• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

File Server over network

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#1
Im thihnking about rebuilding my old dell rig into a File server for my GoPro videos, instead of storing them on my main rig. But to access the movies when I want to watch them, I want to be able to pull them up on my main rig from my network. Is that possible? or hard to setup?
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
146 (0.08/day)
Likes
92
System Name 紅白 [Kōhaku]
Processor i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.290v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Formula / Thunder FX
Cooling EK Supremacy Nickel/Plexi + Alphacool 240 XT45 and EK FC670 Nickel/Plexi + Phobya 400
Memory Kingston HyperX Beast 2x 4096MB DDR3 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX670 SLI Unlocked [GPU1 @ 1320MHz max, GPU2 @ 1220MHz max] [RAM @ 7.2 GHz]
Storage 2x Micron C400 256GB RAID0 [System] / 2x 250GB 7200RPM 2.5" [Data]
Display(s) Dell u2913WM 2560x1080 21:9
Case Corsair Graphite 600T SE White
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX IV
Power Supply Zalman ZM850HP
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#2
You can watch videos pretty easily from a shared folder or mapped drive on the network.

It's very seamless, specially with drive mapping. :) I have a file/media server myself, and mapped its storage hard drive onto my rig and laptop, no fuss. xD

:toast:
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#3
You can watch videos pretty easily from a shared folder or mapped drive on the network.

It's very seamless, specially with drive mapping. :) I have a file/media server myself, and mapped its storage hard drive onto my rig and laptop, no fuss. xD

:toast:
Yeah, at work when we need to pull files and stuff for servers from shares that we make we do that. Just not sure how to set that up. This will be a good learning experience too :)

I want to get 2 2TB WD Reds and run them in Raid 1 too

And run Windows Server 2012.

Actually theres not much i cant think of thats usable out of my old dell haha! Maybe the case for a little bit, but if have to rig up a way to have 2 hard drives i think.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
146 (0.08/day)
Likes
92
System Name 紅白 [Kōhaku]
Processor i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.290v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Formula / Thunder FX
Cooling EK Supremacy Nickel/Plexi + Alphacool 240 XT45 and EK FC670 Nickel/Plexi + Phobya 400
Memory Kingston HyperX Beast 2x 4096MB DDR3 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX670 SLI Unlocked [GPU1 @ 1320MHz max, GPU2 @ 1220MHz max] [RAM @ 7.2 GHz]
Storage 2x Micron C400 256GB RAID0 [System] / 2x 250GB 7200RPM 2.5" [Data]
Display(s) Dell u2913WM 2560x1080 21:9
Case Corsair Graphite 600T SE White
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX IV
Power Supply Zalman ZM850HP
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#4
Well, here's how to map a network drive in Windows 7:

First in "My computer" select Map Network Drive. As you can see below I already have one mapped from my server "Ninebreaker".
Capture1.JPG


Then, select the drive letter you want to use and click browse, or manually type the address: //[server name or IP]/[path]
Capture2.JPG


Lastly, if going through the browse, you should come up with this window, just select the server from the list, then the folder or hard drive that's shared and you're done. The mapped drive should pop up in "My Computer". As you can see, My main rig (Dragons-Crest) and the server (Ninebreaker), the later one listing the folders that are shared.
Capture3.JPG



Hope it helps, let me know if you need anything else :D

EDIT: Just saw you use Server 2012... I never actually used it, but it should be very similar, since mapping hard drives on older windows was basically the same as on 7.

:toast:
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#5
Well, here's how to map a network drive in Windows 7:

First in "My computer" select Map Network Drive. As you can see below I already have one mapped from my server "Ninebreaker".
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=49645&stc=1&d=1358036893

Then, select the drive letter you want to use and click browse, or manually type the address: //[server name or IP]/[path]
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=49646&stc=1&d=1358036899

Lastly, if going through the browse, you should come up with this window, just select the server from the list, then the folder or hard drive that's shared and you're done. The mapped drive should pop up in "My Computer". As you can see, My main rig (Dragons-Crest) and the server (Ninebreaker), the later one listing the folders that are shared.
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=49647&stc=1&d=1358036903


Hope it helps, let me know if you need anything else :D

EDIT: Just saw you use Server 2012... I never actually used it, but it should be very similar, since mapping hard drives on older windows was basically the same as on 7.

:toast:
Whats the specs on your server? CPU wise. I was thinking about buying the E8500, 4GB of DDR2 1066 and a micro atx LGA775 board from the for sale section for mine to start out.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
146 (0.08/day)
Likes
92
System Name 紅白 [Kōhaku]
Processor i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.290v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Formula / Thunder FX
Cooling EK Supremacy Nickel/Plexi + Alphacool 240 XT45 and EK FC670 Nickel/Plexi + Phobya 400
Memory Kingston HyperX Beast 2x 4096MB DDR3 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX670 SLI Unlocked [GPU1 @ 1320MHz max, GPU2 @ 1220MHz max] [RAM @ 7.2 GHz]
Storage 2x Micron C400 256GB RAID0 [System] / 2x 250GB 7200RPM 2.5" [Data]
Display(s) Dell u2913WM 2560x1080 21:9
Case Corsair Graphite 600T SE White
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX IV
Power Supply Zalman ZM850HP
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#6
Whats the specs on your server? CPU wise. I was thinking about buying the E8500, 4GB of DDR2 1066 and a micro atx LGA775 board from the for sale section for mine to start out.
My server is pretty simple. Very low footprint.

Mobo: Zotac ION-ITX D-E
CPU: Atom 330 1.6GHz @ 2.0GHz
GPU: ION
RAM: 2x 2GB DDR2 800MHz
HDD: 80GB Hitachi 7200RPM 2.5" SATA (OS)
HDD: 2x 1TB Seagate ES.2 in RAID1
Case: Lian-Li PC-Q11B

It can run 1080p flawlessly, and do basic gaming. :)
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#7
My server is pretty simple. Very low footprint.

Mobo: Zotac ION-ITX D-E
CPU: Atom 330 1.6GHz @ 2.0GHz
GPU: ION
RAM: 2x 2GB DDR2 800MHz
HDD: 80GB Hitachi 7200RPM 2.5" SATA (OS)
HDD: 2x 1TB Seagate ES.2 in RAID1
Case: Lian-Li PC-Q11B

It can run 1080p flawlessly, and do basic gaming. :)
Thats pretty sweet. So what i was thinking is overkill! lol. But I was going to mess with VMs too i think.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
146 (0.08/day)
Likes
92
System Name 紅白 [Kōhaku]
Processor i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.290v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Formula / Thunder FX
Cooling EK Supremacy Nickel/Plexi + Alphacool 240 XT45 and EK FC670 Nickel/Plexi + Phobya 400
Memory Kingston HyperX Beast 2x 4096MB DDR3 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX670 SLI Unlocked [GPU1 @ 1320MHz max, GPU2 @ 1220MHz max] [RAM @ 7.2 GHz]
Storage 2x Micron C400 256GB RAID0 [System] / 2x 250GB 7200RPM 2.5" [Data]
Display(s) Dell u2913WM 2560x1080 21:9
Case Corsair Graphite 600T SE White
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX IV
Power Supply Zalman ZM850HP
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#8
Thats pretty sweet. So what i was thinking is overkill! lol. But I was going to mess with VMs too i think.
LOL yeah. You'll need a lot more power than what I have if you're going to be running VMs. If so, your setup is good, but depending on the number of VMs you'll be running at the same time you may need more RAM and CPU cores.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#9
LOL yeah. You'll need a lot more power than what I have if you're going to be running VMs. If so, your setup is good, but depending on the number of VMs you'll be running at the same time you may need more RAM and CPU cores.
probably 1 or 2 single core VMs
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Messages
146 (0.08/day)
Likes
92
System Name 紅白 [Kōhaku]
Processor i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.290v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Formula / Thunder FX
Cooling EK Supremacy Nickel/Plexi + Alphacool 240 XT45 and EK FC670 Nickel/Plexi + Phobya 400
Memory Kingston HyperX Beast 2x 4096MB DDR3 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX670 SLI Unlocked [GPU1 @ 1320MHz max, GPU2 @ 1220MHz max] [RAM @ 7.2 GHz]
Storage 2x Micron C400 256GB RAID0 [System] / 2x 250GB 7200RPM 2.5" [Data]
Display(s) Dell u2913WM 2560x1080 21:9
Case Corsair Graphite 600T SE White
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX IV
Power Supply Zalman ZM850HP
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#10
Joined
Feb 16, 2011
Messages
160 (0.06/day)
Likes
74
Location
Florida, USA
#11
Running multiple VMs on a modern CPU (even a C2D) with a recent version of VMware or Virtualbox actually isn't that taxing, unless you put a heavy IO(hard disk) or CPU load on 2+ VMs simultaneously (I definitely wouldn't recommend a low-power, 1.?GHz CPU though). However, an issue you're more likely to run into is running out of RAM, if you plan on running three modern OSs (one as the host, and one in each VM).

