• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Faulty RX 480 8GB Code 43 No artifacting

Galactic

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2022
Messages
2 (0.05/day)
Hi All,
New to the Forums. I recently bought an xfx rx 480 8gb and upon putting it in my system I found it was unable to install drivers. This was my first AMD gpu so I thought that having bad drivers was just normal but i checked device manager and found the infamous code 43 error. Now I could return it instantly on ebay but i would like to get a small understanding of the problem before send it away or potentially revive it. Nobodies tried to tamper with the card, the original stickers are in place. I can't take a look at the pcb for obvious signs of damage because it has got a backplate. I fear it has been mined on like most 8gb ones. Could it be a mining bios??
 

Attachments

  • Ellesmere.rom
    256 KB · Views: 12
  • gpuzrx480.PNG
    gpuzrx480.PNG
    45.9 KB · Views: 29
  • code43.PNG
    code43.PNG
    14.8 KB · Views: 29
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
438 (0.31/day)
Location
Uttar Pradesh, India
Processor AMD R7 1700X @ 4100Mhz
Motherboard MSI B450M MORTAR MAX (MS-7B89)
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory Crucial Technology 16GB DR (DDR4-3600) - C9BLM:045M:E BL16G36C16U4W.M16FE1 X2 @ CL14
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 GTR 8GB @ 1408Mhz (AMD Auto OC)
Storage Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250GB
Display(s) Acer KG271 1080p @ 81Hz
Power Supply SuperFlower Leadex II 750W 80+ Gold
Keyboard Redragon Devarajas RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 (10.0) Professional 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/mvvj3a
Check if the card has dual BIOS switch. Miners rarely flash both BIOSes.

If it has a mining BIOS you would have to disable driver signature enforcement for drivers to work unless
you flash it back to original.

Worst case code 43 can also mean hardware failure
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
1,071 (2.25/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office1 / Office 2
Processor Intel i7 7700k / Ryzen 7 5700G
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M / MSI MAG X570S - TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI
Cooling Zalman / AMD
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX / 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL - 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5700XT THICC III Ultra 8GB / XFX RX 6600XT 8GB
Storage 1st : 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb + 4x SAS HDD in RAID / 2nd : 1 Tb SSD Nvme Samsung 970 EVO PLUS
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 / GENESIS IRID 300
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster / Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W / Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G502 HERO / Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205 / Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software 1st - Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu / 2nd - Windows 11 Pro
Hello.
Yes the BIOS file you provided from your card, was modded.
So the card was used for mining.
Because you do not have the original file, rather then searching a BIOS for it and test it if it works or not, if it is stable or not, then return it to sender fast.
My personal point of view : return to seller
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,330 (6.76/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hi All,
New to the Forums. I recently bought an xfx rx 480 8gb and upon putting it in my system I found it was unable to install drivers. This was my first AMD gpu so I thought that having bad drivers was just normal but i checked device manager and found the infamous code 43 error. Now I could return it instantly on ebay but i would like to get a small understanding of the problem before send it away or potentially revive it. Nobodies tried to tamper with the card, the original stickers are in place. I can't take a look at the pcb for obvious signs of damage because it has got a backplate. I fear it has been mined on like most 8gb ones. Could it be a mining bios??

Hello.
Yes the BIOS file you provided from your card, was modded.
So the card was used for mining.
Because you do not have the original file, rather then searching a BIOS for it and test it if it works or not, if it is stable or not, then return it to sender fast.
My personal point of view : return to seller
Either return it or get the white sticker pics from the card back and re-open gpu-z, go to the Advanced Tab and click the grey chevron in the General context menu, and then select ram/memory timings and get a screenshot from there.

Fyi 4G cards have been mined with as well, the reason being is because unlike RX Vega and newer or GTX 1000 and newer they can't be modded.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
1,071 (2.25/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office1 / Office 2
Processor Intel i7 7700k / Ryzen 7 5700G
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M / MSI MAG X570S - TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI
Cooling Zalman / AMD
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX / 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL - 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5700XT THICC III Ultra 8GB / XFX RX 6600XT 8GB
Storage 1st : 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb + 4x SAS HDD in RAID / 2nd : 1 Tb SSD Nvme Samsung 970 EVO PLUS
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 / GENESIS IRID 300
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster / Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W / Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G502 HERO / Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205 / Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software 1st - Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu / 2nd - Windows 11 Pro
memory type
 

Attachments

  • How to check memory type.jpg
    How to check memory type.jpg
    624.2 KB · Views: 19

Galactic

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2022
Messages
2 (0.05/day)
Thanks guys,
It have ntogot a dual bios switch, it's the blower style one. I decided to get it returned and the person has accepted my return request despite saying no returns. I am pretty sure they knew it was faulty. They haven't sent the parcel sticker yet so there is a chance that I might get to keep it here. If that's so, I will get to experimenting properly.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
438 (0.31/day)
Location
Uttar Pradesh, India
Processor AMD R7 1700X @ 4100Mhz
Motherboard MSI B450M MORTAR MAX (MS-7B89)
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory Crucial Technology 16GB DR (DDR4-3600) - C9BLM:045M:E BL16G36C16U4W.M16FE1 X2 @ CL14
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 GTR 8GB @ 1408Mhz (AMD Auto OC)
Storage Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250GB
Display(s) Acer KG271 1080p @ 81Hz
Power Supply SuperFlower Leadex II 750W 80+ Gold
Keyboard Redragon Devarajas RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 (10.0) Professional 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/mvvj3a
One more thing you can try without doing somthing like flashing the BIOS.

Run AMD pixel clock patcher. Once the driver is pacthed it will disable BIOS signature check and the driver should
load if there is a mining BIOS installed and the card does not have another hardware related issue.


If it doesn't load after the driver is patched and you reboot the system then its a good sign of hardware failure.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,330 (6.76/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Thanks guys,
It have ntogot a dual bios switch, it's the blower style one. I decided to get it returned and the person has accepted my return request despite saying no returns. I am pretty sure they knew it was faulty. They haven't sent the parcel sticker yet so there is a chance that I might get to keep it here. If that's so, I will get to experimenting properly.

Always go through etailers for gpus, I suggest you get a RX 5500/5600XT, or a RX 6600

One more thing you can try without doing somthing like flashing the BIOS.

Run AMD pixel clock patcher. Once the driver is pacthed it will disable BIOS signature check and the driver should
load if there is a mining BIOS installed and the card does not have another hardware related issue.


If it doesn't load after the driver is patched and you reboot the system then its a good sign of hardware failure.
No patching of any gpu driver should be required
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
438 (0.31/day)
Location
Uttar Pradesh, India
Processor AMD R7 1700X @ 4100Mhz
Motherboard MSI B450M MORTAR MAX (MS-7B89)
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory Crucial Technology 16GB DR (DDR4-3600) - C9BLM:045M:E BL16G36C16U4W.M16FE1 X2 @ CL14
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 GTR 8GB @ 1408Mhz (AMD Auto OC)
Storage Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250GB
Display(s) Acer KG271 1080p @ 81Hz
Power Supply SuperFlower Leadex II 750W 80+ Gold
Keyboard Redragon Devarajas RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 (10.0) Professional 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/mvvj3a
Always go through etailers for gpus, I suggest you get a RX 5500/5600XT, or a RX 6600


No patching of any gpu driver should be required
Cards that have modifed mining BIOS will not load AMD drivers after install and reboot and display code 43.
Its common knowledge at this point.

The OP suspects the card was used for mining hence it may have a mining BIOS that will not work without the BIOS check disabled.
Screenshot 2022-07-04 at 10-46-54 AMD_ATI Pixel Clock Patcher 1.4.13 crop.jpg
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,330 (6.76/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Cards that have modifed mining BIOS will not load AMD drivers after install and reboot and display code 43.
Its common knowledge at this point.

The OP suspects the card was used for mining hence it may have a mining BIOS that will not work without the BIOS check disabled.
View attachment 253510
Ofc i know that, I do bios restoration. Its bs any user has to patch their gpu driver though.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
1,071 (2.25/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office1 / Office 2
Processor Intel i7 7700k / Ryzen 7 5700G
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M / MSI MAG X570S - TOMAHAWK MAX WIFI
Cooling Zalman / AMD
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX / 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL - 3600Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5700XT THICC III Ultra 8GB / XFX RX 6600XT 8GB
Storage 1st : 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb + 4x SAS HDD in RAID / 2nd : 1 Tb SSD Nvme Samsung 970 EVO PLUS
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 / GENESIS IRID 300
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster / Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W / Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G502 HERO / Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205 / Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software 1st - Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu / 2nd - Windows 11 Pro
Cards that have modifed mining BIOS will not load AMD drivers after install and reboot and display code 43.
Its common knowledge at this point.

The OP suspects the card was used for mining hence it may have a mining BIOS that will not work without the BIOS check disabled.
View attachment 253510
@eidairaman1 and myself are working to help other people to restore their BIOS-es to original.
That is because on early models you could cross flash the BIOS-es.
But not many persons knew how to deal with them.
 
Top