• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Faulty i5 3570K ?

jojo24

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi all! ( im new here! )

P.S. I'm hoping for smart/experianced techy people to approve it or otherwise ;)

Important - ALL parts are double tested so they work 100%! ( except for i5 3570K which seems to be the problem no matter mobo, ram or whatsoever ).

I wonder if my i5 3570K is faulty?

System is: Gigabyte H77-DS3 / Kingston RAM 4GB x 2 / i5 3570K / Chieftec PSU 650W

It all worked fine for 5 month, afterwards Windows 7 64bit crashed to BSoD - after restart it crashed again after 15min... later it didn't boot past Windows 7 splash screen (froze and BSoD ). Same with installing any Windows ( even with no HDD/SSD attached, only DVD rom or USB key with Windows 7 install ) - can't get past Windows logo splash screen - basicly I can't even start the installation. Also, Safe Mode failed to load too.

I tried different parts like ASUS P8Z77-V LK / different Kingston RAM... no changes.

Then I tried different CPU ( Celeron G550, cheapo LGA 1155 CPU ) and it all works with no problems!


SO, the question is - is my i5 3570K faulty or there is something specific about UEFI bios? Must consider that it worked just fine for 5 month.

Thank you in advance!
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,242 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,821
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#2
what BSOD did u get?


Hi all! ( im new here! )

I wonder if my i5 3570K is faulty?

System is: Gigabyte H77-DS3 / Kingston RAM 4GB x 2 / i5 3570K / Chieftec PSU 650W

It all worked fine for 5 month, afterwards Windows 7 64bit crashed to BSoD - after restart it crashed again after 15min... later it didn't boot past Windows 7 splash screen (froze and BSoD ). Same with installing any Windows ( even with no HDD/SSD attached, only DVD rom or USB key with Windows 7 install ) - can't get past Windows logo splash screen - basicly I can't even start the installation. Also, Safe Mode failed to load too.

I tried different parts like ASUS P8Z77-V LK / different Kingston RAM... no changes.

Then I tried different CPU ( Celeron G550, cheapo LGA 1155 CPU ) and it all works with no problems!


SO, the question is - is my i5 3570K faulty or there is something specific about UEFI bios? Must consider that it worked just fine for 5 month.

Thank you in advance!
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2005
Messages
609 (0.13/day)
Likes
76
Location
London, UK
System Name this_is_so_leet_it_needs_no_name
Processor Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8 P67-M Pro
Cooling MUX-120 with Dual Fan
Memory Samsung Memory DDR3 2133 Overclocked (non LP)
Video Card(s) XFX ATI/AMD 5870 1gb @ [tbc]
Storage 2*2tb Samsung Raid 0 + 64gb Kingston SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HDBL LED monitor
Case Lian Li PC-60 old skool alu case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD PCI-Express (great)
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Win 7 64bit
#4
Did you swap out everything else to rule it out? GPU, PSU, case (if you used one)?

If so, go for warranty, looks like you need it. I think that BSOD is CPU / oc, or memory normally.

edit: it's a CPU! It's either 100% functional at stock speeds or it's just broken. Get a warranty replacement - you shouldn't have any trouble.
 
Last edited:

jojo24

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#5
Did you swap out everything else to rule it out? GPU, PSU, case (if you used one)?

If so, go for warranty, looks like you need it. I think that BSOD is CPU / oc, or memory normally.
Yes. Only the CPU makes a difference ( no matter mobo, ram or whatever ).

I presume it is kind of half-faulty or something?

I just wanted to make sure before returning it.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
did you disable page file?

0x0000009c is caused by faulty speedstep settings(clock change), software, overclocking, and missing pagefile, from my experience.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,517 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#7
After googling stop code 9c, some people resolved theirs with a PSU change.
 

jojo24

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#8
did you disable page file?

0x0000009c is caused by faulty speedstep settings(clock change), software, overclocking, and missing pagefile, from my experience.
I'm not sure; I didn't change any parameters for CPU, RAM or whatsoever. No overclock.

I mean, I just need to change CPU and it works!

Again, it worked for 5 months... now does it matter weather Page File is disabled or not? I mean it can't work for 5 months and suddenly pooof, now can it?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,242 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,821
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#10
try reseating the CPU properly (take it out of the motherboard)- use thermal compound on the heatsink and attach that properly. see what it does...

0x0000009C: MACHINE_CHECK_EXCEPTION
(Click to consult the online MSDN article.)
This is a hardware issue: an unrecoverable hardware error has occurred. The parameters have different meanings depending on what type of CPU you have but, while diagnostic, rarely lead to a clear solution. Most commonly it results from overheating, from failed hardware (RAM, CPU, hardware bus, power supply, etc.), or from pushing hardware beyond its capabilities (e.g., overclocking a CPU).

Error Message: STOP: 0x0000009C... {KB 329284} Win XP
Understanding and Troubleshooting the Stop 0x0000009C Screen {KB 162363} Win NT4, Win 2000
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#11
I mean it can't work for 5 months and suddenly pooof, now can it?
If the page file is disabled, and for some reason an app needs it, then yes, it can suddenly "go poof", if nothing else needed the pagefile.


As to Brandon's suggestion about PSU, he is very right, and this links into my own post about speed-step issues. Apparantly, PSU with noise -12V can cause issues when power saving features are enabled.


PSUs do wear with time, so this is a very likely scenario, and more likely than the CPU being the culprit, especially since other CPUs you tested, by the ones listed, are likely to draw less power and not have as big of clock changes.

I'm waiting now, right now, for a new PSU for my test rig FOR THIS EXACT problem, noisy -12V. The PSU appears to work fine on many boards except a few select ones.


Not to say it IS the PSU, but I would not be so quick to eliminate it as a potential cause.

Could even be the board's VRM, too...for me, anything with capacitors is a potential cause for issues that crop up like this. :p
 

jojo24

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#12
try reseating the CPU properly (take it out of the motherboard)- use thermal compound on the heatsink and attach that properly. see what it does...

0x0000009C: MACHINE_CHECK_EXCEPTION
(Click to consult the online MSDN article.)
This is a hardware issue: an unrecoverable hardware error has occurred. The parameters have different meanings depending on what type of CPU you have but, while diagnostic, rarely lead to a clear solution. Most commonly it results from overheating, from failed hardware (RAM, CPU, hardware bus, power supply, etc.), or from pushing hardware beyond its capabilities (e.g., overclocking a CPU).

Error Message: STOP: 0x0000009C... {KB 329284} Win XP
Understanding and Troubleshooting the Stop 0x0000009C Screen {KB 162363} Win NT4, Win 2000
Temps are fine for all 4 cores, I can see that in UEFI bios. I have quite experiance with building my own custom PCs, basic things are all done correctly, I'm sure of it ;)
 

jojo24

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#13
If the page file is disabled, and for some reason an app needs it, then yes, it can suddenly "go poof", if nothing else needed the pagefile.


As to Brandon's suggestion about PSU, he is very right, and this links into my own post about speed-step issues. Apparantly, PSU with noise -12V can cause issues when power saving features are enabled.


PSUs do wear with time, so this is a very likely scenario, and more likely than the CPU being the culprit, especially since other CPUs you tested, by the ones listed, are likely to draw less power and not have as big of clock changes.

I'm waiting now, right now, for a new PSU for my test rig FOR THIS EXACT problem, noisy -12V. The PSU appears to work fine on many boards except a few select ones.


Not to say it IS the PSU, but I would not be so quick to eliminate it as a potential cause.

Could even be the board's VRM, too...for me, anything with capacitors is a potential cause for issues that crop up like this. :p
I will check the Page File, but I'm almost sure it wont change a thing.

As for PSU, it is rather new; it does handle ASUS GTX 670 2GB with no problems.

BUT I must say the problems started while playing Assassins Creed 3 hmm...

