• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

FarCry 3 PC System Requirements Released, Always-Online DRM Scrapped for Campaign

Joined
Mar 24, 2012
Messages
243 (0.12/day)
Likes
45
#26
If these requirements are real, I expect to see this during game intro:

http://pcper.com/images/news/amdgamingevolved.jpg
heard some news about the game will indeed be on AMD Gaming Evolved banner quite sometime ago. when the spec like 480 and 5770 are listed on the same tag on recommended card needed it kind of confirm the news lol.

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/news/games-news/amds-gaming-evolved-program-snags-far-cry-3/

i like the idea about the gpu maker working closely with game dev to optimize the performance on their hardware but honestly i don't like the story when the dev already sponsored by company A it will shut it doors to work with company B. (like the one happen with that holy Batman game lol).
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
978 (0.43/day)
Likes
215
Location
coast ,melbourne
System Name THE MEDIAMACHINE
Processor i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus gene v z-77 matx.
Cooling Antec h20 620
Memory 2x4gb g.skill ripjaws z 2400
Video Card(s) h.i.s radeon 7950 reference 3 gb- hooray!!!
Storage samsung 128gb~830 ssd. samsung 500gb hdrive.
Display(s) 22 inch tele.
Case circa 1996 grey rat box with no sides front.until my own is finished
Audio Device(s) inbuilt creative.supreme effects 3
Power Supply thermaltake tt-500w
Software win 7 x64-
Benchmark Scores Coming soon
#27
Oh hooray you can play offline, thats a winner in my book, about time too, maybe they are listening after all, i loved the first far cry, i still laugh when i think of the scene where you could sneak up and release the tridents out of there cages on your enemies haha, cant wait for this !!!

thanx for update ~g1,
 
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
883 (0.43/day)
Likes
75
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard AsRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
Memory 16 GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 3000 Mhz (Running at 2933)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte G1 GTX 1070
Storage 240 GB Kingston SSD, 7 TB's of HDD
Display(s) Dell 16:10 20" Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthos Pro M
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 750 P2
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard G Skill Ripjaws RGB Mechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
#28
This game looks amazing! Good thing my computer is high end! Another great thing is that Ubisoft is a little less evil to its PAYING customers.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
2,302 (0.66/day)
Likes
960
Location
EDM, AB, CAN
Processor AMD FX-4350
Motherboard Gigabye GA-970A-D3P
Cooling Enermax ETD-T60-VD - 7 x 120mm case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX 2x4GB@1600mhz
Video Card(s) Asus R9 380
Storage Kingston V300 240GB SSD + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) ACER K212HL 27" + Haier 55"
Case Enermax Ostrog (Red)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA B2 750W
Software Win10 64bit
#29
Is there a particular resolution standard for each requirement?

for example;

1440*900 Minimum

1920*1080 Recommended

2560x1440 High-Performance
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2011
Messages
605 (0.26/day)
Likes
257
Processor Intel
Motherboard Asus
Cooling Thermaltake/Noctua
Memory Crucial
Video Card(s) Nvidia
Storage Samsung/Western Digital
Display(s) Samsung
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Chieftec
Software Windows 10 x64
#30
i like the idea about the gpu maker working closely with game dev to optimize the performance on their hardware but honestly i don't like the story when the dev already sponsored by company A it will shut it doors to work with company B. (like the one happen with that holy Batman game lol).


When high end GPU/CPU running like mainstream is good thing... Not.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2012
Messages
243 (0.12/day)
Likes
45
#31
to be honest i don't believe it that 480 will only perform on par with 5770 in this game. i'm looking forward to official bench on this game when it comes out this december
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#32
There is a lot of buzz about system requirements.

I stopped looking at specs since 2004, since then they were mostly irrelevant.

A 680 is required, but if you turn AA off, or lower shadows, you can run pretty close to max settings with an 8800GTX.

