• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Finished basement, wireless not reaching several areas

Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
1,849 (0.36/day)
System Name Air Cooled Caselabs BH8
Processor Intel Coffee Lake 8700K @ 4.7
Motherboard MSI Gaming M5
Cooling Noctua D15s, 5x 140mm Noctua Chromax, 1x 120mm Noctua Chromax, 2x 80mm Noctua fans
Memory G. Skill Trident Z RGB series 3200mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
Storage Samsung EVO 840 250gb SSD, Samung EVO PRO 256gb SSD, 2 TB WD Black Edition HDD.
Display(s) 24" Asus Gaming ROG 144hz
Case Black Caselabs BH8
Power Supply 850w EVGA SuperNOVA G2 Gold PSU with individually sleeved black cables
Mouse Logitech Wireless G403
Keyboard Corsair Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10
Hi all. Long time member here. Just recently finished our basement. We have a router supplied by Spectrum (yuck) on the first floor. The signal barely reaches devices in the basement. I had the electrician install a cable jack and phone jack downstairs. Would it make sense for me to buy a new router, with strong dual bandwith speeds? Really don't feel like paying for two cable modems and routers in the home. Any other devices to improve wireless signal downstairs?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,275 (3.12/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080// EVGA GTX 980 ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master CK550 RBG
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
You could turn in that modem/router and get a desent AC rourter and a new modem. Would prabably fix the issue. Or get a access point for the basement
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2012
Messages
1,325 (0.48/day)
Location
Northamptonshire, UK
System Name Main/Backup/HTPC
Processor 9900K@4.7/X5650@4.0/i3 4360@3.7
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WiFi/Asus P6TD Deluxe/MSI H81I
Cooling Custom water/Coolermaster TPC-800/Antec C40
Memory HyperX Predator 2x8GB 3200MHz/Corsair Vengeance 9GB/Crucial Balistix Tactical 8GB
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus RTX 2080 Super /GTX 970/Intel HD4600
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 250GB/840 EVO 120GB/OCZ ARC 100 120 GB
Display(s) Acer Z301c/39" Panasonic HDTV
Case Fractal Design Arc XL/Aerocool Aero-500/Thermaltake Core V1
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V379/Realtek/ Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair RM850/ Corsair TX650/350W OEM
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,203 (3.52/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
If you have a router from them ,you're paying for it every month which means you're being ripped off unless you have some deal with them that everyone (myself included) I know of never got.

I had a similar issue with the supplied router from charter, I ended up buying a Asus ac66u and my signal goes all the way to the end of my driveway now. Just get a different router or if you have a particularly difficult home for signal you could get powerline adapters or an access point. You could even combine the two and use powerline to run to the basement connect to an access point with ethernet and then let it wirelessly broadcast in the basement. You can get a decent ac68 on amazon for under $80 (under $60 if you get a refurb)), and a powerline adapter for $25. With the money you'll be saving in monthly charges it would pay for itself in less than a year and you'd have better signal.

this is a nice replacement.

or get a couple of the adapters to pass your internet signal through your electrical wiring
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
1,849 (0.36/day)
System Name Air Cooled Caselabs BH8
Processor Intel Coffee Lake 8700K @ 4.7
Motherboard MSI Gaming M5
Cooling Noctua D15s, 5x 140mm Noctua Chromax, 1x 120mm Noctua Chromax, 2x 80mm Noctua fans
Memory G. Skill Trident Z RGB series 3200mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
Storage Samsung EVO 840 250gb SSD, Samung EVO PRO 256gb SSD, 2 TB WD Black Edition HDD.
Display(s) 24" Asus Gaming ROG 144hz
Case Black Caselabs BH8
Power Supply 850w EVGA SuperNOVA G2 Gold PSU with individually sleeved black cables
Mouse Logitech Wireless G403
Keyboard Corsair Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10
Thanks for the replies! I will take all of this into consideration. Sounds like a new router is in store!

Do you folks find that spending 200$+ on routers is unnecessary? I like the idea of a gaming router, though, I see that the brand and advertisement of these routers are more hype vs. actual innovative components that improve signal, stability, and security.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,048 (1.00/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i5 8700K (@4.8 Ghz All-Core) / R5 3600
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML240L / CM Seidon 120XL
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz / 16Gb Ballistix @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / Gigabyte RX 5700 (XT Bios)
Storage 750G MX300 / 8+4 TB WD Reds + 250 Sabrent NVMe
Display(s) 2x Dell U2515H/18D / 50" L50U50 4K TV
Case Xigmatek Aquarius Plus / Zalman HTPC case
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply FSP 850 W Gold / Andyson TX-700 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero / K400+
Keyboard Wooting Two / K400+
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9758
Thanks for the replies! I will take all of this into consideration. Sounds like a new router is in store!