And file serving is generally a very, very low CPU-demand task.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
557 (0.15/day)
Likes
118
Processor i7 920
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X58
Cooling Fans
Memory 24 GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) gtx460
Storage spinners
Display(s) Dell 2001F
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply X750
Software win 7 x64 pro
Benchmark Scores fast...
#12
why limit yourself to local network?

I use HFS (HTTP File Server). This is easy to set up, and you can take it with you! Meaning, if you have a Dynamic DNS client, you can access it from anywhere. I use no-ip free.

I have a port directed to HFS on a reserved IP.

The best part about it...it runs from a web browser, any web browser...smartphones, tablets, etc.

Oh, and its a VIA C-7d doing the work.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
447 (0.14/day)
Likes
75
Location
On The Green
System Name 780iNTELfinity(This Board is going into its 6th Year!)
Processor Back to the E6850
Motherboard XFX 780i Original Owner 5 Years Running(No wonder it has a Lifetime Warranty)
Cooling Xigma AIO Water+Rad(Need and Upgrade PM ME!)
Memory GSkill 1000
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 550ti 2GB
Storage 2 WD Caviar Black 750GB Raid 0
Display(s) ACER 20"
Case Ultra X-Blaster
Audio Device(s) Should I use a dedicated one?
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 1K - Bought the same day as my 780i December 2007
#13
I have one of these that would do everything you want(minus VMs) with the smallest footprint possible.

Iomega 1TB Cloud Storage Im 15 mins from Aurora(North Seattle) Lets make a deal
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#14
So will my network bottleneck me pretty bad with 15meg down and 3 meg up when trying to transfer 1GB+ GoPro Videos?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
447 (0.14/day)
Likes
75
Location
On The Green
System Name 780iNTELfinity(This Board is going into its 6th Year!)
Processor Back to the E6850
Motherboard XFX 780i Original Owner 5 Years Running(No wonder it has a Lifetime Warranty)
Cooling Xigma AIO Water+Rad(Need and Upgrade PM ME!)
Memory GSkill 1000
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 550ti 2GB
Storage 2 WD Caviar Black 750GB Raid 0
Display(s) ACER 20"
Case Ultra X-Blaster
Audio Device(s) Should I use a dedicated one?
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 1K - Bought the same day as my 780i December 2007
#15
Local area network wont rely on your ISP at all it will be dependent on your router and Ethernet cards. Most are 10/100mb, unless you have gigabit which is 1000mb. So transfer will run fine if you have a descent lan. Unless you are talking about what 1freedude is HFS.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#16
Local area network wont rely on your ISP at all it will be dependent on your router and Ethernet cards. Most are 10/100mb, unless you have gigabit which is 1000mb. So transfer will run fine if you have a descent lan. Unless you are talking about what 1freedude is HFS.
My router is the D Link DiR-655.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
447 (0.14/day)
Likes
75
Location
On The Green
System Name 780iNTELfinity(This Board is going into its 6th Year!)
Processor Back to the E6850
Motherboard XFX 780i Original Owner 5 Years Running(No wonder it has a Lifetime Warranty)
Cooling Xigma AIO Water+Rad(Need and Upgrade PM ME!)
Memory GSkill 1000
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 550ti 2GB
Storage 2 WD Caviar Black 750GB Raid 0
Display(s) ACER 20"
Case Ultra X-Blaster
Audio Device(s) Should I use a dedicated one?
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 1K - Bought the same day as my 780i December 2007
#17
Your router has gigabit so its plenty fast to support the transfer of the files. What about your motherboard for your PC?
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#18
Your router has gigabit so its plenty fast to support the transfer of the files. What about your motherboard for your PC?
Its a Asrock P67 Extreme 4 Gen3. Onboard LAN.

