1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Final Radeon R9 290 Series Specifications Leaked

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 7, 2013.

  1. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    I think he means the difference between the 290 (non X) - 2560SP and the R280X - 2048SP.
     
  2. TheinsanegamerN

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    482 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    R299XTreme Space Heater Edition?
     
  3. Yeoman

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    R9-290x2 might be a basic solution, afterall the x is already present. But it will be interesting to see what they go with. I'm a little surprised they didn't leave the "x90" spot for a dual gpu option.
     
  4. jihadjoe

    jihadjoe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    406 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    So 290X vs Titan and 290 vs GTX780?
     
  5. hardcore_gamer

    hardcore_gamer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    416 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    190
    Location:
    Fabry Perot cavity,AlGaAs-GaAs Heterojunction
    May be they haven't planned a dual GPU card because the power consumption of a single card is already too high.:confused:
     
  6. Yeoman

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Could be. Though I suppose only time will tell.

    A 7990 is already a pretty power hungry beast, judging from the relatively low clock speeds of 290/290x (about 800mhz sans any turbo function I believe), I don't know if some kind of twin 290/290x is out of the question entirely.

    I suppose '90' was never a clear indicator that a card was dual gpu or not, after all there is a 7790 (obviously not dual 7750's or whatever), so I think there are a number of ways open to them to mark something as a dual gpu flagship card...I guess its not something they will sweat right now. It will be a while since we see one I suppose, although hopefully not as long as it took for a reference 7990 to materialise.
     
  7. HisDivineOrder

    HisDivineOrder

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    156 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Looks like we may FINALLY get a GK110 part that's less than $500 and it will be because AMD FINALLY decided to actually compete. This is why them sitting the GPU race out for two years was such a horrible thing for all of us.

    This is why relying on bundles for two years is a horrible move. This is why them starting the current generation (7970) out with a $50 increase for a marginal 10-20% gain in performance was such a horrible thing for us all. That allowed nVidia to rely on a mid-range part at high end pricing that was only very barely less expensive.

    Now AMD shows up two years later after six months of nVidia owning the high end with their true high end part. And they're raising the price... again on the high end.

    At least they're also releasing a lower part at a reasonable price, which will force nVidia to do the same. But man it sure took them forever to do it.
     
  8. Brusfantomet

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    483 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Norway
    it was 512 bit internal bus, the memory interface to the ram was 256 bit, GTX 8800 had 384 bit.

    Might be time to retire my to 6950 card.
     
  9. NeoXF

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    GTX 280/285 was 512bit...
     
  10. Xzibit

    Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,895 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Unless AMD is going the Nvidia route and only supporting DirectX .? on software calls (Only 780/Titan support DX 11.1 natively). There is a small possibility they improved the new line-up. Don't hold your breath tho.

    Sapphire specs have all chips supporting DirectX 11.2, PowerTune & ZeroCore from R7 240 on up. So were looking at new/improved chips across the line.

    If not Raj mentioned phase 2 driver to be released in Autumn.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2013
  11. TheinsanegamerN

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    482 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    These cards look wonderful, now, whether to get a r290/290x, or spend only $300 and grap a 7970 while i can....the 550ti is getting a little slow for 1080p gaming.
     
  12. corsaro New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    that's like '' i think my 7790 will have a problem with 4k games!''
     
  13. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,024 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Still trying to wrap my head around AMD's new gfx naming scheme. Does anyone know what the die size will be on this monster? And if it's 28nm?
     
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,351 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,200
    it's 28 nm because there is no better process available at this time at TSMC, where all NV and AMD GPUs are produced.
     
    jihadjoe says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Intel God New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Has everyone seen this terrible 290X firestrike score?

    [​IMG]

    Compared to a stock clocked 780's

    [​IMG]
     
  16. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,768 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    Hmm the FP32 performance ~1.6TF higher than the 2880 kepler chip. The R9 290X should be a computing beast
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  17. jihadjoe

    jihadjoe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    406 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    I imagine 7GHz RAM is now in short supply. If you check out the recent batch of reviews some of the new cards barely make it past 6GHz.
     
  18. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,567 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,506
    I love your logic, and almost agree. But I can't.
    Too many "high-end" games don't do well with the Crossfire setups, and, iirc, the (double) RAM is not used in a XFire setup. Plus, the 280x is just a rebranded 7970 with a little boost, which doesn't put me in a comforted mood... I think I'll just hope for a good price point in a year or so on the 290.


    I'll be making that statement this time next year :toast: Little early to adopt it, plus I'm not budgeted for it yet, but next year, I'll be scrounging some pennies!
     
  19. HumanSmoke

    HumanSmoke

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,684
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Will depend on driver support and application. Case in point, the FirePro W8000 should annihilate the Quadro K5000 ( 3225 TFlops vs 2169, a 48% advantage), but due to the vagaries of workload and priorities in driver writing...
    [​IMG]

    Hardware is only one part of the equation...as is usual
     
    Fluffmeister says thanks.
  20. Blín D'ñero

    Blín D'ñero

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    248 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Netherlands
    List those "too many"? You can't, because reality is that crossfire runs great on most games and scales very well. Which "(double) RAM" is not used?? You don't know what you're talking about. Educate yourself about AFR.
     
  21. HopelesslyFaithful

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Messages:
    39 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    i thought i included saying the 7970/280x would be more interesting. Granted i am a big F@H fan so thats why i would go with the xfire personally. But i get the interest in the 290/x
     
  22. TheinsanegamerN

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    482 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    he is referring to the fact that some people believe you get double the framebuffer with 2 cards. IE, two 3gb 7970s would give you 6gb of frame buffer, where in fact you only have 3gb
     
  23. TheinsanegamerN

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    482 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    sorry. meant 550tis (sli). forgot the s on the end.
     
  24. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,749 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    744
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    well well, the day has come,, now come on wizzard,release a review its 0ct 8 :D some of us are still up n all:respect::respect::D
     
    More than 25k PPD
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,728 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,258
    you must of came after the R300 Series
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)