• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

First Intel mobo buying ever

Krazy Owl

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
897 (0.41/day)
Likes
76
Location
Montreal
System Name HTPC-Cube
Processor AMD Athlon 64 skt754 3200+ 1M cache
Motherboard Foxconn Winfast K8S760MG-6LRS
Cooling Stock
Memory 2 gigs DDR400
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 AGP 1gig DDR3
Storage White label 80gigs sata
Display(s) Polaroid 19 inches 1366X768 LED
Case Chenming cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Raidmax RX-500S
Software Seven Pro 64bits
#1
Hi.

I have lot of spare parts at home and I just need a mobo with some specs i decded and it was the only one available.

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813121389

Someone gave me a Q6600 Quad and 3 gigs of DDR2-800 kingston. I would like to buy this mobo for a htpc and since it has hdmi onboard it could save me from too much wires plugged on my tv.

Could it be a good choice for onboard and would it play some games well??

Thx
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2009
Messages
115 (0.04/day)
Likes
28
Location
Gurnee, IL
Processor AMD Phenom II x2 550BE
Motherboard Asus M4A79T Deluxe
Cooling OCZ CNPS10X Flex (Dual 80cfm fans)
Memory OCZ Reaper 1866 4GB
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH4870 Dark Knight 1G
Storage 150gb WD Raptor
Display(s) Viewsonic Optiquest Q22wb
Case Apevia X-Navigator
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Software Windows 7 Ulitimate (64bit)
#2
If I recall, the on board video is decent but overall games are a no go on the on board. Since it does have a PCI-E slot a GPU that is powerful enough will work but it is all dependent on what games you may be playing.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
922 (0.28/day)
Likes
281
Location
Akron, OH
System Name Main Rig
Processor Athlon 5350
Motherboard AsRock mITX
Memory 4gb
Storage 120gb Kingston HyperX SSD
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 740N
Power Supply Corsair 430 watt
#3
No for games and no for movies and sound. That IGP is too old for those tasks. You will need to purchase Radeon HD6450 or similar video card.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
499 (0.22/day)
Likes
119
System Name Multipurpose desktop
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1605T @ 3.75Ghz , NB @ 2.5
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 1.0)
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems Rev. C, 2x120mm CM Blademaster
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP (4x4GB) @1666Mhz 9-9-9-20-24 1T
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix R7-370 4GB OC
Storage 2x WD Caviar Black 500GB Sata III in RAID 0
Display(s) Acer S211HL 21.5" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master Centurion 534+, 3x 120mm CM Sickle Flow
Power Supply Seasonic X650 Gold
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium SP1
#4
The IGP can handle movies, but at 1080p it will not be smooth playback; 720p would be smooth.
Games, well, nothing recent, as in nothing from the last 6-7 years, unless it's an indie title with lower minimum requirements.
(Many games, while they may support older gpus tend not to support Intel IGPs like the x3100, x4500, etc.)
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908 (0.65/day)
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#5
WTF is all this nonsense about the Igp not being capable of playing HD video.
The CPU will be doing all the decoding, You only need a capable GPU if you have a crap CPU and need the GPU to do the work such as in an Intel atom based system.

Secondly the Intel GMA X4500 will play most games hell even dirt 3 runs 15-25fps so games a few years older like Mass Effect will probably run decent on low settings.

People on here should really check there facts instead of just miss informing others with there opinion :banghead:

Grab the board save up for a GFX card when ur ready.

Portal 2 on GMA X4500
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ho42hLPaBQE
More Games on GMA X4500
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aptIOBsajdk&feature=related
 
Last edited:

Krazy Owl

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
897 (0.41/day)
Likes
76
Location
Montreal
System Name HTPC-Cube
Processor AMD Athlon 64 skt754 3200+ 1M cache
Motherboard Foxconn Winfast K8S760MG-6LRS
Cooling Stock
Memory 2 gigs DDR400
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 AGP 1gig DDR3
Storage White label 80gigs sata
Display(s) Polaroid 19 inches 1366X768 LED
Case Chenming cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Raidmax RX-500S
Software Seven Pro 64bits
#6

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#7
This shows a X4500 getting around 18-20 FPS in BF2 :(

