1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fallout: New Vegas!

Discussion in 'Games' started by stinger608, May 12, 2010.

  1. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,431 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,064
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    r the folders that r in the mod folder duplicates of what r in the data folder already?.... confusing..


    if they are, then copy and paste those and overwrite anything.. if their not then im missing something and need to download and have a looksie
     
  2. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,895 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    258
    inside the texture mod folder are two folders:

    meshes and textures
     
  3. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,431 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,064
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    and inside the data folder theirs also mesh and textures.

    So copy the ones in the mod folder, and paste into the data folder. Overwrite everything.

    then u should b good to go
     
  4. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,895 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    258
    I don't have a mesh and textures folder
    I'll see maybe i'm not showing hidden folders

    edit:
    [​IMG]

    I'm not seeing the mesh and textures folders
     
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,067 (9.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    the folders dont exist by default. just copy the damn things in there already.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,431 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,064
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    hmm try pasting anyway, i have them but they show from a later date then when i installed. So maybe I put a texture mod on and dont remember as I havent touched the game in 2 months.
     
  7. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,895 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    258
    I'm confused
    do you mean copy EVERYTHING from EVERY folder (including all subfolders) straight into the data folder? cos i copied these two:
    [​IMG]

    still no change
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,067 (9.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    whatever came with the mod has to go in there. if it was in a folder, the folders go in.


    how hard can copy paste be?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,895 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    258
    I give up :eek:
     
  10. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,431 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,064
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    mesh and textures from the mod, put them in ur data folder... and make me a sandwich.. then itll work
     
  11. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,895 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    258
    the only thing that could help me now is a screenshot of what my data folder SHOULD look like
    apart from that nothing else can help me right now lol
    I'm either having trouble explaining my confusion or being confused by your explanations
     
  12. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,738 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,659
    Location:
    04578
    alright...

    Steam / w.e / w.e / Fallout New Vegas / Data inside the data folder it should be exactly as it shows in your screen shot if the mod isnt working most likely your archive invalidation txt isnt where it should be hasnt been updated OR you have the archive invalidation setting set wrong in the INI file

    if you cant figure this out when i get out of work tomorrow ill just use teamviewer and do the work myself. The others are more patient here me ive lost all patience period. easier just to do the work myself and call it good
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,067 (9.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    ^ that would be it, if he hasnt installed any mods before.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,738 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,659
    Location:
    04578
    any mod that uses an ESP file those settings dont matter but if a mod dosent have an esp then yes those settings must be done thats probably the issue as i just looked the mod up it has no esp
     
  15. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,026 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,273
    Anybody else fiddled with their ui? I'm using this right now.

    I also have new weapons, Boone with a real, modern sniper rifle (Barrett M82A1M), and my player and Cass with two variants of the M4A1.
     
  16. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    m4 and barrett are already integrated, as assault rifle and anti material rifle ;)
     
  17. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,026 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,273
    The anti-materiel rifle is the "M82" only. The assault rifle is the "M4" only.

    Boone's weapon is with a longer barrel, and grey (the M82A1M). Mine is an M4A1 with a suppressor and Telescopic sight. Cass' is an M4A1 with a suppressor and Collimator sight.

    Boone's:
    [​IMG]

    Cass' (but with a shorter barrel):
    [​IMG]

    My player's (but with suppressor):
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2010
  18. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    ok, if you like it that detailed i suppose it was fitting to get those replacements;)
     
  19. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,431 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,064
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    If you wanna get specific neither of those r M4's. The first one has a solid stock so its a 16 with a new upper receiver and barrel. While the bottoms barrel is way too short to be an M4 and looks more like an XM117, but even for that the barrel is way too short ontop of the handgrips appearing to be the size an m16's are.. So basically both of them r shit representations of real guns.
     
  20. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,026 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,273
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Essentially the mod features 36 combinations.

    The first one has a solid stock so its a 16 with a new upper receiver and barrel.
    I was just too lazy to point out though that I specifically stated the name as M4A1 because regardless of the mod's extensive use of the name on every combination, I chose the most accurate M4A1 variant, with the telescopic sight. It just so happens that the screenshot the author supplied for a variant with a telescopic sight was the one with a solid stock.

    While the bottoms barrel is way too short to be an M4 and looks more like an XM117, but even for that the barrel is way too short ontop of the handgrips appearing to be the size an m16's are..
    I must admit though that I was not very clear, considering that those screenshots are not mine, hence the confusion. I have specifically chosen the accurate combination out of the 36 variants for my player and Cass, the only difference being the scope/sight. The screenshot I posted for the one with the collimator sight happened to be that combination.

    That's why after getting the mod from Goodsprings I meticulously checked the details of all 36 combinations; suffice to say it was quite time-consuming, and needed a lot of alt-tabbing and double, even triple checking.

    I am yet to comment to the author about that however.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2010
  21. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,431 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,064
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    O its a cool mod and i ment nothing by it, I just notice these things as I carry one at work every day haha.
     
  22. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,286 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  23. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,577 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    this may seem like a dumb question but i got this on 360 rather then pc (im selling my pc to help fund a mac) and was wondering is it possible to run mods on the 360?
     
  24. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,951 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,226
    No as far as I know mods don't run on consoles..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,577 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    meh wish id got it on pc but oh well still good fun,
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)