• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

FarCry 3 Recommended Tweaks for my setup

Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#1
Hey guys, wondering if anyone out there is using gtx 6xx series in SLI like me with FarCry 3. Would like to know if you have recommendations for the game settings so I can enjoy a solid 60fps with high quality visuals.

At the moment, I'm runnin the d3d11.exe shortcut for the game in SLI with 1920x1080 res everything maxed out and I often drop from 60 fps to around 50fps.

Do you guys know Which settings TAX the game most?
And do you know which would be some very good "tweaks" to run?

(for instance, have you guys tried the game's V-sync vs D3D overrider's forced V-Sync?)
(have you tried the in-game AA vs Forced AA?)
(Have you tried Sli vs Sli off?)
(What SSAO you usin? the SSAO, HBAO or others ?)


lemme know, could potentially save me hours of lookin around on google ;)

EDIT: Here are a few tweaks I found on the Web, again please let me know if you guys have tried it and your results:


TWEAK #1: How to Disable Depth of Field

Follow these steps to disable the filter:

Run Far Cry 3 and set the video settings to “custom.” Exit the game.
Go to %USERPROFILE%\Documents\My Games\Far Cry 3
Right click on GamerProfile.xml and select Open With -> Notepad.
CTRL+F and search for PostFxQuality. Set PostFxQuality=”false” and save the file.


TWEAK #2: How to Get Proper SLI Scaling
If you’re using a SLI setup then it’s possible that one of your GPU is performing at a lower rate.

Use Nvidia Inspector
Find Far Cry 3 profile
Click Add application to current profile
Add farcry3_d3d11.exe from Far Cry 3/Bin.

TWEAK #3: How to Fix Decals Frame-Rate Issue In SLI
Some might get horrific drops in FPS upon getting decals in your screen, while using a SLI setup. Here’s a quick fix which will amend that problem.

Use Inspector to open Far Cry 3
Change SLI bits for DX11 from 0x000902F5 to 0x0C1902F5

TWEAK #4: How to Disable Ambient Occlusion

When playing Far Cry 3 on DirectX 11, you can’t disable Ambient Occlusion via in-game settings — you can only switch between different types of rendering techniques. In order to disable it completely, which would improve performance at the cost of enhanced shading visuals, follow these steps:

Go to %USERPROFILE%\Documents\My Games\Far Cry 3
Right click on GamerProfile.xml and select Open With -> Notepad.
CTRL+F and search for SSAOLevel. Set SSAOLevel=”0″ and save the file.

SOURCE for those Tweaks I copied in this thread: http://www.gamefront.com/far-cry-3-pc-tweak-guide/
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369
Likes
18,017
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
From what I've read most performance issues with the game are the game itself. It's broken. Perhaps Ubisoft will update the game to fix it some day.

That being said I played through the game with a single card on maximum settings (lower AA) without an issue. Things seem to be different for different people. Try out the tweaks yourself and see if they work for you.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#3
Yes indeed I've heard much about FarCry 3 and the need for game dev fixes... but honestly, the game performs Quite well for me... most of the time, the FPS is where I want it, but it often drops to 50...

And I'm quite certain that there are a few tweaks to resolve this issue. Kind of like The Witcher 2. If I remember correctly the DOF in the witcher 2 was a MAJOR ressource Hog and FPS killer, so when turned off, the game gained like 10 fps for lots of people...

I created this thread in the hopes of finding "someone" out there, that might already have pinned down the settings and changes that generally tend to increase stability for everyone out there

For Instance, you use a lower AA with 1 single card. as of right now, I'm using the latest nvidia beta drivers... maybe the in-game AA is crap...

Obviously, I'm gonna run my own tweaks and tests, and report back here. But in the meantime, if anyone here has the time to try some of the tweaks I listed, I'd be curious to know what people's results would be.

In my Experience, often times switching to D3D overrider's forced V-sync instead of the game's V-sync helps (metro 2033 is a good example for this...)

