1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

fallout 3 game saves problem

Discussion in 'Games' started by ste2425, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,577 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    well i originally completed the game a few times using the same game saves for my player stats. Well ive uninstalled it since then, backing up my saves in case i ever wanted another go. Well now ive installed that mothership zeta upgrade but for it to work you need to log into that windows live thing which i set up an it all works. Problem is coz when i played it first time round i didnt acces live now when i log into live i cannot access my old game saves. SO when i dont log in i can access my old saves but not use the upgrade when i log in i can only start again but can access the upgrade. Can anyone help out here?
     
  2. Crusader

    Crusader

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    469 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    You can blame LIVE for this; once you've logged onto LIVE you can't use any saves without being on LIVE, and previous saves usually don't work.

    Fix.. I don't think there is one tbh, unless you used a cracked version which didn't use LIVE what so ever.
     
  3. Phxprovost

    Phxprovost Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    thats pretty brutal :shadedshu

    yet another case of:
    Pirates | 1
    Consumers | 0
     
  4. Crusader

    Crusader

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    469 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    That's Windows LIVE :rolleyes:

    This might go against certain people's beliefs, but it really is the best option to simply pirate any game with LIVE - they're not worth it IMO. (this is coming from someone who has um, three LIVE games I believe: DoW2, FO3, UAW:EA. Plus how ever many more I might have in Steam)


    OT: The whole "getting a pirated version" is afaik the only fix, at least the one I know of.
     
  5. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,577 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    ok guys thanks, an sorry yea i think it is a live problem coz i have to sign in to access the mothership upgrade but when i do i loose my saves. oh well gus i have to start again. Thanks anyway
     
  6. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14,288 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,973
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    Interesting. I have the original FO3 on Steam. When the Game of the Year edition came out recently on Steam, I didn't get an automatic upgrade or even a reduced price special offer to upgrade to it and I was quite annoyed about it. I have to pay for the whole game all over again. Yeah right. :rolleyes:

    However, as it forces you to use LIVE see Steam product page, at the bottom and lose old game saves, then I think I'm good to stay as I am. ;)
     
  7. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,934 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,202
    Check out your folder: C:\Users\Windows\Documents\My Games\Fallout3\Saves

    You will find saved games there. Copy them.

    There should be a GFWL folder somewhere. O don't remember if it's called LIVE or GFWL.
    Open it and paste the save games you copied inside it.


    It should work now.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,577 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    ill give it a try, i didnt no gfwl saved the files in a different place, i just coppied them back the folders in my documents
     
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,463 (6.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,958
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    fallout 3 was way more buggier than oblivion. I played almost 75$ through fall out three having to dodge bugs with console cheats and then ended up not finishing the game due to a bug in vault 76
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,577 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    tbh honest this is the only problem ive had with fo3, ive heard allot of people having bugs but i aint had one, well till now
     
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,463 (6.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,958
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    the game in sense was good BUT i could not enjoy it due to the bugs.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,577 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    wat bugs exactly coz i got 90% through without any problems then got bored
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)