Which supports these speeds.

10/100/1000Mbps

Im probably going to be buying the CPU and memory tomorrow. E8500 and 4GB of ram fopr about $100. then just need to find a micro atx p45 motherboard, possibly upgrade the PSU in my dell to a CX500M that just released, and then at some point get some 2TB hard drives and be good to go.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
447 (0.14/day)
Likes
75
Location
On The Green
System Name 780iNTELfinity(This Board is going into its 6th Year!)
Processor Back to the E6850
Motherboard XFX 780i Original Owner 5 Years Running(No wonder it has a Lifetime Warranty)
Cooling Xigma AIO Water+Rad(Need and Upgrade PM ME!)
Memory GSkill 1000
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 550ti 2GB
Storage 2 WD Caviar Black 750GB Raid 0
Display(s) ACER 20"
Case Ultra X-Blaster
Audio Device(s) Should I use a dedicated one?
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 1K - Bought the same day as my 780i December 2007
#19
Perfect so everything will stream nicely, just make sure the Ethernet port you use for the file server also has 10/100/1000.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#20
Perfect so everything will stream nicely, just make sure the Ethernet port you use for the file server also has 10/100/1000.
yeah. So i have another question. If I want to access a file, and then just save it if i do changes during a video edit or something, will it save automatically to the drives in the file server or will it try to save on my main rig.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
447 (0.14/day)
Likes
75
Location
On The Green
System Name 780iNTELfinity(This Board is going into its 6th Year!)
Processor Back to the E6850
Motherboard XFX 780i Original Owner 5 Years Running(No wonder it has a Lifetime Warranty)
Cooling Xigma AIO Water+Rad(Need and Upgrade PM ME!)
Memory GSkill 1000
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 550ti 2GB
Storage 2 WD Caviar Black 750GB Raid 0
Display(s) ACER 20"
Case Ultra X-Blaster
Audio Device(s) Should I use a dedicated one?
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 1K - Bought the same day as my 780i December 2007
#21
When you go to save you can choose the file location to the server
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#22
When you go to save you can choose the file location to the server
OKay sweet.

This is going to be fun. Play with some old hardware again, and make my first server, and play with Windows Server 2012 some more. Been using it on some infrastructure servers in the labs at work, and its pretty sweet.

I also want to figure out how to TS(Remote Desktop) into it if i do do VMs for testing stuff.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#23
Would you guys get an E8500 or a more recent Trinity A4 APU for $50 bucks? I am looking at going with the AMD setup just because its more recent and easier to find parts for.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,543 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,907
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#24
I'd do neither...I'd get a NAS box with Cloud support. end cost would be about the same, power consumption would be lower than a full rig.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#25
I'd do neither...I'd get a NAS box with Cloud support. end cost would be about the same, power consumption would be lower than a full rig.
Well obviously theres better options, but this won't just be a storage server. I want to play around with VMs again. Ive never done a server and access it through the network, so I want to do it and learn. Im doing this as a learning thing, the miniscule benefits from having this server is the last thing im looking at. And I want to build a system haha.