve 2mins. And you can also remove the video card + take away 4GB of RAM.

In native linux, the a2 would take no more than 3.6gb.

I have seen 4.2ghz in linux native@28'30" TBF with RAM set on Turbo
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
4,980 (1.37/day)
Likes
788
Location
Greensboro, NC, USA
System Name Cosmos F1000
Processor 7700K
Motherboard ASRock Z170 OC Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i, Panaflo's on case
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 2x8GB DDR4 3400
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 ti
Storage 1TB 960 Pro, 2TB Samsung 850 Pro, 4TB WD Hard Drive
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q 27"
Case CM Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1150 with logitech 5.1 system (midrange quality)
Power Supply CORSAIR HXi HX1000i 1000watt
Mouse G500 Logitech
Keyboard K65 RGB Corsair Tenkeyless Cherry Red MX
Software Win10 Pro, Win7 x64 Professional
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
1,232 (0.34/day)
Likes
905
Location
Oakland, CA
System Name Rover
Processor Intel i7 4790S
Motherboard GigaByte Z97MX-Gaming 5
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo
Memory 8 GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 mini
Storage Samsung 840 SSD, WD Black 1 TB
Display(s) ASUS VG248
Case Corsair mATX cube. (Alas they don't make it anymore)
Power Supply SilverStone SST-ST45SF-G 450 Watt
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 ibit
#9
You can also get more MHz by switching to 2 X 4MB ram configuration instead of a 4x2GB ram, but that's expensive.
 
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
1,738 (0.49/day)
Likes
4,318
Location
Oklahoma City
System Name My Classified System
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Koolance CPU-380I, XSPC RX360, XSPC Dual 5.25" Bay Reservoir with Single Laing DDC
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 2133
Video Card(s) EVGA 04G-P4-3988-KR GeForce GTX 980 Classified with EK-FC980 GTX Classy Waterblock
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue WD3200AAKS 320GB
Display(s) Acer S220HQLAbd Black 21.5" 5ms LED Backlight Widescreen LCD Monitor
Case NZXT SWITCH 810 Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake - 850-Watt TR2 RX Power Supply
Mouse Black Microsoft Wheel Optical USB Mouse
Keyboard Black Microsoft USB Keyboard 2000
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
#10

kevinksu

New Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#11
if it is a dedicate folding rig why not change to native linux. With native linux only 2x2GB is needed and faster.
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,973 (1.30/day)
Likes
4,639
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#12
if it is a dedicate folding rig why not change to native linux. With native linux only 2x2GB is needed and faster.
because I am a linux noob:(
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,383 (1.83/day)
Likes
8,478
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
#13
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.56/day)
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#14
Buck, what about adding a couple of folding cards to the rig ??.I get about ~25,000 33min 40sTBF running -smp 7 (other core for 2x 260GTX) from mine @4GHz

I guess the only other benefit might be going to native Linux and doing away with the VM overhead.

There should be enough Linux guru's here to help you through setting it up, maybe a post in the Linux section would yield some help.

EDIT: I get ~38,000PPD from my rig with 2 NON-Overclocked 260's (one of them is being a bitch when I up the clocks :slap:)...IMO worth sacrificing the other core for the PPD increase.

 
Last edited:

bogmali

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
7,464 (2.07/day)
Likes
4,789
Location
Pacific Northwest
System Name System Has No Name
Processor Core i7-7820X
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling Corsair H115i AIO
Memory Apacer Blade 4x8GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS GTX-1080ti
Storage Sandisk SDSSDXP 240GB SSD, Sandisk Extreme Pro 480GB SSD, Samsung 960 Pro M.2 NVMe 1TB
Display(s) Samsung UE510 UHD 28"
Case Coolermaster MasterCase H500P
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 1K Watt
Mouse EpicGear Zora
Keyboard CM Quickfire Xti
Software Win10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Xbox Live Gamertag=jondonken
#15
Sorry I can't help here Cap since all my -bigadv folders are 920's. If I were you and since no GPU folding on that rig, I would try native linux (I am a bigger noob that you are Buck) to eliminate half of the overhead that VM requires plus the ram that you currently have would work great on a Linux setup.
 
Last edited:

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,973 (1.30/day)
Likes
4,639
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#16
Buck, what about adding a couple of folding cards to the rig ??.I get about ~25,000 33min 40sTBF running -smp 7 (other core for 2x 260GTX) from mine @4GHz

I guess the only other benefit might be going to native Linux and doing away with the VM overhead.

There should be enough Linux guru's here to help you through setting it up, maybe a post in the Linux section would yield some help.

EDIT: I get ~38,000PPD from my rig with 2 NON-Overclocked 260's (one of them is being a bitch when I up the clocks :slap:)...IMO worth sacrificing the other core for the PPD increase.

http://img.techpowerup.org/100312/-bigadv Rig.jpg
I had 2x GTX260's in this rig before, but it was unstable. I have lots of empty slots for my cards, so that's not an issue. I think I might try Linux with this rig, as I would not mind getting my TBF into the 28min range. Thanks to everyone for their responses:rockout:!!
 

kevinksu

New Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#17
Opensuse is very user friendly.
just need to delete the SWAP partition and change to ext3 for /home instead of ext4 during the installation. And you're good to go.

you can even remove the x300.

good luck.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.56/day)
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#18
I had 2x GTX260's in this rig before, but it was unstable.
Give it more V and a :nutkick: that should get it stable

I have lots of empty slots for my cards, so that's not an issue.
I am running into the same problem, more CPU power and not enough GPU power :eek:


I think I might try Linux with this rig, as I would not mind getting my TBF into the 28min range. Thanks to everyone for their responses:rockout:!!
I would be willing to help out with any problems, as I may go to linux with my next i7 build.But it has been a few years from the last time I tried any Linux distro's
 
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
1,738 (0.49/day)
Likes
4,318
Location
Oklahoma City
System Name My Classified System
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Koolance CPU-380I, XSPC RX360, XSPC Dual 5.25" Bay Reservoir with Single Laing DDC
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 2133
Video Card(s) EVGA 04G-P4-3988-KR GeForce GTX 980 Classified with EK-FC980 GTX Classy Waterblock
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue WD3200AAKS 320GB
Display(s) Acer S220HQLAbd Black 21.5" 5ms LED Backlight Widescreen LCD Monitor
Case NZXT SWITCH 810 Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake - 850-Watt TR2 RX Power Supply
Mouse Black Microsoft Wheel Optical USB Mouse
Keyboard Black Microsoft USB Keyboard 2000
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
#19
I was looking at do a Linux install on a Intel board using Ubuntu 9.10 64-bit version but I noticed the ISO file name is ubuntu-9.10-desktop-amd64.iso as shown below.

Can any Linux user tell me if this 64-bit version of Ubuntu can be used on an Intel board?

Download Ubuntu CD image

To access the 64-bit version you have to click on the Alternate download option.

I installed this on a AMD board using the Linux (64-bit build) 6.29 but two completed WUs failed to upload with verification errors. I later switched to XP and found my system clock was off by 6 hours so that might have been the problem.

I used this Ubuntu Folding document and SMP Client Install as a guide to do my install.

The start of the Welcome to The OcUK SMP Folding@Home Client Guide is here.

I like this Ubuntu distro and if I can get this to work this is the one I'll use.

 

kevinksu

New Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#20
first of all, in order to fold -bigadv the OS (linux native and windows host) has to be 64-bit.

and yes you can use on Intel Board as long as the CPU supports it.

I installed this on a AMD board using the Linux (64-bit build) 6.29 but two completed WUs failed to upload with verification errors
would you post the FAHlog
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,383 (1.83/day)
Likes
8,478
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
#21
My last link is getting ignored. One of the things it says is to use Ubuntu 9.04 instead of 9.10, although that seems to apply only if you're thinking about using your GPU. 64 bit is required for SMP. I let Ubuntu boot from the CD and my clock ended up 4 hours off, so it must reset the clock for some reason.
 
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
1,738 (0.49/day)
Likes
4,318
Location
Oklahoma City
System Name My Classified System
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Koolance CPU-380I, XSPC RX360, XSPC Dual 5.25" Bay Reservoir with Single Laing DDC
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 2133
Video Card(s) EVGA 04G-P4-3988-KR GeForce GTX 980 Classified with EK-FC980 GTX Classy Waterblock
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue WD3200AAKS 320GB
Display(s) Acer S220HQLAbd Black 21.5" 5ms LED Backlight Widescreen LCD Monitor
Case NZXT SWITCH 810 Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake - 850-Watt TR2 RX Power Supply
Mouse Black Microsoft Wheel Optical USB Mouse
Keyboard Black Microsoft USB Keyboard 2000
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
#22
first of all, in order to fold -bigadv the OS (linux native and windows host) has to be 64-bit.

and yes you can use on Intel Board as long as the CPU supports it.



would you post the FAHlog
The FAHlog log was deleted along with Ubuntu but I'll remember to save it if this happens again.

My last link is getting ignored. One of the things it says is to use Ubuntu 9.04 instead of 9.10, although that seems to apply only if you're thinking about using your GPU. 64 bit is required for SMP. I let Ubuntu boot from the CD and my clock ended up 4 hours off, so it must reset the clock for some reason.
I would never say I was ignoring you but I'm blind!:wtf: I missed it but I've bookmarked it for later reference. I wasn't using the GPU. I noticed your comment about the clock and pretty sure I set it correctly so that's something to check after an install.