Do you folks find that spending 200$+ on routers is unnecessary? I like the idea of a gaming router, though, I see that the brand and advertisement of these routers are more hype vs. actual innovative components that improve signal, stability, and security.
Get a $60 R6700 or a $40-$50 RT-ac68u and you'll be fine. The former can be upgraded to a R7000 and the latter, if you go for the cheaper mobile brand one, can be unlocked to a full ac68u.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,203 (3.52/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Thanks for the replies! I will take all of this into consideration. Sounds like a new router is in store!

Do you folks find that spending 200$+ on routers is unnecessary? I like the idea of a gaming router, though, I see that the brand and advertisement of these routers are more hype vs. actual innovative components that improve signal, stability, and security.
Some people may tell you it's necessary ,but unless your house is extremely large ,with a large number of devices, what I suggested will be more than enough. I have a decent bit of confidence what I suggested will work ,also because you've been using a rented charter router ,so it kind of gives insight into the level of performance you need . Also keep in mind regardless of what router you get, the best it will do is give better signal or more options (often options that you'll never use) so if you're paying for 60 mb, you're only going to get that ,and maybe a little more & no router even a $10,000 one will change that. Don't overthink it. Just buy a decent router like the one I linked ,you'll spend 70 bucks or so ,and I'm sure itll work. If the signal is still bad in your basement ,you can add a powerline adapter for another 30 bucks and you'll be fine


A router is like cup, it doesn't matter if the cup costed $.50 and is cheap, or if it costs $1 million and is fancy. What you pay for from the Internet service provider is the liquid in the cup, all a router changes is how you get it ,but it doesn't change what you get
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,048 (1.00/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i5 8700K (@4.8 Ghz All-Core) / R5 3600
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML240L / CM Seidon 120XL
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz / 16Gb Ballistix @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / Gigabyte RX 5700 (XT Bios)
Storage 750G MX300 / 8+4 TB WD Reds + 250 Sabrent NVMe
Display(s) 2x Dell U2515H/18D / 50" L50U50 4K TV
Case Xigmatek Aquarius Plus / Zalman HTPC case
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply FSP 850 W Gold / Andyson TX-700 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero / K400+
Keyboard Wooting Two / K400+
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9758
Get a $60 R6700 or a $40-$50 RT-ac68u and you'll be fine. The former can be upgraded to a R7000 and the latter, if you go for the cheaper mobile brand one, can be unlocked to a full ac68u.
There's not much need to spend more than $100 on a router for general household use. I have the R6700 (modded to R7000) and I have very few devices that can utilize the bandwidth. Most of my devices actually prefer the N-channel as it is stronger, but none of them can use the turbo-QAM feature.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
1,536 (0.49/day)
Location
US of A
System Name gaming
Processor Intel i7-9700k @ 4.9ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua U12A
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1660 Ti OC 6G
Storage Crucial MX500, Crucial P1 NVMe, ScanDisk Ultra 3D
Display(s) Dell - SE2717HR 27" IPS LED FHD FreeSync Monitor
Case Phanteks P400A w/ Noctua fans
Audio Device(s) Klipsch pro-media 2.1 speakers
Power Supply Seasonioc Focus Plus 650w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G15 original
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores i can finally play crysis
Hi all. Long time member here. Just recently finished our basement. We have a router supplied by Spectrum (yuck) on the first floor. The signal barely reaches devices in the basement. I had the electrician install a cable jack and phone jack downstairs. Would it make sense for me to buy a new router, with strong dual bandwith speeds? Really don't feel like paying for two cable modems and routers in the home. Any other devices to improve wireless signal downstairs?
powerline adapter and create an access point in the basement, problem solved. You can use an old router as the AP or dedicated adapter AP.

I use these and they deliver my 100mbps to our master bedroom. I then have an old Asus router as an AP and a Roku hardwired to the AP.


https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Powerline-Adapter-Starter-TL-PA4010KIT/dp/B00AWRUICG/ref=sr_1_4?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1519916051&sr=1-4&keywords=powerline+adapter&dpID=41kDSQg6WIL&preST=_SY300_QL70_&dpSrc=srch

Thanks for the replies! I will take all of this into consideration. Sounds like a new router is in store!

Do you folks find that spending 200$+ on routers is unnecessary? I like the idea of a gaming router, though, I see that the brand and advertisement of these routers are more hype vs. actual innovative components that improve signal, stability, and security.
completely unnecessary to spend $200 or even half that amount most of the time, plus gaming routers are a marketing ploy. check out small net builders on for more info

https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/basics/wireless-basics/33177-how-to-buy-a-wireless-router-2018-edition
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
7,215 (1.63/day)
Processor Intel i9 9900K @5GHz w/ Corsair H150i Pro CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z390 Maximus XI Code
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080 STRIX OC
Storage Samsung 250GB 960 EVO m.2, 970 EVO 1TB, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX850w Platinum Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 23520 Heaven - 3670
Thanks for the replies! I will take all of this into consideration. Sounds like a new router is in store!

Do you folks find that spending 200$+ on routers is unnecessary? I like the idea of a gaming router, though, I see that the brand and advertisement of these routers are more hype vs. actual innovative components that improve signal, stability, and security.
I just bought a new Linksys 3200AC and I absolutely love it. $250 Got it on sale for $15 off plus I had a Best Buy certificate for another $20. Once I got this implemented in my house I have range everywhere in the house especially in areas like the kitchen I didnt have it before using the Comcast router/modem. It was worth the investment for all the devices that we have in our house and the router is downstairs instead of upstairs where the comcast modem is.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,275 (3.12/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080// EVGA GTX 980 ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master CK550 RBG
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
Same here, went from a netgear wndr 3800 N router to a Archer AC5400 and I get 5.0 in places the other router woul not reach even on N 2.4
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,744 (2.10/day)
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
We have a router supplied by Spectrum (yuck) on the first floor.
Last time I visited Comcast (double yuck), they advised me to swap my old router with a new better-er version they have.*

Question for you: Do you know what model router you have with them now? Perhaps ask them if they have anything newer you can swap with before dumping $ on a new wireless router

* TL: DR ...I'm in process of "trimming the cord" - shopping around for VoIP and just ordered a Netgear Cable model from Amazon HERE for $59 ...Once I get VoIP and the cable modem going, I'm sending their cable modem and DVR back, and cutting my plan. I have an ASUS RT66U wireless router that already covers the entire house.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2016
Messages
388 (0.31/day)
System Name Gaming System
Processor i7-4960X
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP 32GB DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 ti FTW3
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO; 500GB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) HP zr2740w Surround
Case Corsair A540
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply EVGA G2 1300
Mouse Logitech MK550
Keyboard Logitech MK550
Software Windows 10 Pro
I was looking for a new wireless router as well until I found out that WPA3 standard and new devices are coming out this year. IMHO now it is not the best time to get a new wireless router. WPA2 has a serious design flaw that exposes the network to vulnerabilities, but WPA3 fixes that. I use a powerline adapter along with a cheap $20 8-port switch and I get about 80-90% of the speed from Comcast. You can get a cheap $30 wireless router in place of the switch if you must have wireless connectivity. A temporary solution perhaps, but WPA2 standard is quite old and WPA3 promises a higher speed and better security.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
7,215 (1.63/day)
Processor Intel i9 9900K @5GHz w/ Corsair H150i Pro CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z390 Maximus XI Code
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080 STRIX OC
Storage Samsung 250GB 960 EVO m.2, 970 EVO 1TB, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX850w Platinum Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 23520 Heaven - 3670
Hopefully some of the old WPA2 routers will get the update via firmware.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2015
Messages
495 (0.33/day)
Location
Skopje, Macedonia
System Name The Tesseract Cube
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI X570A-PRO
Cooling DeepCool Maelstrom 240, 2 X DeepCool GS120 (radiator fans), 4 X DeepCool RF120 (case fans)
Memory 1 x 16gb Kingston HyperX 3200mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro +
Storage Kingston V300 120GB (Boot Device), Kingston A400 480GB (Games), Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB
Display(s) MSI MAG241C Full HD, 144hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) MB Integrated, Sound Blaster Play 3 (Headset)
Power Supply Corsair CX650M Modular 80+ Bronze
Mouse MSI GM10
Keyboard Genesys RHOD 400 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores CPUZ: Single Thread - 510 Multi Thread - 4.050 Cinebench R20: CPU - 3 500 score
No password security feature beats my MAC Security feature.
Guests have to give me their MAC IDs to have access to my cheap TP LINK which covers my 105 cubick meters apartment, placed in the center of it.
For my own standard 50$ to 100$ is the sweet spot for routhers depending on your own needs.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,480 (1.91/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K @ 4.4GHz / Dual Xeon 5675's @ 3.33GHz 12c/24t
Motherboard Sabertooth Z77 / GA-7TESM
Cooling Deepcool Assassin - 3 Fans / Custom
Memory 2x8GB 2133MHz Samsung Dual Channel / 6x4GB 1333MHz Samsung Hexa Channel
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 980 SC / Asus Strix 980ti
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) Samsung 23' 2048x1152 / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) SB X-fi on all systems
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Keyboard Asus KB34211
Software XP64/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
9,371 (2.39/day)
Location
04578
Hi all. Long time member here. Just recently finished our basement. We have a router supplied by Spectrum (yuck) on the first floor. The signal barely reaches devices in the basement. I had the electrician install a cable jack and phone jack downstairs. Would it make sense for me to buy a new router, with strong dual bandwith speeds? Really don't feel like paying for two cable modems and routers in the home. Any other devices to improve wireless signal downstairs?
Depending on your internet speed buy a compatible modem at frigging wallmart it will cost about $60 for one that can handle 100 Mbps speeds. Then get a better router i use a cheapo TP link WDNR 3500. Total Cost was $90, a better router will give better coverage. If your being charged for your modem etc then the above method of buying your own will have a ROI of about 6 months.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
1,536 (0.49/day)
Location
US of A
System Name gaming
Processor Intel i7-9700k @ 4.9ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua U12A
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1660 Ti OC 6G
Storage Crucial MX500, Crucial P1 NVMe, ScanDisk Ultra 3D
Display(s) Dell - SE2717HR 27" IPS LED FHD FreeSync Monitor
Case Phanteks P400A w/ Noctua fans
Audio Device(s) Klipsch pro-media 2.1 speakers
Power Supply Seasonioc Focus Plus 650w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G15 original
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores i can finally play crysis
Depending on your internet speed buy a compatible modem at frigging wallmart it will cost about $60 for one that can handle 100 Mbps speeds. Then get a better router i use a cheapo TP link WDNR 3500. Total Cost was $90, a better router will give better coverage. If your being charged for your modem etc then the above method of buying your own will have a ROI of about 6 months.
I'm not sure if time warner/spectrum bills you separately for your modem. I have optimum the modem fee is part of the "deal". I can go out and get my own arris modem but my bill remains the same.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,048 (1.00/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i5 8700K (@4.8 Ghz All-Core) / R5 3600
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML240L / CM Seidon 120XL
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz / 16Gb Ballistix @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / Gigabyte RX 5700 (XT Bios)
Storage 750G MX300 / 8+4 TB WD Reds + 250 Sabrent NVMe
Display(s) 2x Dell U2515H/18D / 50" L50U50 4K TV
Case Xigmatek Aquarius Plus / Zalman HTPC case
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply FSP 850 W Gold / Andyson TX-700 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero / K400+
Keyboard Wooting Two / K400+
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9758
I was looking for a new wireless router as well until I found out that WPA3 standard and new devices are coming out this year. IMHO now it is not the best time to get a new wireless router. WPA2 has a serious design flaw that exposes the network to vulnerabilities, but WPA3 fixes that. I use a powerline adapter along with a cheap $20 8-port switch and I get about 80-90% of the speed from Comcast. You can get a cheap $30 wireless router in place of the switch if you must have wireless connectivity. A temporary solution perhaps, but WPA2 standard is quite old and WPA3 promises a higher speed and better security.
It will probably be supported through DD-WRT or firmware updates. Routers are like mini-computers all of their own and a lot of the features are software based.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
9,371 (2.39/day)
Location
04578
I'm not sure if time warner/spectrum bills you separately for your modem. I have optimum the modem fee is part of the "deal". I can go out and get my own arris modem but my bill remains the same.
Mine was still billing me for a modem so i bought my own. After they wanted to take nearly 2 weeks to replace a faulty old Docsis 2 model they had me paying $10 a month for.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
2,281 (1.32/day)
Location
Long Island
Long time geek who didn't install ethernet cable before finishing the basement ? Ya gonna have ya membership card and propeller beanie re[possessed :) ... I live in a 200 year old dairy barn with post and beam (8-12") locus aka "ironwood" construction. I never thought for a second about not using cable. My youngest son was having fits when a squirrel ate thru his cable and he had to rely on wireless.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,650 (5.65/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Into the Blue
Processor 2990WX || 5960X
Motherboard Asrock X399M || Asus X99M WS
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL || TBD
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || EVGA 3200 2x8GB
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || EVGA 1080Ti FE
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB || OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || TBD
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal || Supermicro S5 (GS5A-753K)
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Seasonic Snow Silent 750w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller || TBD
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX, Steam controller || Corsair K70
Software W10P || W10P
Joined
Jan 11, 2018
Messages
207 (0.30/day)
Location
HSV and SFO
A router is like cup, it doesn't matter if the cup costed $.50 and is cheap, or if it costs $1 million and is fancy. What you pay for from the Internet service provider is the liquid in the cup, all a router changes is how you get it ,but it doesn't change what you get
Best analogy for a router I've ever read. Seriously. I will want to quote this all the time.

As far as the OP's issue, a couple of questions first.

Do you have to pay anything for the existing router? If not, then let's keep it.

Besides the cable jack and power outlets in the basement, do you have an ethernet run going down there?
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
2,281 (1.32/day)
Location
Long Island
Definition is more apt to a modem (of course assuming the modem is in fact capable of more than the purchased speed rate). I say more because if you have say 100, not unusial to see periods of 110 - 125 at times ... With a router, specs do matter both in terms of speed capability and reach. Also they differ greatly on the software capabilities ....for example, when my kids were in HS, I sett up access time tables whereby their internet access was allowed olny between certain hours.
 
Top