• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

First build: compatibility check

Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
#1
This is my first from the ground-up build. The parts are:

Motherboard: gigabyte ga-78lmt-s2p

CPU: amd fx 4100

PSU: apevia warlock 750w

RAM: corsair xms3 8gb

Optical drive: asus 24rw

Hard drive: Wd caviar blue 500gb

I have checked compatibility with everything, except the only thing I can't check is the power supply's compatibility. I received the power supply as a gift, so I intend to use it. Now, what I'm most curious about is if the motherboard and PSU are compatbile. The motherboard has 24 pins but the PSU only has 20; however, in the manual for the PSU, it says it's 20/24 pin.

So everyone...is this compatible?D:
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name HP Z800
Processor Intel Xeon X5560 @2.8 GHz (dual processor)
Motherboard HP
Cooling OEM
Memory 6x Hynix PC3-10700 4GB ECC Buffered RAM, 24GB total
Video Card(s) Dual Nvidia GeForce GTX 465 (SLI)
Storage Dual RAID0 Western Digital 10K RPM SAS drives
Display(s) 1x Samsung 27" LCD, 1x Samsung 24" LED
Case HP
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Xi-Fi
Power Supply 1.1KW HP Power Supply
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#2
If the manual says the PSU is 20/24 PIN then there might be a detachable 4-pin connector to transform the 20-pin connector to a 24-pin connector. That's how it was on mine.

Also, you'll have to check if the MoBo has a 4-pin or 8-pin CPU connector. This is easily rectified by buying an 8-pin to 4-pin connector (or vice versa) for like $8.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
376 (0.18/day)
Likes
291
Location
The city with the former druggie Mayor
System Name That computer
Processor Intel I7 960 OC @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte G.1 Guerilla
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 12gb G.Skill DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon 6950 2GB
Storage 120GB Samsung 840, 2x 1TB WD Black Raid 0
Display(s) 2X ACER S232HL
Case Thermaltake Amour A90(modded)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply 600W OCZ MODXSTREAM PRO
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
Your power supply has a 20/24 pin power connector which means it has a large 20 pin connector with a detachable 4 pin connector that is attached to the end of the 20 pin connector which turns it onto a 24 pin connector. The motherboard also uses a 4 pin power connector so your power supply is fully compatible with your motherboard. Your computer is fully compatible, no need to worry. :toast:
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
#4
Thank you both!
I found the other chords on the power supply, and hooked everything up.
For some reason though, when I click the power button, the fans and lights start up for just a moment but then it all turns back off.
Any ideas on what I did wrong?
I checked to make sure all the chords were in the right spot, and everything was securely placed.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#5
The board is a crap board and old technology. I would exchange the board. You have to update the bios to get it to work with FX processors so your basically screwed without a Phenom II to update it. The 760G Chipset with SB710 is ancient....

Look into this: GA-990XA-UD3 (rev. 3.0) or this: GA-970A-UD3 (rev. 1.2)

Next time ask before you buy. That model is like over 2 years old.

I would also exchange the PSU. Although Apevia PSU's will work, they are not good PSU's at all.

You have some bad choices here however: On the upside, your Asus CD/DVD is a good one.....

This is right from Gigabytes website:

To enable AM3+ AMD FX-Series CPU support, please update your motherboard with the most current BIOS found in your motherboard’s download section.

 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
883 (0.43/day)
Likes
75
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard AsRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
Memory 16 GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 3000 Mhz (Running at 2933)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte G1 GTX 1070
Storage 240 GB Kingston SSD, 7 TB's of HDD
Display(s) Dell 16:10 20" Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthos Pro M
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 750 P2
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard G Skill Ripjaws RGB Mechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
#6
The board is a crap board and old technology. I would exchange the board. You have to update the bios to get it to work with FX processors so your basically screwed without a Phenom II to update it. The 760G Chipset with SB710 is ancient....

Look into this: GA-990XA-UD3 (rev. 3.0) or this: GA-970A-UD3 (rev. 1.2)

Next time ask before you buy. That model is like over 2 years old.

I would also exchange the PSU. Although Apevia PSU's will work, they are not good PSU's at all.

You have some bad choices here however: On the upside, your Asus CD/DVD is a good one.....

This is right from Gigabytes website:




http://i435.photobucket.com/albums/qq77/AAdeath/gigabyte-1_zps29cb807f.png
Ha actually for my friends build I was thinking about the GA-970A-UD3 but went with ASUS M5A97 R2.0 AM3+ AMD 970 instead purely due do to who could get me the mobo the quickest. I didn't want to limit him later on since the 760g mobo he had was old. And are you going to use a graphics card?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,507 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,264
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#7
Apeiva PSU.... last I unerstood a lot of those were garbage. I would find a review, here, jonnyguru, [h], or overclockers.com and see if there is something on it. Otherwise, get a different PSU as most apevia's are crap.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
376 (0.18/day)
Likes
291
Location
The city with the former druggie Mayor
System Name That computer
Processor Intel I7 960 OC @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte G.1 Guerilla
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 12gb G.Skill DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon 6950 2GB
Storage 120GB Samsung 840, 2x 1TB WD Black Raid 0
Display(s) 2X ACER S232HL
Case Thermaltake Amour A90(modded)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply 600W OCZ MODXSTREAM PRO
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#8
The board is a crap board and old technology. I would exchange the board. You have to update the bios to get it to work with FX processors so your basically screwed without a Phenom II to update it. The 760G Chipset with SB710 is ancient....

Look into this: GA-990XA-UD3 (rev. 3.0) or this: GA-970A-UD3 (rev. 1.2)

Next time ask before you buy. That model is like over 2 years old.

I would also exchange the PSU. Although Apevia PSU's will work, they are not good PSU's at all.

You have some bad choices here however: On the upside, your Asus CD/DVD is a good one.....

This is right from Gigabytes website:




http://i435.photobucket.com/albums/qq77/AAdeath/gigabyte-1_zps29cb807f.png
Apeiva PSU.... last I unerstood a lot of those were garbage. I would find a review, here, jonnyguru, [h], or overclockers.com and see if there is something on it. Otherwise, get a different PSU as most apevia's are crap.
Well he got the power supply as a gift, so he didn't really get to choose it.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
#9
The board is a crap board and old technology. I would exchange the board. You have to update the bios to get it to work with FX processors so your basically screwed without a Phenom II to update it. The 760G Chipset with SB710 is ancient....

Look into this: GA-990XA-UD3 (rev. 3.0) or this: GA-970A-UD3 (rev. 1.2)

Next time ask before you buy. That model is like over 2 years old.

I would also exchange the PSU. Although Apevia PSU's will work, they are not good PSU's at all.

You have some bad choices here however: On the upside, your Asus CD/DVD is a good one.....

This is right from Gigabytes website:




http://i435.photobucket.com/albums/qq77/AAdeath/gigabyte-1_zps29cb807f.png
Well he got the power supply as a gift, so he didn't really get to choose it.
Thank you for the help everyone! I plan to get a better PSU for my next build, but I'm not one to not use a gift. I suppose I will need to update the bios so I can use the FX, and yes- I do plan on adding a video card, probably a Radeon.
Oh, also, I'm not a "he" xD haha.
Again, thank you everyone!
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
376 (0.18/day)
Likes
291
Location
The city with the former druggie Mayor
System Name That computer
Processor Intel I7 960 OC @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte G.1 Guerilla
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 12gb G.Skill DDR3 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon 6950 2GB
Storage 120GB Samsung 840, 2x 1TB WD Black Raid 0
Display(s) 2X ACER S232HL
Case Thermaltake Amour A90(modded)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply 600W OCZ MODXSTREAM PRO
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#10
Thank you for the help everyone! I plan to get a better PSU for my next build, but I'm not one to not use a gift. I suppose I will need to update the bios so I can use the FX, and yes- I do plan on adding a video card, probably a Radeon.
Oh, also, I'm not a "he" xD haha.
Again, thank you everyone!
Sorry, I assume everyone on the internet is a he
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,507 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,264
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#11
Well he got the power supply as a gift, so he didn't really get to choose it.
Does it really matter how it was procured? Get rid of it.

That gift and decision could take out your entire PC (worst case).
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
130 (0.07/day)
Likes
59
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel i5-4670K
Motherboard ASRock Z87E-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M (Push+Pull)
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill Sniper 1866 1.5V
Video Card(s) HD 6870 (Waiting on AIB partner R9 290 Release)
Storage WD 600GB VelociRaptor (w/ 60GB SSD Cache) / 2x 64GB SanDisk SSD RAID0
Display(s) 3x Acer 20" @ 1600x900
Case Cooler Master Elite130
Power Supply Seasonic 450W G-Series (80+ Gold)
Software Win7 Pro 64-bit
#12
Well, yes, actually. It does. Clearly, as it was a gift, there likely wasn't any budget for it in the first place. Not to mention the inevitable "How's the Power Supply I gave you?" question. While your sensibilities might tell you that any low quality PSU will take out the attached components, that isn't exactly a universally held belief. A more likely scenario, if it is in fact a flawed unit, is it will simply die after a few months use. If she had a power loadout close to (or even half of) the 750W rating, I'd be more concerned. As it sits, I wouldn't worry about the PSU. (If you do have a gift receipt, though. I'd consider swapping it out for a lower wattage, higher quality PSU from Corsair or Seasonic for instance)

Concerns about the chipset, however, are valid. As others have said, despite having an AM3+ socket, the 760G based board likely won't support an FX-series processor out of the box. They need a BIOS update, but there really isn't anyway to perform one without a Phenom II or Sempron processor on hand. You'd have to install a supported processor, perform the BIOS update, and then switch back to your FX4100. I'd see if you can't return the board (assuming it isn't also a gift). If it's Microcenter you bought it from, you can ask them to perform a POST test on your board. I think they charge $20 for it, but it'd force them to get the update for you essentially.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#13
Does it really matter how it was procured? Get rid of it.

That gift and decision could take out your entire PC (worst case).
He got it for free, if he doesn't overclock, it will suffice. please get off the PSU for now.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#14
Worst that will happen is caps will go bad in most cases that I have seen, which shouldn't hurt anything else, it will just begin to fail powering up and such.

No dedicated GPU?
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,345 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#15
Worst that will happen is caps will go bad in most cases that I have seen, which shouldn't hurt anything else, it will just begin to fail powering up and such.

No dedicated GPU?
I had a Corsair 650 Go up in a ball of fire and take(almost) every component with it granted it was due to a power surge on the mains and not the psu it self but if my Corsair did that what do you think that cheap shiney colored plasic pile of shit is gonna do if the mains spike or sag a little :shadedshu

nuffsaid
http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDNews&op=Story&ndns_id=207

http://pro-clockers.com/powersupplies/34-apevia-750w-warlock-power-supply-.html?start=3
/me points out that there test rig was lucky if it was drawing 400Watts in a sub 30c test room lol
junk is junk you power your system with junk you are gonna get junk
if junk = in
do
junk = out
else
do
explode:
on Anouther note we should get everyone together and buy all the 760G motherboards(the ones that pretend they have FXsupport anyway) off newegg and then burn them
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Indiana
#16
After updating the BIOs, it's now up and running.
It's running very well, and quietly. Once I get the Internet set up I'll be able to download something to see how well everything is running.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#17
i would like to mention you are going overkill on the powersupply.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,261 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,363
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#18
i would like to mention you are going overkill on the powersupply.
She comes back to giveus a update and first thing said is about the power supply ROFLMFAO


Come on De.Das.Dude read the full thread before commenting. BTW, how's the GTS450 doing?