1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

finally getting a new comp.....need some help

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by dunnleed08, Mar 3, 2008.

1. dunnleed08 New Member

Thanks Received:
    it's been awhile since i've last shopped for a new sys...so i've kinda fallen behind the times.....just have a few questions....gonna go with an intel based sys...i like to play games...but don't want to get into the dual graphics(sli or anything else...i just like to have one really nice graphics card)....however...should i decide to buy a nice gpu card and later get a physics card....do i simply need to buy a motherboard with 2 pci xpress slots (x16).....or does it have to be sli???.....(i'm a newbie).........also, if anybody has any good ideas about which hardware i should buy, any info would be muh appreciated...(my biggest concern now is to get a great motherboard that can handle a cheap cpu and ram now...then be upgraded to higher speeds later.....)....................thanks in advance

10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Sh00t1st

Sh00t1st New Member

Thanks Received:
    how much do you have to work with? budget system would be amd chip x2 1.9 brisbane which is like 50 bucks and a 8800gs because its so damn cheap 130 at the egg, 2 gigs of ddr 2 at 800 mghz can also be found there for cheap 50 dollars, mobos around 100 and up for a very nice amd mobo. i wouldnt spend less than 80 dollars 90 to play it safe.

10 Year Member at TPU
  3. dunnleed08 New Member

Thanks Received:
    well...

i've already got the case...psu...and hard drives...so all i really need is the mobo, cpu, ram, and a descent graphics card(for now anyways ).....looking at about 400 to 500 bucks........also..what is soo much better about ddr3 to ddr2..?

10 Year Member at TPU
  4. cdawall

cdawall where the hell are my stars

Thanks Received:
    DDR2 is cheaper right now

10 Year Member at TPU
  5. farlex85