• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Fast wireless router for gaming?

K

kyle2020

Guest
#1
Hey guys,

Right, heres my problem. Im having to run wireless in my house due to my sister also wanting to use the internet on her laptop - we have a cheap linksys 54Mbps router, and when my sisters on the internet at the same time as im gaming etc, i get horrible lag spikes once every two minutes or so. Also, when im downloading things such as programs or torrents, my download speed is pathetic.

So, my question to you is:

DO any of you know of a fairly priced, fast wireless G router? Either from word of mouth etc or from actually owning one?

Thanks!
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.54/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#2
It wont help.

Sharing wireless will always give you these kinds of problems.

YOU should go wired.

SHE should go wireless.

And then you slow down the wireless connection hehe
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,656 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,606
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#4
Linksys routers arent that cheap. I have dealt with cheap, one "bargain basement" router actually kept messing with the ISP's servers! :eek:
Are you using a wired or wireless connection?
I have a USR router that allows me to plug the Gaming PC's in wired and the laptops wirelessly.
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#5
It wont help.

Sharing wireless will always give you these kinds of problems.

YOU should go wired.

SHE should go wireless.

And then you slow down the wireless connection hehe
haha :laugh:

Its not my descision though, the router is in my parents room, (the house is quite small + a bungalow so that doesnt matter really) and my dad doesnt want me to go paying to have the connection moved around into my room :banghead:

A question for you though - if i was to move the whole setup into my room, could i then run wired for my rig but have the wireless running for my sister?
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#6
haha :laugh:

Its not my descision though, the router is in my parents room, (the house is quite small + a bungalow so that doesnt matter really) and my dad doesnt want me to go paying to have the connection moved around into my room :banghead:

A question for you though - if i was to move the whole setup into my room, could i then run wired for my rig but have the wireless running for my sister?
The router for me is the room next door. When the ntl guy came and installed the cable modem we got him to drill a whole between the rooms so we could have ethernet cables running through to my PC's and consoles.
I doubt your parents would be too happy about doing that, but you can et really long enet cables, my longest is 30m, do what I have done in my room, lift the edge of the carpet (unless you have laminate), and run the enet cable between the skirting and carpet grips.
Only way I can see you acheiving your goal is to connect wired, even powerline/homeplug adaptors wont be as good as wired.
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#7
Lol i do have laminate :laugh:

Basically in my rents room it goes like this: hole in the wall where the main cable comes through, that plugs into the NTL/Virgin box thing, then thats plugged into our linksys shit box. I dont think my mum would be too happy to have an ethernet cable trailing through her hallway, but i can have a look :toast:

Still, im going to pay to have the cable moved i think.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.06/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#8
Well if you wan't a faster wireless go for the N band series of router although they cost an arm, a leg and a ball. But a wireless connection will always be slower than a wired one.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#9
Lol i do have laminate :laugh:

Basically in my rents room it goes like this: hole in the wall where the main cable comes through, that plugs into the NTL/Virgin box thing, then thats plugged into our linksys shit box. I dont think my mum would be too happy to have an ethernet cable trailing through her hallway, but i can have a look :toast:

Still, im going to pay to have the cable moved i think.
You could prob do it your self TBH. I would.
you can get extension cables from argos, failing that ring em up (if they understand a word your saying :rolleyes: ) and see how much it is. Let us know if they are ripping you off or not ;)
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#10
You could prob do it your self TBH. I would.
you can get extension cables from argos, failing that ring em up (if they understand a word your saying :rolleyes: ) and see how much it is. Let us know if they are ripping you off or not ;)
It would probably end up costing me an arm and a leg in extension cabling though :banghead: Im going to price check an uber long ethernet cable, then ask my dad about moving the cable tonight. It just gets really frustrating when your downloading stuff at 100Kbps :wtf:
 

Msap14

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
156 (0.05/day)
Likes
10
Location
US
System Name Piece
Processor Ahtlon 2 X2 3GHz
Motherboard AsRock
Cooling Big sink and fan
Memory 4GB
Video Card(s) 9600
Storage three , don't remember what they are
Display(s) Asus 22" wide
Case Xigmatek
Power Supply a good one
#11
I have a D-link, Wireless N. the thing works great, never had any problems and never get any lag.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,190 (0.32/day)
Likes
579
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) @Norton F@H Kreij GigaByte 7950 ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III / XFX HD5870-XXX Edition
Storage Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,moved to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
#12
I switched from a Dlink to the Buffolo MiMo with DD WRT software and its no comparision to the dlink. It came with the 10ft antenna so allows for better placement. Running 2@sometimes 3 laptop.
My pc is wired though, but the wireless is able to overpower from stock.
Big differance from a regular router!!!
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (1.00/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#13

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,927 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,026
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#14
D-Link DGL-4500 here. I like the Gamefuel feature which allows you to specify priority (0-255) for IP/Port activity. The DIR-655 is the DGL-4500's little brother.

It has some bugs like DDNS didn't work until I updated to 1.5 and it seems to default to give all the bandwidth to whomever is using the most but, it seems like those issues have been resolved for the most part. Would buy again, definitely.


By the way, I had a Linksys WRT-600 for a few days. I tried to play UT3 online and wholy intermittent lag, Batman! I plugged in my D-Link DI-724U and the problem immediately went away. I sent it back for a refund. And it was supposed to be the best router around. Linksys = never again.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.41/day)
Likes
173
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
#15
WRT54G v2.0-4.0, WRT54GS v1.0-3.0

install OpenWRT + X-Wrt[webif2]

why do this? becuase it gives you full controll of everything [if you game/overclock youll know how important that can be...] and becuase its 100% stable i have never had openWRT crash not even 1 time in like 2 years., no crappy performance, no crashes, always flawless, and exactly as you want. i couldnt imagin useing anything other than openWRT or IOS [cisco's good router os]

X-Wrt = web interface for openWRT, a very good one, now imho its definatly far surpassed the one in DD-WRT, i dont really need to sell it, if you dont want to, go ahead and get a like 200 dollar gaming router, let it crash for a month or so untill your so frustraited you want to cry, then get it :p either way you will eventually end up getting it.

also, there are other hardware options, like if youw ant wireless N, or if you want THE VERY BEST you could get a good avila gateworks router, those are sweet and i am planning on getting one someday.

gl
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
1,062 (0.31/day)
Likes
68
System Name REBEL R1
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Stock
Memory 6GB OCZ GOLD TC LV Kit 1866MHz@1.65V 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Two Sapphire HD 5770 Vapor-X Xfire'd and OC'd (920/1330)
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB 32MB
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D1 PCI Sound Card
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 500W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 16585 Performance Score on 3DMark Vantage
#16
Any wireless router is a good one, as long as it includes Wireless N.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#18
I use a Dlink DIR-655, has 2 notebooks and an xbox that game on it at the same time and it runs great, pings are only slightly higher than wired and it doesn't lock up.