Same goes for turning off DOF or turning off ALL AA and using stuff like FXAA or SMAA instead...
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,309
Likes
4,717
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#4
it's dropping down to 50fps as a minimum ?, if so there should not be any issue well i guess there is one issue and your more involved in the fps than actually playing the game.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#5
it's dropping down to 50fps as a minimum ?, if so there should not be any issue well i guess there is one issue and your more involved in the fps than actually playing the game.
Of course I intend to enjoy the game as I do with every other game... The thing is I'm a perfectionist. I understand not everyone has the same level of expectation with their video games. But in my case, I did not build a 3k $$$ computer to accept anything less...

I'm willing to work to find how to get my solid 60 fps in video games... and that is why after tryin everything if I still don't get 60fps, I just don't play the game.

But that dear sir, is MY preference. Obviously, video games are playable around 45fps, but that's not what I'm lookin for, and that's certainly not what I paid for...

Everyone has their "vanity". Maybe you'll spend unnecessary cash on a car, on dates or other things which you could be contempt with less, but we all have a "vanity" side... something we like to spend "extra" or work "extra" to get what we want, and for me, that is gaming.

I worked hard to get a solid 60fps in The Witcher 2, and after I did, I enjoyed the whole game, the way I like...
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
754
Likes
67
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97i Plus
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620 + Gentle Typhoon 3000RPM
Memory A-DATA XPG V2 DDR3-2400 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 850 Ev0 500GB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 @100Hz
Case Silverstone SG13
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500LG
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not interested in benchmarks
#6
Have you checked what settings Geforce Experience chooses for your setup?
I'm not sure if they are really the most optimized settings though. But it should give you a baseline to work on.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
77
Likes
7
System Name Assembly Line
Processor Intel Core i5 2300 @2.8Ghz
Motherboard Intel DH61WW (B3)
Cooling 80mm Molex Fan (Local Branded)
Memory Corsair Value Select 8GB 1600mhz RAM (Dual Channel, Running at 1333mhz max. supported by MOBO)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 750 Ti 2GB
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB+2TB; WD Blue 500GB; 1TB Dell Portable USB 3.0
Display(s) Dell ST2220M Full HD LED 21.5"
Case iBall Piano 441
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD (onboard)
Power Supply Circle 500W APFC
Mouse Digiflip GM001
Keyboard Dell KB212 Business
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#7
any tips on improving performance on hd 6xxx series gpus? Bcoz i own a hd 6850 and got unplayable framerates at high settings.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,364
Likes
9,491
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#8
Of course I intend to enjoy the game as I do with every other game... The thing is I'm a perfectionist. I understand not everyone has the same level of expectation with their video games. But in my case, I did not build a 3k $$$ computer to accept anything less...

I'm willing to work to find how to get my solid 60 fps in video games... and that is why after tryin everything if I still don't get 60fps, I just don't play the game.
Hate to say, but games like FC3, AC3, and need for speed most wanted criterion will run like crap no matter how much you spend on your PC. Bad console ports are bad, not a great deal you can do about it.
Developers dont make games for 3k PC's, they make games for console hardware / low to midrange computers, so they maximize profits. If you want epic FPS, reprogram the game yourself, there really is little else you can do.
All i can say is, First World Problems...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#9
Hate to say, but games like FC3, AC3, and need for speed most wanted criterion will run like crap no matter how much you spend on your PC. Bad console ports are bad, not a great deal you can do about it.
Developers dont make games for 3k PC's, they make games for console hardware / low to midrange computers, so they maximize profits. If you want epic FPS, reprogram the game yourself, there really is little else you can do.
All i can say is, First World Problems...
What you're sayin is true of course. and I'm well aware of it. But you'd be surprised to see how many times I got games that were performing poorly to become fluid using a few tweaks...

For instance, Far Cry 3 is indeed a Console port, Poorly optimized as are so many other console games lately... But I finally managed to get my solid 60fps...

Here's how I did it:

I play in Windowed mode... Dunno why Fullscreen and borderless don't work well, but it looks like windowed works very well. It seems to reduce the input lag and the stutter by A LOT...

2nd: I turned off SSAO and PostFXquality in the gameprofile.xml file as well as the in-game aa (msaa). I turned down shadows to medium and same for water. Everything else is maxed. I run Single Card atm... looks like SLI won't scale at all... no matter the tweaks I try (and believe me, I tried everything)...

So yes, by fiddling a bit you CAN get Ports to work better (not perfect most of the time, but close)...
And the NEXT GeN consoles are comin soon, so Hopefully, High End PCs will be able to make good use of their Hardware this time...
 