Some things are very resource intensive compared to others, if you can learn to tweak your settings you won't be missing much with lower end hardware.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
3,870 (1.95/day)
Likes
1,392
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 1600 @4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200T
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 16GB (4x4GB) @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
Storage Seagatr Barracuda 2TB x4
Display(s) LG 29UM68-P 29" UltraWide w/FreeSync
Case Fractal Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#33
So i can almost max this game XD
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
718 (0.20/day)
Likes
93
System Name Raptor
Processor Core i7 3930K@4.0Ghz
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH X79
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 4*4GB Gskil RipjawsDDR3 @2133MHz 1.6v
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980 SC
Storage Vertex 3 SSD 120GB + 250GB SSD samsung +1TB seagate
Display(s) ACER-H243HX 24"
Case HAF-X
Audio Device(s) on board Realtek
Power Supply Corsair 850HX
Software Windows 10 & 7 dual boot .
#34
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600K , LOL @ the "K" .
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#36
Cool. Now lets focus on the important factor in this title. If its anything like FarCry 2, I'm going to blow a fuse.

IT BETTER NOT SUCK LIKE FC2. <---
Never played, but from what I hear, the problem with FC2 is that it had very annoying tendencies like respawning enemies and such.

Other than that, it could have been an alright game.
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
3,912 (1.11/day)
Likes
886
Location
West Chester, OH
#37
Never played, but from what I hear, the problem with FC2 is that it had very annoying tendencies like respawning enemies and such.

Other than that, it could have been an alright game.
That, and a lot of other annoyances. One of them being, having to randomly give yourself medicine because you have malaria... :confused:
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,380 (2.57/day)
Likes
5,820
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#38
The fact that they are pushing their Uplay junk is a good enough reason not to buy this game... we don't need hundreds of idiotic clients. Get it Ubi? Steam was the first and i won't complain. But everyone else are just "me too" in a hope to lock users to their crap. Thanks but no thanks.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#39
Lmao the 680 on high end requirements list.. That's what I call futureprofing a game for graphics.. Be able to play it in years and think "Dam this game still looks great"..

UBI's Drm is horrendous though.
Anyone who has experienced ubi's drm issues knows how bad it gets..
Ever played any of the silent hunter games?
You have no idea.. Ubi will just give up and offer absolutely NO support if they just plain don't feel like it..
I have no respect for that business model..
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2010
Messages
110 (0.04/day)
Likes
14
#40
they didn't say how much VRAM needed for high settings requirement. Only recommended settings needs 1 GB VRAM there.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
1,240 (0.50/day)
Likes
503
#41
2600K would not even feel the load where the FX-4150 maxes out, what kind of gibberish is this (perhaps they meant 8150?)
With the native resolution of today's monitors, most of the games are tend to be GPU bond anyway, and there is no way on earth that a "proper" code would run equal or faster on a HD-5770 than how it would run on a GTX-480.
Either there are some serious slowdowns on Nvidia cards, or the person who wrote this had absolutely no idea about GPUs whatsoever.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
1,682 (0.79/day)
Likes
578
System Name msdos
Processor 8088
Motherboard mainboard
Cooling passive
Memory 640KB + 384KB extended
Video Card(s) EGA
Storage 5.25"
Display(s) 80x25
Case plastic
Audio Device(s) modchip
Power Supply 45 watts
Mouse serial
Keyboard yes
Software disk commander
Benchmark Scores still running
#42
That, and a lot of other annoyances. One of them being, having to randomly give yourself medicine because you have malaria... :confused:
They were trying to have some "realistic" aspects (and advertised that too) but yah they overlooked the part where people generally like fun more than realism when it comes to gaming. Supposedly the team actually spent some time on the savannah, but goodness knows how stretched that "fact" is. Of course, entire camps of enemies respawning if you step 0.1mm too far is not exactly realistic ... and don't forget "Far Cry 2: Vehicle Repair for Dummies!"

Oh, and people are going way too crazy here about some probably highly arbitrary suggested specs that got slapped on the box.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
2,286 (0.93/day)
Likes
528
Location
Burlington, VT
Processor Intel i5-2500k
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65
Cooling Deep Cool Gammax 400
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 256GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) Acer GD235HZbid 120hz LCD
Case Rosewill Challenger Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650W 650-TX
Software Windows 10
#43
Perhaps the game engine uses instruction set that is present on Bulldozer architecture and not on Sandy Bridge, like XOP and FMA4, because no matter how well threaded it is 4150 is 2 modules(4 cores if we take them as cores) and this is nowhere more threads as 2600k.
It would be absolutely suicidal to code a game for Instruction Sets that are present only on the minority companies CPU's. It's one thing to optimize a game for AMD or Nvidia GPU's because the split is rather even, but optimizing for AMD CPU's by using Instruction Sets exclusive to them when Intel represents a much larger portion of the market is insane. Hell, I'd be amazed if anyone could find a single benchmark where the FX-4150 is on par for the i7-2600K...
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2012
Messages
114 (0.05/day)
Likes
27
Location
Canada
#44
I might consider buying Ubisoft games again since they have scrapped the always on DRM, I haven't bought any of their games for years now because of how they chose to treat PC gamers.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,358 (1.91/day)
Likes
1,074
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
#45
I might consider buying Ubisoft games again since they have scrapped the always on DRM, I haven't bought any of their games for years now because of how they chose to treat PC gamers.

To much fuss about this DRM. Just look at Diablo 3...
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
3,248 (0.89/day)
Likes
396
System Name Thakk
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Z170N ITX
Cooling Deepcool Maelstrom 120k / H55
Memory 16GB Corsair LPX DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti Founders Ed. AIO Cooled
Storage Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / Intel 250GB SSD / Samsung Pro 512 SSD / 3TB Seagate SV32
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 100hz IPS Gsync / HTC Vive
Case Cougar QBX mini itx
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 > Creative Gigaworks T40 > AKG Q701
Power Supply Thermaltake 600w 140mm
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Ducky Shine TKL MX Blue + Vortex PBT Doubleshots
Software Windows 10 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12108888
#46
To much fuss about this DRM. Just look at Diablo 3...
Diablo 3 gets content updates, mp coop, and secure spot on a centralized server for your character data. Its an always on in the first place, because the mechanics requires you to be always on. Just like why mmorpgs are always on. Having an always on drm for singleplayer FPS that would stay the same forever is nonsensical and annoying
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
2,576 (0.65/day)
Likes
510
Processor Mysterious Engineering Prototype
Motherboard Intel 865
Cooling Custom block made in workshop
Memory Corsair XMS 2GB
Video Card(s) FireGL X3-256
Display(s) 1600x1200 SyncMaster x 2 = 3200x1200
Software Windows 2003
#47
Code:
{if cpu=amd goto moar
do loop wait}
:moar
{if gpu=amd goto evenmoar
do loop wait}
:evenmore
...gamecode
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,358 (1.91/day)
Likes
1,074
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
#48
Diablo 3 gets content updates, mp coop, and secure spot on a centralized server for your character data. Its an always on in the first place, because the mechanics requires you to be always on. Just like why mmorpgs are always on. Having an always on drm for singleplayer FPS that would stay the same forever is nonsensical and annoying
No, is not like any other MMO. MMO are only online. In D3 even if I choose solo gaming, I still have to log online. No net, no D3... Ring a bell?
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
2,286 (0.93/day)
Likes
528
Location
Burlington, VT
Processor Intel i5-2500k
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65
Cooling Deep Cool Gammax 400
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 256GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) Acer GD235HZbid 120hz LCD
Case Rosewill Challenger Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650W 650-TX
Software Windows 10
#49
No, is not like any other MMO. MMO are only online. In D3 even if I choose solo gaming, I still have to log online. No net, no D3... Ring a bell?
He's referring to the fact that it has always-on DRM by design. They store character data on servers so it cannot be compromised (by legitimate players or hackers) and constantly stream updates to the game which add bug fixes, balance changes, and content. Far Cry 3 has no reason to be always on because it needs exactly none of those things.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#50
Cool i should be able to smash High-Performance :toast: