• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Firefox 11 Goes Beta

Joined
Dec 6, 2011
Messages
4,785 (2.17/day)
Likes
1,187
Location
Still on the East Side
#1
Don't worry if you just installed Firefox 10.0 cause there's a new Foxxy browser craving your attention, the Firefox 11.0 beta. This fresh build comes with an updated migration tool that can also import Chrome bookmarks, history, and cookies, and features add-on syncing capabilities, redesigned media controls for HTML5 video, and support for the CSS text-size-adjust property and the outerHTML property.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
64 (0.03/day)
Likes
11
Location
Yakima, Washington
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965BE 3.4@3.8Ghz
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD70
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory 4x ADATA XPG Gaming Series DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) CL9 2GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 560ti
Storage KingstonSSDNow V Series SNV425-S2BD/64GB; WD 500GB Black; WD 1TB Black; WD 2TB Green
Display(s) ASUS VW266H Black 25.5" 2ms LCD
Case NZXT PHantom Black full fan complement
Audio Device(s) Onboard with 5.1 Logitech speakers
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Truth be told, never really bothered to overclock it... I probably should. Any tips? Send me a PM.
#2
Firefox 3 and loving it.
 

xxdozer32

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
210 (0.09/day)
Likes
20
Location
OC, SOCAL
System Name msp13b aka Mr. 400$ (budget build)
Processor Amd x4 965 @ 3.9
Motherboard M4N68T-M V2
Cooling bigwater 760is CPU only
Memory 8gb ddr3 Kingston hyper X blu
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 560 Ti
Display(s) 22' Acer
Case HAF912 x5 fans
Power Supply 690w
Software Windows 7 eternity 64bit
#3
i ono if its me or the crack ive been smoking but this thing loads up quick! jumping from page to new page with EASE.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.77/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#4
Oh I heard they changed the color of the minimize button for FireFox 14 Alpha, it'll come out next week!
 

naoan

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
303 (0.10/day)
Likes
62
System Name AMD?
Audio Device(s) onboard
Software 7 X64
#5
Nah, I heard they changed the spacing between the "f" and "i" for FF14.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
167 (0.05/day)
Likes
70
Location
Finland
Processor Core i7 920 @ 3,6
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9900 led
Memory 6GB DDR3 OCZ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 SC Black Edition
Storage Lots
Display(s) Samsung 226CW
Case Cooler Master Cosmos 1000
Power Supply 850W Corsair
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 1/0 0.o
#7
They should just skip to version 30... it would be a big lead ahead of IE and Chrome.
As with winamp, they skipped version 4 as they felt the new version was atleast 2 versions more awesome than the previous :p

But Mozillas version frenzy is just silly... :banghead:
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.77/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#8
Nah, I heard they changed the spacing between the "f" and "i" for FF14.
nono That is in The actual release of FF14 and it was supposed to be top secret until FF14 BETA came out! in the beat they change the color of the minimize button back though

It's silly!
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#9
They should just skip to version 30... it would be a big lead ahead of IE and Chrome.
you aren't the Dev hence can't comment on their numbering choice... If it bothers you so much, simply change to something with a higher number...
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2009
Messages
9,025 (2.77/day)
Likes
1,446
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Fun waste of money
Processor i7 3930k @ 4 Ghz
Motherboard AsRock X79 Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Dark Rock Pro 3 (removed 120mm fan)
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) 2133Mhz CL9 Mushkin RedLine
Video Card(s) EVGA ACX 3.0 GTX 1060 6GB
Storage 3.25TB separated in 5 SSDs (SanDisk Extreme Pro, Intel 730 & 520, 2*Crucial MX100)
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 [Korean] PCBANK PB2700
Case BeQuiet! SilentBase 800
Audio Device(s) iBasso D10 + AKG KXXX
Power Supply EVGA P2 750W 80+ Platinum semi-fanless
Mouse Sensei RAW
Keyboard Black cherry MX Thermaltake ESports
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#11
you aren't the Dev hence can't comment on their numbering choice... If it bothers you so much, simply change to something with a higher number...
He was making fun of the numbering scheme of FF and probably tired of all the new versions? ie: skip to FF30 and stop having a new FF every week cuz my plugins dont like it
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,642 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#12
oo :banghead: since FF hit 10 it run slower on my netbook, then now its 11 and it goes more heavy :banghead: :banghead:
 

Yo_Wattup

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
789 (0.37/day)
Likes
198
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name Desktop/Gamer/Digital Audio Wokstation ||| HTPC
Processor 2500k @ 4.65ghz ||| AMD A8 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 with single Blue Antec Tri-Cool 120mm ||| Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 @1900mhz 8-9-9-24 ||| 8GB G.Skill 1600 CL9
Video Card(s) 2x HIS HD6950 2GB Crossfire, 6970 clocks ||| HD6550D
Storage 120GB Intel 320 series SSD + 2TB storage ||| 1TB Seagate
Display(s) 32" Sony Bravia LCD 1080p ||| 50" Hitachi Plasma 1080p
Case Raidmax Raptor modded to 7 fans ||| A compact HP Case
Audio Device(s) Firewire audio interface + two 9" studio monitors, 450 REAL watts ||| onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W ||| generic 400W
Software Win 7 Ultimate + Win 8 consumer preview||| Win 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Never drops below 60fps Battlefield 3 everything on max, fov 90. :D
#13
i ono if its me or the crack ive been smoking but this thing loads up quick! jumping from page to new page with EASE.
I was jumping from page to page with ease with chrome years ago bro... :roll:
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,146 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,298
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#14
can you upgrade from Firefox 10 to 11 and still use all your themes and plugins or would it require me to wait again?
 

Yo_Wattup

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
789 (0.37/day)
Likes
198
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name Desktop/Gamer/Digital Audio Wokstation ||| HTPC
Processor 2500k @ 4.65ghz ||| AMD A8 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 with single Blue Antec Tri-Cool 120mm ||| Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 @1900mhz 8-9-9-24 ||| 8GB G.Skill 1600 CL9
Video Card(s) 2x HIS HD6950 2GB Crossfire, 6970 clocks ||| HD6550D
Storage 120GB Intel 320 series SSD + 2TB storage ||| 1TB Seagate
Display(s) 32" Sony Bravia LCD 1080p ||| 50" Hitachi Plasma 1080p
Case Raidmax Raptor modded to 7 fans ||| A compact HP Case
Audio Device(s) Firewire audio interface + two 9" studio monitors, 450 REAL watts ||| onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W ||| generic 400W
Software Win 7 Ultimate + Win 8 consumer preview||| Win 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Never drops below 60fps Battlefield 3 everything on max, fov 90. :D
#15
Downloaded it, gave it a try, now uninstalling it. Not bad, just a great big MEH
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2005
Messages
431 (0.09/day)
Likes
62
#16
you aren't the Dev hence can't comment on their numbering choice... If it bothers you so much, simply change to something with a higher number...
They did it for two reasons:
1- because both IE and Chrome numbers were suggestive of more advanced software; and
2- most importantly, Mozilla sought to reduce the deployment cycle of software updates.

Their next step is to blur the lines of version numbers with a mechanism of persistent updates.

Personally I couldn't care less. I suggest that if anyone gets too caught up with version numbers they need to re-evaluate their priorities.
 

naoan

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
303 (0.10/day)
Likes
62
System Name AMD?
Audio Device(s) onboard
Software 7 X64
#17
I also give about as much damn as I give to a pebble on the road, It's just fun to poke at. :p

But I imagine anyone who actually use FF (I don't) and its extension would not be too happy with this shenanigan.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,360 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,814
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#18
Finally add-ons syncing...
 

mtosev

New Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2005
Messages
1,462 (0.31/day)
Likes
144
Location
Maribor, Slovenia
Processor Core i7 930
Motherboard Asus P6X58D Premium
Memory 6gb SuperTalent WB200UX6G8
Video Card(s) xfx radeon hd 5970 black edition
Storage Intel X25-M 80
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2209wa
Case Haf 932
Audio Device(s) Integreted sound card
Software w7
#19
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
50 (0.02/day)
Likes
8
Location
Los Angeles, CA
System Name Akuma, Iluminati
Processor 2 x Intel i7 4930K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard 2 x Asus Rampage IV Gene
Cooling 2 x Corsair H110 Push-Pull
Memory 2 x Mushkin Ridgeback Redline 16GB @ DDR3-2400
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 670 FTW SLI, EVGA GTX 650 Ti Boost
Storage 2 x Intel 320 120GB RAID0, 2 x Intel 520 180GB RAID0, TOO MANY MORE TO LIST!
Display(s) Asus PB298Q, 2 x Asus VH236H
Case Custom Tech Bench, Antec 300 Illusion
Audio Device(s) 2 x Onboard Soundblaster X-Fi III
Power Supply Corsair HX1000, Rosewill 1000w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#20
I'm not worried about the version numbers at all. I'm just tired of having to install the updates myself. They need to make all these updates automatic already. And bring on the official x64 support. No I don't want the nightly build x64 versions nor the Waterfox x64.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2009
Messages
605 (0.20/day)
Likes
139
Processor Intel i7-940 @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 12GB OCZ Platinum XTC DDR3 1600mhz CL7
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780ti
Storage Revodrive X2 240GB, 5TB HDD storage
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27''
Case Antec Lanboy Air
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 x64
#21
WHY... is this not Firefox 4.0.11? I do appretiate Firefox but this implies they rewrote the whole browser 11 times.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
865 (0.27/day)
Likes
98
Location
Dawn
#22
They should be doing this via update. This is fucking ridiculous. Downloading a new browser every couple of weeks is ridiculous.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2009
Messages
605 (0.20/day)
Likes
139
Processor Intel i7-940 @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 12GB OCZ Platinum XTC DDR3 1600mhz CL7
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780ti
Storage Revodrive X2 240GB, 5TB HDD storage
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27''
Case Antec Lanboy Air
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 x64
#23
The Firefox 10 release is still in the TPU RSS feed. Where does it end? Firefox 300.0?
 

F1reFly

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
227 (0.08/day)
Likes
66
Location
Indiana
Processor Phenom 2 965 Black Edition OC
Motherboard MSI G65
Cooling H50 Liquid Cooling
Memory 6 gig DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 580
Storage Corsair Real SSD c300
Display(s) Sony 40" 3D LED TV
Case Fractal Design-define mini
Audio Device(s) Creative Sigma 3d
Power Supply Tagen 900 watt
Software Windows 7 x64
#24
offtopic but has anyone checked out Waterfox? its based on FF but is faster.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
233 (0.11/day)
Likes
68
#25
I'm not worried about the version numbers at all. I'm just tired of having to install the updates myself. They need to make all these updates automatic already. And bring on the official x64 support. No I don't want the nightly build x64 versions nor the Waterfox x64.
If it annoys you so much, you should just use the nightly build, it has automatically updated me since Firefox 11 was in alpha all the way to now 13. I've never had a single crash and it has automatic updates, everything seems fluid and it isn't ridiculously compact like Chrome is while seeing no real difference in speed as I firmly believe if anything is the bottleneck it's between my ISP and the servers of the sites.