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
2,863
Likes
272
Location
Brasil
System Name Sovereign // HTPC
Processor i7 3770k 4.2 // i7 3770k 4.2
Motherboard Maximus V Gene // Sabertooth Z77
Cooling Noctua D14 // Intel HSF
Memory 16GB Samsung // 16GB VengeanceLP
Video Card(s) Deciding // 660 DC2
Storage OS (X25-M), Data (Seagate 1TB) // Samsung 840 120GB & bunch of drives
Display(s) Samsung T240HD // LG TV
Case TJ08e // Grandia GD08
Audio Device(s) DT880 Pro 250 ohm // TV speakers
Power Supply Seasonic Plat 1000 // Seasonic Gold 760
Software Windows 8 Pro x64 // Windows 7 Pro x64
#10
Man i played in that resolution with max settings only with a 580, just reduce shadow quality
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
754
Likes
67
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97i Plus
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620 + Gentle Typhoon 3000RPM
Memory A-DATA XPG V2 DDR3-2400 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 850 Ev0 500GB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 @100Hz
Case Silverstone SG13
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500LG
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not interested in benchmarks
#11
Something is definitely wrong if you couldn't get 60fps with SLI. I get 40-50fps with a single card with 1080p MSAA 4x HDAO and ultra spec.

Here's a video I just recorded to show one of my friends.
FarCry3 2600k @4.5GHz, GTX670 @1176MHz, 4X MSAA, H...

With the so called "tweaks" you applied, I would have easily gotten 60fps. Perhaps you spent too much money on your rig :/
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#12
Something is definitely wrong if you couldn't get 60fps with SLI. I get 40-50fps with a single card with 1080p MSAA 4x HDAO and ultra spec.

Here's a video I just recorded to show one of my friends.
FarCry3 2600k @4.5GHz, GTX670 @1176MHz, 4X MSAA, H...

With the so called "tweaks" you applied, I would have easily gotten 60fps. Perhaps you spent too much money on your rig :/
Nope I did not... Have you even tried 670 sli? Cause if you did, you would know that it actually makes the FPS worst for this game... because there is no scaling at all... SLI introduces Input LAG and instabillity in-game... Look it up in google, its all over the forums... sli simply doesn't work well for this game
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
754
Likes
67
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97i Plus
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620 + Gentle Typhoon 3000RPM
Memory A-DATA XPG V2 DDR3-2400 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 850 Ev0 500GB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 @100Hz
Case Silverstone SG13
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500LG
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not interested in benchmarks
#13
Nope I did not... Have you even tried 670 sli? Cause if you did, you would know that it actually makes the FPS worst for this game... because there is no scaling at all... SLI introduces Input LAG and instabillity in-game... Look it up in google, its all over the forums... sli simply doesn't work well for this game
isn't that the case with most games? i had a multi GPU setup before this GTX670 (6950CFX). fed up with it. sold them and bought this card. lower scores in benchmarks. much smoother game play. perhaps you should sell your cards and get the Geforce Titan when it comes out. ;)
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,216
Likes
55
Location
Canada
System Name Brutus
Processor i5 4690k @4.7Ghz (Watercooled)
Motherboard z97 MSI Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken x61 AIO watercooler
Memory Gskill Ripjaws 8gb (2x4gb) 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 980ti x2 (sli)
Storage 1 SSD 64GB (OS) + 2x500GB WesternDigital RAID 0
Display(s) YAMAKASI Catleap q270 SE 27inch Glossy 2560x1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec TPQ 1200w
Software Windows 7 (64 bit)
#14
I've had a good experience with SLI most of the time. Some games are just not optimized at all (console ports mostly)
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
754
Likes
67
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97i Plus
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620 + Gentle Typhoon 3000RPM
Memory A-DATA XPG V2 DDR3-2400 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 850 Ev0 500GB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 @100Hz
Case Silverstone SG13
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500LG
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not interested in benchmarks
#15
I've had a good experience with SLI most of the time. Some games are just not optimized at all (console ports mostly)
You perhaps need 60fps or more because of micro stuttering? I other words, you won't need that that high of an FPS to get the same smoothness from a single card? Perhaps that's your problem.
 
Last edited: