• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
999 (0.29/day)
Likes
170
System Name Filtration tower
Processor i5 2500k@3.8ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77
Cooling Noctua14
Memory DDR3 8gbs
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX970 Extreme
Storage intel ssd 220gbs
Display(s) AOC 2560x1080
Case Thermaltake v71
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair 500w
I'm folding on one of my PCs using the console client with a 4850 and use 3% CPU at most. Here's my environment variables:
BROOK_YIELD 2
CAL_NO_FLUSH 1
CAL_PRE_FLUSH 1
FLUSH_INTERVAL 128
I still only get 2200~2800 depending on the project.
very helpfull, thx, folding with gpu uses only 13-20%cpu , used to be around 50%
PPD went up a little to 4670 used to be 3900-4200, or maybe its the project,, have to observe more
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
321 (0.10/day)
Likes
55
System Name i5
Processor Intel Core i5 750 @ 3.2ghz 1.1v
Motherboard MSI P55-GD65
Cooling Deepcool ICEEGDE 400 Ni + Deepcool Rockman
Memory Kingston 12GB DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Crossfire 2x AMD R9 270 2GB
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB
Display(s) Acer 22" AL2216W 1680x1050
Case 120mm,140mm,220mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Topower SilentCool 500w
Software Windows 7
Can i run multiple clients on the same gpu??:confused:
1440/320 = 4 clients. :p
My ppd is too low. :eek:
 

bogmali

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
7,442 (2.09/day)
Likes
4,758
Location
Pacific Northwest
System Name System Has No Name
Processor Core i7-7820X
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling CryoRig R1 Universal
Memory Apacer Blade 4x8GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX-1080 Gaming X
Storage Sandisk SDSSDXP 240GB SSD, Sandisk Extreme Pro 480GB SSD, Seagate 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung UE510 UHD 28"
Case Corsair Carbide Series Air 540 w/ 5 AF140 Blue LED Quiet Edition Case Fan
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000W
Mouse EpicGear Zora
Keyboard CM Quickfire Xti
Software Win10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Xbox Live Gamertag=jondonken
Can i run multiple clients on the same gpu??
Nope unless you a X2 card then you can run both. Just get another card bro:D
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.68/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
Hey guys! Good news this morning as Stanford has released an update to Core 14 for Nvidia cards.

A new Nvidia Core_14 (v1.26) has been posted. This build includes a fix that addresses problems people were having on multi-GPU systems with mismatched cards. Note that this does not include any checkpointing changes (as included in Core_11 v1.31). This should solve the problems people have had running FAH core 14 with mismatched cards - both mismatched shader counts and mismatched card generations should work now.

To update an existing folding system, you can stop the client, delete FahCore_14.exe and restart the client. The new version will be downloaded the next time a core 14 WU needs to be processed.
Source


Well, I don't know about you guys but I think I'm going to take full advantage of this while I can and pop in a spare GTX260 I have lying about. It may look a little funny surrounded by 9600GSO, but it should help that rig burn through the WUs.

I should note that it will likely restart that WU if you delete it mid WU, so wait until it just finishes.
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,902 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,115
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
Strange, just looked @ Fahmon and it did not list my Username or Team. My WU completed count in the console client says 2 units completed. So I guess for some reason or another it lost my user info. Deleted and reinstalled the client and all seems normal now.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
1,898 (0.63/day)
Likes
633
Location
Republic of Texas
Processor i7 6800k 4.2ghz @1.28v
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix X99 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62 with CableMod
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance LPX @3200MHz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO Series - 500GB NVMe | Crucial MX300 750GB
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 Curved IPS 3440x1440 G-Sync | Acer XB270H Abprz 27" G-Sync | Oculus Rift
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv TG
Audio Device(s) Objective2 Amp/DAC | AKG K612PRO and Beyerdynamic DT880 (600-ohm) | Blue Yeti Mic
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W with CableMod
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB "Cherry MX Brown"
Software Win 10
need help... prolly been answered b4 but hre it goes

im crunching with my q6600 @ 100% cpu load and try to run folding@home-gpu with my 4870, it will fold pretty fast for about 2 min then grind to almost to a stop. need help to set it up right. ty in advance
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.44/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
need help... prolly been answered b4 but hre it goes

im crunching with my q6600 @ 100% cpu load and try to run folding@home-gpu with my 4870, it will fold pretty fast for about 2 min then grind to almost to a stop. need help to set it up right. ty in advance
Folding on ATi cards uses an entire core, so either you are oing to have to tell WCG to only use 3 cores or give up folding on the GPU. That's one of the reasons I only choose Nvidia cards :D
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
1,898 (0.63/day)
Likes
633
Location
Republic of Texas
Processor i7 6800k 4.2ghz @1.28v
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix X99 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62 with CableMod
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance LPX @3200MHz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO Series - 500GB NVMe | Crucial MX300 750GB
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 Curved IPS 3440x1440 G-Sync | Acer XB270H Abprz 27" G-Sync | Oculus Rift
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv TG
Audio Device(s) Objective2 Amp/DAC | AKG K612PRO and Beyerdynamic DT880 (600-ohm) | Blue Yeti Mic
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W with CableMod
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB "Cherry MX Brown"
Software Win 10
Folding on ATi cards uses an entire core, so either you are oing to have to tell WCG to only use 3 cores or give up folding on the GPU. That's one of the reasons I only choose Nvidia cards :D
That makes me sad i wanna fold :cry:
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
321 (0.10/day)
Likes
55
System Name i5
Processor Intel Core i5 750 @ 3.2ghz 1.1v
Motherboard MSI P55-GD65
Cooling Deepcool ICEEGDE 400 Ni + Deepcool Rockman
Memory Kingston 12GB DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Crossfire 2x AMD R9 270 2GB
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB
Display(s) Acer 22" AL2216W 1680x1050
Case 120mm,140mm,220mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Topower SilentCool 500w
Software Windows 7
found a solution. kinda

Environment variables

what flush interval to use?? is 128 enough for a 5850??

cpu usage less than 5% now ;)

EDIT: its practically 0%, one more core for WCG :rockout:
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,284 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,201
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit

3dsage

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
1,797 (0.54/day)
Likes
328
Location
NW Burbs of Chicago
System Name *5GHZ_STAR*
Processor Core i5 2500K 5GHZ 24/7 1.38Vcore
Motherboard Asrock P67 Extreme6
Cooling Scythe SCMG-2100 REV. B
Memory 2x2GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1600 CL7
Video Card(s) 4850 XFIRE
Storage 500GB + 1TB NAS
Display(s) I-INC 28" LCD 1920x1200
Case Antec P180
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 TRX-650
Software Seven Ultimate 64-bit
Anybody know whats goin on with my GTX 260, whats with the low PPD? Well for this card.
I was getting 6600, the other day.

 

bogmali

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
7,442 (2.09/day)
Likes
4,758
Location
Pacific Northwest
System Name System Has No Name
Processor Core i7-7820X
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling CryoRig R1 Universal
Memory Apacer Blade 4x8GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX-1080 Gaming X
Storage Sandisk SDSSDXP 240GB SSD, Sandisk Extreme Pro 480GB SSD, Seagate 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung UE510 UHD 28"
Case Corsair Carbide Series Air 540 w/ 5 AF140 Blue LED Quiet Edition Case Fan
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000W
Mouse EpicGear Zora
Keyboard CM Quickfire Xti
Software Win10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Xbox Live Gamertag=jondonken
Now that is funny because as you can see from my screenie that one of the cores from my GX2 is folding on the same WU but has a slightly higher PPD:confused:



Close and restart the client and see if it pulls the actual PPD;) What drivers are you using?
 

Attachments

3dsage

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
1,797 (0.54/day)
Likes
328
Location
NW Burbs of Chicago
System Name *5GHZ_STAR*
Processor Core i5 2500K 5GHZ 24/7 1.38Vcore
Motherboard Asrock P67 Extreme6
Cooling Scythe SCMG-2100 REV. B
Memory 2x2GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1600 CL7
Video Card(s) 4850 XFIRE
Storage 500GB + 1TB NAS
Display(s) I-INC 28" LCD 1920x1200
Case Antec P180
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 TRX-650
Software Seven Ultimate 64-bit
Now that is funny because as you can see from my screenie that one of the cores from my GX2 is folding on the same WU but has a slightly higher PPD:confused:

http://forums.techpowerup.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=30186&stc=1&d=1257008890

