• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

"Failed to Lock Vertex Buffer", Half Life 2 DM error

Joshmcmillan

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
892 (0.19/day)
Location
Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
System Name Commander
Processor Intel i3 540 3.06Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H55-UD3H
Cooling 4x 80mm Case Fans, Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan Controller, Stock CPU Cooler
Memory 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz (2x 2GB) - Kingston
Video Card(s) HIS ATi Radeon HD3850 256mb DDR3
Storage 640GB Western Digital Caviar Black
Display(s) 22" BenQ FP22W LCD, 700:1, 5ms, 16:10
Case Don't know exactly, metal, built on LED's.
Audio Device(s) Integrated - Altec Lansing 5.1 Speakers (6.5" Sub)
Power Supply Antec True 550W, 24 AMP on 12v rail
Software Vista Home Premium 64bit - AVG - Spybot
Hi,
recently I have been getting an error whilst playing half life 2 deathmatch. It crashed the game and comes up with an engine error saying, "failed to lock vertex buffer in CMesh DX8", or something similar to that. Does anyone know how to stop this?

Also, I'm getting an HD3850 on Saturday and reformatting, is there any chance of this error still being there, because people on the internet say that reformat and it stays?..:(:(
 

wtf8269

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
2,489 (0.47/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Onus
Processor E8500 @ 3.95ghz ~1.25v
Motherboard ASUS P5E Deluxe
Cooling Scythe Orochi cpu, 5x 120mm Zalman red LED case fans, stock GPU coolers
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G.Skill PC8000 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 2x ASUS 3870x2s
Storage 4x160gb RAID 0 Main, 2x 500gb RAID 0 media storage.
Display(s) LG W2600H
Case Lian Li PC-A70B, painted black and other modded aspects :)
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker. Klipsch RF-3II fronts, Yamaha NS-A222 rears, Klipsch RC-3II center, Klipsch SUB12
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64, lots of games, photoshop n stuff.
The fact that it mentions DX8 is interesting. Are your graphic drivers up to date?
 

Joshmcmillan

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
892 (0.19/day)
Location
Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
System Name Commander
Processor Intel i3 540 3.06Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H55-UD3H
Cooling 4x 80mm Case Fans, Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan Controller, Stock CPU Cooler
Memory 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz (2x 2GB) - Kingston
Video Card(s) HIS ATi Radeon HD3850 256mb DDR3
Storage 640GB Western Digital Caviar Black
Display(s) 22" BenQ FP22W LCD, 700:1, 5ms, 16:10
Case Don't know exactly, metal, built on LED's.
Audio Device(s) Integrated - Altec Lansing 5.1 Speakers (6.5" Sub)
Power Supply Antec True 550W, 24 AMP on 12v rail
Software Vista Home Premium 64bit - AVG - Spybot
I had a couple of month old display drivers on my intergrated 6150 and I upgraded as an attempt to fix the problem but it didn't. I have Direct X 9.0c.

I don't too much it not working now, I just REALLY hope it works when I get my HD3850.
 

Joshmcmillan

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
892 (0.19/day)
Location
Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
System Name Commander
Processor Intel i3 540 3.06Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H55-UD3H
Cooling 4x 80mm Case Fans, Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan Controller, Stock CPU Cooler
Memory 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz (2x 2GB) - Kingston
Video Card(s) HIS ATi Radeon HD3850 256mb DDR3
Storage 640GB Western Digital Caviar Black
Display(s) 22" BenQ FP22W LCD, 700:1, 5ms, 16:10
Case Don't know exactly, metal, built on LED's.
Audio Device(s) Integrated - Altec Lansing 5.1 Speakers (6.5" Sub)
Power Supply Antec True 550W, 24 AMP on 12v rail
Software Vista Home Premium 64bit - AVG - Spybot
Anyone else have any ideas?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,946 (8.92/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Finalmouse Pro
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Sorry, but your integrated graphics just can't handle the game. The 3850 will solve that problem. Just be sure to install the new drivers correctly.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,901 (0.35/day)
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua NB-9B SE2
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Display(s) 3x Dell U2412M
Case Corsair 200R
Audio Device(s) Hifimediy Sabre 9018 USB DAC
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
Software Windows 10?
3850 will fix it easly :)
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.00/day)
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Many people with different configurations are seeing this error on various games.
This was posted on one site ... might be worth a try.
ok this is a simple fix and i stumbled upon it while searching other forums for a os page pool memory problem.
BE WARNED THIS SOLUTION, IF NOT DONE CORRECTLY MAY BE HARMFUL TO YOUR COMPUTER.
Heres the solution:
Start Menu > Run > regedit

Surf down to this key. The REG_DWORD "PagedPoolSize"
Code:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management

Double click on "PagedPoolSize". Hexadecimal is listed first.
Change the "Value Data" to one of these below:
Note: You only need to enter EITHER Hexadecimal or Decimal.
They both are the same. I recomend using 256Mb should solve the problem.
Code:

Megabytes Hexadecimal Decimal
192Mb 0c000000 201326592
256Mb 10000000 268435456
384Mb 18000000 402653184

You do not need anything bigger than 400Mb... in most cases 300Mb is too much as well.

Once you are done, make sure you reboot your computer.
 

howells1

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Thanks Kreij for providing your registry edit. I noticed that the original post regards the CmeshDX8 error in the steam engine, but the edit also solves the notorious nv4_disp infinite loop BSOD error that many people with nvidia cards have been getting. I was certainly getting crashes on all source games until I tried your instructions, and voila: all nv4_disp BSOD errors, crashes, and stalls in loading vanished. Now my new Dell Inspiron is truly showing off its new hardware. And this is after I tried updating drivers, reverting back, trying third party modifications, pretty much everything short of returning the computer.

I have posted your instructions in the nvidia forum and linked my thread over there to this one. If there are people out there that still have the problems I had, I want to make sure they try this one!
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.32/day)
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
You own a Dell....? :shadedshu
 

Tric0ps

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Kreij: Value data

Kreij,

So what how do i right in the value data?
:confused:

Reply plz:(
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,145 (1.04/day)
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
Hi,
recently I have been getting an error whilst playing half life 2 deathmatch. It crashed the game and comes up with an engine error saying, "failed to lock vertex buffer in CMesh DX8", or something similar to that. Does anyone know how to stop this?

Also, I'm getting an HD3850 on Saturday and reformatting, is there any chance of this error still being there, because people on the internet say that reformat and it stays?..:(:(
directx issue, I actually got it with my 2900xt on Pirates of the carribean online. had to go to older drivers and force my directx in the game to get it to work. then magically one of their updates fixed it.

Haven't had the issue on my 9600gt.

you might wanna try forcing directx9

in steam right click HL2 deathmatch> properties > set launch options > type in "-dxlevel 90" without the quotes.
 

Joshmcmillan

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
892 (0.19/day)
Location
Australia, NSW,Mid North Coast.
System Name Commander
Processor Intel i3 540 3.06Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H55-UD3H
Cooling 4x 80mm Case Fans, Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan Controller, Stock CPU Cooler
Memory 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz (2x 2GB) - Kingston
Video Card(s) HIS ATi Radeon HD3850 256mb DDR3
Storage 640GB Western Digital Caviar Black
Display(s) 22" BenQ FP22W LCD, 700:1, 5ms, 16:10
Case Don't know exactly, metal, built on LED's.
Audio Device(s) Integrated - Altec Lansing 5.1 Speakers (6.5" Sub)
Power Supply Antec True 550W, 24 AMP on 12v rail
Software Vista Home Premium 64bit - AVG - Spybot
Ancient thread. I've had my HD3850 for AGES, never had this problem since.
 
Top