• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

bogmali

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
7,462 (2.08/day)
Likes
4,786
Location
Pacific Northwest
System Name System Has No Name
Processor Core i7-7820X
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling Corsair H115i AIO
Memory Apacer Blade 4x8GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS GTX-1080ti
Storage Sandisk SDSSDXP 240GB SSD, Sandisk Extreme Pro 480GB SSD, Samsung 960 Pro M.2 NVMe 1TB
Display(s) Samsung UE510 UHD 28"
Case Coolermaster MasterCase H500P
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 1K Watt
Mouse EpicGear Zora
Keyboard CM Quickfire Xti
Software Win10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Xbox Live Gamertag=jondonken
thanks but i have no room for VM on this drive. :(

can i get it to work without vmware?

guess i'll switch cpu to WCG
Both -bigadv WU clients are based off VM's that is notfred's and linuxrouters:ohwell:

You can the SMP A3 core but you will have to complete 10 regular WU's before you start getting bonus points:(
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,375 (1.83/day)
Likes
8,460
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
1,231 (0.34/day)
Likes
900
Location
Oakland, CA
System Name Rover
Processor Intel i7 4790S
Motherboard GigaByte Z97MX-Gaming 5
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo
Memory 8 GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 mini
Storage Samsung 840 SSD, WD Black 1 TB
Display(s) ASUS VG248
Case Corsair mATX cube. (Alas they don't make it anymore)
Power Supply SilverStone SST-ST45SF-G 450 Watt
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 ibit
ok

say i run ubuntu64.

can i run SMP on all 8 threads AND setup 4gpus as well?

how do you do multi gpu in linux?
Others will correct me I'm sure, but most are doing SMP on 7 or 8 cores running linux in a VM session under Windows. Some also fold on the GPU under windows at the same time.

Right now I'm horrible cash-strapped and can't afford an i7 rig, so my answers are based on my reading of other's posts.

Good luck, and as the ultimate hardware junkie, we're glad to have you back folding for the team. :toast:
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,375 (1.83/day)
Likes
8,460
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
2 questions:

What operating system is needed to mix ATI and Nvidia cards on the same system? Is Win 7 the only option?

I know that I can't mix cards on my A8R-MVP, but does anyone know if the A8r32-MVP deluxe will allow it?
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.32/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
2 questions:

What operating system is needed to mix ATI and Nvidia cards on the same system? Is Win 7 the only option?

I know that I can't mix cards on my A8R-MVP, but does anyone know if the A8r32-MVP deluxe will allow it?
windows 7 or XP

I'm not sure about the board
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,375 (1.83/day)
Likes
8,460
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.39/day)
Likes
14,252
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.32/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,375 (1.83/day)
Likes
8,460
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Thanks guys! I picked up a 8800GT/256 and now I have to figure out where to plug it in.:D
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.32/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.67/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
A reminder to everyone, as it seems more are confirming this. Do not install VM Ware 3.0.1 if you have more than 4 cores. It restricts VMs to 4 cores only, so at this point in time version 3.0.0 is what you want.
 
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
1,738 (0.49/day)
Likes
4,318
Location
Oklahoma City
System Name My Classified System
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Koolance CPU-380I, XSPC RX360, XSPC Dual 5.25" Bay Reservoir with Single Laing DDC
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 2133
Video Card(s) EVGA 04G-P4-3988-KR GeForce GTX 980 Classified with EK-FC980 GTX Classy Waterblock
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue WD3200AAKS 320GB
Display(s) Acer S220HQLAbd Black 21.5" 5ms LED Backlight Widescreen LCD Monitor
Case NZXT SWITCH 810 Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake - 850-Watt TR2 RX Power Supply
Mouse Black Microsoft Wheel Optical USB Mouse
Keyboard Black Microsoft USB Keyboard 2000
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
A reminder to everyone, as it seems more are confirming this. Do not install VM Ware 3.0.1 if you have more than 4 cores. It restricts VMs to 4 cores only, so at this point in time version 3.0.0 is what you want.
You're kind of late on that warning!!!!:laugh:

I did the update to 3.0.1 on one of my rigs about 24 hours ago and it wouldn't let me use more than 4 cores. So I reinstalled 3.0.0 again and it gave me the same warning. I deleted the Linux FAH folder and extracted a new v1.1 and then 3.0.0 would let me run all 8 cores. I'm wondering if that's all you have to do to run 8 cores on 3.0.1. At this point I'd like to know if there's a good reason to use 3.0.1 if that's the case.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.67/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
It might be worth a try, but from what I've seen it looks more like they took a feature out of the new release to upsell people past their free offering.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
196 (0.05/day)
Likes
173
Processor i7 3770K 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H
Cooling Kuhler 620
Memory 2 x Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX480
Storage 2 x 2TB Sata 3, 1 TB
Display(s) Gateway FPD2185W
Case Cooler Master HAF922
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Gamer
Power Supply Antec Signature 850
Software Windows 8.1 x64
2 questions:

What operating system is needed to mix ATI and Nvidia cards on the same system? Is Win 7 the only option?

I know that I can't mix cards on my A8R-MVP, but does anyone know if the A8r32-MVP deluxe will allow it?
Hey Blue, did you ever get your mixed brand system up and folding? I'm having a hard time with mine. I've got my ATI card going and 1/2 of my 9800gx2, but I all I get is unstable_machine on the the other gpu. I haven't been able to install any nvidia drivers since I installed the ati card; I'm running on the default drivers from windows update.