ALSO, the W difference between Celeron G550 (65W) and i5 3570K (77W) is very little.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#14
What make is the PSU? Have you tried to take out the GTX670 and only use the integrated GPU?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#15
9c is usually one of two things, either:

1. More VCore required or
2. More QPI/VTT volts required (most likely solution)

Try each of them, bet it solves it ;)

I have a list of about 20 common error codes related to Bloomfield, SB and IB and it has always worked for me, rarely wrong!
 

jojo24

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#16
What make is the PSU? Have you tried to take out the GTX670 and only use the integrated GPU?
Of course, that's the first thing I did. The only parts involded are: two mobos, two types of kingston ram, same PSU and two CPUs ( and DVD-rom or USB key for Windows install ) That's it.

Again, all of these parts are working, except when combined with i5 3570K.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#17
Ok, then I'd think CPU as well, might as well contact Intel to swap it out. It does happen..it's rare, but not utterly uncommon.

9c is usually one of two things, either:

1. More VCore required or
2. More QPI/VTT volts required (most likely solution)

Try each of them, bet it solves it ;)

I have a list of about 20 common error codes related to Bloomfield, SB and IB and it has always worked for me, rarely wrong!


When OC'd, sure, but at stock, there should be no need for such adjustments. Not all those codes we have listed there apply to IVB either, specifically the QPI/VTT thing.
 

jojo24

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#18
9c is usually one of two things, either:

1. More VCore required or
2. More QPI/VTT volts required (most likely solution)

Try each of them, bet it solves it ;)

I have a list of about 20 common error codes related to Bloomfield, SB and IB and it has always worked for me, rarely wrong!
BUT HOW comes that it worked for 5 months in a row?? I didn't touch UEFI bios before.
 

jojo24

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#19
Okay then, I will presume it's the faulty i5 3570K.

Thank you all for your time/help!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,242 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,821
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#20
Okay then, I will presume it's the faulty i5 3570K.

Thank you all for your time/help!
considering you dont have another motherboard to test that chip in
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
630 (0.14/day)
Likes
156
Location
A suburb of Chicago, IL
System Name The W.O.P.R.
Processor Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.0GHz 1.24 vcore
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Xigmatek S1283 with push\pull fan configuration.
Memory 6GB Mushkin DDR3 1600MHz 7-8-7-20
Video Card(s) 2 - ASUS EAH5850 CrossfireX
Storage 1TB WD Black
Display(s) I-INC 28" 1920x1200 HDMI
Case Ultra M998
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
#21
9c is usually one of two things, either:

1. More VCore required or
2. More QPI/VTT volts required (most likely solution)

Try each of them, bet it solves it ;)

I have a list of about 20 common error codes related to Bloomfield, SB and IB and it has always worked for me, rarely wrong!
Care to post that list? Could be helpful to a lot of us :toast:
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#22

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#23
BUT HOW comes that it worked for 5 months in a row?? I didn't touch UEFI bios before.
There was a minor issue talked about in the Gigabyte support forums about 18 months ago claiming stability issues with some H77 boards (the budget ones I think) not holding consistent QPI voltages when set to auto, if I remember rightly those few (and thats all it was) who set the volts manually solved the problem, not sure if any later Bios releases addressed the issue because as I said, I don't think it was that widespread, of course that might not be what is causing your issue at all, just thought it might be worth trying before you return the CPU.

Care to post that list? Could be helpful to a lot of us :toast:
Mine is different to Dave's but only a paper copy, there are a few more on my list and there is a little more detail within the explanations with some specific SB and IB updates on it, when I have a few I will type it up
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#25
Mine is different to Dave's but only a paper copy, there are a few more on my list and there is a little more detail within the explanations with some specific SB and IB updates on it, when I have a few I will type it up
I'd love to see it myself. That other list is good for older platforms, but SB/SBE/IVB have different codes even from one to the next, and many codes can indicate more than one type of fault.

Personally, I have this bookmarked, perhaps you can make use of it.:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/hh994433(v=vs.85).aspx

My favorite is this one:

0xDEADDEAD - MANUALLY_INITIATED_CRASH1


The Double Dead BSOD.

:roll: