1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First overclock, Asus p5n E... please assist a modest OC.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by jackazz76, Nov 25, 2007.

1. jackazz76 New Member

Nov 25, 2007
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    Long Island, NY
    Hi, I am pretty new to this though I have been absorbing all that I can about hardware for the past few years. I would just jump right in and start messing with stuff but I cannot afford to have to rebuild this system should I fry something. I'm hoping to find someone with the same setup to hold my hand and give me some step by step help here. I've read quite a bit on this forum and almost all the stickies. I'm not looking to push the envelope, just get a modest gain in performance as my setup is not running as fast as I feel it should.

Case- Thermaltake Xaser supertower (7 fans)

PSU- Corsair CMPSU 450watt (1 12v rail... 33 amp)

Mobo- Asus p5n-E
    BIOS in Everest reads
    Award BIOS Type- Phoenix-AwardBIOS v6.00PG
    Award BIOS Message - ASUS P5N-E SLI ACPI BIOS Revision 0703
    System BIOS Date- 08/09/07

CPU- E6550 2.33 dual core (STOCK cooling)

RAM- 2 X 1gb Crucial LANFEST special edition http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148144

VGA- ATI Radeon X1950 GT 256MB
    Video BIOS Date- 09/05/07

Optical- DVDRW(1) CDRW(1) both on ide (PATA)

I managed to set the RAM so it runs at 800mhz, ignoring all the extra settings that my motherboard showed and just setting what CPUZ specified for EPP#1, leaving the rest at auto. I believe I left the RAM voltage set to auto as well because I had no idea what to set it to.

For some reason both Everest and Asus PC probe are showing the Vcore voltage at 2.16 which I believe is very high for this CPU and I don't think that I messed that up.
    EDIT: Made this red because I am concerned about this reading, anyone know if this is ok?