• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Finally bit the bullet and got my daughter a NETBOOK...

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#1
....and Im surprised at how good it is. Ive been putting off getting her a 'new' laptop for a while now (as I was out of work and shes only 11 etc). She had been using my old Fujitsu Siemens laptop and the wife gave me her nice new Acer Aspire :rockout:

BUT..

I wasnt happy with this because even though my laptop is an old shitkicker now, it was MY old shitkicker and had EVERYTHING I wanted on it (ie 5.1 via optical headphone jack, VGA port on the left hand side so I could easily connect it to my TV etc etc). So as Ive started a new job I thought I would treat my daughter to a new computer.

I left it totally upto her and she chose the Acer Aspire One Netbook (Intel Atom 1.6 dual core, 160GB HDD, 1GB of DDR2, webcam, wireless and Windows XP Home Edition: £230) and I have to admit I really like it :D

Obviously, being a TPU forum member, I instantly thought "Im gonna need to upgrade the RAM on this!" and "XP! Thats going for a start!" LOL

Sadly, the ATOM N270 isnt a 64-Bit CPU so I couldnt install Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate on it :(. But apart from this, its running great. Anyone else been surprised by these little laptops?
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,374 (2.57/day)
Likes
5,817
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#2
I have one, from the older series (A150). I love it. But lately i've decided to pimp it up a bit so i've replaced one 512MB RAM stick with 1GB, so i have 1,5GB total RAM and i'll be getting Seagate Momentus 7200.4 500GB beast to speed up system and app loading and provide more storage for movies and music. 160GB is nice but it gets filled fast.
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#3
I have one, from the older series (A150). I love it. But lately i've decided to pimp it up a bit so i've replaced one 512MB RAM stick with 1GB, so i have 1,5GB total RAM and i'll be getting Seagate Momentus 7200.4 500GB beast to speed up system and app loading and provide more storage for movies and music. 160GB is nice but it gets filled fast.
Good stuff :D
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#4
Yep, I sold one to a customer last christmas, they are surprisingly nippy, super portable and really cute too. Cracking little things and really well priced.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
1,888 (0.56/day)
Likes
142
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel Core i3-2100 @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 1GB Sapphire Radeon HD4650 Ultimate Edition
Storage 60GB Corsair Force LE, 1TB Samsung SpinPoint F1, 500GB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Samsung T220HD & 19" Acer X193W
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#6
I'd probably get one for college next year (September '10) but I'd probably need a disc drive, I have to say they are pretty well priced and have good features just shame about the disc drive.

Can't you only have a certain amount of RAM and HDD space in them?
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#7
I'd probably get one for college next year (September '10) but I'd probably need a disc drive, I have to say they are pretty well priced and have good features just shame about the disc drive.

Can't you only have a certain amount of RAM and HDD space in them?
Im not sure. There may be a limit, but Im sure Ive seen them with 2GB+ of RAM (after sale upgrade)

Would you need the DVDROM all the time? If not, just grab an external USB slimline one to tuck away ;)
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
1,888 (0.56/day)
Likes
142
System Name The Beast
Processor Intel Core i3-2100 @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE
Cooling Stock
Memory 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 1GB Sapphire Radeon HD4650 Ultimate Edition
Storage 60GB Corsair Force LE, 1TB Samsung SpinPoint F1, 500GB Seagate
Display(s) 22" Samsung T220HD & 19" Acer X193W
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#8
Im not sure. There may be a limit, but Im sure Ive seen them with 2GB+ of RAM (after sale upgrade)

Would you need the DVDROM all the time? If not, just grab an external USB slimline one to tuck away ;)
Do USB powered DVD drives exist? I wouldn't mind having one in my bag just incase I needed it. If so I'll probably pick up a netbook. Something that's small and can easily slip into a bag is handy to have.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,374 (2.57/day)
Likes
5,817
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#9
What i love with netbooks is battery. I mean you can watch movies for 3 hours, listen to music for 5 hours, browse the web for nearly 6 hours.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
922 (0.28/day)
Likes
281
Location
Akron, OH
System Name Main Rig
Processor Athlon 5350
Motherboard AsRock mITX
Memory 4gb
Storage 120gb Kingston HyperX SSD
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 740N
Power Supply Corsair 430 watt
#10
I'd probably get one for college next year (September '10) but I'd probably need a disc drive, I have to say they are pretty well priced and have good features just shame about the disc drive.

Can't you only have a certain amount of RAM and HDD space in them?
I would make sure that you can type comfortably on it first. I have an Asus 1005 and think it's great, especially for the money, but I would not want to have to type a lot of papers on it. Consider a 11.6" netbook with a full sized keyboard if you do a lot of typing.
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#11

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#12
I got an Asus 900HA open box for $179 a while ago and it's been perfect. Came with everything. I swear Newegg just gave me a new one. Anyways, I replaced the RAM in it with 2gb G.Skill ram and threw in a larger 7200rpm HDD. Couple of weeks ago I put Windows 7 Pro 32 bit and it's turned amazing. 7 works far better than XP with this thing. Higher def video even works better.
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#13
I got an Asus 900HA open box for $179 a while ago and it's been perfect. Came with everything. I swear Newegg just gave me a new one. Anyways, I replaced the RAM in it with 2gb G.Skill ram and threw in a larger 7200rpm HDD. Couple of weeks ago I put Windows 7 Pro 32 bit and it's turned amazing. 7 works far better than XP with this thing. Higher def video even works better.
I was going to put Vista 32Bit on when I realised that I couldnt put Win 7 64Bit on it :( But I think it would really need 2GB of RAM to run it smoothly (an upgrade which you obviously did before hand ;) ) As I dont want to upgrade it yet I may just pop Win 7 32Bit on it, surely that would be an improvement over XP lol

But like most peeps are saying, they are pretty nice little systems for the net etc :)
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,287 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,387
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
I have an ASUS 1000H. Wonderful little machine.

I ran it with XP home for a few days just to see how it ran, then popped Vista Business 32-bit on it(with 1GB of RAM still). With a SD card in always in the SD slot doing Readyboot, Vista actually seemed better then XP w/ 1GB of RAM.

I then upgraded to a 500GB 5400RPM hard drive, and 2GB of RAM, and Vista worked perfectly.

I moved to Win7 as soon as possible though, because I like new, and I have to say Win7 is excellent on these little guys!

I don't really see not being 64-bit a problem, considering I don't think many of us are going to stick 4+GB of RAM in them.
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#15
I have an ASUS 1000H. Wonderful little machine.

I ran it with XP home for a few days just to see how it ran, then popped Vista Business 32-bit on it(with 1GB of RAM still). With a SD card in always in the SD slot doing Readyboot, Vista actually seemed better then XP w/ 1GB of RAM.

I then upgraded to a 500GB 5400RPM hard drive, and 2GB of RAM, and Vista worked perfectly.

I moved to Win7 as soon as possible though, because I like new, and I have to say Win7 is excellent on these little guys!

I don't really see not being 64-bit a problem, considering I don't think many of us are going to stick 4+GB of RAM in them.
Awesome :rockout:

The problem about it not being 64Bit for me is the fact that I have Windows 7 64Bit and not 32Bit :( Otherwise, I would stick the 32Bit Windows 7 on it for her as Im sure that would run fine with 1GB of DDR2 :D

Ive also got a spare, very small 4GB flash drive lying around doing nothing. Should I enable ReadyBoost on it for her (when I can install Win7 on it).....will it help?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,287 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,387
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
If you've got the 64-bit version, you've got the 32bit version, you just need the disc which you can "find" online. The keys are completely interchangable.
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,905 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,120
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#17
Netbooks are pretty sweet if you don't need a lot of horsepower. I was going to pick up that Aspire One (199.99 at my local Target), but they felt a little slow for what I needed it for. Ended up going the CULV route- which I think is a great compromise (3gb RAM, 64bit Win7, see specs).

One note, the N270 is not a dual core, it is a hyperthread enabled single.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
1,198 (0.28/day)
Likes
130
Location
FL
System Name Iam-a-computah
Processor 7700k @5 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Auros z270x
Cooling Custom water loop, x2 280 radiators
Memory 16gb Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 TI FE 11gb WC
Storage SSD: 256gb Samsung 840pro & HHD: WD black 2T
Display(s) Dell 34" UW screen
Case Full tower NZXT
Audio Device(s) Creative x-FI
Power Supply EVGA super NOVA 1300wtt
Keyboard G710
Software W 10
#18
Just beware that the earliest ACER Aspire One's will accept a maximum of 1.5gb of RAM since it already comes with a 512mb stick soldered on and only one socket available. Still 1.5gb for a netbook is more than enough, if you use it as a netbook of course not as a laptop.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#19
I was going to put Vista 32Bit on when I realised that I couldnt put Win 7 64Bit on it :( But I think it would really need 2GB of RAM to run it smoothly (an upgrade which you obviously did before hand ;) ) As I dont want to upgrade it yet I may just pop Win 7 32Bit on it, surely that would be an improvement over XP lol

But like most peeps are saying, they are pretty nice little systems for the net etc :)
I'm pretty much on a lesser machine at work (s754 2.2ghz 1gb DDR 400) and running 7 32bit very well with it. You don't have to have 2gb's, but it will probablly help out with things like videos.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
471 (0.15/day)
Likes
77
System Name AMD Black Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 4GB OCZ PC2-6400 Platinum (2x2GB)
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB GDDR5 w AC Twin Turbo
Storage Crucial C300 64GB SSD, 500GB and 2TB Drives
Display(s) Samsung 2494hm, Dell (Samsung?) 1907FP
Case Lancool (Lian-Li on a budget) K7
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC889A, M-Audio Fast Tracks
Power Supply OCZ Mod-X-Stream Pro 600W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64, XP Pro
#21
I just replaced the hard drive on one of these Acer Aspire One netbooks. The 160GB HD failed in it and what a PITA that thing is. I don't know if they have changed this yet but on this one I had to tear the entire thing apart. I mean keyboard off to open the clamshell and take the motherboard completely out to get to the HD and RAM slot!! WTF! Who puts a RAM slot on the bottom of the motherboard but then no hatch to get to it?? The HD and RAM are right under the motherboard, touching the bottom of the clamshell. Two simple trap doors is all it would take. Heck at least one for the RAM!

But otherwise it was great fun. It only had 1GB of RAM on it IIRC but I put Ubuntu Netbook remix on it and it worked very well!
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#22
I just replaced the hard drive on one of these Acer Aspire One netbooks. The 160GB HD failed in it and what a PITA that thing is. I don't know if they have changed this yet but on this one I had to tear the entire thing apart. I mean keyboard off to open the clamshell and take the motherboard completely out to get to the HD and RAM slot!! WTF! Who puts a RAM slot on the bottom of the motherboard but then no hatch to get to it?? The HD and RAM are right under the motherboard, touching the bottom of the clamshell. Two simple trap doors is all it would take. Heck at least one for the RAM!

But otherwise it was great fun. It only had 1GB of RAM on it IIRC but I put Ubuntu Netbook remix on it and it worked very well!
Yeah theyve changed the design. This one has 3 trap doors underneath ;)
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#23
Have to say every netbook I'ev used has made me not want to touch them again.

I think its mostly due to full size laptops only being slightly more money for so much more hardware.

I always recommend to people saving up a few more pence towards a full sizer : ]

Especially if bought on line you can get systems with graphics and huge hdds etc for as little as 320 if you look around.


Glad someone likes them though lol
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,149 (4.40/day)
Likes
5,304
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#24
I'm pretty much on a lesser machine at work (s754 2.2ghz 1gb DDR 400) and running 7 32bit very well with it. You don't have to have 2gb's, but it will probablly help out with things like videos.
Running windows 7 64bit on my backup rig which is a FX-55 2.6Ghz 939skt, 2Gb DDR400, X850XT PE (still an awesome card) the mobo is...ummmm, I think its a MSI Neo2 Platinum (Nforce3 ultra??)

since i gave my DC 2.66Ghz X2 3800+ & Asus A8N32 Deluxe to my dad :(
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#25
Have to say every netbook I'ev used has made me not want to touch them again.

I think its mostly due to full size laptops only being slightly more money for so much more hardware.

I always recommend to people saving up a few more pence towards a full sizer : ]

Especially if bought on line you can get systems with graphics and huge hdds etc for as little as 320 if you look around.


Glad someone likes them though lol
I get what your saying, but Im still impressed with the little thing. I personally couldnt use one day in day out. But its ideal for my daughter as she is only 11 :) I think they are ideal for work/college use also :)