• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Filezilla download problem

frankie827

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
541 (0.14/day)
Likes
18
Location
connecticut
System Name Gaming PC
Processor Core 2 Quad Q6600 B3@3.3ghz @ 1.376V | VID: 1.313V
Motherboard Evga Nvidia Nforce 680i LT SLI
Cooling 7x 12cm case fans+Xigmatek HDT-s1283 Dark Knight
Memory 4gb DDR2-800 Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) 896mb Evga GeForce GTX 260 Core 216 (720/1515/1135)
Storage 2x 160gb Seagate Baraccudas + 1x 640gb Western Digital Caviar Green + 1x 1tb Samsung F1
Display(s) Sceptre 20.1" 1080P Widescreen
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE+Creative Fatal1ty Headset/Logitech X-530 5.1 Surround
Power Supply Silverstone Zeus 750watt
Software Vista Home Premium 32-Bit
Benchmark Scores 15883 on 3dmark06 w/ windows 7 beta @ 3.3ghz 13188 on 3dmark vantage w/ windows 7 beta @ 3.2ghz
#1
Hey everyone,
I've been trying to download a large file(about 6gb) with filezilla through my ftp server(running filezilla) at home while I'm at college. Unfortunately, it always seems to give me this message while I'm around 30% done saying that the file exists. I've tried the skip, overwrite, and resume options, but it always resets. How do I get around this problem? Can I just not download a file that big?

thanks in advance
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#2
In theory there is no max file size for FTP. Problem is lots of clients will only take a max file size up to 2.2gb. Might want to split the file into 4+ rars to make sure it transfers. Hope this helps.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,359
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
You should be able to download files that large. It sounds like the connection is dying and being reset, and since the file is already there it is asking you want to do.

You should be able to go into the Filezilla Client's properties and set the default action to resume. That should fix the issue.
 

frankie827

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
541 (0.14/day)
Likes
18
Location
connecticut
System Name Gaming PC
Processor Core 2 Quad Q6600 B3@3.3ghz @ 1.376V | VID: 1.313V
Motherboard Evga Nvidia Nforce 680i LT SLI
Cooling 7x 12cm case fans+Xigmatek HDT-s1283 Dark Knight
Memory 4gb DDR2-800 Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) 896mb Evga GeForce GTX 260 Core 216 (720/1515/1135)
Storage 2x 160gb Seagate Baraccudas + 1x 640gb Western Digital Caviar Green + 1x 1tb Samsung F1
Display(s) Sceptre 20.1" 1080P Widescreen
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE+Creative Fatal1ty Headset/Logitech X-530 5.1 Surround
Power Supply Silverstone Zeus 750watt
Software Vista Home Premium 32-Bit
Benchmark Scores 15883 on 3dmark06 w/ windows 7 beta @ 3.3ghz 13188 on 3dmark vantage w/ windows 7 beta @ 3.2ghz
#4
You should be able to download files that large. It sounds like the connection is dying and being reset, and since the file is already there it is asking you want to do.

You should be able to go into the Filezilla Client's properties and set the default action to resume. That should fix the issue.
Okay, I'll try that and let you know if it happens again. At the same time, I'm going to try and compress the file into parts using winrar and just download the smaller files one by one. I was thinking about 700mb.
 

frankie827

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
541 (0.14/day)
Likes
18
Location
connecticut
System Name Gaming PC
Processor Core 2 Quad Q6600 B3@3.3ghz @ 1.376V | VID: 1.313V
Motherboard Evga Nvidia Nforce 680i LT SLI
Cooling 7x 12cm case fans+Xigmatek HDT-s1283 Dark Knight
Memory 4gb DDR2-800 Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) 896mb Evga GeForce GTX 260 Core 216 (720/1515/1135)
Storage 2x 160gb Seagate Baraccudas + 1x 640gb Western Digital Caviar Green + 1x 1tb Samsung F1
Display(s) Sceptre 20.1" 1080P Widescreen
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE+Creative Fatal1ty Headset/Logitech X-530 5.1 Surround
Power Supply Silverstone Zeus 750watt
Software Vista Home Premium 32-Bit
Benchmark Scores 15883 on 3dmark06 w/ windows 7 beta @ 3.3ghz 13188 on 3dmark vantage w/ windows 7 beta @ 3.2ghz
#5
Okay, well I tried hitting resume and setting it to default to resume, but it just starts all over again. I tried hitting resume when it did that for smaller files, and it worked perfectly. Right now I think I'm just going to download it separately as parts. But if anyone has an answer to my problem, that would be amazing.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#6
there is surely a better answer.
but i can't think of it. as far as winrar - use store (no compression) - unless it's a giant text/dat file compression will give you no real gain - but store will allow you to split it , and it will rar and unrar faster....
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,359
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
Okay, well I tried hitting resume and setting it to default to resume, but it just starts all over again. I tried hitting resume when it did that for smaller files, and it worked perfectly. Right now I think I'm just going to download it separately as parts. But if anyone has an answer to my problem, that would be amazing.
I don't know, I use pretty much the same setup, Filezilla Server and FileZilla client, and have download 10GB+ files with it. There might be a setting somewhere in the server that is preventing the file from resuming, or maybe even something in the client.
 

frankie827

New Member
Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
541 (0.14/day)
Likes
18
Location
connecticut
System Name Gaming PC
Processor Core 2 Quad Q6600 B3@3.3ghz @ 1.376V | VID: 1.313V
Motherboard Evga Nvidia Nforce 680i LT SLI
Cooling 7x 12cm case fans+Xigmatek HDT-s1283 Dark Knight
Memory 4gb DDR2-800 Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) 896mb Evga GeForce GTX 260 Core 216 (720/1515/1135)
Storage 2x 160gb Seagate Baraccudas + 1x 640gb Western Digital Caviar Green + 1x 1tb Samsung F1
Display(s) Sceptre 20.1" 1080P Widescreen
Case NZXT Zero
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE+Creative Fatal1ty Headset/Logitech X-530 5.1 Surround
Power Supply Silverstone Zeus 750watt
Software Vista Home Premium 32-Bit
Benchmark Scores 15883 on 3dmark06 w/ windows 7 beta @ 3.3ghz 13188 on 3dmark vantage w/ windows 7 beta @ 3.2ghz
#8
could it have to do with my college's network being a b****?