Anybody have any experience getting a mixed system running?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,375 (1.83/day)
Likes
8,460
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Hey Blue, did you ever get your mixed brand system up and folding? I'm having a hard time with mine. I've got my ATI card going and 1/2 of my 9800gx2, but I all I get is unstable_machine on the the other gpu. I haven't been able to install any nvidia drivers since I installed the ati card; I'm running on the default drivers from windows update.

Anybody have any experience getting a mixed system running?
No, I was able to do something else, and I'm short a PSU.
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,972 (1.30/day)
Likes
4,636
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Per thebluebumblebee's request, here is the power usage update on my Core i7 860:

4.0Ghz @ 1.42v
8GB Adata DDR3 1600
PSU is 80+ Bronze certified
Swiftech H2O-220 Compact consumes 1.15A @ 12v(fans included)
Kill-a-watt claims that I am pulling 290 watts at the wall under 100% load

I did the math and I find it hard to believe that my WC set up is only consuming 14 watts @ 12v. Can someone confirm this?
 
7

777

Guest
Per thebluebumblebee's request, here is the power usage update on my Core i7 860:

4.0Ghz @ 1.42v
8GB Adata DDR3 1600
PSU is 80+ Bronze certified
Swiftech H2O-220 Compact consumes 1.15A @ 12v(fans included)
Kill-a-watt claims that I am pulling 290 watts at the wall under 100% load

I did the math and I find it hard to believe that my WC set up is only consuming 14 watts @ 12v. Can someone confirm this?
Are you adding up all your fans as well as the pump. or are you only taking into account the pump?
lol if you wanted to be really perdantict you can work out the resistance of the pipework and fittings used and work out how hard your making the pump work, and then conclude the amount of its rated voltage the pump is pulling :eek:
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,972 (1.30/day)
Likes
4,636
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Are you adding up all your fans as well as the pump. or are you only taking into account the pump?
lol if you wanted to be really perdantict you can work out the resistance of the pipework and fittings used and work out how hard your making the pump work, and then conclude the amount of wattage the pump is pulling :eek:
Pump = .69A
Fans each are .23A x2=.46A
Combined =1.15A
 
7

777

Guest
Pump = .69A
Fans each are .23A x2=.46A
Combined =1.15A

The conversion of Watts to Amps is governed by the equation Amps = Watts/Volts

For example 12 watts/12 volts = 1 amp

so I would say that with your draw from your Math is 1.15A by using a 1A equation = 12v/12W
I'd say that your 14Watt conclusion sounds about right.

heres a website I find quite handy for info.
http://www.powerstream.com/Amps-Watts.htm
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,375 (1.83/day)
Likes
8,460
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Thanks Buck!

Looks like these bigadv systems make sense when considering PPD/watt. From W1zzard's numbers, the GTX285 pulls about (164 watts under 3Dmark, 216 watts under Furmark so I'm going with 210 watts), but that number is measured at the card so it does not take into account PSU losses, and therefore if we divide 210 watts by .85, we end up with 245 watts from the wall. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think it would take 3 285's to (barely, 9000PPD?) equal the output from one bigadv system. 3*245=735 watts, so, assuming my logic and numbers are correct, it looks like these bigadv systems are clearly the way to go in the PPD/watt race. (4 260/216's would be 752 watts)

And wait till we have the numbers for the 32nm CPU's! Considering the price of 285's, the 980x doesn't seem so outrages after all, especially when considering that the bonuses will go up. Are we actually looking at a 100,000+ PPD for a 980x/SR-2 system pulling 600 watts? Seems cheap and efficient in that light.

Now, if we can just get numbers from someone running a 1366/i7 system. (video card at idle please)
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2,721 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,796
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC / Folder 1 & 2 (+3 on/off)
Processor W3670 4.00 GHz/ W3670 3.8 / 4790K 4.4/ i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5/UD7/Maximum Hero/ UD5
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D14/Noctua NH-D15/D14
Memory 6 GB A-Data/6 GB Mushkin /8 GB Corsair Vengance/ Mus
Video Card(s) 1070 X MSI/ 970 ASUS / 2x970 MSI/970 MSI
Storage 480 GB SSD / 480 GB SSD /480 GB SSD, all EVO 840
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Fractel R4 /none
Power Supply Enermax 87+ 600 W/ 500 W / AX 860/700 W Enermax
Software WIN7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
I think that you are the first to try in this forum. Looking forward to see the outcome.
 

bogmali

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
7,462 (2.08/day)
Likes
4,786
Location
Pacific Northwest
System Name System Has No Name
Processor Core i7-7820X
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling Corsair H115i AIO
Memory Apacer Blade 4x8GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS GTX-1080ti
Storage Sandisk SDSSDXP 240GB SSD, Sandisk Extreme Pro 480GB SSD, Samsung 960 Pro M.2 NVMe 1TB
Display(s) Samsung UE510 UHD 28"
Case Coolermaster MasterCase H500P
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 1K Watt
Mouse EpicGear Zora
Keyboard CM Quickfire Xti
Software Win10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Xbox Live Gamertag=jondonken
can anyone tell me the best way to get 16 threads folding on one machine?
VM is your best bet ATM, not sure if Linux supports 16 threads:confused: