• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

F@H w/295 trouble

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.12/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#1
so i setup F@H on my 295 and for some reason im having problems.


i have setup gpu0 and gpu1 as usual.

if i start gpu0 then gpu1...

gpu0 will run on the 1st(primary) gpu on the card and fold fine.

gpu1 will EUE and stop within 30seconds.

HOWEVER...................

IF i start gpu1 first and then gpu0...

gpu1 will run on the 1st(primary) gpu on the card and fold fine

and

gpu0 will EUE and stop within 30seconds.



now i thought if i specified "GPU0" that the 1st card, 1st gpu would always be folding that info.

that seems not to be the case.

STILL...

my problem is that i cannot get both gpus folding on the 295 BUT I HAVE IN THE PAST.

i have hdmi and dvi both running out to an actual monitor and both are active in both windows display manager and nvidia control pannel.

i have tried different drivers and reinstalling OS with no solution found yet.

WHY OOOOOOOO WHY must i always suffer from these SHIT problems?
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.67/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
#2
Check the machine IDs for each of the clients. It almost sounds like they're the same, which will cause issues like this.
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.12/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#3
i keep getting NANS detected on gpu0 but gpu1 works fine

both cards do it and i know for a fact they both work fine
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.67/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
#4
Still sounds like a setup issue regarding the Machine ID. Type -setuponly behind the Target in the shortcut, just like any other flag. It will only run through the setup and keep all your original options you set, so you don't have to reset anything. Just make sure the Machine IDs are different under Advanced Settings. Afterwards remove the flag and continue as usual. (Sorry, this is assuming you haven't checked this already.) Do this with all the clients running on the same board, though it sounds like its just these two clients.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.67/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
#6
Do you have it OC'd at all? SLi is turned off (you have 2 x 295s right? The other one is perfectly fine?)? All outputs have a connector (DVI plugs both have monitor or dummy plug attached)? Ignore the DVI plug question. RTFM lol sorry.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.67/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
#8
You've only got 1 GTX 295 in this rig at the moment? Would it be easy enough to swap out with the other one? If it still happens its settings, if it doesn't happen its most likely failing hardware. Assuming you can swap em right now.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.67/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
#10
Ah sorry, I missed that. I've scoured the google searches without much avail either. I haven't given up yet though.


Edit: I've never tried it before but is it possible to run the GPU in the secondary PCI-e x16 slot on a mobo with nothing occupying the first?
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.67/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
#13
Just as a point of interest, you said you reinstalled the OS. Was it Windows 7 every time? Reason I ask is I'm wondering if you had both cores folding on Windows 7 in the past, or was it XP / Vista? If not it could be a straight up driver issue.
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.12/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#14
it worked when i first tried it on v64 a month ago but i havent got it to work since then.

ive tried a few different versions of 7 and v64. not xp though.

the reason i havent tried xp is because i bench with this rig and quad sli does work in xp and neither does 3dm vantage so yeah...
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,973 (1.30/day)
Likes
4,639
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#16
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.67/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
#17
Agreed lol, which reminds me I've got to unlink my cards and start upping the shaders alone. I'll do that once I finish WUs on both.

Oh and I'm glad you solved it Fit, though it does suck we didn't hit a solution sooner. But still, 3 cheers right?
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.12/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#18
for some reason gpu0 is crapping out again.

i have noticed that it works fine when i install F@H and set it up to run the first time. i folded all day fine.

i reboot the machine and it wont work again.
 

bogmali

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
7,464 (2.07/day)
Likes
4,789
Location
Pacific Northwest
System Name System Has No Name
Processor Core i7-7820X
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling Corsair H115i AIO
Memory Apacer Blade 4x8GB DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS GTX-1080ti
Storage Sandisk SDSSDXP 240GB SSD, Sandisk Extreme Pro 480GB SSD, Samsung 960 Pro M.2 NVMe 1TB
Display(s) Samsung UE510 UHD 28"
Case Coolermaster MasterCase H500P
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 1K Watt
Mouse EpicGear Zora
Keyboard CM Quickfire Xti
Software Win10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores Xbox Live Gamertag=jondonken
#19
Fit-One of my 8800GS was doing the same thing yesterday (GPU NANs, EUE's, and Unstable machine errors) and it was only doing it with a particular WU (5767 I think). I reconfigured it to pull smaller WU's and it worked fine again. See if that will work for your 295.