1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Firewall/router..

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by Frick, Sep 14, 2007.

1. Frick

Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

Thanks Received:
    j0 all. Now I'm settled in my new apartment in Piteå, and I have something of a connection to the World (2Mbit is teh :rockout:). I also found this cool store where they sell discarded computer parts. I got 4 NICs for like a buck each, and I built a computer with a P2. I want it to be a router and a firewall.

I have Smoothwall, FreeSCO and Devil-Linux downloaded already, I just want to know if anyone here have some experience with any of them.. I'm kinda new to Linux, but as I have a REAL connection that's not a major problem. Soo.. Is there anything you guys would recommend?

10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Frick

Thanks Received:
    Nevermind, I tries Smoothwall 3.0 and it works like a charm. :D

10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Frick

Thanks Received:
    The performance was terrible.

10 Year Member at TPU
  4. SnakeDoctor

SnakeDoctor

Thanks Received:
    PF Sense is awesome :)

elitan says thanks.
  5. Kursah

Kursah

Thanks Received:
    This.

Its what I run at home on a custom built PC centered around an Asus N3150-C...works amazingly well and is very very well documented. I even have a spare VM as I was testing CARP (failover), worked perfect!

You could even just turn Ubuntu Server into a router, all these Linux-based routers use IPTables for firewalling. Here read this: http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2016/01/numbers-dont-lie-its-time-to-build-your-own-router/