1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Finally upgrading (well practically new build) , could really use some advice

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Berty, Nov 8, 2011.

  1. Berty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Hi all. I'm new to the forum but from reading some posts over the past few weeks I can see i'm in the right place, lost of very helpful and knowledgable people here. I am finally planning on a new rig after having my old system for nearly 4 years. I have been busily researching and have come up with what will hopefully keep me in good sted for the next 3 years. After much 'hmmm I could wait another six months and see' and all the usual thinking that leads to never actually buying anything I have settled on the following.

    Coolemaster HAF 922 mid tower case;

    1000w PSU, Silverstone Tech. Strider ST1000-p, Modular, 80 PLUS Silver, EPS 12V, Quiet Fan (I am hoping that in a year or two buying another gtx 570 as listed below for SLI and that this psu will cover that and any other future upgrades. Also dropping to an 850W doesn't save loads but having to replace an 850W with a 1000W in the future would be a pain);

    i5 2500K Unlocked 3.3ghz, HD3000 IGP 850mhz, 6mb Cache 95W;

    Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD4 Motherboard;


    2.5GB Point of View GTX 570, 40nm, 3800MHz GDDR5, GPU 732MHz, Shader 1464MHz, 480 Cores;

    16gb (4x4gb) Corsair DDR3 Vengeance Arctic White, PC3-12800 (1600), Non-EEC, CAS 9-9-9-24, 1.35v

    All of that comes in at about £940 ($1512.27) @ Scan.co.uk

    I haven't listed a monitor yet as I can use my current one and mouse etc. is fine.

    Anyhoo, that's a hell of a step up from my current system so I am quite looking forward to it but with that I don't want to make any school boy errors in my choices. I don't think I will need to look in to water cooling until I get a second GPU but that wont be for atleast a year and a half.

    Please pull it all apart and give your suggestions for changes or other considerations - I am at your mercy :p.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2011
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,293 (7.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,755
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Maybe trade the 570 for a 6950 2GB. dont really need 1000W do you? A 750-850W would be fine. 16GB is cheap right now but remember four sticks are harder to OC than two.
     
    Berty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Berty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Having looked at prices I'll have to stick with 4x4gb. Also what would be the best cooler to get for the cpu?
     
  4. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,854 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,222
    If you have the money stay with the 570 it's better than the 6950. 850W is enough for 570 SLI but I bet you won't find another in 2 years. Spring 2012 new Nvidia will be out, sooner even the new AMDs so I expect that in one year max the 570 will be extinct.
     
  5. Berty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Good point. Although I should think just the one gtx 570 will do me. It's 2.5 gb and I'll be stepping up from a 8800gts so I think it's going to blow my mind to bits as it is. Maybe drop the psu to an 850W then and use the saving for the cpu cooler.
     
  6. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,854 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,222
    Yes, it will blow your mind to bits. Definitely go for the 850W. Now for the cooler, depends how far you want to go with the OC. A cheap HSF like the Cooler Master 212+ will do the trick just fine up to 4.5 GHz.
     
    Berty says thanks.
  7. Berty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    I would like to get in to over clocking. It's not something I've tried with my q6600 but it appears that so long as you're showing respect for the tech that it's the norm. I'm sure i'll be asking advice from here when the time comes! Cheers guys!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)