• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Fastest AM3 CPU for AM2NF3-VSTA

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jayzilla

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2009
Messages
85 (0.03/day)
Likes
15
#1
Hi people. First. Happy New Year to yo'll.

My title probably said it all. That is best AGP board I can find around. I already have some kick ass DDR2 memories and some highest-end AGP cards like the Gainward 7800GS+, XFX 7900-7950 and the GECUBE HX195XTGA3-D3 which is I don't have it yet. My goal is to max out the AGP cards I have. Please don't tell me to upgrade. I'm a AGP Nerd.

http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Model=AM2NF3-VSTA
That is the board I have.

Here is the CPU support list.
http://www.asrock.com/mb/cpu.asp?Model=AM2NF3-VSTA

The top CPU of that list is AMD Phenom II X4 970 3.5GHz. My questions are will this board support a 6-core CPU? They are AM3 socket. If so what is the fastest stock-speed AM3 CPU I could buy?
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.08/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#2
Umm AM3 and AGP don't mix.

Honestly I wouldnt use anything higher then a 775 p4 chip or 939 athlon x2 with agp.

But if you insist the highest chip the motherboard with support is the 970. According to the support list it will not do x6 chips, which would be a waste anyways.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
271 (0.12/day)
Likes
68
Location
Scotland
System Name Just need to tidy it up now
Processor FX-8120
Motherboard Asus M5A99X EVO 990X
Cooling Custom Water
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 280 H2OC
Storage OCZ ocz vertex plus(60GB), 2TB hdd
Display(s) 1x ACER x19ws ( need new one)
Case Custom
Power Supply (GOT) OCZ GameXStream 1010 Watt
Software LOL
Benchmark Scores Soon, very very soon, just need to tidy it up.
#3
No talking you out of AGP...ok wont try :)

No x6 support sorry .

I wouldnt go for the AMD Phenom II X4 970 3.5GHz, I would go for the AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2GHz and overclock just a touch for 970 speeds.

You are saving yourself £30+ (well that would be the saving in UK.
You have the hardware to OC so whats the point in spending the extra money for the 970.
Though your question is "whats the fastest stock speed" and that is the AMD Phenom II X4 970
 

Jayzilla

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2009
Messages
85 (0.03/day)
Likes
15
#4
Umm AM3 and AGP don't mix.

Honestly I wouldnt use anything higher then a 775 p4 chip or 939 athlon x2 with agp.

But if you insist the highest chip the motherboard with support is the 970. According to the support list it will not do x6 chips, which would be a waste anyways.
No talking you out of AGP...ok wont try :)

No x6 support sorry .

I wouldnt go for the AMD Phenom II X4 970 3.5GHz, I would go for the AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2GHz and overclock just a touch for 970 speeds.

You are saving yourself £30+ (well that would be the saving in UK.
You have the hardware to OC so whats the point in spending the extra money for the 970.
Though your question is "whats the fastest stock speed" and that is the AMD Phenom II X4 970
.

I bet that CPU Support List hasn't been updated for years. What is the chance of this board will run with a 6core CPU? Maybe nobody even bother to try and waste time on the old stuff. For exp: If this board support Phenom II X4 970. It should support 975 and 980. They are in Deneb family and AM3 socket, but these two Quadies doesn't in that list and they are came out in 2011. This board is from 5-6 years ago.

Most of my hardware are discontinued long time ago. They are pretty hard to replace because once they are gone. They are gone FOREVER. So I never OC them. I just like to collect them.

I just found out the Phenom II X4 980 3.7GHz is the fastest AM3 quady :)
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.08/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#5
What do u mean not updated in years? The last BIOS updates are to increase CPU compatibility. Very small chance that the board may run an x6 thuban or newer x4. I wouldn't bother though waste of time and money. Those ago cards would bottleneck an AM3 sempron. Don't spend another penny on your current rig. Keep it as a backup and save for a new PC.

