• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,290 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,217
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
I'd think so yes, running at 705ppd at the moment... :p
This is where ATI has an advantage. You can go into CCC and watch how busy the card is. You are not aiming for 100% usage, but something in the low 90's would be good. Bad thing is that those EV settings can be different for different size WU's. You just have to find a happy median. Good luck.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
1,222 (0.34/day)
Likes
873
Location
Oakland, CA
System Name Rover
Processor Intel i5 4590S
Motherboard GigaByte Z97MX-Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i Low Profile Heatsink
Memory 8 GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 mini
Storage Samsung 840 SSD, WD 1 TB Black
Display(s) ASUS VG248
Case Corsair mATX cube. (Alas they don't make it anymore)
Power Supply SilverStone SST-ST45SF-G 450 Watt
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 ibit
Unfortunately, the client for ATI cards currently isn't very good, it uses a lot of the CPU. There is no way to get around this as far as I know, you just have to deal with it :(
I'm folding on one of my PCs using the console client with a 4850 and use 3% CPU at most. Here's my environment variables:

BROOK_YIELD 2
CAL_NO_FLUSH 1
CAL_PRE_FLUSH 1
FLUSH_INTERVAL 128

I still only get 2200~2800 depending on the project.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
147 (0.05/day)
Likes
22
Location
Örebro, Sweden
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
Cooling Custom built watercooling
Memory 32Gigs of Corsair Vengeance LP White 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD5870
Storage WD Velociraptor 300Gb, Corsair Force GT 120Gb
Display(s) Samsung T220 22" + Benq T905 19" + Samsung 930BF 19"
Case Heavily modded p182
Audio Device(s) Realtek something or other
Power Supply Corsair 600w
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
I'm folding on one of my PCs using the console client with a 4850 and use 3% CPU at most. Here's my environment variables:

BROOK_YIELD 2
CAL_NO_FLUSH 1
CAL_PRE_FLUSH 1
FLUSH_INTERVAL 128

I still only get 2200~2800 depending on the project.
Thanks! I had missed CAL_PRE_FLUSH, now my ppd is around 1745 and still rising :)
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
So if what I am reading looks right, it's not worth clocking my 4850 for folding because I can't control the shader clock?

Secondly, anyone know how long it takes them to show your stats, I recently started folding due to slacking off for years getting it setup, been doing it for the last 3 days on 6 machines which have all finished multiple projects and well within their deadlines and I can't find my name anywhere on the status or team profiles.... :(
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
1,222 (0.34/day)
Likes
873
Location
Oakland, CA
System Name Rover
Processor Intel i5 4590S
Motherboard GigaByte Z97MX-Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i Low Profile Heatsink
Memory 8 GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 mini
Storage Samsung 840 SSD, WD 1 TB Black
Display(s) ASUS VG248
Case Corsair mATX cube. (Alas they don't make it anymore)
Power Supply SilverStone SST-ST45SF-G 450 Watt
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 ibit
So if what I am reading looks right, it's not worth clocking my 4850 for folding because I can't control the shader clock?
(
Not correct. The problem is with the ATI work units Stanford makes for ATI cards. The algorithms for ATI cards are old and don't take advantage of the ATI cards abilities. This will probably change within the coming year, as Stanford plans on adding OpenCL support to the OpenMM development tools they use. My explanation is probably over-simplified, but essentially correct. (I think).

Also, even though a similar Nvidia card will out perform the equivalent ATI card by almost 3 to 1, your 4850 will outperform the CPU client by 6 to 1.

For example I have one PC with a GTS 250 at around 6200-6900 PPD, another PC with my 4850 gets around 2100-2500 PPD, and if I run a CPU client I get around 300-350 PPD.

No matter how great or small your daily output, we appreciate every PPD and WU contributed by all TPU folding members. :toast:
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,290 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,217
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
So if what I am reading looks right, it's not worth clocking my 4850 for folding because I can't control the shader clock?

Secondly, anyone know how long it takes them to show your stats, I recently started folding due to slacking off for years getting it setup, been doing it for the last 3 days on 6 machines which have all finished multiple projects and well within their deadlines and I can't find my name anywhere on the status or team profiles.... :(
I can't find you anywhere either. Are you Folding with user niko084? Sorta sounds like you didn't put your username and team in when setting up the client(s). FAHmon will indicate that info.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
I think you misunderstood me, I'm running the ATI client, but I don't know if it's faster if I leave my clock up or if I knock it back down.

Generally I leave it 315/500 but when I clock it up it goes to 745/1050 I know people clock the shaders on their Nvidia cards to fold faster, so I was more curious if I should leave my card clocked at 745/1050 or if it wont make a difference so I can just drop it?

I think I figured out why my scores haven't been updating though, checked the logs, all the machines fail about 10 times before they actually send the data.

I get no data from FAHMon, it shows it, shows the work but gives me no results as to PPD.
Yes I'm folding under Niko084 and I entered it on all the machines and the team number and I even created a passkey just to make sure that wasn't the issue..

Now that I saw the errors, I'll wait it out another day and see what happens.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,290 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,217
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
can you post a screen shot of FAHmon for us?
 

bogmali

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
7,443 (2.09/day)
Likes
4,762
Location
Pacific Northwest
System Name System Has No Name
Processor Core i7-7820X
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling CryoRig R1 Universal
Memory Apacer Blade 4x8GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX-1080 Gaming X
Storage Sandisk SDSSDXP 240GB SSD, Sandisk Extreme Pro 480GB SSD, Seagate 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung UE510 UHD 28"
Case Corsair Carbide Series Air 540 w/ 5 AF140 Blue LED Quiet Edition Case Fan
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000W
Mouse EpicGear Zora
Keyboard CM Quickfire Xti
Software Win10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Xbox Live Gamertag=jondonken
This is where my knowledge limitation comes in (when it comes to ATI cards):(......Stan Hemi and Mmaakk are the experts on this......Speaking of which, anybody heard from my buddy Mmaakk?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,290 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,217
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit

bogmali

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
7,443 (2.09/day)
Likes
4,762
Location
Pacific Northwest
System Name System Has No Name
Processor Core i7-7820X
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling CryoRig R1 Universal
Memory Apacer Blade 4x8GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX-1080 Gaming X
Storage Sandisk SDSSDXP 240GB SSD, Sandisk Extreme Pro 480GB SSD, Seagate 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung UE510 UHD 28"
Case Corsair Carbide Series Air 540 w/ 5 AF140 Blue LED Quiet Edition Case Fan
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000W
Mouse EpicGear Zora
Keyboard CM Quickfire Xti
Software Win10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Xbox Live Gamertag=jondonken
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
My machine is torn down but I can pretty much describe it.

The box on the left is Yellow, it shows progress %, the name, ETA is 0mn, PPD is 0.00, shows the core the PRCG, the credit, and downloaded and deadline times.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,290 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,217
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
My machine is torn down but I can pretty much describe it.

The box on the left is Yellow, it shows progress %, the name, ETA is 0mn, PPD is 0.00, shows the core the PRCG, the credit, and downloaded and deadline times.
Tell us what one of the download/deadline times are, please.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
29 November 01:54

This is a problem on every single system I have setup with the GPU client, for Nvidia or ATI...
The standard CPU clients show everything fine.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,290 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,217
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
niko084, you have stats! http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=userpage&username=Niko084

And don't worry about the clocks on the ATI video card. I have a 4830, which is know for its ability to overclock, and I did overclock it, but it really didn't make that big of a difference. Shaders on Nvidia, now that's a different story.
Sweet it's about time... LOL

Anyways, here is the screenshot of my FahMon.

Sorry for the poor quality, I'm stuck on fresh build systems here.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
1,222 (0.34/day)
Likes
873
Location
Oakland, CA
System Name Rover
Processor Intel i5 4590S
Motherboard GigaByte Z97MX-Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i Low Profile Heatsink
Memory 8 GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 mini
Storage Samsung 840 SSD, WD 1 TB Black
Display(s) ASUS VG248
Case Corsair mATX cube. (Alas they don't make it anymore)
Power Supply SilverStone SST-ST45SF-G 450 Watt
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 ibit
I think you misunderstood me, I'm running the ATI client, but I don't know if it's faster if I leave my clock up or if I knock it back down.

Generally I leave it 315/500 but when I clock it up it goes to 745/1050 I know people clock the shaders on their Nvidia cards to fold faster, so I was more curious if I should leave my card clocked at 745/1050 or if it wont make a difference so I can just drop it?
We simply can't clock the shaders on ATI cards. They're also implemented differently. Overclocking an ATI card will make a difference. Especially the core, the memory not so much. You will probably have to clock it a little more conservatively than simply going for the max stable clocks as if you were benching or going for a personal best on 3DMark 06 for example.

My 4850 will go to 690/1150, but I clock it at 650/1000 for folding.
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
Sweet it's about time... LOL

Anyways, here is the screenshot of my FahMon.

Sorry for the poor quality, I'm stuck on fresh build systems here.
You should be able to get about 1500 PPD if you overclock. My friend had an OCed 8600GTS (also 32 shaders) that he got about 1300-1800 PPD on.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I have folded for several days now with my GPU and my CPU at the same time..

I use the client
Windows XP/2003/Vista Console client only zip file (with Windows-service-install option) for CPU
and the client
Windows: V6 GPU2 (ATI 2xxx, 3xxx, 4xxx; nVidia) clients Windows XP/2003/Vista GPU System tray client (installer msi) for GPU

Now i downloaded FahMon but it only shows PPD for the CPU client even though both clients have run for many hours now

Pic:


What is wrong?
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Erm, now I have been failing to get work for the last hour or so..
 

pbmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2006
Messages
2,588 (0.62/day)
Likes
288
Location
Savannah, GA
Processor AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
Cooling Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler, 120 mm and 200 mm exhaust, 3 x 120 mm intake
Memory 4 GB OCZ DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890
Storage Western Digital 500 GB Blacks in RAID 0/ Wesdtern Digital SE16 250 GB
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Supreme X-Fi
Power Supply Seasonic M12 SS-700HM
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 03-~62k 3dMark 05-~22k 3dMark 06-18268
I can't seem to get the SMP client to work. I followed the instructions in the guide, and got the message twice, but it just sits at 0%..same thing it did when I tried this last time.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,290 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,217
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
I can't seem to get the SMP client to work. I followed the instructions in the guide, and got the message twice, but it just sits at 0%..same thing it did when I tried this last time.
Does task manager show that your system is busy? Folding on the CPU is a slow process.
 

pbmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2006
Messages
2,588 (0.62/day)
Likes
288
Location
Savannah, GA
Processor AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
Cooling Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler, 120 mm and 200 mm exhaust, 3 x 120 mm intake
Memory 4 GB OCZ DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890
Storage Western Digital 500 GB Blacks in RAID 0/ Wesdtern Digital SE16 250 GB
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Supreme X-Fi
Power Supply Seasonic M12 SS-700HM
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 03-~62k 3dMark 05-~22k 3dMark 06-18268
Yeah I realized that now. It just took longer to get from that initial percent. Going fine now, thanks.

I do have one question though, should my CPU have a higher PPD than my GPU? Cause right now it does
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Yeah I realized that now. It just took longer to get from that initial percent. Going fine now, thanks.

I do have one question though, should my CPU have a higher PPD than my GPU? Cause right now it does
Doesn't surprise me, I think my 4850 holds me around 2.5k ppd or something, not sure what my cpu can do but I have E5200's at stock 2.5 doing about 800ppd I believe. I'll have to check these later.

So that being said a well overclocked quad can probably crank some points compared to an ATI card.
 

pbmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2006
Messages
2,588 (0.62/day)
Likes
288
Location
Savannah, GA
Processor AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
Cooling Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler, 120 mm and 200 mm exhaust, 3 x 120 mm intake
Memory 4 GB OCZ DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890
Storage Western Digital 500 GB Blacks in RAID 0/ Wesdtern Digital SE16 250 GB
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Supreme X-Fi
Power Supply Seasonic M12 SS-700HM
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 03-~62k 3dMark 05-~22k 3dMark 06-18268
My CPU is getting over 1800 PPD right now and my 4890 is only getting 1600. Doh!