 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
922 (0.28/day)
Likes
281
Location
Akron, OH
System Name Main Rig
Processor Athlon 5350
Motherboard AsRock mITX
Memory 4gb
Storage 120gb Kingston HyperX SSD
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 740N
Power Supply Corsair 430 watt
#8
Okay, let's forget about the games thing and focus on using this motherboard in a HTPC. The biggest obstacle to using this motherboard in a HTPC is that it likely does not support audio on the HDMI output. You will need to investigate very closely. Older HDMI outputs were used just for video and that is likely the case here too. If it doesn't support audio on the HDMI, you will have to purchase a new low end video card that does and that would also solve the low framerates problem that you will have with the X4500.

Buying a used but working G31 or similar motherboard and spending another $30 to get a HD6450 will leave you much happier than trying to use the onboard sound and/or video of this chipset.
 
Last edited:

Krazy Owl

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
897 (0.41/day)
Likes
76
Location
Montreal
System Name HTPC-Cube
Processor AMD Athlon 64 skt754 3200+ 1M cache
Motherboard Foxconn Winfast K8S760MG-6LRS
Cooling Stock
Memory 2 gigs DDR400
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 AGP 1gig DDR3
Storage White label 80gigs sata
Display(s) Polaroid 19 inches 1366X768 LED
Case Chenming cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Raidmax RX-500S
Software Seven Pro 64bits
#9
I have a pc audio plug on my tv. so a simple small wire 3.5mm will be fine.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
499 (0.22/day)
Likes
119
System Name Multipurpose desktop
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1605T @ 3.75Ghz , NB @ 2.5
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 1.0)
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems Rev. C, 2x120mm CM Blademaster
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP (4x4GB) @1666Mhz 9-9-9-20-24 1T
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix R7-370 4GB OC
Storage 2x WD Caviar Black 500GB Sata III in RAID 0
Display(s) Acer S211HL 21.5" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master Centurion 534+, 3x 120mm CM Sickle Flow
Power Supply Seasonic X650 Gold
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium SP1
#10
1) Source engine games, on low settings (even worse).
The source engine is 7 years old, and some of the code used is even older than that.
The Orange box version of the engine is 2007, 5 years old.
2) Modern Warfare, 2007. 5 years old. The engine is the same as what was used in CoD2 released in 2005. The IW 3.0 engine is based on the Id tech 3 license (1999), basically a modified version of the Quake III engine...

So I was off by a year or two, they're still not recent tech. Those games are meat hanging on old bones, bones that haven't seen many substantive technological improvements.
And even if it is possible to run something more recent, 15-25 fps is not something to be happy about; that's unplayable and annoying, even in single player mode.
Hence, the playing of Indie games with similar or lower 'engine tech levels', of which there are a plethora to choose from.

So, if you're happy with that, go for it, at least it'll be interesting to mess around with.:rolleyes:
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
922 (0.28/day)
Likes
281
Location
Akron, OH
System Name Main Rig
Processor Athlon 5350
Motherboard AsRock mITX
Memory 4gb
Storage 120gb Kingston HyperX SSD
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 740N
Power Supply Corsair 430 watt
#11
I have a pc audio plug on my tv. so a simple small wire 3.5mm will be fine.
You will not be able to see the video sent to the HDMI input on your TV at the same time you are listening to the audio sent to the 3.5mm jack. The audio sent to the 3.5mm jack is probably only played when the TV is switched to the PC input, which is a usually a VGA jack, and it is unlikely that your TV will accept a 1080p input from that VGA input.
 

Krazy Owl

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
897 (0.41/day)
Likes
76
Location
Montreal
System Name HTPC-Cube
Processor AMD Athlon 64 skt754 3200+ 1M cache
Motherboard Foxconn Winfast K8S760MG-6LRS
Cooling Stock
Memory 2 gigs DDR400
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 AGP 1gig DDR3
Storage White label 80gigs sata
Display(s) Polaroid 19 inches 1366X768 LED
Case Chenming cube
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Raidmax RX-500S
Software Seven Pro 64bits
#12
The tv accept really high def from the vga input...except the onboard vga i had tested with sucks at the speed of watching movies at this resolution.