• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

failed bios update for rx 580 8gb /no backup

dujeramlajk

New Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2020
Messages
11 (0.17/day)
i restarted the pc after successful bios update and theres only a black screen i have no backup so i need stock bios
Powercolor rx 580 8gb card
s/n: DG1910053670
AXRX 580 8GBD5 3DHDV2/0C
715409 189176 ON THE WHITE STICKER
@eidairaman1 please help man can you find my stock bios
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
1,927 (0.36/day)
Remove the cooler and take a photo of the card. The text on the memory must be clear to see.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,065 (3.93/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor AMD 3200G
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Stock
Memory Adata 8Gb 2133Mhz DDR4
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
It has a dual bios switch at the top edge.
Flick it over to the other BIOS and upload and save that version.
The pictures here clearly show it.
 

dujeramlajk

New Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2020
Messages
11 (0.17/day)

Attachments

Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,065 (3.93/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor AMD 3200G
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Stock
Memory Adata 8Gb 2133Mhz DDR4
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit

dujeramlajk

New Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2020
Messages
11 (0.17/day)
The switch should work even when the system is running.
If both Bios are corrupted then there are two in the data base here: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/191434/powercolor-rx580-8192-170330 and https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/198128/powercolor-rx580-8192-171211
One is for Micron ram only, the former is for Samsung or Hynix.

IF as you say, you succesfully flashed the card, then check for other issues first, such as cables, drivers etc.
seems the switch doesnt do anything, I am now getting a 1 long then 3 short beeps after booting
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
1,927 (0.36/day)
Post photo of the memory chips so we can find a copy of the original BIOS.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.45/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Pull the card, verify the ram chips
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,065 (3.93/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor AMD 3200G
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Stock
Memory Adata 8Gb 2133Mhz DDR4
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
That vRam chip looks cooked at u2000.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
1,927 (0.36/day)
Download:

First try the GUI version (AMDVBFlashWin), if it doesn't work, use the command prompt version:

Type: "amdvbflash -i" to see which adapter id is the bricked RX 580.

amd-vbflash-i.png

and then:
amdvbflash -unlockrom 0

amdvbflash -f -p 0 214862.rom

Change 0 to the correct adapter id.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
1,927 (0.36/day)
This!!! I don't think a BIOS flash will help looking at that memory. That chip resembles a marshmallow over the campfire than it does a memory IC.....
If you're referring to this:

Clipboard03.jpg


Not so sure. Looks like glue or oil, or something like that.

OP said failed BIOS flash.
 
Top