• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Fedora 8 Problem

Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,008
Likes
63
Location
Long Island, NY
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 CL13
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage 1TB Mushkin Reactor
Display(s) Asus VK266H 25.5" Widescreen 1920x1200
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 1703 x64
#1
For some reason the install disc wont load anaconda (install manager) on my new laptop with Intel Core 2 T7500

oh and BTW don't you mean AHCI?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#2
Does it have a Ati chipset?
Btw are you fixed on Fedora?
If this is your first time to linux I would suggest Ubuntu.
Try turning of ACPI from your BIOS. It should work.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,008
Likes
63
Location
Long Island, NY
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 CL13
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage 1TB Mushkin Reactor
Display(s) Asus VK266H 25.5" Widescreen 1920x1200
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 1703 x64
#3
no its an intel chipset, with nvidia graphics

i have kubuntu 7.10 installed right now. i like fedora a little better, i'll give that a shot.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#4
Ubuntu isn't so great with KDE.
Gnome window manager is really great.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,008
Likes
63
Location
Long Island, NY
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 CL13
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage 1TB Mushkin Reactor
Display(s) Asus VK266H 25.5" Widescreen 1920x1200
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 1703 x64
#5
KDE has lots of cool features gnome is a much better piece of software, that much i will agree.

i was using i386 version of fedora, should i use x86?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#6
If disabling ACPI didnot work try disabling HPET.
I have tried fedora and dont think it's worth the trouble.
If you like KDE then OpenSuse is one highly rated one.
Also PCLinuxOs is another well rated one.
Try looking at Xubuntu and OpenSuse reviews in my website.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,008
Likes
63
Location
Long Island, NY
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 CL13
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage 1TB Mushkin Reactor
Display(s) Asus VK266H 25.5" Widescreen 1920x1200
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 1703 x64
#7
i got it installed, i just needed to use the x86 version, for some reason i had the i386 version.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#8
Congrates :)
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,008
Likes
63
Location
Long Island, NY
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 CL13
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage 1TB Mushkin Reactor
Display(s) Asus VK266H 25.5" Widescreen 1920x1200
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 1703 x64
#9
updating is a bitch, theres so many packages and so many conflicts, also i updated the kernel and now my bootloader has 2 entries for the old kernel and the new one....
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#10
You have to edit your grub file.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#11

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,021
Likes
17,869
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#12
updating is a bitch, theres so many packages and so many conflicts, also i updated the kernel and now my bootloader has 2 entries for the old kernel and the new one....
thats by design to ensure you can boot if the new kernel isnt compatible with your hardware.
rpm -qa | grep "kernel"
rpm -e <old kernel>
 

DIBL

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2006
Messages
126
Likes
11
Location
Dayton, Ohio area
Processor Core i7-950 Bloomfield
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Venomous X
Memory 6GB G-Skill Ripjaws
Video Card(s) EVGA nVidia GTX480
Storage OCZ RevoDrive PCI SSD, 2 WD-1002FAEX in BTRFS RAID
Display(s) NEC Multisync 2490WUXi
Case Corsair Graphite 600T
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889 8-channel HDA
Power Supply Corsair HX-850
Software aptosid Linux, Win 7 on VMWare Player 4
#13
I installed Fedora 8 and played with it for a couple of weeks. Even though I finally got compiz running kinda-sorta, I never did find anything in F8 that made me want to boot it more than Kubuntu.

Kubuntu 7.10 has a few bugs, admittedly, although nothing that cramps my style. I like KDE. If you prefer the Gnome look, then Ubuntu would be the easier way to, IMHO -- their forum is far more active than Fedora's, so help is easier to come by. :)