• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Far Cry 3 E3 Demo vs retail. We got shafted

Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
208 (0.11/day)
Likes
205
System Name "Dark Wind"
Processor Sandy Bridge i5 2500k @ 4.6ghz 1.336v
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximum Gene-Z
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AS5
Memory G.Skill Ripjaw X Series 1600mhz 2 x 4gig
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 670 FTW 2gig
Storage Western Digital Black Cavier 640gig AALS/ Samsung 840 Pro 256gig
Display(s) Dell U2412M / Viewsonic VX2025WM
Case Cooler Master HAF XB
Audio Device(s) SB X-fi Titanium PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair AX860 Platinum
Software Windows 7 64 bit Premium Home
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,571 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#2
the tube video is so bad i hardly can judge anything. but for sure Ubi used the best fastest hardware available, including physix etc. for their demo. The game is pretty. Yet some details or tweaks may have been reduced for the final release... FC3 delivers a lot and is not a good example of a game that "shafts" customers. I felt shafted above all with Deus Ex HR because it is ugly and boring.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
1,694 (0.68/day)
Likes
542
System Name TeraUltima 7
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Cooling DeepCool Ice Berg Pro "Black Edition"
Memory Kingston Hyper X 16GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 Super JetStream
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB SSD + 1TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P IPS 75HZ 23" MONITOR
Case Aerocool Dead Silence Black Edition Cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply OCZ Stealth X Stream II 600W
Mouse Logitech G400S | Wacom Intuos CTH-480
Keyboard A4Tech G800V Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/9470441
#3
they could have at least left it in the PC version. Console versions are getting below 30FPS in game anyway
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,848 (0.66/day)
Likes
499
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#4
The game is good yeah, but seeing the Demo, It looks better graphically...

Yet some details or tweaks may have been reduced for the final release...
then why remove the more detailed textures? I'm pretty sure there are gamers who would love to and their rigs can play the best graphics/textures settings as possible. optimization issues? could be
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,571 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#5
Only difference I can clearly see between the vids is there is more debris or fishes in the water, and the water looks a bit better in the left video. I remember the first Far Cry, and with some tweaks it made the water look heavenly. In FC3 the water does not impress. And the mountains in the far distance look horrible. That is all my reasonable critique.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
679 (0.37/day)
Likes
738
System Name Hard Times
Processor X3450@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7H55M
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 12gb DDR3 1333Mhz CL 9@1600 CL7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 980 Xtreme@1500Mhz
Storage SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD (os) , WD Caviar Blue 2 TB (Games), WD Caviar Green 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) 32" Samsung HDTV 1080P
Case Fractal Design Focus G Mini
Audio Device(s) Onboard HDMI
Power Supply EVGA G2 550w
Software Windows 10 Pro CU
#6
All PC games should have scalability, it would increase a companies sales as well. They can cover the low end to the very high end, satisfying a very wide market. There is no excuse nowadays for a huge company to not do this other than laziness.
 
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
374 (0.16/day)
Likes
131
Location
Netherlands
Processor Core i5 4690K @ 3.5 GHz \\ C2Q Q6600 @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3 SLI \\ Asus P5K Deluxe
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Performer \\ Xigmatek Dark Knight
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 2x 4GB \\ Corsair XMS2 2x 2 GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 970 G1 Gaming v1.1 (Hynix) \\ Sapphire HD 6850
Storage Kingston SV200, 3 TB Seagate 7200.14 \\ 2x 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) LG 24MP56HQ
Case Corsair Carbide 200R Windowed \\ CM 690
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 \\ Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Adata HM850 \\ Corsair HX520
Mouse Logitech G602, SteelSeries Sensei Raw Frostblue, Corsair M65
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard Elite
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 \\ Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#7
Wouldn't it be possible to "unlock" these "Super Ultra High" graphical settings (via some command or hacks?) in Far Cry 3, IF the "assets" that are needed for the "Super Ultra High" graphics are still intact on the game disc? I am really curious about this!
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,751 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,015
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#8
To be honest, it can't be too difficult for developers to offer 2 levels of graphical quality, even on line so called "free" games such as World of tanks do this, when you go into "Graphical properties" apart from all of the obvious AA/AF/Texture/draw distance and the like, each with settings ultra/high/medium/Low you ALSO get a drop down for "overall quality" with the choice of "standard" or "improved", all improved is in effect is a high res pack.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.35/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
#9
Sorry but on my PC things looks like the left video. The right video seems like PC on Low graphics. I think the guy who made this video is a hater that just wanted to hate on the game publicly.

At that particular area shown in the video I have MUCH more grass than the video on the right side (also it looks much better than that) and the water doesnt look so bad. In fact it seems that the right screen of the video (PC retail) is running in DX9. Hell, the rocks look like big polygons even.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,584 (0.47/day)
Likes
750
#10
So...I'm confused, does the console version look better or something since he was playing with a controller? The graphics to the right do look like low settings, left looks more like Crysis-ish graphics. You don't intentionally not give someone the better graphics just to screw them, something is off here.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,313 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,722
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#11
So...I'm confused, does the console version look better or something since he was playing with a controller? The graphics to the right do look like low settings, left looks more like Crysis-ish graphics. You don't intentionally not give someone the better graphics just to screw them, something is off here.
Must admit some thing don't seems right. If only a TPU member could post some key points of the game of were the demo was done :p..
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#12
To be honest, it can't be too difficult for developers to offer 2 levels of graphical quality, even on line so called "free" games such as World of tanks do this, when you go into "Graphical properties" apart from all of the obvious AA/AF/Texture/draw distance and the like, each with settings ultra/high/medium/Low you ALSO get a drop down for "overall quality" with the choice of "standard" or "improved", all improved is in effect is a high res pack.
Why bother when people still will buy the game?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,751 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,015
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#13
Why bother when people still will buy the game?
I suppose it about providing the consumer with what they want, dunno, the one I exampled is a free game and they can do it so it can't be that difficult.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#14
the tube video is so bad i hardly can judge anything. but for sure Ubi used the best fastest hardware available, including physix etc. for their demo. The game is pretty. Yet some details or tweaks may have been reduced for the final release... FC3 delivers a lot and is not a good example of a game that "shafts" customers. I felt shafted above all with Deus Ex HR because it is ugly and boring.
This. On a side note I'm very curious if Crysis 3 will deliver while "melting our PCs".
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#15
This. On a side note I'm very curious if Crysis 3 will deliver while "melting our PCs".
According to the alpha, no. It is about twice times as cumbersome to my 7950, but I couldn't really notice anything much beyond Crysis 2.

It will melt your PC definitely, but I doubt you will be at all impressed.

To be fair, there were different environments, and I couldn't focus because it was an Multiplayer alpha.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#16
My biggest problem with Far Cry 3 is just two things.

1. Even with the most advanced ambient occlusion (HDAO), there is a subtle flickering of tree foliage that seems lighting related, since it looks to be a shadow effect causing it.

2. The game is horribly unstable even with patch 1.02 that is supposed to include performance fixes. It still dips in FPS at times and the menu often loads at a snail's pace. This game seems to have memory leak symptoms written all over it.

It's also the only game that still crashes my PC hard at times, making me wonder if it can handle any amount of OCing. I'm running stable via OCCT Linpack and I still get the now and then blue screen 124 crash on this game. Last time it was just while taking the first shot at the pack of rabid dogs on the PotH quest where you have to kill 5 of them with the shotgun provided. I might actually have to try setting my RAM to 2T for this game, and I don't even know if my BIOS HAS that option.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
2,243 (0.70/day)
Likes
1,331
Location
Riverside, California
System Name Red Monster
Processor Intel Core i7 7800X @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming M7 ACK
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H115i 280mm
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED 32GB DDR4 3466
Video Card(s) evga GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 iCX
Storage Intel 535 Series 2.5" 480GB SATA /WD Blue 1TB SSD /Radeon R7 240GB SSD /1TB, & 4TB HHD
Display(s) Samsung UN55KS8500 55" 4K & Oculus Rift CV1
Case Corsair Carbide Series Air 540
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZX > Pagoda DAC > multiple amps
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherri MX
Software Windows 10
#17
When I first started playing FC3 one of the first things I thought was; wow...this doesn't look as good as the videos I've seen. Though I think the game is good and it is fun; I still don't think the visuals are stellar.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#18
My biggest problem with Far Cry 3 is just two things.

1. Even with the most advanced ambient occlusion (HDAO), there is a subtle flickering of tree foliage that seems lighting related, since it looks to be a shadow effect causing it.

2. The game is horribly unstable even with patch 1.02 that is supposed to include performance fixes. It still dips in FPS at times and the menu often loads at a snail's pace. This game seems to have memory leak symptoms written all over it.

It's also the only game that still crashes my PC hard at times, making me wonder if it can handle any amount of OCing. I'm running stable via OCCT Linpack and I still get the now and then blue screen 124 crash on this game. Last time it was just while taking the first shot at the pack of rabid dogs on the PotH quest where you have to kill 5 of them with the shotgun provided. I might actually have to try setting my RAM to 2T for this game, and I don't even know if my BIOS HAS that option.
My game never causes BSODs, and I play for hours on end. Reduce your overclock or add VCORE. Just because you ran Linpack and passed doesn't guarantee stability in anything else. I get slight framerate dips but I'm pretty impressed with how my 7950 handles it (though 80% fan speed and 90c GPU at 1050/1.037v sucks).
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#19
No, the WarZ consumers got shafted.

You only got inconvenienced.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,160 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,709
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#20
My game never causes BSODs, and I play for hours on end. Reduce your overclock or add VCORE. Just because you ran Linpack and passed doesn't guarantee stability in anything else. I get slight framerate dips but I'm pretty impressed with how my 7950 handles it (though 80% fan speed and 90c GPU at 1050/1.037v sucks).
I've read a fair bit about the 124 error and some say (with some testing behind it) you can't automatically assume it means not enough vcore. Hell, a 4GHz OC on a i7 950 shouldn't require more than 1.35v, which is what I'm running it at. A lot of people run their 950 4GHz OCs at less than 1.3v.

I have however upped the QPI to a little over 1.3v from 1.25 though, as that testing on the vcore after 124 errors did indicate QPI can also be the problem. I've also loosened the RAM timings down to 9-9-9-24 from the rated 7-8-7-20. I'm running it at the rated 1600 speed, but it's working at 1T command rate according to CPU-Z, so a bump to 4GHz may require less stringent timings.

I don't think it's my 7970. I'm only running it at 1100 and I never see any video artifacts and it maxes at 65c in FC3.

If this game has a problem with memory leaks as I suspect, then it would more likely have to do with memory related voltage, timing and command rate settings.

I just hate having to fine tine an OC due to one damn game. I don't have this problem with any other games, and I'm playing a lot of the current high resource ones like Sleeping Dogs, AC3, Hitman Abs, MoH Warfighter, etc.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,480 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,639
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#21
I'm not bothered with this it still looks good. Only thing I'm bothered with is the motion sickness that game causes.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#22
I'm not bothered with this it still looks good. Only thing I'm bothered with is the motion sickness that game causes.
This might have something to do with your FOV, I would mess around with that if possible. Also monitor positioning might cause that.
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,576 (1.44/day)
Likes
864
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Core i7 4770K @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Z87i-Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC
Storage Lots of SSD's
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply SFX 450 G
Mouse Razer Mamba Tournament Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
#23
I feel a bit hard done by now seeing that, I had seen the e3 video before but it didn't quite click that my pc version wasnt looking as good...
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,313 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,722
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#24
When I first started playing FC3 one of the first things I thought was; wow...this doesn't look as good as the videos I've seen. Though I think the game is good and it is fun; I still don't think the visuals are stellar.
Does it look as good or better than FC 2 ?..
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#25
Game developers have to walk a tightrope.

Put in too much detail and scalability and people bitch about the game not being "optimized" because they can't max it out on their "high-end" computers. Put in too little and people bitch because it isn't graphically as nice as what they expect or what was show in a demo.

I say STFU and play the game. Farcry3 is a very fun game, the gameplay is good, the story is a little repetitive but still good. If you stop to compare what it looks like now to what it looked like in development you aren't playing the game right.