Edit: People on hardforum are saying the exact same thing:
http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1662209
 
Last edited:

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,880 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,413
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#6
Very small chance that the board may run an x6 thuban or newer x4.
They do run newer x4's. Says nothing about x6's though. But yeah, I agree that for serious use anything AGP based is not enough.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#7
Since it appears you are just getting it to play with some old cards I can respect that. NF3 is an aging platform to play with....Good luck with drivers I had to use some old beta vista 64 bit drivers to install windows 7 on my NF3 s754 board. It supports the Phenom X4 970 you may as well go with it. It probably will never support thuban if I had to guess I would say the board is lacking some bits and bobs for it to work. It also shows no 960T support so its not just an X6 thing.


I can't say anything for keeping old shit alive I still have more fun clocking my s754 stuff than more modern stuff. It has gotten to easy :shadedshu
 

Jayzilla

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2009
Messages
85 (0.03/day)
Likes
15
#8
What do u mean not updated in years? The last BIOS updates are to increase CPU compatibility. Very small chance that the board may run an x6 thuban or newer x4. I wouldn't bother though waste of time and money. Those ago cards would bottleneck an AM3 sempron. Don't spend another penny on your current rig. Keep it as a backup and save for a new PC.

Edit: People on hardforum are saying the exact same thing:
http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1662209
The CPU support list isn't complete so I'm guessing they don't bother to update the info. As I mentioned earlier they don't have 750 and 780 in that list.

From the replies from you guys I think I have to give up buying a 6-core CPU, but I'll give it a try if I ever have a chance.

A penny? I think I spend more than 1K on AGP and DDR memories in this year. I resell them if I need to. You might think "this guy is nuts". What do you think of some one driving a shinny 65 Mustang? :) I just like to keep and collect old stuff.

That guy a HF is me. These are the only forums I stick around.

Since it appears you are just getting it to play with some old cards I can respect that. NF3 is an aging platform to play with....Good luck with drivers I had to use some old beta vista 64 bit drivers to install windows 7 on my NF3 s754 board. It supports the Phenom X4 970 you may as well go with it. It probably will never support thuban if I had to guess I would say the board is lacking some bits and bobs for it to work. It also shows no 960T support so its not just an X6 thing.


I can't say anything for keeping old shit alive I still have more fun clocking my s754 stuff than more modern stuff. It has gotten to easy :shadedshu
No shit. I have that board too and a Lanparty NF4 with a Opteron 185 on it. For AGP and DDR parts I only run Windows XP 64 bit so I don't have much to worry about drivers. I have an i7 for games and a laptop to use daily basic.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.08/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#9
A penny? I think I spend more than 1K on AGP and DDR memories in this year. I resell them if I need to. You might think "this guy is nuts". What do you think of some one driving a shinny 65 Mustang? I just like to keep and collect old stuff.
:roll:

Im sorry but that comment just made my day. Thats a completely irrelevant comparison. A 65 mustang in good shape (shinny) increases in value compared to its original investment, for the most part agp does not. A 65 mustang can go the speed limit on the road, an agp card cannot keep up at the same speeds as current cars. A 65 mustang is street legal, an agp card is not allowed in current pci-e slots. See where I am going with this... :p

The CPU support list isn't complete so I'm guessing they don't bother to update the info. As I mentioned earlier they don't have 750 and 780 in that list.
Of course its not complete, but the latest bios update was to provide cpu codes to run the 970 x4. Nothing newer. They havent released a more update to date bios update to run the x4 975 or x4 980. Now that doesnt mean they won't work but it wont officially be supported by the bios, may not run at correct speeds, or just may not work at all. That being said might just work 100% fine but I wouldnt bet on it.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#10
I bet that CPU Support List hasn't been updated for years.
Looking at the power delivery components of your motherboard, there's no way it's going to handle a 6 core CPU. The PII 970 is a newer chip, so the CPU list has been updated recently.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#11
i think a sempron is max those cards out.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,805
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#12
http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?p=1038200474

check that for your answer.

And Save your Money For a System Upgrade, not just the CPU but a motherboard, Video card, Ram, Powersupply.

My Bros Machine cost about 600 bux (Built it of course) and without any software tweaks, boots and shuts down in a minute and Plays all HD content just fine (he dont game so im unaware of the 6770s capabilities)

To Top it off you would critically hamper the CPUs Capability because of the HT bus being slower and plus the Ram being under spec. If you want an X6 its time to upgrade it all. Just keep the other machine as a spare.
 
Last edited:

Jayzilla

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2009
Messages
85 (0.03/day)
Likes
15
#13
:roll:

Im sorry but that comment just made my day. Thats a completely irrelevant comparison. A 65 mustang in good shape (shinny) increases in value compared to its original investment, for the most part agp does not. A 65 mustang can go the speed limit on the road, an agp card cannot keep up at the same speeds as current cars. A 65 mustang is street legal, an agp card is not allowed in current pci-e slots. See where I am going with this... :p

No need to sorry man. Glad that I made your day, I did not make any comparison. In fact, you did! My point is some people collect old stuff as a hobby.

Of course its not complete, but the latest bios update was to provide cpu codes to run the 970 x4. Nothing newer. They havent released a more update to date bios update to run the x4 975 or x4 980. Now that doesnt mean they won't work but it wont officially be supported by the bios, may not run at correct speeds, or just may not work at all. That being said might just work 100% fine but I wouldnt bet on it.
The last CPU update code for this board is 3/5/2010, and the Phenom II X4 970 was released on 9/21/2010. So the last code wasn't designed for 970 specifically but it does support the chip. Why excludes the 975 and 980? They are in the same Deneb family. That is my reason to believed. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Looking at the power delivery components of your motherboard, there's no way it's going to handle a 6 core CPU. The PII 970 is a newer chip, so the CPU list has been updated recently.
I have a tool/code that able to tell if a website has been updated. But I forgot what is it.

i think a sempron is max those cards out.
I got a much better score with my Athlon 6400+ AM2. I made a jump from a Sempron last week.

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?p=1038200474

check that for your answer.

And Save your Money For a System Upgrade, not just the CPU but a motherboard, Video card, Ram, Powersupply.

My Bros Machine cost about 600 bux (Built it of course) and without any software tweaks, boots and shuts down in a minute and Plays all HD content just fine (he dont game so im unaware of the 6770s capabilities)

To Top it off you would critically hamper the CPUs Capability because of the HT bus being slower and plus the Ram being under spec. If you want an X6 its time to upgrade it all. Just keep the other machine as a spare.
Please understand I do this for hobby. I have a gaming machine and a home server.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
1,126 (0.29/day)
Likes
651
Location
Repentigny, QC, CANADA
System Name CTG Computer
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.3ghz 1.264v
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 2x 8gb Mushkin Blackline 2133mhz@2400mhz 11-13-13-31-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256gb (OS) | Crucial MX100 256gb (games) | Silicon Power S55 240gb (Games)
Display(s) Asus vg248qe
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster Z PCI-E
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 750w G2
Mouse CM Mizar
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
First, remember this:

*If you use AM3 / AM2+ CPU on AM2 chipset motherboard, the system bus speed will downgrade from HT3.0 (5200 MT/s) to HT1.0 (2000 MT/s), but the CPU frequency will not be influenced.

*If you adopt AMD Phenom™ X4 AM2+ CPU on this motherboard with AGP VGA cards, please click here for AGP VGA Card support list.


Your HT will drop to the 1.0 instead 3. And there a re a list of graphics card that are supported here: http://www.asrock.com/support/note/AM2NF3-VSTA.html#Phenom
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#15
you should worry more about getting a motherboard instead IMO.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#16
First, remember this:

*If you use AM3 / AM2+ CPU on AM2 chipset motherboard, the system bus speed will downgrade from HT3.0 (5200 MT/s) to HT1.0 (2000 MT/s), but the CPU frequency will not be influenced.

*If you adopt AMD Phenom™ X4 AM2+ CPU on this motherboard with AGP VGA cards, please click here for AGP VGA Card support list.