Close and restart the client and see if it pulls the actual PPD;) What drivers are you using?
Thats weird its something to do with the WU then, i restarted and still the same PPD well 4.9K. Im running the 191.07 drivers BTW.
I guess i'll just let it run.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,608 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,285
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
So on my Rig in the Sig...I would only be able to run Three F@H clients? Or can I run more?
Right now I have managed to run Three.
 

bogmali

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
7,442 (2.09/day)
Likes
4,758
Location
Pacific Northwest
System Name System Has No Name
Processor Core i7-7820X
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling CryoRig R1 Universal
Memory Apacer Blade 4x8GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX-1080 Gaming X
Storage Sandisk SDSSDXP 240GB SSD, Sandisk Extreme Pro 480GB SSD, Seagate 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung UE510 UHD 28"
Case Corsair Carbide Series Air 540 w/ 5 AF140 Blue LED Quiet Edition Case Fan
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000W
Mouse EpicGear Zora
Keyboard CM Quickfire Xti
Software Win10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Xbox Live Gamertag=jondonken
So on my Rig in the Sig...I would only be able to run Three F@H clients? Or can I run more?
Right now I have managed to run Three.
Yes, I see that you have 2 4870X2 cards which equals 4 physical GPU's. You just need to dummy plug the other output on your card and extend the desktop to get the 4th one folding;)
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,284 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,201
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Theoretically, you should be able to run one client on each GPU core (although those who try have a hard time) and SMP on the CPU. El Fiendo can tell you about running VM on the cpu for more points. Around here, most are running their GPU's for Folding and their CPU's for WCG. I don't recommend SMP for a system where it's going to be shut down and started up, like stopping SMP to game. But that was my experience.
Info for WCG found here
About Folding on ATI, go back to post 352 in this thread for some advice for setting environmental variables and also check out this thread.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,608 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,285
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
lolz...right now I am running one on the CPU and one in the GPU and one under XP mode.....I run the rig in crossfireX always...so I in theory should be able to add three more for a total of six...right? or do I have to disable CFX first then dummy dongles?
PS only one of the GPU's is folding..how do I get all four?
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
196 (0.05/day)
Likes
173
Processor i7 3770K 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H
Cooling Kuhler 620
Memory 2 x Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX480
Storage 2 x 2TB Sata 3, 1 TB
Display(s) Gateway FPD2185W
Case Cooler Master HAF922
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Gamer
Power Supply Antec Signature 850
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Hey guys! Good news this morning as Stanford has released an update to Core 14 for Nvidia cards.


Source
Thanks El Fiendo; just what I needed. After moving my cards around, I ended up with a 9600GSO matched with one of my 9800GX2's. I noticed that I was only getting 75% of the normal PPD from the 9600. :toast:
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,902 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,115
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
got this 9600GSO installed in WCG1 in system specs, but whenever I start folding the system becomes intermittently unresponsive, running 191.xx drivers tried with 190.xx drivers with no change. I was using on board drivers before (ATI 3200) uninstalled drivers prior to installing the GSO.

Any ideas? I think it must be software or BIOS related since my E2200 could keep up with a GTS 250 with ease.

EDIT: Got it fixed :eek:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
OK guys, trying to fold on both my 285s here. I got the two clients set up and all, SLI disabled, but I'm thinking that I need a dummy plug for the second card. Is that right? It's giving me a "driver needed" for my second GPU.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,284 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,201
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Did you extend the desktop? With the new drivers, dummy plugs and disabling SLI are not supposed to be needed.
 

Weer

New Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2007
Messages
1,417 (0.38/day)
Likes
93
Location
New York / Israel
System Name //////////////////////////////////////Crunching/Folding Builds\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\
Processor Q8400@ 4.0Ghz | Q6600 @ 3.6Ghz | E7300 @ 3.8Ghz | E5300 @ 4.3Ghz | E5300 @ 3.9Ghz | E2180 @ 2.0Ghz |
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-E | Asus P5Q Pro | Gigabyte EG45-DS2H | Gigabyte EP35-DS3H | Gigabyte NV73 | E-Sonic P35-G
Cooling TRUE [Lapped] | TRUE | Thermalright SI-128 | Stock | Stock | Stock
Memory G.Skill 8192MB @ 1066Mhz | G.Skill 4096MB | OCZ 2048MB | G.Skill 2048MB | PNY 2048MB | OCZ 1024MB
Video Card(s) GTX 280 + 8800 GTS 512 | 9800 GX2 + 8800 GTS 512 | 6600 GT | 8800 GS | 9600 GSO 512
Storage G.Skill 64GB SSD (OS) | Segate 750GB [Downloads] | 5TB JBOD [Movies] | 3TB JBOD [Else] | 1.5TB [Ex]
Display(s) QUAD Monitors: Dell 2007FP [20"] + Dell 3007WFP-HC [30"] + Dell 2007FP [20"] | Dell 2407WFP-HC [24"]
Case Antec P190 | Antec Three-Hundred | Antec NSK2400 | Thermaltake Strike MX | HEC 6T10 | HEC 8K01
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer PCI + [Audiophile HD600] + [Creative G500 + Logitech X-530 = 10 speakers]
Power Supply OCZ 750w [62A] | OCZ 750w [62A] | Antec 380w [31A] | Antec 650w [54A] | OCZ 400w [33A] | GeN [20A]
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit + Windows XP 64-bit | Windows Vista SP2 64-bit | Windows 7 RTM 64-bit
Benchmark Scores ////////////////////////////////66,666 [Crunching] + 45,455 [Folding]\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\
This is a minor issue, so I didn't feel like making my own thread.

I've been folding using my 9600 GSO 512 on my main rig. I built it its own rig with a 4.33Ghz E5300, so it can crunch.

I install WCG fine. But somehow there is a problem with the F@H GPU client. The card is fine, tested, runs game perfectly. The drivers are the newest ones from nVidia. The client is the one with the 'special' nVidia viewer, as in the one I used to fold on my main rig. Basically, nothing seems to be wrong.

However, the client stays on (0/0) in the icon bar, and when I click 'Display' it runs extremely slowly. Almost as if the GPU is being used by another program. But it's not. I did a clean reboot and there is only one game installed which is also not very graphically intensive. The fan stays quiet and according to GPU-Z it remains at 35%.

Basically, it's screwed up and I hate that because I'm just getting into folding/crunching and I hate to be slapped in the face by something I'm just trying out for the first time.

Hopefully someone can help me.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
Did you extend the desktop? With the new drivers, dummy plugs and disabling SLI are not supposed to be needed.
Well let me give it a go with SLI enabled once I finish this WU. How would I extend the desktop onto another monitor if I don't have another monitor?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,284 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,201
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
This is a minor issue, so I didn't feel like making my own thread.

I've been folding using my 9600 GSO 512 on my main rig. I built it its own rig with a 4.33Ghz E5300, so it can crunch.

I install WCG fine. But somehow there is a problem with the F@H GPU client. The card is fine, tested, runs game perfectly. The drivers are the newest ones from nVidia. The client is the one with the 'special' nVidia viewer, as in the one I used to fold on my main rig. Basically, nothing seems to be wrong.

However, the client stays on (0/0) in the icon bar, and when I click 'Display' it runs extremely slowly. Almost as if the GPU is being used by another program. But it's not. I did a clean reboot and there is only one game installed which is also not very graphically intensive. The fan stays quiet and according to GPU-Z it remains at 35%.

Basically, it's screwed up and I hate that because I'm just getting into folding/crunching and I hate to be slapped in the face by something I'm just trying out for the first time.

Hopefully someone can help me.
Can you give us a screen shot of GPU-z for that video card? It does not look like you got one of the "good" 9600GSO's, which have either 384 or 768MB VRAM. The viewer also slows Folding way down.

Well let me give it a go with SLI enabled once I finish this WU. How would I extend the desktop onto another monitor if I don't have another monitor?
I don't know:eek:! I'm Folding on XP but I was just repeating what I've heard. My adventure into 7 starts soon:eek:
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
OK guys, trying to fold on both my 285s here. I got the two clients set up and all, SLI disabled, but I'm thinking that I need a dummy plug for the second card. Is that right? It's giving me a "driver needed" for my second GPU.
Anyone else? If I need a dummy plug, I hope I can enable SLI and play games on my single monitor without too much fuss, or I'm gonna trim down and only run one 285. I'm already pumping out upwards of 9,000PPD with one card.