Your HT will drop to the 1.0 instead 3. And there a re a list of graphics card that are supported here: http://www.asrock.com/support/note/AM2NF3-VSTA.html#Phenom
That is the same with all of these style boards it was designed before HT3 came out and thats why it downgrades. The video cards are known support it is the style AGP slot it has that limits support most modern cards work without issues.

you should worry more about getting a motherboard instead IMO.
Why? AGP boards are rare and hard to find with that amount of support
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,805
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#17
The Highest your gonna get is the X4, 975/980 will not be recognized properly. X6 will not work with it.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,461
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#18
The Highest your gonna get is the X4, 975/980 will not be recognized properly. X6 will not work with it.
That is assuming the FID/VID settings go correct. they might ned up being a 800mhz chip because it cannot set the FID.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,805
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#19
That is assuming the FID/VID settings go correct. they might ned up being a 800mhz chip because it cannot set the FID.
compatibility on the site states 970 BE and thats the highest it can go without requiring another Bios Update
 

Jayzilla

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2009
Messages
85 (0.03/day)
Likes
15
#20
No talking you out of AGP...ok wont try :)

No x6 support sorry .

I wouldnt go for the AMD Phenom II X4 970 3.5GHz, I would go for the AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2GHz and overclock just a touch for 970 speeds.

You are saving yourself £30+ (well that would be the saving in UK.
You have the hardware to OC so whats the point in spending the extra money for the 970.
Though your question is "whats the fastest stock speed" and that is the AMD Phenom II X4 970


The Highest your gonna get is the X4, 975/980 will not be recognized properly. X6 will not work with it.
compatibility on the site states 970 BE and thats the highest it can go without requiring another Bios Update
:roll:

Im sorry but that comment just made my day. Thats a completely irrelevant comparison. A 65 mustang in good shape (shinny) increases in value compared to its original investment, for the most part agp does not. A 65 mustang can go the speed limit on the road, an agp card cannot keep up at the same speeds as current cars. A 65 mustang is street legal, an agp card is not allowed in current pci-e slots. See where I am going with this... :p



Of course its not complete, but the latest bios update was to provide cpu codes to run the 970 x4. Nothing newer. They havent released a more update to date bios update to run the x4 975 or x4 980. Now that doesnt mean they won't work but it wont officially be supported by the bios, may not run at correct speeds, or just may not work at all. That being said might just work 100% fine but I wouldnt bet on it.
Dudes. I have been right alone in the CPU support list. IT DOES SUPPORTS Phenom II X4 980! I have it in my system right fkin now. It changed my point of view in the hardware forever. I also tried the Phenom II X6 1045T without succeed. Sadly some of the Futuremark benchmark scores are lower than my Duo-core.

Interestingly I found a thread that some one is running a X6 on this board.

http://futuremark.yougamers.com/for...dom-motherboard-of-the-day-Asrock-AM2NF3-VSTA

Sorry that takes me a while to collect all the parts. Now I have the fastest Phenom and the fastest AGP. I just need a some water cooling stuff and lots of modding part to start a work log. I promise this would be the coolest AGP system ever if not the fastest.




First, remember this:

*If you use AM3 / AM2+ CPU on AM2 chipset motherboard, the system bus speed will downgrade from HT3.0 (5200 MT/s) to HT1.0 (2000 MT/s), but the CPU frequency will not be influenced.

*If you adopt AMD Phenom™ X4 AM2+ CPU on this motherboard with AGP VGA cards, please click here for AGP VGA Card support list.


Your HT will drop to the 1.0 instead 3. And there a re a list of graphics card that are supported here: http://www.asrock.com/support/note/AM2NF3-VSTA.html#Phenom
That list doesn't have the HD3850. So I'm fine. And I tried them all too.
 
Last edited:

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,880 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,413
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#23
Old thread, but are you the same jayzilla that hangs on GN? If yes, this is completely retarded. You have money.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#24
AGP IS Dead GIVE IT UP AGP is not even old enough to be worth a 'retro' build
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2013
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Philippines
#25
Frick

I'm master_rigbuilder don't mistake me for someone else mind your own!


OneMoar

This is what I want to build AGP retro or modern if I want the system unit I will build it mind your own!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.